TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Videos: Stormy PAC meeting sees TD storm out and members told to ‘chillax’

Fianna Fáil’s Seán Fleming walked out of a meeting of the Public Accounts Committee with HSE chiefs as Simon Harris later told people to ‘chillax’.

A FIANNA FÁIL TD stormed out of a meeting of the Public Accounts Committee last night with members later told to ‘chillax’ by one young deputy as the chairman of the HSE faced a grilling from Dáil members.

Seán Fleming, Fianna Fáil’s public expenditure spokesman, stormed out of the meeting of the PAC after Department of Health secretary general and HSE chairman Ambrose McLoughlin said he could not answer questions about the delay in reaching a deal on the cost of prescription drugs.

McLoughlin told the meeting that he was legally barred from answering questions on government policy prompting a furious outburst from Fleming who walked out of the meeting.

Labour TD Michael McCarthy described Fleming’s intervention as “shameful behaviour”:

Later in the meeting, Fine Gael TD Simon Harris said that participants needed to “chillax”:

Read: Fianna Fáil TD tells Department of Health chief civil servant to quit

Read next:

Comments (31 Comments)

• I find it ironic that John McGuinness gets in the region of €12,000 per year to chair the Public Accounts Committee to try find out where all the money is being spent…….on top of his TD salary, and whatever else he’s getting.

• Pity they aren’t so ‘passionate’ about the unemployed and those in mortgage hell or the plight of the disabled or the millions of people who have €100 left after paying their way. Has this T D ever spoken in public before.

• Hold on,isn’t this the man who objected to a reference to himself in the big tribunal report and insisted that the report be amended. That’s him alright. Was the amendment made to clear his good name ?

• I don’t really have an opinion on this either way because its irrelevant headline grabbing bull. But every cost reducing decision is important because we’ve a certain budget that we can’t overspend on. If money can be saved on drugs etc, it could be used to help grow the economy or stop social welfare being cut or go towards the endless debt.

• and the Oscar for most dramatic acting goes too ……..

• Barry 10/10/12 #

Frankly its amazing how two of the nicest words in the English language….chill and relax can make one of the bloody most annoying words in the English language…..chillax

• Wish they all would walk out,country might have a greater chance if we put monkeys in there instead.

• Fleming seems to be a bit of a clown – righteous anger my ar@e

In fairness to McGuinness he does seem to be a pretty decent chair of the PAC and more to the point seems intent on finding out what went on and was done leading up to the bank guarantee. That is if Howlin allows him to get on with it.

• The first video is an example of how real Irish people feel about the HSE and the anger that is out there. The second video is an example of the ass kissing attitude that is getting nowhere.

• The first video does not show how real Irish people feel about the HSE. It shows a muppet who had no problem with the HSE overspends, jobs for the boys and friends of de party. It shows a man who had no interest in prescription drug costs while he was a Govt. TD turning around and acting the martyr now that we are moving towards reducing the cost.

Sean Fleming has a much concern for the “real Irish people” as Bertie Ahern, Liam Lawlor, Ray Burke or Brian Cowen had. Sean things of de party and what de party can do for him and his friends and screw the Irish.

• Barry 10/10/12 #

The first video doesn’t show how the normal people feel,

It shows a guy grand standing so he can get attention, nothing more,

• ahh , didnt take long for the FF bashers to arrive. Whatever party he is with He is right to be upset the question were not answered.

• Alan Hanlon. Sean Fleming is hardcore FF, he represents the mindset and the culture that defines the party. The mindset and culture that has done so much damage to this country repeatedly.

He was the FF National Director of Finance as well. Basically the God father for party Bagmen.

Here is a typical story of the party and the man from Vincent Browne.

http://politico.ie/component/content/article/153.html

• @Christopher Gardiner

Yes, it is an example of how the Irish electorate are feeling, but I would have thought that Mr. Fleming would have been at little more constructive with his outburst. Walking out of an important meeting like that, if he wants to get his point across for us, the electorate, he should have been a little more adult about it. Childish behavour.

Secondly, Mr. Simon Harris, I feel, is wasting his time on ass kissing as he nor Kenny will have a hope in hell in returning to Government for a long time. I would hopefully think that made up words like ‘CHILLAX’ IS NEVER ALLOWED AGAIN. There is a perfectly written dictionary in everyone’s home. Use it! Adults are always complaining about the slang, words that teenagers use on their mobiles, facebook. Here we go again, double standards!

• Bollax.

• fair play to Simon Harris being probably the youngest man in the room but showing most professionalism. And for the record I am not a blue shirt …

• Michael McCarthy – what a brown noser!

Irrespective of Fleming’s real motives senior public officials need to be pilloried regularly and publicly. Micky is very quiet about a local scandal – Cork VEC – we can see why now.

• Cant’t see the Irony myself Maybe you’d explain John

• I’ll type slowly. He’s getting €100k a year being a TD. Plus allowances. Plus travel. Plus administration/secretaries. Probably got a free iPad. Plus whatever else he’s getting. He accepts the chair of the PAC to try tighten up on spending, and try save the exchequer some cash. But he accepts an allowance of €12k for doing so……….

I think it’s ironic.

• So Mr Tubridy. If you were a builder, with a 9-5 job, and your Gaffer asked you to work a Nixer with him, would you do it free of charge?

Of course not.

Are ya only raging coz he gets a free iPad? is that the real issue? iPad envy?

• Sean Fleming is not the chair of the Public Accounts Committee. That would be John McGuinness.

• Daniel, if I was a builder I would expect to get paid for a nixer. Because I’m a builder and someone wants to get something built. You’re missing the point. Do you not think that he earns enough, and that if he was really that interested in saving the economy and trying to be a knight in shining armour that he would waive the fee to lead by example?

iPad envy, that’s a good one. I’m typing this on an iPad.

Eoin, I never said Sean Fleming was chair, read my initial post.

• These HSE big wigs ought to realise who their ultimate employers are. WE are. Its US who pay for the huge salaries, perks and pensions. These people should be obligated to answer questions put to them by OUR elected representatives.
    WE are paying them to do a job for US. As their employers We have a right to know whats going on in OUR health system.
    I am not a FF supporter but Fleming was right Mr Chillax is a bit immature & a bit of a jackass.

• Fleming was the FF Nat. Financial Director for a long time. He is hardly fit to pass judgement on anyone, especially when it is a strawman argument that he put forward, his only objective was to storm out of the meeting so that he can get coverage and appear on radio shows.

Here is an article from VinB about Fleming, Ray Burke and the strange, foul smelling world of Fianna Fáil finances and practices.

• And you work for the Department of …….?

Add New Comment