TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Supporters to hold Cavan rally for Quinn family

Supporters of the family will hold a rally in Ballyconnell, Co Cavan on Sunday seeking the withdrawal of contempt orders.

Sean Quinn Jr, Peter Darragh Quinn and Sean Quinn outside the High Court in March.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

SUPPORTERS of the Quinn family are to hold a rally in support of the family this weekend – urging the former Anglo Irish Bank to seek the suspension of the contempt orders issued against them this week.

The rally will be held in the Cavan village of Ballyconnell, the site of a Quinn packaging plant, on Sunday evening.

Supporters said they were holding the demonstration to show their solidarity with the Quinn family and to “support natural justice”.

An organiser said attendees would appeal to the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation, formerly Anglo Irish Bank, to seek the suspension of the contempt orders issued by the High Court against Seán Quinn, his son Seán Jr and his nephew Peter Darragh.

Both Sean Quinn Jr and Peter Darragh Quinn were sentenced to 90 days in prison for their contempt of previous High Court orders demanding that the family stop any actions which could move its overseas assets beyond the reach of IBRC, to whom the bankrupt Quinn and his group owe €2.3 billion.

Sean Quinn Jr has already begun his sentence, though the whereabouts of Peter Darragh – who was absent for the court hearings which led to his sentencing – remain unknown.

The family’s supporters have called on IBRC to engage with the Quinns, through their lawyers, “to resolve the present impasse”.

They also want IBRC to suspend all further pending proceedings against the family “until the legitimacy of the €2.3bn debt is clarified”.

Read: Judge slams Quinn family’s dishonesty

More: Local GAA club stands by Quinn family

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (91 Comments)

• Ro.K 26/07/12 #

Dear God….and i’m from Cavan myself…still,the mind boggles:-/???”natural justice”indeed!

• That’s gas. None so blind as those that will not see!

• So you are saying that there are not blinder people than blind people. Well that is genius. With regards the Quinn situation Anglo have falsified accounts, used the Quinns to manipulate the share price, later got the Quinns to sign personal guarantees without them knowing what they were signing and then later again getting them to sign documents that they got legal advice. Why would people ever think that there was an injustice. Instead we will sit in awe of the genius of someone who comes out meaningless saying. Next you should tell us that if a tree falls in the forest and no one hears it did it make a sound. That would be just as apt and you would look intelligent.

• Tom are you for real, your telling me that Quinn signed a document form Anglo without reading it!!!! Do yourself a favour, go to the sink in your house, now turn on the cold tap, put your hand under the tap, now finally, throw some of that cold water over your face….have you woken up???

• Anglo got the Quinns to sign guarantees without knowing what was in them? Do you seriously believe this? Do you not see how Sean Quinn has pulled the wool over your eyes and blinded you to the truth?

• Y.F. 26/07/12 #

Michael…. it was the Quinn children that were asked to sign these docements…makes you wonder about the legality of them when 5 months after signing, Anglo ask them to sign forms to say that they had legal advice before signing?..

• Why would be guarantees be signed after the loans were given. No one with any sense would sign them. Why would you? You have the money!

• I’m sorry, I just can’t buy it, when I get a credit union loan for a couple of hundred quid I read the agreement…..Look I can understand people’s loyalty to the Quinn family from the local area, Its like JP McManus in Limerick, people think he’s great, gives money to local GAA and charities, personally I’d prefer if he stopped been a tax exile, it will take time for people of Cavan to realise the full extent of the gamble he played with your futures, but I guarantee ye, when the full picture comes, out you won’t be looking at the Quinn’s the same way

• Michael,

I don’t really care if you believe it. It was noted in court that the guarantees were not dated. The reason for this is that they came after the fact. Fact! You may not believe in gravity. That’s fine. I just would not jump of a roof anytime soon.

• Tom, it was noted in court only yesterday by the judge, that he has never experienced such dishonesty in his courtroom, as what has been shown by the Quinns, I couldn’t give a fiddlers of what you think of my opinion, the only opinion that counts is that of the judge and that’s not looking too good for them

• Michael,

Your points was questioning that Anglo got to sign documents they did not know what they were. They did! That is the point! If you make billions do you think you are going to be stupid. If I had been given money and someone said sign this so we can take everything of you if we want, months after. I would say no thanks.

• Tom. You are either a troll or an idiot. I think the latter.

• Will these people ever learn?

• Rory 26/07/12 #

All two of them..

• The IBRC will definitely suspend that contempt of court order now lol.

• There must be an old telephone kiosk there in which to hold that rally….. The Quinn family are frauds. They did wrong and were caught . Tell us where the money is !

• Bottom line is… The Quinn Group got an order by the Irish Courts and they did not agree with it so they ignored it and went so far as to sneer it. That is why they are in prison. Why should the law be any different for them…cause they are rich. It has to be one law in this country !

• Fagan's 26/07/12 #

The people at the top breaking the law has destroyed our economy for 90 years. The Quinn; fupped up massively, adn want the tax pater to pay, for what was illegal actions by them. I respect them for a lot of things but this is too far. Accountability and responsibility from here on in.

• maura 26/07/12 #

Why has Peter Quinn not been reported missing to the Guardi if nobody has heard from him? just asking.#vinb

• Im gobsmaked, when will people in this country learn….

• In what way. When will people in this country learn that we need entrepreneurs to drive growth in this country? That bankers that ran a bank that cost the state circa €30 billion should not be rewarded with high paying jobs ruining a previously highly successful company. (The Quinn Group). There are lots of things this country should learn.

• This man sobbed his eyes out on TV promising to repay the Irish people everything he owed. Said he wasn’t running from his responsibilities. He’s spent the last few years doing the opposite, trying to put his money beyond reach. Despite this, deluded fools will turn out to support him. ya couldn’t make this shit up…

• They received dodgy loans from a dodgy banker it goes belly up and they think they don’t owe anything! They deliberately try to hide their assets – They and their supporters live in cloud cuckoo land! Throw sean quinn in too!

• Sean quinn was a self made man. Hard labour. Worst thing he ever did was invest in a bogus bad bank. He never did that with his own money in all the years. Then Anglo starts to fall and the suits not only beg him to prop them up with buying shares, they offer him the free money to do it. Then when they fall anyway the bastards paint themselves, IBRC, as the good guys. They do not represent the public, we own their sorry asses. Hypocracy is astounding. I dont love the quinns but this affair is not balanced.

• Same group of people who’d back Michael Lowry, PJ Flynn, would back a convicted sex abusing priest, would applaud a rapist leaving court, etc,. Why? Sure they’re a sound bunch of lads or alternatively, HE FIXED THE ROAD.

• The best way the Ballyconnell locals could support the Quinns is to start fundraising €2.3bn to pay their debt.

I also find it gas that they are ‘appealing to Anglo’. I doubt they’ll listen much seeing as it wasn’t too long ago the same bunch of locals were firebombing their cars and houses.

• Y.F. 26/07/12 #

ANGLO say they are owed 2.3 bn. This figure is hugely in dispute. The figure that is undisputed is under 450 million ( all of which has been paid back to date). So, if the Quinn’s and many others believe that they don’t owe the money, why on earth would they pay it? Let the court decide whether they owe it Derek! Would you pay a debt you didn’t owe?

• Yep, it’s a huge number alright. By the way, I’m planning a discussion with my bank manager about my mortgage. How many disbelievers do I need to get behind me to make it go away? (it’s a lot less than 2.3 bn, but still unbelievable)

• Y.F. 26/07/12 #

censored:
      If my neighbour bought a house and then told people that I owed the money for it, I wouldn’t pay for it…but you can see how you get on with that one

• Pull the other one Y.F. If I put a bet on a nag in Paddy Power and demanded my money back if it got beat, I’d be laughed out of the shop. He gambled stupidly. He lost. Pay up

• Y.F. 26/07/12 #

smithan,
      Sean quinn and the directors in his company put forward perfectly viable proposals to Anglo on how to repay the debt (disputed as it is) over a 7 year period. These proposals were ignored and thrown back in his face. They took everything they could from him and left him with no means of ever paying a debt of this size off. The legalities of what happened between Quinn and Anglo are hugely disputed. Anglo are not the pillars of society that you believe them to be. They ( and the government) have made sure the SQ is bad guy, and they are good…and people are believing this propaganda. Sean Quinn has never had a fair hearing but by God we’ll all be watching as he takes on the big boys in court

• This is why there in contempt of court they are moving assets around that will help recoup the billions owed so obviously the judge thinks they owe it Anglo have that on there side

• Y.F. 26/07/12 #

Gavin, Anglo don’t have any judge on their side…. They have our government on their side. This is why we have been presented with one side of an argument for so long now

• Y.F. I’m not disputing that Anglo were a shower or conniving s***s. if I was gambling, and let’s face it., it was gambling, with 2.3bn, I wouldn’t trust a soul and I’d enter into it with my eyes wide open. He lost. Honour your debt

• Y.F. 27/07/12 #

All I’m saying is give him his chance in court against them… there’s a real stink about the whole thing and not in the way you’re thinking. Let the truth come out. I honestly believe that this is a witch-hunt…and Anglo are not the only ones behind it. We’re not being let see the whole picture i think.

• Reg 26/07/12 #

All the hardware shope will be sold out of pitch forks ;-)

• Can all these supporters please pay everyone’s insurance levy because of the Quinn’s family business practices.

• The stupidity of these so called supporters is nothing short of mind boggling.
    Have they been locked up in some shed or hay barn?
    Perhaps they will sneak Peter Quinn in and out for a speech!

• damian 26/07/12 #

This is like something from a Ross O’Carroll-Kelly book!!!

• These people are corrupt. Hiding assets from the State. Who do these supporters think is going to pay for this shortfall. The ordinary people.

• Y.F. 26/07/12 #

Henry, you’re right there. The reason we are going to pay for it is because Anglo refused to go ahead with the perfectly viable proposal that Quinn put forward. They wanted him out. They wanted to take what they could get when there was money to be made. They were not thinking of anyone but themselves and getting Quinn out. THEN out government bailed Anglo out so we, the Irish taxpayer are left with ANGLO’s debt.

• Well said they have the cash offshore to pay their debts
      And ask the court for 2000 a week living expenses allowance each lol
      Try telling that to the bank when renegotiating your mortgage repayments
      He did bold an empire and made much employment
      But he was suckered in by his greed and his x Anglo buddies

• What a bunch of yokels. Torches? Check. Pitchforks? Check.

• TheQuinns are criminals and it shows real peasant mentality to say they created a few jobs (and the blessin’ o’ god and his holy mudder on ya yer honour)and so can do WTF they like.
    Cop on and grow up.

• Not sure reg ,, but them to lady’s on VB the other night were doing more damage ,, they were talking in riddles and making no argument for him ,, well that just what I thought

• The Quinn Supporters must have got brown envelopes from them. Shame on you

• I really can’t believe this. As for chasing away the wealthy, well guess what, they’re the reason we’re in the mess we’re in. Do you seriously think the Quinn group was a charitable organisation. They’re supposed to be broke. I’d love to be broke on over a grand A WEEK. They’re as corrupt as Anglo,or whatever it’s called now, rest of banks & bldg societies, NAMA, Government etc. Wake up and smell the coffee, for Christ’s sake. This “rally” will make as big a show of us as Enda Kenny does. It’s like something out of “Deliverance”.

• Yeah Marie, the successful are the reason we are in this mess. That’s the attitude. Sure we will all be average and get jobs in the civil service. I can’t see anything wrong with that economic model. It’s genius. You never know, why not enter that model in for the Nobel prize of economics.

• Will these people ever learn. Their time has passed. It is reportedly said (of the Quinns) that if anyone tried to take a fiver from their pockets they would have to cut their hand off first. Anyone a saw

• Fagan's 26/07/12 #

Understand it in the sense of people thanking them for bringing jobs to an unemployment blackspot Do no understand it from the point that gombeen business and cute hoor business practice kept this state broke 4 decades and made the unemployment blckspots mentioned. That this, severely underpopulated country has had any one emigrate in last 90 years says all u need to now about business and Govt. here.

• Big Fermanagh support for these shumcks.

• unfortunately cormac there isn’t one rule for all in this country. one only has to look at Wallace in the dail and the difference in his treatment to that of the garlic/apple importer. only now are they starting yo pick up corrupt and fraudulent bankers because I’m sure the powers that be namely the teachers in govt have more skeletons in closets than a Syrian morgue

• Paul if you buy a second hand car you bring a expert to check it over he tells you its fine .Two weeks later the car claps out do you get your money back .I don’t think so if you were investing that amount of money you would get 20 ppl to check it out .. He and the others were trying to prop up tge shares …he lost it’s called gambling…what a about all the ppl who lost there in all Irish banks AIB shares went from 29 euros to 5 cent do they get there money back NO !!!!! He lost plain and simple

• Support for this kind of carry on is what got this country in the mess it’s in.

• The wheels are slowing turning in this country!
    Times are bad but its about time the gangsters that caused this disaster are held responsible.
    Why would anyone defend the Quinns? Look at the rounds they went to to keep there assets from NAMA!
    Corrupt corrupt corrupt!

• I agree the gangsters that caused the financial disaster are held responsible. So those who decided to guarantee the banks should be held accountable. Those who falsified accounts of banks should be held accountable. Those who got people to keep CFD positions in order to manipulate the share price should be held accountable!

• The gas thing is folks, these clowns are also allowed vote! These are the type of people who still think Bertie and Charlie were great fellas!

• Paul it is true that supporters of Sean Quinn are allowed to vote. The problem is that the vote has very little effect on the border region. The government ignores the area. The IDA has had a net loss of jobs in Cavan over the previous 10years. The area relied on Sean Quinn. Who do we rely on now? Anglo?

• Reg 26/07/12 #

Are Tom McManus and Y.F the two deluded ladies from the VB show the other night. Only asking ;-)

• Will Peter be there?

• Gary 26/07/12 #

Pair of gangsters

• Delighted for the Quinn’s, the local people are supporting them because the Quinn’s used fraudulent money to help creat jobs for those locals.
    These people are just blind!

• I wonder is bishop Brennan making them do it

• There’s always one, isn’t there!

• How may of you think that anglo did not advise Sean Quinn of the full details. Thumbs up if you think they did advise him honestly and thumbs down if you think they were capable of lying to him. I would be really interested to see what you all think

• The Quinns have to get a fair hearing of their side of things. This country seems to be completely media driven at the moment.

• Sean Quinn for Taoisheach

• It’s important to remember in the current witch hunt climate that the captains of industry have always been guilty of things that us mere mortals would find shocking…..from the American robber barons to the recent banker scandals…..not excusing them But they are the people that provide j obs and investment..we’ll chase away the wealthy