TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Sinn Féin: ‘Bogus tweet’ was nothing to do with party or McGuinness campaign

The Green Party has called on Sinn Féin to explain its role in the now infamous tweet read out on the Frontline presidential debate last year.

Image: Photocall Ireland and Tony Kinlan

SINN FÉIN HAS said that the now infamous tweet that purported to be from the presidential campaign of Martin McGuinness was not the work of the party nor the campaign.

A spokesperson was responding to questions posed by the Green Party in a statement today which called on Sinn Féin to “come clean about what happened on the night of the Frontline presidential debate”.

The controversy centres on a ‘bogus tweet’ from a Twitter account with a username similar to that of the official Martin McGuinness campaign account which said that the man, later revealed to be Hugh Morgan, who claimed he had given a €5,000 cheque to Seán Gallagher would appear at a press conference the next day.

This tweet was subsequently read on the Frontline debate and was later the subject of a complaint to the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI) by Gallagher, a complaint which was last week upheld. The BAI found that the broadcasting of the tweet “was unfair to the complainant [Gallagher].”

First news that Morgan could appear in public came from journalist David Cochrane of Politics.ie who tweeted on the night of the debate: “A SF person has told me they have the person who gave the 5k cheque to Gallagher and are likely to roll him out tomorrow.”

However, Sinn Féin has since denied any involvement with the subsequent tweet that was read out on RTÉ, the Twitter account it was from and said that there were never any plans for a press conference.

A party spokesperson told TheJournal.ie today he had “no idea who was behind the account” and that it “had nothing to do” with either the party or the Martin McGuinness campaign.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie this afternoon Cochrane said that he did not think his tweet was particularly “earth shattering”.

“If I thought it was big I would have done something on Politics.ie,” he said. “It is a matter of record that McGuinness had a lengthy discussion with Morgan on the afternoon before the Frontline programme. It was my understanding that the following day he would be at a press conference.”

He went on to point out that the man at the centre of the allegation, Hugh Morgan, later released a statement in which he stood by the allegations put to Gallagher on the Frontline programme by McGuinness.

In a statement this morning, Green Party councillor Mark Dearey said: “Given the consequences of the events on that programme Sinn Féin, like RTE, need to confirm what exactly happened on the night.  Who was it in their organisation that broke the story to politics.ie?

“Who in their organisation knew what was happening?  Why did they issue a retraction to the tweet that was read out by Pat Kenny, when in truth the same message had already gone out from their own sources?”

McGuinness blames Gallagher’s undoing on ‘lack of credibility’ – and not RTÉ

Seán Gallagher calls for inquiry over new RTÉ Frontline claims

Read next:

Comments (102 Comments)

• So let me recap to see if I have this straight:

Gallagher is an FF bag man, and admitted as much himself. He also has lots of questionable financial transactions in his recent past.

We discovered this because of a tweet from an account that some people believe to be a SF account.

So we need to launch an investigation into … the tweet!

• Hah the Green Party trying to play grown up politics….. again……

• Seems there are a lot on sin fein supporters writing here. It really doesn’t matter who asked the question. Maybe sin fein should starting responding to questions they have been asked instead of slinging mud elsewhere

• Deirdre O’Byrne
      Why would you assume that we are all Sinn Fein supporters … It is as obvious as Gallaghers bald head that he could not respond to the questions put to him that night or the next morning . That is the issue . Gallagher orchestrated his own downfall. There is no mud slinging.

• Reg 16/03/12 #

Why is this story still wasting space? Sean Gallagher is a chancer who got found out. The country had a lucky escape, time to move on.

• This is getting ridiculous, gallagher was caught out, albeit completely unethically. The only reason the tweet is such a big issue is because a: gallagher was forced to back track, b:he used the word envelope, c: the crowd reaction that made everyone pay attention and d: his car crash defense of the situation the next morning that only seemed to make things worse.

• I’m trying to imagine Brian Cowen, on RTE standing up and accusing say John Gormley of something live on air. Then after an add break Pat Kenny puts it to Gormley that A Brian Cowen twitter account had just tweeted something about the the issue.? In my view there was really no need to even use the tweet, he had the top man in Sinn Fein standing beside him, surely that trumps the tweet.? Martin McGuinness had already told SG that he was in big big trouble with his answers and that’s what spooked SG into a spiral of self combustion. It clearly has spoilt friendships and perturbed the organs within FF. but to see so many now make an even bigger fools of themselves, especially Noel Whelan who is chasing this like someone shot his dog is sad bordering on comical. Let it go fellas, the Aras11 Gerry Springer Special is over. -

• CMD 16/03/12 #

Leon – I know what I’m talking about. Wait till the next election. Anyway if Adams was genuinely concerned with furthering SF in the republic why did he not stand in a constituency that was borderline republican and give some young blood a chance in Louth.
      My cat would have won a SF seat in Louth. Shows he’s just as self-serving as all the other politicians.

• @CMD

adams, mcguinness are both self serving twits! Always negative about every subject including m lou mcdonald. One just has to watch the Dail. Every time they open their mouths, its negativity! Never has anything positive or constructive to say or offer in the Dail.

• Spot on CMD & Sheila Byrne. Many need to take off their rose tinted glasses re SF/IRA or IRA/SF. Take your pick.

• Ahhhh, the Green Party, …. anyone remember that showr of traitors who maintained the FFailure governments strangle hold and sell out of the Irish people when they were in power.
    Why didnt the Green party ask Twitter to source the tweet. They wouldnt do this, as they wouldnt be able to try and score points of SF!!!!!!!!!! Can the Green party even count to 12 ???? And really, does anyone really cre where the Tweet came from? At the end of the day, FFailure bag man was kept out of the Aras. End of story.

• “And I would have gotten away with it too, were it not for those meddling tweets!”

• This is getting ridiculous.

I was employed as part of the Press Team for the Martin McGuinness Presidential campaign and the Twitter account which this stuff was coming from was a constant irritant as it kept posting innaccurate information, including tweets which were previously quoted by radio stations and incorrectly attributed to Martin.

After the tweet was read out the Frontline staff were contacted and told by the MvGuinness campaign team that it was inaccurate and a tweet was sent from the official Twitter account correcting the claim. This was tweeted almost 30mins before the end of the debate giving Pat Kenny plenty of time to correct his mistake but this did not happen.

The amount of ridiculous and downright stupid posts on here is hilarious.

As for Fianna Fáil member Paul Anonthy Ward’s asertion that both account swere created on the same day, yes that is correct. They were both set up on the day McGuinness announced his intention to run for the Presidency. Hardly rocket science. The fake one was set up first by a person, who according to a tabloid paper which interviewed the owner, who had noticed that no twitter account had been created.

At the end of the day though, Gallagher was exposed as the FF bagman that he is. Mr. Morgan confirmed the next day that he was colllecting money for access to influential politicians and that Gallagher was not just on the fringes of FF, but instrumental in helping to fill their coffers. The only dthing was, he released a statement rather than take part in a press conference….

• and the nonsense about the IP address being from Dublin. Did he get a warrant and force Twitter to reveal the IP address, did some one hack Twitter’s servers, Course not.. I bet the eejits used some gammy little tweet follower app. and tried to figure out location that way. As accurate as throwing a dart at a map of Ireland to figure out the location.

• Well its nice to see that among all the shinner sock puppets you admit to it

• this is getting boring now.

• Who is this green party? Oh I remember they are the reason FF stayed in government for so long.
    Please stop giving this non entity any space in the journal and keep the stories relevant to news and people that matter.

• whether the tweet was from a legit mcguinness account or not is not the issue. the fact is what was said was correct. gallagher is FF true and true. so whoever tweeted did this country a favour and stopped the FF twat from becoming president. and with regards to sinn fein they are a proper political party trying to represent the people of ireland. they have been working a long time to show they are a legit party. if the people of northern ireland can move on and embrace the future that includes sinn fein then the rest of ireland should be able to do the same.

• Fair play Sheila, you’ve completely missed my point. Sinn Féin and the Unionists are sitting around the table and have been for quite a while now!
    I could go on but I suspect that there’s not much point as you are clearly not even reading other people’s responses as you are totally contradicting yourself.
    I stand by my previous comment that if the Unionists can work with SF and vice-versa then there is an onus on us “down here” to move in the same direction for the youth of Ireland as you put it.

• CMD 16/03/12 #

BTW I agree this subject is getting boring now. RTE have hopefully been taught a lesson on how to handle this kind of scenario in the future so we should just move on.

• Im a big fan of Sean Gallagher, but the entire saga is getting boring now. Joe Public isn’t concerned about this, and makes Sean look increasingly like a bad loser :-( Pity.

• sure if we are goin down the history route folks what about de valera. the man that caused the civil war which led to the deaths of many. the irish people had voted in favour of the treaty. but that didnt suit dev so he creates madness and murder and we had civil war. he refused to enter the dail wit sinn fein (the party who got us our independance) cos he wouldnt swear oath to the crown. then has the bare faced cheek to create fianna fail after many die in a civil war he instigated and then goes into the dail with fianna fail. he also takes the funds that was raised to help the ira members who fought in the war

• followin from last post dev went on to steal the money that wasnt for him and put it in his sisters newspaper. but sure we all decide to forget that and voted in fianna fail over and over again. dev caused more deaths in the civil war than was lost in the troubles. but its ok to accept fianna fail as a political party and not sinn fein? like i said before its about time people moved on. sorry comment was over two posts. writin on my phone and hit the wrong button

• ‘the green party are calling…..’, sorry who? The green what?

• Enough already, no one gives a fcuk!

• I’m not sure if I can believe SF on this one. It all seemed a little orchestrated to me. Once the tweet was introduced, MMcG seemed to be well able to run with it as he was fully versed in it. Odd that he didn’t mention the €3K envelope containing a fuel card from Morgan Fuels. It was highly unethical for MMcG to persist with the accusation of SG collecting a political donation from Morgan (which was perfectly legal) when they were accepting a donation from the same character (which is also perfectly legal). He should have declared this on the night but then again SF are famous for their hypocrisy.

At the same time, SG must have none that a question like this would could out of the woodwork and was badly prepared and gave a pretty awful performance on the night. They were right when they said it was his to lose.

• Never heard of them.

• Bogus tweet has nothing to do with Marty McG and SF…………….guess it must like Marty McG is no longer a member of the IRA!! Bogus is the operative word here, the only thing bogus is the lies ‘n half truth SF keep shitting out!

• its all about the provenance of the tweet, baby..

• I’ll first off state that I’m delighted about the result of #Áras11 and that we got the right man for the job. Gallagher lost this completely on his own with his fumbling. However it still kinda annoys me the language used when talking about the whole case, particularly in media articles like the above. Yes SG was foolish to use the word envelope which seriously hurt him however the fact remains…..he was legitimately picking up a fund raising cheque for delivery to a political party which he promptly did afterwards. No laws were broken, no ethics had a bind eye turned. All members of ALL political parties fund raise in some shape or form and all have dinners/golf classics/etc. Yes I completely agree that the unethical and criminal ways this has been done in the past (and continue today in some cases) needs to change and past infringements prosecuted but I don’t like the stigma attached to the masses that fund raising is somehow equivalent to subversive behaviour all because the terrible actions of the few. Corporate donations need to end, full stop. I was happy that my own party supported my motion calling for its immediate end in our party and we have the biggest sinners in this field attached to our history.

Calling SG a bag man is seriously questionable choice of words seeing as he factually did nothing wrong in this case (what ever your opinion of Fianna Fáil. Imagine the same scenario with any other person and any other politics party). As much as I aspire to accountability and transparency from all parties, I can’t help but find Sinn Féin questioning fund raising as laughable as Iran questioning human rights records however.

• Eoin, you are a FF party member …. I understand your need to support your candidate and party colleague… Respect, Party before country :D

• Didn’t Seanie make a big deal about being an independent? Because doing collections for the most hated party in Irish politics at the time was far too inconvenient a truth for the election campaign..

• Cal, SG is not a colleague of mine is any way shape or form. For me he has burned those bridges. I supported Michael D and make no apologies to anyone about that. Do you wish to debate the point raised or throw out intelligible pointless comments? Shanti, that exact maneuvering by SG left a bad taste with many ordinary members of the party like myself. Hence my lack of support for the man. President should be above such petty meandering. Nothing wrong in being an ordinary member, but he tried to paint it as something to be ashamed of when he knew better. All ordinary members of all parties are regular citizens too. The mistakes of the last government affect them as much as anyone (as I write this from London).

• Eoin, You really should read your twitter account status. It states that you are a member of the FFailure party … How can you now claim that you voted for President Higgins (while living in London)?? Seriously, can FF not work out how to put a straight sentence together without making themselves look foolish? I write this from Ireland. No laws were broken (you are right on that, as FF wrote the laws to suit their own end). But how you dont see any moral issues in Gallagher claiming to be an independent, while asking members of the public for money for FF is beyond me. Does this answer your question? And I am not a member of SF.. In fact prior to the 2007 elections, i would not even have considered voting for them. But right now, Ireland needs less of the same establishment, look after the rich, brown envelope culture that put this country in the mess that its in.

• I’m sorry that you think people are unfairly picking on Fianna Fail. You may question my choice of words as much as you like, but I think the questions should be saved for your “independent” candidate Sean Gallagher. Putting this man forward for the election was a huge mistake for FF. Together with the behaviour and speeches from the FF Ard Fheis recently it shows that nothing has changed.

• Eoin,
      The fact that you refer to SG trying to con and deceive the Irish electorate as petty meandering says it all for me really. Arranging one on one meetings with the Taoiseach of the day for cash may not be illegal but it is certainly ethically dubious.

• Eoin is one of the poor goms from FF that gets the boat, has to hand out the leaflets door to door. The rest of the FF posters here are the ones that get jobs and connections and use them to get tax payers cash and grants. They laugh at you Eoin, all they have to shout is up Dev and they have you.

• Sinn Féin denying all responsibility for covert activity. Hello 1980’s.

• Ciaran, “I think our party has had more than enough of double-speak. Needs more debate”, i must ask which of the Political parties are you referring to, when you have to make comments like that about your own party ???? :D You can throw as many 20th century historical references as you want, but i dont think its going to detract from your parties current problems :D

• Nice way to completely miss the point there Ms Mooney. Do you get special classes in whataboutery or does it come with the rest of the brainwashing?

• Considering both the “fake” & “real” account were reportedly set up in the same day, both under Dublin IP addresses, it seems unlikely that there wasn’t any collusion from Sinn Féin HQ on this…

Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t voting for Gallagher before the Tweet & I didn’t vote for him after it, & in many ways I can respect the sheer balls & orchestration involved in laying the trap for Gallagher, but let’s not kid ourselves, there was clear SF collusion in this…

• Paul, if what you say is true, then why in hell did the offical SF site, tweet within 20 mins of the bogus tweet going out, that they had nothing to do with the bogus tweet… Why wouldnt they have just kept quiet, or even stay quiet until the end of the debate that night???

• There’s probably more than one IP address in Dublin…

• Paul. Your deduction skills are scarily scary. I’m just glad my IP address is in Kildare. Phew!

• what do you know about who set it up and what their ip address was?

• @Steve, the plot thickens … hee hee

• Paul,
      Totally agree with you. Did these people not watch the programme. mcguinness brought the tweet up during the debate? How can he not be involved?

Cal,
      The ‘so-called- official tweet that was announced 20mins later meant nothing at that stage. mcguinness had already done the damage! He knew exactly what he was doing. He did it also mid debate because he knew the majority of voters had no intention of voting s fein into the Aras. He didn’t want a barrage of questioning aimed at him, But he certainly didn’t want Gallahger to get it.

• You obviously have no idea how IP addresses work.

• Paul Anthony Ward above is confusing the issue of non-sinn fein mcguinness president campaign and website and how much connected it was with sinn fein, with the issue of this tweet. Shall we give him the benefit of the doubt that he’s doing this through carelessness and is not trying to subvert the truth?

• At Sheila. McGuinness never even mentioned the tweet it was Pat Kenny.

Besides all this Gallagher was finished over his financial questions that he refused to answer. He promised to publish his accounts. How is that coming all Sean. Maybe you can get Aengus to print them for you.

• mcbab 16/03/12 #

Shinners will never come clean and admit anything. It’s not in their DNA, good on the Greens for trying though

• CMD 16/03/12 #

Ha ha. Mcguinness is trying to backtrack now. On the night did he not announce that they (shinners) were going to produce this person the next day. Also it’s worth noting that part of SF declared expenses was 5k to morgan. MMG would have got my no2 up that but I didn’t give him anything after that stunt. David Norris got it BTW. I know for a fact local SF people in the Cavan Monaghan area have been getting stick about what MMG did. so they are trying to distance themselves. MMG and Adams are doing SF no favours in Irish politics – people just don’t like what they represent.

• @ Mark Moloney

Mark, the only one that is and was delusional was mcguinness/s fein/ira. What made him/them think that the majority of Irish people, with any intelligence, was going to allow him into the Aras?

I left this thread a couple of hours ago because people like yourself were boring me. I came back to the thread hoping there were some sensible people leaving intelligent messages, sadly, I still see you and Eamonn etc. on it. From your picture, if that is you, you look like a very young chap. Please don’t feel I am patronising you, because I am not, but please read up on Irish history, way, way back. When you learn something about it, come back and I can guarantee your opinion will be very different.

I got the impression that you think I am a S Gallagher follower. Far from it. To be the Aras is not a business and that is how I felt he was going to threat it, he also did not have the life and political experience that was needed to be President. I am very independent in my politics. I can only put your arrogance and ‘know it all’ messages on this thread down to youth. I suppose we were all young once and thought we knew everything. Good night. Good health.

• Do you call Labour, Labour/OIRA by any chance?

I’m very well read up on history thank you very much. Unlike you apparently. In fact, I’m just looking on my bookshelf here and I have around 140 different books on Irish history which I have bought and read. Now why would my opinion be any different?

Also Irish history “way, way back” is not a very accurate way to describe anything. Are you suggesting the bronze age? 1798 Rebellion? 1916? What?

And also, you are in no position to describe people as unintelligent. All of your comments have got the basic facts completely wrong.

I am not “arrogant” or acting the “know it all” I am simply correcting factual inaccuracies and mistruths being peddled by the Fianna Fáil apologists. And as somebody who worked very closely with Martin over the course of the campaign I think I am in a position to do so.

• Sheila there is so much wrong with that comment it’s scary.
      I’m not a Sinn Fein voter by the way and am over 40 so hopefully my views will hold some water with you.;)

• Oh dear. Poor Sheila Byrne. You keep getting caught out yet you keep coming back for more. Ask Mark for a loan of some of his books. He sounds like a reasonable chap, didn’t use any name calling, unlike yourself.

Read the books and try using your imagination and a little bit of empathy. Try not to be so judgemental of people in whose shoes you haven’t walked.

You said in another thread how you remember the Dublin and Monaghan bombings. I bet you thought they were planted by the IRA. We have been fed a lot of propaganda in the 26 counties. Try not to swallow all of it.

• I’m not a Gallagher person , but if it came down to him or the shinner , it would be him !

How can any person believe one word out of the shinners mouth ! Complete liars and trying to fool the general public .

It astounds me how some people are accepting them so easily . I think they are took young to remember all the people that were murdered by the military side of sine Fein !
    And yes , their leaders were involved !

• Deirdre at least make an effort to spell the party’s name right………

• I see a pattern here coming from Sinn Fein. There’s Inkgate. In 2007 and 2008, Aengus O’Snodaigh used 5 times more ink cartridges than the next most profligate TD. He claims he was using them only for his own constituency business. Now, we have the possibility that Sinn Fein bigwigs knew about the bogus twitter account and an orchestrated plan to do Sean Gallagher in. There appears to be a culture of secrecy and opportunism within Sinn Fein.

• full of provos here tonite ! !

• SF and FF fighting over one being even more cretinous than the other. I love it.

• Old news. I uncovered this fact over a week ago. http://conorculkin.blogspot.com/2012/03/rte-were-negligent-says-adams.html

• I can’t believe that any political party including the greens would ask Mac Stout and SF to come clean. That is a good indicator of the level of intelligence within politics.

• Anyone care that McG’s claim was untrue? That he ambushed Gallagher with a lie. Or is just that no one’s surprised….

• McGuinness was correct.

Gallagher collected money in exchange for access to influential politicians.

Gallagher confirmed himself that he collected envelopes for FF.

• @ Mark Moloney,

If it was not coming from the ‘real mcguinness tweeter’ why didn’t mcguinness stop it there and then on live TV. He kept the argument going as much as Kenny did. Why are people blaming RTE for this. Yes RTE can and have been incompetent in the past but mcguinness dragged this on FOREVER during the debate that evening.

I am just totally bored on this thread and am going to put my energies into something more constructive and positive. Good day.

• Eh Sheila, MArtin was live on air.

Morgan had told him earlier about Gallagher’s activities for FF.

For all McGuinness knew Morgan could have announced he was holding a press conference. Was Martin going to take out his laptop during a live debate to check the facts of something the RTÉ staff had claimed was true, wnd one can only assume, fact checked???

A bit of reality please.

McGuinness was correct in pointing out that Gallagher was a Fianna Fáil bagman. That was not true and Gallagher confirmed as much. The only thing that wasnt true was that Morgan would appear at a press conference. And the person who got that wrong was RTÉ who didn;t check their sources.

• Sheila
      Bye :)

• all right mark molony and about the twitter accounts but hugh morgan story inrelation to gallagher personelly receiving the cheque was in doubt and fell apart when looked into further

http://www.newsscoops.org/?p=763 michael o’farrell investigation

http://www.thejournal.ie/fianna-fail-says-morgan-cheque-was-cashed-before-fundraising-event-263212-Oct2011/

• Gallagher was receiving so many cheques he could not keep track.

If he wasn’t picking up cheques then all he had to say was “this is untrue”. But he didn’t, he talked about how he “may” have received brown envelopes etc…

• He was selling 30 minute private access to the Taoiseach for 5k a pop.

There needs to be an investigation in to this to see if any of the people involved were given state contracts, were laws changed in the favour. This is the bread and butter of FF politics in Ireland. You sell and buy political favour, you sell tax payers money to those that cough up.

It stinks to heaven. Gallagher isn’t fit to hold public office at any level. Standards people, standards.

• yes gallagher admits soliticiting donations on behalf of fianna fail on rte new http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOAHJ6y94DY ok im going to back track here, rereading the statement, morgan did clarify things http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1025/hughmorganstatement.html galagher was particular in saying he didn’t pick the cheque up at morgans business but then later also said he dropped the photographs off at a nearby hotel so the cheque could have been picked up from there before too

• @Leon O Haaodhagain & Eamonn Hughes,

If you both watch the recording of the programme that night and ‘listen’ to mcguinness, he said that HE had received a tweet, personally!

Muppets? you’re that alright!

• @ Reada,

Your comment on me thinking that the Dublin/Monaghan bombings were caused by the ira is just so sad. Your arrogance is part of your youth. I suppose we were all there once.

I don’t judge as you do, I just don’t allow negativity into my mind, which in my opinion s fein/ira is full of, not excluding the other groups in the six counties. One only has to watch and listen to g adams, m mcdonald in the Dail each day. Never, never is there anything constructive said by either of them.

• @Rommel

I don’t and didn’t mean to insult or put down anyone on this thread. I feel young lads like Reada and Mark are just arrogant because of the age they are.

I met with an ira individual and his wife about 4 months ago. He was very involved in the hunger strikes. I was with someone at the time that was interviewing him. I was very fearful and must admit I had a wall between him and me. From the conversation, I had huge respect for his wife, listening to her and what she does and has been doing for her community for many years. She’s a great person and we got on very well. Maybe it was to do with both of us being mothers and wanting peace and happiness for our children.

What her husband told us during the conversation was his opinion and what I said was my opinion. We didn’t argue but enjoyed the time as we all got an insight into each others lives during the ’60′s/’70′s. He still has his beliefs and I have mine. We shook hands, wished each other well in our lives and said goodbye. He saw that I had/he had respect for each other. We may not have agreed on everything and the way things were done in the past but we ‘respected’ each other.

Sorry if it sounded like I was not respecting you, Rommel, nothing I said was aimed at you and others on this thread. Just trying to get my opinion across to Mark.

• Sheila, I don’t feel in the least bit disrespected. But to suggest that people’s opinions are not as valid as your own, as you have done repeatedly on this thread, because of their age, brainwashing, lack of intelligence etc is quite pathetic.
      Like it or not Sinn Féin ( yes capitals and correct spelling) are not going to disappear because you might wish it to happen.
      Unfortunately you seem to be one of those people who expect Unionists to share power with SF, yet you would rather live in the past down here. With your superior knowledge of our history you too should know that the main parties in the Republic were also born out of conflict and savage blood letting and there is nothing particularly new in the evolution of Sinn Féin as a mainstream political party.
      That said, they do have some distance to go in my opinion.

• Sheila. Young boys like you have to cop yourselves on and do some research. I’ll put your arrogance down to your youth. Some day you’ll grow up to be a middle aged (Jesus, that sounds terrible) woman like me and then you’ll know everything like I do. Then we’ll have a debate. Until then, do more study… ;)

• @Rommel

If reading my messages, you saw that I was disrespecting other peoples opinion, that was not meant, it was merely asking the two individuals to respect mine and others as I could and can see that they don’t respect ours. I do not and never expect s fein to go away and as much as you and the others think that both s fein and the Unionists will not sit around the table, they are going to have to for the youth of Ireland. Whether you, I, Mark, Reada and many others think, everybody has to sit around the table and keep talking until things are agreed on. No matter how much they don’t want it, the ordinary folk of 6 counties and 26 counties have the right to speak and give their opinion.

To correct you from your message above, I did not, not once, state that I had a superior knowledge of Irish history and was merely speaking of living in the ’60′s/70′s as a teenager and remembering what went on. I am well aware of the parties that were born out of the conflict.

Great words spoken by the lady above ‘Nuala’.

• Mark, Reada,

No, I am most certainly not a supporter of Mr. Gallagher. As you’ve checked out, from my profile, I have nothing to hide. What you saw was done 2 years ago and when he was a dragon. If I had, I would have made a new ‘name/account’ to go on journal.ie Young chaps like you think you know it all. The fact that you have some books on your shelf doesn’t mean anything. I lived in the ’60′s/’70′s I know what it was like. Being part of mcguinness team during his campaign does not mean you are more knowledable than I. Just means that your were an easy target for brainwashing by him. I call people like you a ‘sponge’ you take in everything a certain individual is telling you and sadly you actually believe him, instead of opening your mind to discussion from other sides/people. I will say it again, there is no way S Gallagher could have been my President. to me, it was going to be his best business ever! Not enough life and political experience either. I am an independent person and I vote as an independent citizen of this country also. There’s no use in trying to talk to people like you because you are not willing to listen or open to proper discussion, so on that note I bid you good day, Slan, and and that good stuff.

Add New Comment