TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Shatter disappointed with Garda sergeants’ withdrawal from pay talks

The Minister for Justice says only those who take part in talks on extending Croke Park can influence them.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive

THE MINISTER for Justice has reacted with disappointment to the news that the association representing Garda sergeants and inspectors has withdrawn from talks on extending the Croke Park deal on public pay.

The Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors confirmed today it would not take part in further talks, arguing that the proposed cuts to Garda allowances were tantamount to pay cuts, which the association could not support.

“Given what’s on the table, our members don’t seem to have much choice,” general secretary John Redmond told TheJournal.ie this afternoon. “Theses allowances make up a very significant proportion of our members’ pay.”

This evening Shatter said the current government had been left with a “terrible financial legacy” and that he would prefer if his Department’s budget did not need to be cut – but that “the reality is that there is no alternative to effecting the required expenditure reductions”.

“No one is under any illusion concerning the difficult nature of these talks and the issues to be addressed,” the minister said in a statement this evening. “It is only those who participate in talks who can contribute to and shape the outcome.

Nothing of value can be achieved by withdrawing from the talks and not engaging.

To so deal with matters is neither in the public interest, in the interests of An Garda Síochána nor even in the interests of their own members and I would ask the AGSI to reconsider the decision that was announced today.

Shatter also took aim at Fianna Fáil justice spokesman Niall Collins, who earlier described the AGSI’s withdrawal as “further evidence of the increasing arrogance we see” from Shatter, who was presiding “over an unprecedented dismantling of our Garda force”.

“The AGSI’s decision to withdraw from these talks must act as a much needed wake-up call for Minister Shatter,” Collins had said. “He needs to curb his enthusiasm for demonising and dismissing those who disagree with him, and start recognising the damaging impact of the cuts he has handed down.”

Shatter said Fianna Fáil governments were to blame for the “financial disaster” Ireland was now recovering from.

“If I were Deputy Niall Collins I would refrain from making hypocritical comment and engaging in self-serving disingenuous political rhetoric based on the assumption that the general public is suffering from amnesia,” the minister asserted.

“It is time that he acknowledged that it is his Party that is responsible for the position in which we find ourselves.”

Read: Garda sergeants and inspectors withdrawing from Croke Park talks

Read next:

Comments (62 Comments)

• Shatter: “it’s my way, like it or lump it”
    AGSI: “we’ll lump it so”
    Shatter: “you can’t do that!”

• And this country is disappointed that you are minister for Justice.

• Over to you now Garda Representative Association. Are you going to look after your members or follow the Government line. This could be a defining moment.

• Withdrawing from the talks and not engaging? Funny how he rarely turns up for garda representative meetings, totally blanks the defence forces ones also…guess who is never ever getting re-elected…shatter

• Shatter is a despicably arrogant and smug individual. He is also deeply disingenuous. As a solicitor he had absolutely no time for the Gardai in the courts and this is now reflected in his dismissive attitude towards the force. AGSI are right and the GRA will now certainly follow suit in not partaking in this farce. The Gardai have so far done all they have been asked of and rarely has he been vocal about anything positive that the force has achieved during his tenure. There is still a large number of dedicated and talented individuals in the GS but morale has never been lower. I have met many people who are stuck with savage debt in the force and many are cursing the day they ever joined but cant leave due to mortgages, children etc. Shatter doesnt value the Gardai, he never did. At the most crucial time in the Garda Siochana’s proud history there is the worst possible man at the helm.

He IS right about one thing though; people don’t suffer from amnesia and this will be reflected in the ballot boxes. He should never be seen again as a minister.

• About time it comes to a head between the guards and this tool of a minister. I don’t care if it means another blue flu or if the whole country marches – he is on his way to obliterating the police force and getting away with it

• Have to agree with you 100 per cent, we need the rest of the front line services to also stand up to these bully boys and stop licking Brussels arse. The public also need to show support for them and get of their arse and be seen on the streets with them. We must also be prepared to endure so more suffering on their behalf. Fear not people it will not last long for when they see people united they will s…t themselves . The old age pensioners proved that not too long ago.

• Ah God love ‘em and his disappointment! P###k!

• It’s about time that FG stopped blaming FF for all current policies . They knew what they were getting into when getting elected . I am no fan of FF but this government is in power for 2 years and this line is getting old !!!

• Fair play to you Mary ,Alan Shatter may believe that the legacy handed to this goverment is not of his making, just wondering how he squares that with sitting in oppisition at the time, does he really expect all the people of Ireland to believe there was no inclination that the economy would at sometime hit a recession . It’s the way you deal with the recession that makes the difference,Alan Shatter needs to understand he and those who are in oppisition to-day as well as yesterday need to step up to the plate, the elderly people in rural areas need more than just sound bites

• Hear hear.

• They don’t give a dam.

• @mary, @james & @patrick – you truly embarrass yourselves with that rubbish. “Two years in”….?…the enormous debts ran up by Fianna Fáil will take a generation to clear. I hate to tell you this but “ten years in” we’ll still be paying for their mismanagement. This country remains on economic life support and the lack of realism evident in your surprise that there are ongoing cuts is stunning. Truly stunning.

• Good on ye lads, the public service and in particular the frontline have given more than their share. Huge pay cuts and now their talking bout increased working hours, unions have got to say stop to the all this bullshit. Frontline workers eecially and their families have had enough. Would really like to see an all out frontline, that would hurt.

• That is what this country needs and the people have to stand shoulder to shoulder with them. Come on people look at the bigger picture here, see what is happening around ye the fat cats want the little people put firmly back in their cage the state of the country is the excuse they need to slash wages / do away with all improvements gained / make us fight each other / time for us little people to tip our hats to the gentry who so kindly give us work / work all hours they decide and be grateful for any crumbs they might trow to us from the top table. Keep on watching and doing nothing and it will happen right in front of your eyes.

• Shatter’s response to the accusation that he demonises & dismisses all who disagree with him is to… ehh…. demonise & dismiss someone who disagrees with him…!

If it wasn’t for Reilly, who by comparison is making them all look good, Shatter would be the worst Minister in the current Cabinet.

• Never was a truer word said.

• Reilly makes Shatter look like “the Taoiseach in waiting ”
      Holy God !!

• @paulanthony- maybe we should broaden your “chart” of bad Ministers and include the last Fianna Fáil Governments? Now let me see…. Have either Reilly or Shatter destroyed the Irish economy for a generation or surrendered our sovereignty? No? Well then as a Fianna Fáil member you really should just sit there quietly in the corner holding up a banner saying “Sorry”.

• Hopefully they go out on blue flu . Disgraceful treatment by shatter and co . and callinan sitting back on his 200k salary refusing to fight back and look after his men .

• Dead right Callinan is only another yes man could not give a dam about the Garda on the front line or the danger they face every day, he has his plush office his inflated salary and will lick arse as long as he has too until its time to retire on his big fat inflated pension.

• Fair play to the AGSI.
    Stand up to that pompous git.

Other unions need to fall in behind them.
    We’ve suffered enough.

They can’t keep coming to a dry well.

• Mr Shatter has no respect for our security, particularly that of our elderly folk. Reducing Garda numbers and pay is a crime Mr Shatter, but don’t worry it will not affect your personal security with your armed protection paid for by the tax from our sweat, the little people.
    Reduction in security is production for crime !

• @ ASGI & GRA , I think the general consensus of a majority of people are 100 % behind you and they are sick to the teeth with this government and the contempt they show along with their lies and deciept.

• He is soo out of touch. This man actually hasn’t got a clue.
    Between the guards and his Insolvency Bill he has done absolutely nothing for justice in this country in his time as minister.
    Resign now Shatter, you really are sh*t!

• I dislike him and I dislike his face

• Typical shatter, has 24 hour garda I outside his house but if one is caught short his bathroom facilities are out of bounds an illustration of this mans incompetence and ignorance to the real world typical silver spoon at birth attitude, has to go

• Perma tanned shite. Makes my skin crawl, horrible slimy creep.. Now I feel better.

• Fools 25/01/13 #

Piss of Shatter. You are worthless as a minister.

• Shatter is the worst minister for justice ever, bring on the next election and see what happens, the only thing is he will have rural Ireland a lawless outpost by then, the chap is a joke

• That is what is going to happen if people don’t stand up to them. God help us but it will come to vigilantes roaming rural Ireland to try and police the countryside.

• Shatter – it’s time to resign ! ! Well past that time ! !

• So “inspector clueless” has done it again.. Nothing to worry about citizens of Ireland,morale is high (yeah right)
    He fits this government like a glove and is as incompetent as the rest of them.
    This total clown is single handedly dismanteling our country’s security and has the neck to try and justify his blatent incompetence.
    What I can’t understand is that the very people he is upsetting are the very ones that he depends on to protect him and the other paracites.
    The Garda are stretched to snapping point and something jas to go.
    Now perhaps the Garda will see why people are marching and demonstrating against this incompetent and decietful shower.

• Like the rest of the leeches he does not care one iota or maybe he is dismantling our guards to make things easier for the Shinners and their cronies for when they are in power after the next elections. This Government are the best weapon the Shinners will ever have they will have people voting for them in their droves the next time elections come. Well done Kenny, Shatter, Gilmore and the rest of yer lap dogs. Sein Fein could not have done it without ye.

• that shatter is an awfal spanner.

• shatter out with the old tune the cow died on.

• Ironic the Shatter is the FG minister dismantling the Garda force which its fascist founder O Duffy of FG was the first Garda commissioner.FG can’t claim to be the Party of Law and Order any more or different to FF gombeens. The FG blue shirts dismantling the Garda blue shirts.

• The good thing about shatter is that he is successful outside of politics and politics is more of a hobby so the result is he takes unpopular decisions cos he has to and doesn’t give a monkeys if he is not reelected. Yes he’s a but arrogant but at least he’s taking tge steps that need to be taken.