TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Seán Quinn declared bankrupt at the High Court in Dublin

Once Ireland’s richest man, Seán Quinn has now been declared bankrupt in Ireland by the High Court in Dublin.

Seán Quinn in Belfast last week. He was not in court in Dublin today.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

SEÁN QUINN HAS been declared bankrupt at the High Court in Dublin this afternoon following a petition to have him declared as such by the bank formerly known as Anglo Irish Bank.

The Irish Bank Resolution Corporation (IBRC) had sought to declare Quinn bankrupt in the Republic of Ireland after a court in Belfast last week annulled his bankruptcy in the UK.

That Belfast court found that his centre of main interests was not in Northern Ireland as the former owner of Quinn Insurance had claimed and lawyers for IBRC immediately sought a hearing in Dublin.

This afternoon, the High Court in Dublin ruled that Quinn was bankrupt after his lawyers dropped their objection to IBRC’s petition, Irish Independent correspondent Laura Noonan tweeted from inside the court.

The Irish Times’ Simon Carswell noted that Quinn was not in court for the hearing this morning. He had appeared at bankruptcy proceedings in Belfast last week.

IBRC has been pursuing Quinn for billions of euro it says it is owed after it took control of his business empire last year. Once Ireland’s richest man, Quinn has lost millions since the end of the economic boom.

He made huge losses on complex share investments with the now defunct Anglo Irish Bank where he had stake of over 25 per cent at one stage through so-called contracts for difference where a bet is placed on the share price rising. In Anglo’s case, the share price fell dramatically.

Rarely seen in public, Quinn has recently acknowledged he had made big mistakes during the boom years that contributed to his current troubles but argued: “I was wrong and thousands of others were wrong too”

‘Vendetta’ against Seán Quinn, say former tycoon’s daughters

Read next:

Comments (51 Comments)

• Many more days in court ahead….

• Mmmm I wonder does Quinn have a case against Seanie for fraudulent misrepresentation? Perhaps he could lend some weight to his claim that he was innocent, ignorant and misled in relation to this CFD arrangement by suing Seanies ass. How that little crook is still at large is a fine reflection on the political/legal symbiosis that typifies the shady dealings that have bankrupt the country.
      Many more days in court….If only?

• Years more in Court Gerard, I would say,if Anglo got their way, but that is about to change.

This farce proves once and for all ,that the challenge to the Norther Ireland bankruptcy was solely about a personal vendetta as It makes NOT ONE CENT OF DIFFERENCE WITH REGARD TO RECOUPING MONEY FOR THE TAXPAYER AS CONFIRMED BY ANGLO CHIEFS. In fact, it cost us in the region of 500,000 euro just for them to get the satisfaction of declaring him bankrupt themselves. AND WE ARE PAYING FOR THAT SATISFACTION.

It proves that their actions have nothing to do with recouping money for the taxpayer and it never was.

Anyone who suggests otherwise need ask themselves, “What has been recouped to date and how much more of taxpayers money has been squandered on futile legal actions and PR propaganda?”

• HOW WILL HISTORY READ?

CORRUPT BANK AND IRISH GOVERNMENT COLLUDE TO PUT SEAN QUINN (ONE OF IRELAND’S LARGEST EMPLOYERS) OUT OF BUSINESS.

AND THEN

CORRUPT BANK AND IRISH GOVERNMENT COLLUDE (WITH THE HELP OF THE IRISH MEDIA)
      TO SQUEEZE AND THUS SHUTDOWN THOUSANDS OF IRISH BUSINESSES
      TO RAISE FUNDS FOR THEIR RIDICULOUS CAMPAIGN TO MAKE SURE THAT SEAN QUINN
      DOES NOT CREATE ANOTHER JOB IN THE COUNTRY EVER AGAIN.
      (not to forget a few billion for the ”legal” media PR witch hunt)

• Now if they could only figure out how to get their hands on his assets. I believe the Quinn family possess very valuable laptops, couple of million for a laptop was it Seanie?

• Are you not aware that ANglo has completely screwed up any chance that taxpayers will ever get a cent for the properties either. They deserve a medal for being the greatest joke of all times

• Billionaire to Bankrupt says it all really doesn’t it!!!!

• Most of us have something in common with him now we are all broke onwards and upwards Sean it can’t get any worse so learn to smile

• Looks like the fights gone out if him, he didn’t even show up in court. Delighted he can’t walk away from the billions he owes due to pure greed.

• YEA

• Making Sean Quinn a bankrupt serves no one but the vindictive banks in this country.He screwed up big time but todays court action makes sure he will never create a job in this country.But also i haven’t forgotten that by his actions he has caused a 2%levy to be imposed on all non live insurance policies.

• No Norman, he did not cause the levying of 2% on us. If his proposal to repay all the money had not been inappropriately and unjustly eliminated for dubious reasons, the people of Ireland would not have been burdened by one cent -FACT. The truth will emerge and there will be people in high places with an awful lot of explaining to do.

• Well if he didn’t who did?

• Norman, The people who refused to take his money. are culpable for this farce and the fact that the taxpayers will be burdened to the tune of billions. In essence that is what it comes down to. Sean Quinn offered to repay all monies owed but that offer was thrown in his face. You must have missed that bit but thats not surprising as Anglo Has done everything in its power to keep that quiet.

IT IS A MATTER OF PUBLIC RECORD THAT SEAN QUINN OFFERED TO REPAY ALL MONIES OWED AND GUARANTEED THE RETENTION OF ALL JOBS AND THE CREATION OF 1800 ADDITIONAL JOBS. That offer was thrown in his face.
      AND GUESS WHAT- WE WILL BE PAYING FOR THE MOTHER OF ALL TRIBUNALS TO EXPOSE THESE RATS.

• Do you not think that Seans greed had anything got to do with finding himself where he is today or is that someone elses fault.BTW i admirw the good he done for Cavan,but he is cupable for his own actions.

• just out of interest 3christian3, how was quinn proposing to pay back the 3 billion or whatever he owes?

• So What? This guy was a supporter of our political parties in power(Brown Envelopes) who appoint the judges(more cronyism) who rule on this mans destiny. He will never end up behind bars for reckless trading and the citizens will continue to suffer while the elite party on.

• Sean Quinn has never been pat of the brown envelopes culture and your assertion that he was is indicative of rubbish drivel that is being perpetrated against a man whose only mistake was his niaivety in believing that he could trust an Irish regulated bank. The truth will out

• I WONDER IF THE TROIKA WILL BE HAPPY WHEN THEY FIND OUT THAT THE GOVERNMENT AND IBRC HAVE SQUANDERED TENS OF MILLIONS OF THE ”BAILOUT” FUNDS
      RIDICULOUSLY CHASING SEAN QUINN AND HIS FAMILY AROUND AND MAKING UP LIES ABOUT THEM.

WHAT WILL IBRC’S FINAL BILL FOR THIS FARCE BE?
      (OR IS IT A RUNNING TAB?)

• Any news on mcfeely bankruptcy….that’s today too.

• Dead right Helen , who wouldn’t have taken the money from Anglo ??? They should b in court they mislead him and the other 9 in the golden c , this is bullshit just a public hanging of a man we need to get this country off it’s knees cause them plonkers in Kildare st won’t b doing it , 12 years in this kip before he can b a company D again, a man that has been there and done it and employed 1000s , sad day for Ireland ! P.S. bring on the tumbs down

• Look at all the bitter begrudgers dancing on his grave. He fecked up big time on Anglo shares but I admire him for the fact he grew a hugely successful business empire and provided thousands of Irish people with good jobs. A few years ago Quinn Insurance were the only company who would insure younger male drivers at reasonable rates. All you begrudgers moaning day after day here about the state of the country and threatening a revolution. At least Sean Quinn got things done and with a bit of luck he will be back creating jobs again soon. What have the begrudgers got to offer in Irelands time of crisis? Can’t even organise a proper protest. Idiots.

• @Dublnnass
    Over the last 40 (mostly lean) years, the man built businesses that employed 5000 people and always paid his bills and employees.

I think that is a good proposal.

But unfortunately the government has decided you must have the (very expensive) alternative.

• No sign of IBRC chasing any of our new found British subjects and their cronies from the Fianna Fail Tent at the Galway races?
    Where is
    Grehan?
    Flemming?
    etc
    etc
    Why are the media and IBRC’s highly (taxpayer) paid PR team ignoring these Anglo Goldenboys?
    These Cowboys must have given the Independent, The Times and Daft.ie and the likes plenty of their (borrowed) money to advertise their overpriced shoebox apartments in the boom years??

The Quinn Vendetta (and legal gravy train) goes on.

• Why is he being scape goated, who were the people who lent him this money, don’t hear much about Sean Fitzpatrick these days,Quinn created employment for many years,helped people to stay and work in the country they were born in. He made it possible for young people to get insured,and mobile, ok he made mistakes but so did alot more people, don’t hear much about them in the media either.Funny that.

• The people who lent him the money are the same people who lent to tens of thousands of others. You read about them every day in ther media. i.e. the citizens of this country who made mistakes but who have the integrity to do their best to pay for said mistakes, instead of sneaking off to another jurisdiction to cut their losses. The man’s a greedy pr**k and deserves to be locked up unless he pays his debts. As does Sean Fitz and a few hundred others like them.

• Quinn is a dodgy dealer to say the least. Now, lets take everything himself and his wife (the “housewife” my arse) has, and leave him on a social housing waiting list, like everyone else who has “nothing”. For those who love St. Sean, why dont ye throw him a few quid.

• Yes Helen

And what about Pat Neary?

Our fine Regulator

Or does anyone even remember his name (or his role in this mess for that matter)

• Christian,
    Against all the evidence you continue to support this man in an evangelical way !

Can you give brief answer please, with no propaganda or hyperbole;

–WHAT is the ‘Quinn Proposal’ ?
    –Explain how he intended to pay the money back ?
    –he had given personal guarantees, which the bank has called in, whats the problem ?

• He may be bankrupt here, but is an intelligent man and sure he has a plan to deal with this, no way he is ever going to be reliant on the dole.
    Wish him all the best as he has been great for creating jobs in Ireland before, just don’t hope we loose him to another country.
    I know he made a mistake with his contracts for difference but we have all made mistakes.

• The difference is most of us are suffering for our mistakes. Do you think this man will ever end up destitute, even though he owes the Irish taxpayer billions?

• He doesn’t owe the taxpayer 1 cent. He owes a defunct bank money, it is the gov who decided to bail out the bank that decided it would be a nice gift to the Irish people to gift them billions in debt

• Jay,As the thumbs down indicate, this is not the Irish way, you are supposed to begrudge and knock those that take risks and are successful,. especially when they fail you should take the opportunity to point and laugh.
      Please retype your comment with more begrudgery!

• How right your Ollie. The majority of Irish love to kick a man when he’s down.

• This man “owes” the taxpayers because the banks were nationalized and guaranteed to the tune of billions. He never borrowed anything from the taxpayer and for the record, he submitted a sound business proposal that would have guaranteed the return of all monies and the retention of all jobs. What happened? It was thrown in his face- fact. Another fact is that our Government facilitated this misappropriation ob billions of euros of our money. The tribunal to get to the bottom of this scandal will be the mother of all tribunals.

• NO NO NO
      Jay Funk
      We did not all make(those) mistakes. The greedy took loads of risks and we’re paying for it. End of.

• Family Guy- I totally agree with you. Here’s to a better and brighter future.

• Quinn bet on a horse, the horse lost so he should pay, If he was as rich as he thought he was he wouldn’t be in this position, it’s a classic case of robbing Peter to pay back Paul, he had a quarry making a loss, a health insurance making a loss and several other interests making a loss, if he had pulled off the stroke of buying a bank he would of had an endless supply of credit to facilitate the charade of success by simply loaning to one and taking from another till the books balanced, it’s a bit much coming out and saying ” the bank has achieved it’s goal of me never making another job in Ireland” he’s trying to portray himself as Robin hood when the fact is he gambled with those people’s lively hoods, and was the catalyst for the ridiculous guarantee scheme. Should we save Anglo? No, the money should of been pocketed by the govt and used where it was needed most. But we’ve made our bed unfortunately .

• Dec, he invested 700 million of his own money in an irish bank, that was regulated by the Financial Regulator and supervised by the Government. He did not bet on a horse and clearly you are falling for the Anglo propaganda that you, I,and every other person in this country is funding.

There will be a lot of people with egg on their face when the big case comes to trial.

• Nivaj, if you research the formal proposal named the “Quinn proposal”, which incidentally was sanctioned by Deutsche Bank, you will understand exactly how all monies owed would have been repaid, all jobs retained and 1800 more created. I dont see too many other employers with that kind of proposal and certainly not our Government. And one thing is certain, Sen Quinn’s record in job creation is second ot none. What a pity all the spoof about the importance o fcreating jobs by our elected representatives is just that-SPOOF

• This is merely a formality.
    Being declared bankrupt might satisfy insular minded.
    No more need to be said.

Add New Comment