Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 22 February, 2012

Sherlock agrees to full Dáil debate before signing online copyright law

Junior minister Sean Sherlock has agreed to a full Dáil debate before he signs controversial new laws on online copyright protection.
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

THE JUNIOR MINISTER behind proposed new laws giving copyright holders the power to seek court injunctions over copyright breaches has agreed not to sign the new laws before holding a full Dáil debate on them.

Innovation minister Seán Sherlock last night committed to holding a full Dáil debate on his proposed legislation, which takes the form of a ‘statutory instrument’ – meaning it does not formally need the approval of the Dáíl or Seanad before it is passed.

Sherlock told TheJournal.ie that there “will be a debate before it is signed”, though the timing of that Dáil debate was a matter to be decided by the whips of the various political parties.

It is thought that arrangements will be made later today so that a debate can be held in the Dáíl next week, allowing TDs to voice their concerns over the controversial plans which have met with major online resistance.

A brief debate was held on the subject in the Dáíl during yesterday’s Topical Issues session, but was limited to 15 minutes because of time constraints.

Though Sherlock had said during that debate that he remained committed to implementing new laws, a full debate will give other TDs a chance to press the minister on the exact impact it will have on the lives of Ireland’s internet users and technology companies.

Details of the planned legislation – which is being brought forward in order to resolve a legal vacuum – had prompted attacks on the websites of two government departments from members of the Anonymous movement earlier this week.

Directives

The legislation, which has been dubbed the ‘Irish SOPA’ because of its potentially wide-ranging ramifications, would give the likes of music publishers the ability to seek a High Court injunction in order to block traffic to websites which facilitate the breach of their intellectual property.

That right is granted by a European Union directive on copyright – but a High Court judge ruled last year that Irish law did not provide for it, meaning Ireland could face EU fines for not introducing laws demanded by the EU’s directive.

A later ruling by the European Court of Justice, however, ruled that asking internet service providers to filter traffic carried on their networks for the purposes of stopping illegal filesharing was a breach of other EU e-commerce directives allowing the free conduct of business.

An online petition opposing the planned legislation, launched on Monday night, had gathered over 55,000 signatures at midnight on Friday morning.

One of the organisers of that petition, digital rights activist TJ McIntyre, said the latest draft of the legislation, published yesterday, did not take account of the concerns raised by activists and internet service providers.

In full: Seán Sherlock’s draft proposals for online copyright law

Video: Yesterday’s Dáil discussion on the controversial ‘Irish SOPA’

Read: Ireland’s ‘SOPA’ legislation: The big arguments for and against

Q&A: Everything you need to know about Ireland’s SOPA

Already a fan? Complete your signup...

Get breaking news from The Journal.ie via Facebook. Just click 'Like'.

Read Next:

Comments (55 Comments)

• steve white 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

so he’ll have a debate and then sign it

• Niall McClave 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

Right, So he’s going to have a debate, have all the Government TDs follow the whip and do what he wants anyway. Nothing but a show and a waste of time.

• Stephen Buggy 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

At last, ‘some’ logic prevails!

• Tom Sullivan 26 days ago #
      Report this comment

Sorry, I must have missed the logic. Could you be so kind as to point it out to a blind old man like me?

• jason stone 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

‘junior’ minister is right.. Knows nothing about this subject and should leave well enough alone

• Noddy Mooney 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

“Will be a debate before it is signed” Then what’s the point of the debate? Not only clueless and ignorant, but arrogant too.

• Lorcan Garrett 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

At least it’s a small victory but it does look like it’s just for appearances. I don’t think anyone’s fooled though.

• Niall Cavanagh 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

‘Down with this sort of thing’!

• Report this comment

our only hope is Mattie Mcgrath…come on mattie !

• Bryan Rooney 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

Perhaps Enda is right – we must have been mad to vote for fg / labour when you see the genius that is No Sh*t Sherlock on display. Shove your spoof debate where the sun don’t shine No Sh*t & leave things that are beyond your limited understanding alone.

• Martin O Donnell 27 days ago #
      Report this comment

at leasr someone made the idiot see some sense…. why cant these idiots leave well enough alone…first the booze …now the net …and all the other increases ….just cos the likes of them can afford things…. put your efforts into job creation and finding ways to burn the bondholders oooh u cant do that to your mates ….fuck of sherlock….leave our internet alone….

• Billy Kennedy 27 days ago #
      Report this comment

Dot dot dot…

• Regina Maclean 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

Mattie McGrath! Gettin the work done!

• Leila Jane 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

Eugh, this guy makes me sick. Arrogant, slimy little man.

• Paul M Brady 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

if i fart and somebody else smells it are they stealing my work? i need a solicitor.

• Matt Crosbie 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

My friends, this blanket infringing on personal freedoms is bound to implode, if not today, soon. This cannot stand for long. when you get few trying to hold down many it always ends up the same. placid as irish people are, they will not stay so for long. the day isn’t here but it’s coming soon.

can’t wait until it’s time to draft the rioters

• alan 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

A debate before it gets signed?

Oh well. An election before Sherlock gets un-elected

• ChelseaLen 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

Enjoy your four years lads. The tide is turning against all of you, and not just because of this. It all adds up. Alienate the young, the old, the poor, the rich and the cash cows in the middle. Call to my door looking for votes next time, and bring a thick skin as well as an escort you shower of fucking parasites.

• Gavin Gingo Gingles 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

There weren’t many options, but yea.

• ChelseaLen 27 days ago #
      Report this comment

I agree. The last election was a protest against FF. They were almost wiped out. Maybe if it happens again we can finally get away from civil war politics and elect a government that stands for the people as well as the country.

• Garrett Gregg 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

All I see is a Junior Minister desperately trying to make a name for himself.

• Sean Sweeney 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

I think at the minute one of the biggest faults of the legislation is its ambiguity, people will tend to assume the worst when it’s so open to interpretation, then again, they might have been right to. Hopefully a dail debate will give us a clearer idea of the impact it’ll likely have. If it’s as bad as some people seem to think it might be, (which I doubt it will be since the repercussions would be more than any government would want to deal with) then I’d be shocked if it were to be brought in, in its current guise at least.

• Chopper 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

Wonder if the discovery of 6 copyright infringements (so far!) on his own website has anything to do with him holding off on signing it into law? I suppose it gives him time to remove any others before his site has an injunction served on it. Shows you how much he knows, or really cares, about intellectual property and copyright protection when it’s the people against his SOPA that have to point it out to him.

• Terry O'Dowd 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

Junior minister for innovation.
    I like irony.

• Thevoice Ofreason 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

We need to elect a capable person for this job, this man hasn’t a clue. Did getting to know Gay Mitchelle not make you realise how far from reality Finn Gael are, they are all very similar to him. They’re old men (even the young one’s are if you know what I mean). They don’t understand how the world works anymore.

• Noel Carroll 27 days ago #
      Report this comment

Mr Sherlock is a labour member so he isn’t like the young members of FG at all now is he? Please try to get your facts right next time.

• Thevoice Ofreason 27 days ago #
      Report this comment

I’m very sorry Noel but we all make mistakes, or maybe you’re perfect! Anyway to be honest it’s getting harder and harder to tell them apart but I still think he needs to go, no matter what f in party he’s from.

• Paul M Brady 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

lordy, such interest in a silly little story about a silly man just trying to be a government minister.

Google “ACTA” and prepare to wet your pants if this story bothers you.

• Richard Keogh 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

It highlights what a waste of space the Dail is and the lack of democracy in this country. Even if the opposition were to make good points they will be ignored. There needs to be a complete overhaul of it and a ban on the whip system. Hopefully the next election Will finally see a left wing party break the monopoly of the three right wing ones on power, for they care only about themselves and the lobbyists who support them. Sherlock was on the radio and sounded like a schoolboy who didn’t understand what he was speaking about. He should not have the power to bring forward this instrument which will affect all net users and ruin our reputation worldwide.

• Eugene O' Neill 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

Is any one else finding it hard to log onto TheJournal.ie??
    My internet is fine but keeps saying
    “Temporarily Down for Maintenance” when I mostly log onto this website?

• made 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

So much for Ireland wanting to be the leading country for cloud computing, I wonder how this will look to large companies.

• Patrick Gallagher 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

When will people realise that Sinn Fein are the only way forward. Forget about the ‘Troubles’, I have lived in Donegal through them. Adams & McGuinness are elected politicians, in Sinn Fein both North and South and in the House of Commons, seats they refuse to acknowledge. What other party is so open to the state of their financial affairs,…Ivor Callely and his ilk. Gerry Adams works hard in the Middle East, particularly Palestine. I would rather Pearse Doherty and all of them to be representing the Irish People than that useless Enda Kenny, Eamon Gilmore and the rest of those self serving cronyist eejits.

• Trad Musicman 27 days ago #
      Report this comment

Go Paddy go – dont forget Chris Andrews now… he was on the flotilla too. Is that Sherlock fella related to Joe Sherlock ?. I’ll give im one thing – he brought publicity to the issue – schmuck and more shcmuck.

• Paula Lillis 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

Of course if its an EU directive the elected idiots will sign it such a bunch of gutless morons we have for a government they can’t think for themselves. it’s illegal to charge VRT on cars here but they do. It’s whatever suits them to hell with the electorate.

• Shane Hennessy 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

All this wannabe minister has done is ensure I’ll take the head of the next labour politician that shows his face to me. This idiot has no idea the damage he is causing. He keeps telling people that his intentions are good but I don’t give a fiddlers about his intentions. Even if he is too ignorant of the damage an act like this can cause, his should take note the huge opposition to this by the large amount of IT based people.

• Peter Carroll 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

I didn’t realise he is on twitter! Do your worst folks – @seansherlocktd

• Colm Mooney 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

if all ye commentators are so confident that you can do a better job as a politician..why dont you go for election. the constant whingeing insulting on this site is a sad indictment of thus country. and before Im labelled…im not a member of ANY political party!

• Peter Carroll 27 days ago #
      Report this comment

I’ll give it a shot. My first task will be to create a law banning the use of the verbal excrement known as ‘ye’.

• Aydo 27 days ago #
      Report this comment

Poor comment. Another anti free speech jerkoff

• Keith Twamley 26 days ago #
      Report this comment

This comment just points out that you can never win. Irish people constantly being told we’re not vocal enough, we need to stand up more to the wrongs that are done to us, and then when people complain out come the obligatory “you’re all a bunch of whingers”, take it you are happy to keep bending over then?

• Ed 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

Sherlock ! Do as the big dog says there boy , good sherlock ….attaboy

• Peter Berry 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

Great, so this is the official position now?

• damien chaney 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

No shit Sherlock!

• Kevin Smyth 27 days ago #
    Report this comment

Sherlock is a ‘little scut’. Just like the little weasel who follows Squire ‘Red’ Will Danaher around in The Quiet Man, who Mary Kate has absolutely NO respect for.
    Only photo I could find:
    http://www.jessecollins.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/the-quiet-man-shot.jpg
    (He’s on the far right)

Scut: mindless and thankless errands.

• Andreas Stein 26 days ago #
    Report this comment

I believe that Mr Sherlock has explained his position several times. This is a restatement of a current position and simple gives the courts the ability to block websites that offend the legislation. There is no reason for companies such as EMI or the IRMA to go after people unless they are offending the legilsation. The internet will not simply be blocked.

• James Comerford 26 days ago #
      Report this comment

if it is a restatement then why does it need to amend existing legislation ?

And why the hell do IRMA have the right to tell Eircom or UPC who’s internet to knock off. Cop on!

• Andreas Stein 26 days ago #
      Report this comment

James,

IRMA and EMI do not decide on anything, the power to injunct lies with the judiciary. The Pirate Bay is now blocked on Eircom (i believe) and i don’t think too many people, except illegal downlaoders, are complaining about it. Copyright holders need protection and without this legislationthey are left without it.
      I seriously doubt that any company would try to go after big companies like youtube or facebook so all this anger is probably just the overreaction of a very loud minority.

Report this comment

Mr Sherlock has explained his position in the same evasive way every politician explains their position. This does not change the fact that this legislation, like the ACTA treaty sneakily signed last week by EU member states and like the now-stalled SOPA and PIPA in the United States, is fundamentally one-sided and unbalanced.

You either believe that the rights of corporations do not trump those of the individual, or you don’t. Mr Sherlock is obviously in the latter camp.

Report this comment

Give me, a site-owner, the power to bankrupt any party bringing an injunction against my site based on false information and maybe I’ll rethink my position. As things stand, I’m more for curbing corporate power than further entrenching it.

Add New Comment