Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Taoiseach breaches pay cap to award former advisor €35k pay rise

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Updated 15.30

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has breached his Government’s self-imposed pay cap by approving a €35,000 pay rise for one of his former advisors.

The Irish Mail on Sunday details how Kenny wrote to Secretary General at the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform last March to ask for his former advisor Ciaran Conlon be awarded an annual salary of €127,000 – well over the €92,000 cap on the salaries of special advisors that his Government has agreed upon.

Conlon had served as advisor to Kenny for eight years.

Both Finance Minister, Michael Noonan, and Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform, Brendan Howlin, disagreed with the proposal. However, Kenny insisted that the amount was justified “in this specific case” and, after much negotiation, the payment was approved.

Conlon is now advisor to Richard Bruton, although it is not thought that he had any involvement in his salary negotiations.

Meanwhile, this afternoon the Transport Minister Leo Varadkar defended the amount paid to Conlon, reports BreakingNews.ie. Varadkar said: “We decided that we would pay advisors at the level of principal officer in the civil service…but an exception would be made if the person was coming from a job in the private sector where they were being paid a lot more, where they were taking a pay cut to come and work for the Government”.

He added: “In 14 cases, we recruited really good people who were in really good jobs in the private sector who were being paid a lot more.”

The revelation comes just hours before the Taoiseach is due to address the nation tonight, when he is expected to tell the public that everyone must make sacrifices in order to reduce Ireland’s crippling public deficit.

Read: Taoiseach to address the nation tonight>

Read Next:

Comments (184 Comments)

• Kieran Gallagher 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

One rule for them a different rule for the rest of us

• PatTheBaker 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Hilarious. Can they piss on Irish people any more? Ireland is the best country in the world to be a politician…great craic :D

• Cal Mooney 05/12/11 #
      Report this comment

FF/FG/Labour …. ALL THE SAME … and the majority of this country keep voting for this shower of lieing gits …. Open your eyes … Do not vote for the Ivory tower eite, who couldnt care less about anyone except their own kind ….
      Vote for SF or the ULA next time out … If you dont, then you have no right to complain about the Government you get,

• Iain Murray 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

More lies and deceit. If only I could afford to emigrate!

• Spud Byrne 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

What was this they said?? We have to tighten our belts? Living beyond our means?

Maybe us normal folks, but not you and your buddies Mr. Kenny.

Bunch of hypocrites.

• Faceless Man 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

In fairness that was CJ then Lenihan that said that but I firmly believe that if you want to lead then it must be by example. This is just a terrible message to send, the govt needs to show solidarity not this.

• Spud Byrne 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Ok, maybe he didn’t say those exact words but the message to normal people is basically the same.

It’s sickening really.

• Mick Brennan 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

How can the country recover if Mr Kenny doesn’t lead by example!…ooops, I forgot it’s Frau Merkel running the show here!!!

• Thomas Keady 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

No change there, it was only a matter if time before something like this happened. Tomorrow more cuts to the most vulnerable.

• Gerard Murphy 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Some animals are more equal than others.

• Declan McGuigan 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

‘everyone must make sacrifices in order to reduce Ireland’s crippling public deficit’.. Unless you mates with Enda, then your fine!

• Ryan Murphy 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Saw this hitting the forums last night.

Enda, you’re a flippin’ clown for this-if it were the other crowd, we’d be decrying it as cronyism. What’s your excuse?

• Peter Carroll 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

This will go unnoticed unless people speak up and demand answers. This is completely unacceptable.

press.office@taoiseach.gov.ie
    taoiseach@taoiseach.gov.ie

• Darren Moore 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

It would make you question democracy full stop. Political parties are always better in opposition but once in power make the same decisions and mistakes of the previous government.

• Alan Wilson 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

The elected government should set an example to the people by cutting their salaries to 50000 per year. I don’t believe there is any justification for a higher figure when expenses and an instant pension awaits when they finish. The argument that we need the best people so we have to pay a high amount is wrong. Elected government officials are not always business leaders; due to the fact that the parties will only put their own in power, regardless of whether there is a better candidate else where. Additionally being elected should be seen as a moral/civil duty. Serving your country should be reward enough for any person along with a realistic wage/pension/expenses/annual leave in contemporary Ireland. Hence my reason for proposing a 50000 euro salary. If you cannot afford to live well on this much, have a think how the rest of the country lives.

• John Murphy 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

People need to realize that the inherent problem with the administration of this country is not about FF being bigger crooks than FG or Labour being bigger whores of convienance than the Greens. The political culture in the country is rotten, cronyism and gombeenism is ingrained in the politic fabric and the electorate still has the old attraction to the wideboys, chancers and the Mr. Fixits that fill the Dail.
    The route to the Dail from the backingslapping and bucklepping at the local cattle mart has to be stopped.

• Liam Byrne 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

But what’s the solution John?

• Report this comment

We need a different voting system, is online voting (as an option) being considered? It would encourage more people to vote, it would be totally transparent with no recounts and best of all I wouldn’t have to travel over 150km just to vote :-) posters and fliers should be banned, waste of money and only benefit big parties. People who want ministerial positions should put their names forward and we should vote on them nationally, then vote for TD’s locally. That way ministers could forget about their constituents and fully focus on their minister job.

Wages should be capped at 50k until we clear all debts and then WE can decide who deserves more, politicians, nurses, guards, civil servants etc.

• Report this comment

Term Limits !

• Martin Mc Cormack 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

what about backslapping in dundrum shopping centre?

• John Murphy 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

OMG! You mean backslapping in like Dundrum like…

Report this comment

Well, sort of, loike, roflmbao

• Paul Mallon 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Jesus, on-line voting?? are you nuts?? imagine how easy it would be to rig, or “loose” votes.
      There’d be no end of complications.

• Report this comment

Each person would have a unique number only they would know. When you vote you get a confirmation letter stating your vote. all votes with id numbers would be online and on a notice board in every town.So if your vote was wrong on the list you would have the email to prove it. How could rig that or loose votes?

Report this comment

where would we store the notice boards

• Report this comment

The schools that we vote in already have them, It wouldnt cost a penny.

• Report this comment

And the politicians could put them up for free, at least they would be doing useful for a change, lol

• Report this comment

Nice wee song here, totally sums up how I’m feeling

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dt9Iqa79vfU

• John McHugh 05/12/11 #
      Report this comment

First thing we need is the ability to initiate and veta legislation engrained back into our constitution(articles 47 and 48) until we do that the government will never be accountable to the electorate. Once we have those two articled we can start actually reforming our government without fear of laws being passed in secret by the dail or laws being proposed which are not in the shared interedt of the state.
      We also need to print out a list of campaign promises from parties and include them into a legally binding contract. If ythe politician looking for your vote refuss to sign then dont vote for them as they have no intention of telling the truth if they do sign and break your contract sue them. It would bring a new meaning to the term mandate of the people and would rightly make politicians fear their electorate.

• Jim Walsh 05/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Sounds great in theory but its an Impractical solution in practice John.

Lets say your politician signs an contract not to increase income tax before an election. Two years into government a major financial collapse happens and income tax need to be increased to plug a hole in the country’s financies. What happens then? Does the government resign and have an election because they can’t increase taxes?

What about coalitions? What happens in one party promises to lower taxes by 2% and another by 4%? Those parties can’t create a coalition because one of them will be forced to break a contract. Given that coalitions are the most likely form of government in Ireland we’d never be able to get a stable government. Instead we’d have a set of weak minority governments that would constantly be voted out of office by the opposition.

• John McHugh 05/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Have to disagree Jim, its only impractal if a party promise impractical things. If they have no intention of doing what they are promising they shouldnt be running a PR machine convincing people they do.

Why don’t you apply the impracticality of this idea to the bond markets? Its impractical to keep failed institutions afloat on the backs of the tax payer, especially as it creates an incentive to do things badly and screw over account holders/tax payers in the process.

I am proposing the same system used by the developers, bankers and speculators. They don’t give politicians mandates becuase they aren’t stupid. They get legally binding contracts irregardless of the practicallity of said contracts. It doesn’t matter that they are not paying their debt because they have a contract forcing you to pay it instead. Whilst you have a mandate, something none of the parties take seriously nor do they have to take seriously.

If your serious about changing things you need to identify the problem. Fight fire with fire. Dont sit and take it up the …. Don’t sit and watch your neighbor getting abused, or your child or grandchild getting abused or your future children getting abused.
      If you do your no different from the priests who shuffled the paedofiles around the country hoping that by sticking their heads in the sand everything would work out.

siliconrepublic.com/new-media/item/20250-electoral-map-system-to-hel
      Go to that link to get a taste for how politics and campaiging works in ireland. They use GIS software to determine how to approach you individually and how to appeal to you even though they have no intention of helping you. If you were to do a psychological analysis of these people you would probably come to one conclusion ‘Psychopathy’.

They are incapable of feeling empathy for the electorate and incredible at manipulating them into thinking that they do. Classic attributes of psycopathy. People are handing powers over to them with no legally binding conditions. You know psycopathy is caused by a parasitic gene. You dont put parasites in water supplies nor should you put psycopaths in situations of absalute power. You dont stick them at the single point of failure and expect them not to take advantage, not to infect everything down the hierarchy.

They have moved from parasiticically leeching at your most vurnrable times(death of a loved one), to learning as much about you without drawing attention to themselves.

So the question was how do we make the people we vote for work for us and not the markets.

I agree contacts are impractical and it would be much better if we had articles 47 and 48 added back into our constitution so that we could initiate and veto legislation like I said on the previous comment. That way we could approach issues as they arise and not approach delicate issues with 4 year sledgehammers.
      These people are not prophets and our current system treats them as such.

Why not use that GIS data to help us map out progression in our country rather then help politicians sytematically lie to every one of us.
      Apply funds where it actually counts. Abolish the management/pencil pushers in the HSE and have each hospital independantly run(keep funding frontline staff and facilities). Reward them for saving lives rather than punish them for treating too many heart attacks.

The data of income and expenditure should publically available for critique.
      Allowing the Irish people to compare how well the hospitals are being run and allocate funds accordingly.
      At the end of the day contracts are impractical but they are being used against the irish people, they are being used to defraud our justice/political/ecconomic system.

Make as much risky bets as you want because even if you lose you dont have to pay, in fact you can make money(interest) from the poor sap being forced to pay.
      It creates a dual ecconomy/litigation system which reinforces the concept of entitlement through lineage over reward for success.

The lower/mid earners have debt over their heads before they are even born whilst the people manipulating the political/justice system make new rules to ensure that their familly tree retain cash irregardless of how reckless they are with it.

People want change, they dont want to have to be violent to achieve it. Here are the steps they should take. Create contracts for politicians to sign until they give you the ability to veto and initiate legislation.

• John McHugh 05/12/11 #
      Report this comment

As for the coalition Jim, well the coalition is just another excuse used far too much. Take a look at Labour and FG positions on students durig the election. They both took the same stance. They both made promises to the students and both are now pointing at the other and saying that becuase they are in a coalition they needed to comprimise. How does that make sense.

If ‘Boy A’ says ‘Boy C’ has a green shirt and Boy B says Boy C has a green shirt. Then both ‘Boy A’ and ‘B’ agree that ‘Boy C’ has a green shirt. It doesnt make sense to say that a compramise between ‘Boy A’ and ‘Boy B’ is the assertion that ‘Boy C’ has no shirt. It doesn’t make sense, its just a ruse to fool you into not holding either party accountable for what they promise. Whilst bankers, developers and speculators rape and laugh at you.

• Report this comment

And that is why we need term limits, to get the liars out.

• Howard Cooley 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Same shit different day. Or should it read same shit different party or just different name. The country hasn’t a chance with muppets like these running the show.

It might just be better under the Hausfrau after all.

• Pat O Hara 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Same old shit , Haughey tighten you belts , Kenny tighten your belts

• Report this comment

Why are we letting them get away with this? What has he done to deserve that kind of money? If things were getting better I might understand a pay rise, but they’re not, they’re worse. They are taking our tax money to give to themselves, not to benefit us. The whole political system needs to change in this country and Europe. These guys are making up and breaking rules just to suit them and their friends. Their priority is their party.

We pay taxes to pay for roads, hospitals, schools etc. Not to overpay politicians and civil servants. They need to get real, the country has no money, we can’t afford to pay them anymore, it’s unsustainable.

• Liam Byrne 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I feel angry and slightly ill reading that. And you know what will happen, nothing.

• Gis Bayertz 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Let in the clowns!

• Rachel Walsh Howe 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Same old shit!! Disgraceful and if he blames everything on ff tonight I will smash the fecking tele!!!

• Jonathan Hayes 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

We need a movement, an uprising if you will

• Rosco fuentes 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I dont see the point in whinging about this on journal.ie… What difference does it make? None!

Typical irish attitude of negativity, moaning, complaining, but doing absolutely FA about it.. If you feel so strongly about it get off your couch, step away from your smartphone and do something worthwhile..

• Seán Ó Briain 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Because The Journal allows for comments on their stories, and like any other story on the website – people take advantage of that opportunity and express their feelings.

Why exactly should someone be positive about this story? If that’s your best defence of Enda – you’re going to have to try a little harder.

• Report this comment

Does anyone see the similarities between the AngloNormans being invited in to uphold a corrupt leadership (just to take over) all those years ago and now. Except its Franco/German conquerors this time.

• Paul Mekitarian 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Yes because he is a two faced lying bastard with his nose up Angela Merkel’s arse. The others haven’t a backbone between them either. Shower of self serving wankers. What did we expect?

• Kieran Dunne 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Jennifer, Some details in this article are incorrect. One that needs clarification is Conlon’s post as an advisor to Bruton @ dept for jobs et al. He’s not social protection advisor to Burton as this article suggests.

• Jennifer Wade 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Thanks Kieran – that was my mistake. That should be amended now.

Report this comment

@kieran dunne. and the differance that makes is what exactly?

• Chopper 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

@Martin, mmm… accuracy, no?

Report this comment

Right, so what material difference does it make?

• Chopper 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

@Martin, I’d say every journalist would like to think that what they write is factually correct. It’s pretty much one of the basic tenets of journalism, and I’d imagine any journalist wouldn’t mind such things being flagged.

Of course, a minor detail like that is unimportant to your opinion of the subject, but the article is written objectively – another one of the journalistic integrity principle-y things! – and the “material difference” to your opinion is, sorry, irrelevant.

Thankfully, theJournal are always on the ball when *anything* in an article is found to be inaccurate.

• Debbie Ringwood 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Just as bad as the last lot, that pay rise was more than some people’s annual salary. Judging by the poor performance of this gov, you really have to wonder what the hell this expensive advisor does as they’re sure as hell not advising anybody in gov on how to do a half decent job.

• Derek Durkin 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Revolution is needed. Can’t put up with another 5 years of this shit.

• Joseph Boshell 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

A 35k INCREASE!! Thats more than my entire salary!!

• John Ryan 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

A grossly offensive decision to the average citizen and incredulous, given that we tolerate it! (And the amount of people struggling this Christmas). These people are really on a different planet!

• Shebeen Balla 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

The infamous 5 point plan , abolition of senate , end of quango’s….. is that next election promise Enda or should we ask Angel… our european saviour.

• William O'Shea 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

No Shebeen, that will be FF’s next election promise as an indignant, ignorant, amnesiac and gullible electorate somehow convince themselves they were better under FF!!!!!!!

• Report this comment

Expect more of this to come out
    As we see these incompetent spineless greedy F*****S getting richer and richer
    Paid far too, much fat pensions and the country on its knees and they plan to cripple the working class people
    GREED pure GREED and corruption

• Yosser Hughes 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

And he’s on national television tonight talking down to the minions about the need for austerity, all the while he and his cronies live it up …… That’s the bit that does it for me they don’t live in the real world !!!!

• divide by zero 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

More cronyism, backscratching etc. the sooner FG and Inda realise they’re in because people voted for the least worst alternative, the better. This backtracking plays into the hands of FF.

Different arse, same smell.

• David Doyle 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

of course he’ll blame it all on ff, can’t believe people voted them in, Kenny as leader is the biggest mistake this country has ever made!!!!

• David Conway 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

What? I just don’t understand the thought process of these guys. He just gave his advisor a salary of a teacher/nurse etc worth of a pay rise. How can Kenny come out tonight and say that the country is in serious financial trouble and we all have to do our part and pay increased taxes when he is handing out pay increase to his mates. Some advisor he is, surely he would have advised him that giving him a pay rise might no go down well with the public.

• Shanti Om 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Yeah and if their excuse is “he’d be paid more in the private sector” then let him fuckin stay there.. We – the TAX PAYERS, their WAGE PAYERS, their BOSSES, can’t afford it.

We should get more say over what our taxes pay for.. I would prefer my taxes paying for public services and infrastructure, not insane pay rises for nobodies to keep them from running back to the private sector, or massive pensions for people who’s level of incompetency rivals that of an underwater hair dryer.

• Alan Mulvey 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

well next time I vote its sf or ula I voted Labour last time what a wasted vote

• Stephen Johnston 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Leaving aside the objective wrongness, this may be the *stupidest* thing I’ve seen anyone do for quite some time. My opinion of Enda, never the highest, has just plummeted.

• Randy savage 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

i give up

• made 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I’m totally sick after reading this, does Kenny not have any morals at all. He lied to get into government and now he’s in he’s still lying. If I lied to get a job and got found out I’d be sacked so how come we can’t touch politicians when they lie to get into a job.

• Eileen Gabbett 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Very disappointed …What is your excuse Enda ?

• Report this comment

He don’t need one – he like his predecessors’ does what the hell they like!
      …And stuff us!

• Eileen Gabbett 05/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Unitedpeople Ireland .
      I was serious when I asked him what his excuse is . I emailed him and I emailed my local FG TD who is a minister .I am not going to be defeatist any more .They won’t stuff us if we stand up and ask them direct questions and keep asking them until we get a real answer….If I get a reply I will tell you

• Darragh Mullin 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Sly dog kenny

• Joey Reilly 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

He is after making an absolute fool of himself..

• Matt Larkin 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

all this talk of rising up and revolution’s sound’s great but let’s be honest that would mean that some people would have to get off their arse’s and come out and stand up, and that just wouldn’t suit most of us. And those who do are left without support and the corrupt people in power know this too and it make’s it so easy then to crush anyone who stand’s. The irish people have never backed any rising in our history alway’s leaving it to the few to go out and stand up. If they succeed they were great men, if they fail they fail they were fool’s oh and that was not done in our name. As a nation we talk a good fight, listen to any radio talk show. I for one am sick of listening to the whinging irish. how many will block the gate’s of dail eireann monday or tues. Not anyone on this or joe duffy or david harvey ect. Wake up people. We the people are they power but we need to stand united

• Lar 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Do they really give a shit about us !
    How can he justify a 35k increase to the people struggling to survive
    We can we do to make a point ?

• Jeff O'Reilly 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Eh, you know we don’t actually need politicians.

• Andrew Telford 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Supply and demand…

The expertise required at that level is immense, I know most Irish people have the perception that the country could be run by anyone but the truth of the matter is monetary policy is an area that hiring an international expert could save billions in the long run.

If we are to attract talented people to positions within the government we must compensate them appropriately or they’ll simply won’t take the job

• DSR 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Wrong.

The problem here is that career public servants (like Kenny) have a view on what constitutes a “good” salary that is completely out of kilter with what normal people (here and abroad). 90k euro is a LOT of money, now matter where you go in the world. Of course there will always be exceptions for people that are exceptionally talented or experienced, but

Put simply, Kenny is still living in cloud-cuckoo land. He is obviously comparing this salary with his own (completely over the top) package, not with what normal people earn here (in the private sector) or with what his opposite number (say in Germany) earns.

Fine Gael are a slightly posher version of Fianna Fail, you couldn’t put a cigarette paper between them on 99% of policy issues.

• Mandy Willoughby 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

absolutely disgusted i always knew enda was a gormless idiot but at least i thought he wanted to do right by the country. He needs to get out of merkel’s backside and start thinking of the people he pleged to do right by when he was looking for votes

• Dave finn 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

There comes a time when everyone looks at each other with an unmistakeable “i’ve had enough”. Have we got there yet?

• Aoife Byrne 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Not only is he breaking his own rules, but 35 thousand? He could’ve hired someone on that, it would’ve supported a family. Instead that family’s still stuck on the social welfare

• made 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Well Dave I got there some time back, I’ve just sent an e-mail to the Taoiseach’s department stating my disgust at what he has just done and my disgust for everything else he is doing and about to do to the ordinary decent people of Ireland and even though I don’t know if it will make a difference I intend to keep sending e-mails to him and every other minister in government. I know it’s not much as e-mails can be deleted but at least to me it’s something.

• Mark Malone 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

BREAKING: Preview of Enda Kenny’s “State of the Nation” Address bit.ly/rHl0v2

• Sue Anthony 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

He added: “In 14 cases, we recruited really good people who were in really good jobs in the private sector who were being paid a lot more.”

This is really sickening, they had a choice and they decided to take the job, the pay is for the job done, not the for the job previously done.

Let them go back to the private sector !

• William O'Shea 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I honestly don’t understand why anyone is surprised? FG comes from the same gene pool as FF! What did you expect? Labour (MY wasted vote) have thrown away their chance of an overall majority at the next election as a result of facilitating this Dail carry on the policies of FF………… Labour are the biggest let down… they’re only working class in opposition! Right, last throw of the die…. Sinn Fein you’re up……… and for f*%”s sake don’t betray the people……… pretty please?

• Dave finn 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

You are dead right William. We need to keep turfing failures out of office, and elect new governments until they finally get the message that we will no longer tolerate the bullshit. Party allegiance needs to go out the window. We need to use our vote smartly until we find a government who actually will do what’s right regardless of who they are.

• Réada Quinn 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

You made the mistake of mentioning sinn féin William. It just draws out the civil war them and us kinda sentiment from all the voters that are going to continue to vote same way they always do.

• Darragh Mc Donagh 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

The story of the Government breaching pay caps for advisors arose months ago. It’s old news and it’s cynical of the MoS to re-hash it ahead of Enda’s broadcast. While exceptions have been made in individual cases, the overall cost of advisors has been reduced significantly since the previous administration. As has ministerial pay, travel costs and other perks.

• Shanti Om 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Still, 35k is a decent wage all in itself.. As a pay raise in a recession, paid by a government who is in as much debt as we all are – it’s ludicrous..

• Aidan Molloy 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Cannot wait for the spoof later

• Conor Sheehan 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

This is just more fat to the fat pigs arse. We have become so accepting of this kind of cronyism that I’m sometimes embarrassed to be Irish. We need to say NO! STOP! The whole country is corrupt and while most of us are heading into Christmas worrying about bills and mortgages and no jobs, these excuses for leaders are giving raises worth more than many peoples income to their mates. ENOUGH!

• Conor Heffernan 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

if the minister hasnt the qualifications to do his job, sack him and give his job to someone qualified to do it. Where is the justification in paying a minister to make decisions when u have to pay another guy to to tell him what he should do! Cut out the waste!

• Kevin Carroll 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

RESIGN how dare you! you’ve no right to spend our money like that

• chicken ball ann 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I don’t bloody believe it, in all honesty who do they think they are ? FG & LAB have just proved that they are no different than FF, in fact the last election was a waste of time & money! 35k increase in salary as an advisor ? ARE THEY NOT GOOD ENOUGH TO DO THE JOB THEY WERE ASKED & ELECTED TO DO BY US ? ADVISERS MY ARSE.

• Daisy Chainsaw 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

If the gobshites we elected can’t do their job without advisors, why not ditch the useless TDs and let the advisors run the country. That would save us a fortune in wages, “expenses” and the general drain on resources the morons in Dáil Éireann are.

• Oisin Kabla 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

If you think this is crap go out and do something about it.

• Gerard Wyer 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

So who voted for these clowns and are you proud of yourselves?

• Joey Reilly 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

what’s the alternative

• Andrew Logue 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

There are plenty of alternatives Joey. It is not mandatory to vote for either FF or FG. There are parties out there who represent the interests of ordinary people. (I would not include Labour in this, I wouldnt vote for them in a fit)

• Paddy Murray 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

How can he justify this. He is looking after his own again. Noticed labour are been very quite. They can’t blame FF for this one.
    People who voted for these liars should have a good look at themselves. They are guys that wanted more done in everyone of the last 7 or more budgets. Now they just blame FF. Kenny has no back bone.

• Vincent Talbot 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

think imf need to set up goverment here ,only way to stop this crazyness senior civil servants makeing the rules ,goverment afraid to stand up to them,

• Derek Durkin 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

You should do a bit of research on the IMF before making decisions like that. After all they they caused the crash in the first place.

• Paul Lanigan 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

The IMF did not CAUSE the crash. If the IMF had their way we would have burned bond holders and torn up the CPA. Get your facts right

• Meath 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Was this in the 5 point plan? Indah is a smiling assassin, just as self serving as the last crowd.

• Report this comment

facepalm

• hibernia2011 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

the highly intelligent people of Ireland voted for enda and the gang.what more is there to say. and guess what, the highly intelligent people of Ireland will go and vote fianna fail right back in again in the next general election. we are a conservative, cowardly nation that does not embrace anything different. we just accept what ever the government does.

• Paul Whelan 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

and here we go again….

• family guy 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I know I’m going to be slated for saying this but hear me out. This nonsense of Salary caps is a waste of time. I don’t agree with giving big money to public sector workers who have been in the public sector all their working lives. We should be paying good wages to attract people from the private sector into the public sector. Private sector people who know the real world of profit and loss and the bottom line. Business people. What do any politicians or public sector workers know about business. Sweet FA in my experience dealing with them over the years. Government should equal or if not better salaries provided in the private sector to attract new blood.

• Shanti Om 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Perhaps a fair point, but the fact is the country cannot afford it. Plus, look at all the perks this guy will get as he’s been a public sector worker since BEFORE they changed the rules on golden handshakes and fat cat pensions..

It’s all bullcrap. If the guy would walk away from this job because the private sector would pay him more, let him go to the private sector.. This is the same nonsense argument that the wealthy elite would all up sticks and move If asked to contribute accordingly to society.. If they don’t see the benefits of contribution then perhaps they are psychopaths and we would be better off without them. It’s all excuses, excuses to keep taking everything from those struggling so that the fat cats can bathe in Evian.

• family guy 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

I’m talking about higher level management not the lower levels. Surely if they could run things more efficiently and produce savings they would pay for there increased wages many times over. It’s not the point saying we can’t afford it. Can we afford this constant inefficiency?

• Paul Lanigan 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Good point BUT the advisors are not the best the private sector can offer up. They are political cronies first and last.

• family guy 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

I work as a civil engineer that does public contracts for the councils. I see how the councils waste money every day. I would sack every council worker and Subcontract all work out. The council workers only do a fifth of what private subcontractors do. Take a water scheme for example. A private contractor would lay 200 metres of pipe a day. Council workers do 40m. I’ve seen it with my own eyes and heard about it many times. This is just one example.

• John Stevenson 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

If Syria or Egypt or any of those other countries pursuing democracy were to actually see how it works in Ireland I think they would definitely try to find another model. This country is not a democracy. Its not about the majority, its about how much money you have, thats what influences politics. Its about getting your friends jobs even if they havent got an ounce of brain matter between their ears and then paying them a disgustingly large wage to reward stupidity. It makes me so frustrated every bloody day to live in this country, paying taxes to fund this group of stupid gombeens and in return I get a bad healthcare service, terrible public transport and overall general bad management. Sigh.

• Norman Hunter 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

All these comments are pointless Enda and the government do not care what the public thinks,and as there is no election looming for a long time to come this will not change.Anyway come an election they will tell lies and all the idiots who voted for them the last time will do so again.Democray Irish style.

• John Brady 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

What to do? Putting Sinn Fein in charge appears to be the only way to take a stand. Extraordinary measures for extraordinary times. Every other party has had a go and all have been turned. Sinn Fein led government is going to happen in next 10-15 years anyway.

• John Brady 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

And hopefully so! The media and political propaganda against Sinn Fein begs the question why are they afraid of them so much? Because out of the lot of them they are the most likely to put the people first. If they don’t then vote them out as well and go again. Eventually we will get the leaders we deserve. My left arm for another election!

• Vincent Talbot 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

one thing for sure they wont take it up the re,r like the rest of our leaders when they head for brussles,our fishing grounds sold for reps money to buy farmer votes,our gas rights given away,turf cutting rights nearly gone, we need a goverment to show no fear to germany and france,not to b told ur a good boy at school enda now sit down and do what ur told,and us the people who put them there are no better its either shut up r ship out like all our youth leaving,ect.Sinn Fein yes i agree extraordinary measures for extraordinary times,

• Darragh Mc Donagh 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Does anyone know how much advisors were paid under the previous Government compared to the current pay levels? Have they increased?

• Adam Magari 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Is this another example of dynamic public sector reform or of government hypocrisy?

• jimbo 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

And you wonder why the country is broke and we end up paying for it…

• Hugh Hicks 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

The country is financially bankrupt, our Leader is morally bankrupt and Varadkar is a hypocrite of the highest order. How dare these leeches speak of fees for medical cards, cuts to Child benefit, increases in VAT and reductions in Social Welfare while they squander hard earned TAXPAYERS MONEY!!! on their friends and associates.

Jaysus, I thought FF were bad but FG have dragged politics to a disturbingly new low. Shame, shame shame on you Enda Kenny. How you will have the gall to stand before the nation tonight and justify your “austerity” after this atrocity is simply beyond me. You are, Enda, the lowest form of life.

• Andrew Logue 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

The reason the same crowd (FF, FG, Labour) keep getting voted in is because the left has failed to mobilise its vote by articulating a clear alternative. Sinn Fein are getting close to this but suffer from association with the lunatic elements of the left and also a constant attack from the establishment media. The token lefties in the establishment media such as FOT in the Times do more harm than good really as they normally rant rather than providing analysis in a coherent manner.

• Doreen Strydom 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Can somebody add a ‘dislike’ button to this page please?

• Hugh Hicks 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Yeah Andrew, just like the “expertise” that got us into this mess in the first place. They all paid themselves obscene salaries as well. Sorry, that pathetic argument has long been blown out of the water. The reality is that a group of chimpanzees with a pair of dice could do a better job of running the economy than these leeches.

• Aidan Gill 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

We voted out the muppet show and took in seasame street. I’m embarrassed that I commented that Enda was a genuine and trustworthy person….. can I now take my vote back.
    We voted them in and pay these Pr*CKs, so why can’t we get them out. Fine Fail now Fine Goons, who have we honestly left to vote for?
    It makes no odds in this country, power corrupts them all.

And we have to sit and listen to this muppet tell us to tighten our belts.

• Eileen Gabbett 04/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Aidan Gill
      I feel the same way , but who would we / could we have put in government instead ???

• Hanly Sheelagh 05/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Fianna Fàil not Fine Fail

• Eileen Gabbett 05/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Hanly Sheelagh !
      can you not see sarcasm . Get a grip woman and stop being so narrow minded. People are annoyed and rightly so and all you can do is engage in this form of criticism,,,,You were a public Representative ,so what are your thoughts on Enda’s speech What do yopu think ???

• Errol Thomas 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

This is disgusting! Ends Kenny should be ashamed of himself! The gall of him to come on TV later and tell us we all need to tighten our belts to fix the country and he awarding huge pay rises!

• Eileen Kirwan 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Bunch of incompetent overpaid cretins, the lot of them, I won’t be watching his address tonight and I think it should be boycotted by every citizen in the country. Everyone should refuse to pay a tv license and road tax after this. It would take me nearly 3 years to earn the 35000 pay rise he gave to his crony Ciaran Conlon. They sicken me, every last one of them.

• Report this comment

Enda and his troops will never burn bondholders etc or default as bulk of money from IMF etc goes to pay the fat cat politicians present & past/ the failed bankers still in situe / the failed developers still employed with NAMA. He sees no problem with paying obscene salaries and pensions with IMF money to thousands of top end public servants / public company heads etc etc . They are shielded from the reality of daily life here now so are in a parallel world ! Rant over

• Tensing Norgay 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

The only surprising this is that it happened so quickly, I would of thought that Kenny et al ,would have been in a full year before engaging in unbridled cronyism but then again this is the “republic of parish pumps”. Really depressing, the only alternative in this country is the well-meaning but delusional left :-(

Report this comment

The problem is the people themselves. They are the “hurlers on the ditch”. Why can’t every community put forward an independent candidate with integrity and be ready for the next election. Of course if they did that they couldn’t expect him/her to put aside that integrity to ‘get them a house’ or a job or a medical card when they are ‘just over the limit’ because they supported him/her at the election.

• John McHugh 05/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Funny coming from the former FF turned independant. People dont trust independents because of the amount of sleeper cell FF canditates hiding in sheeps clothing.

• Anna Carr 04/12/11 #
    Report this comment

He should be made resign. It would be funny if it wasn’t so serious. That is a years wage and more for most people. Time to go Enda. You are the same as the rest. You are a disgrace.

• Ellen Sherlock 05/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I’m still in shock that the gobshit kenny was allowed to go ahead with his bull scutter drival of a desperation speach.what a joke he has made out of us decent honest irish citizen’s who are the one’s who will pay yet again.For god sake people why are we not as a nation standing and marching side by side to get rid if these wannabe politicians!

• Nigel McArdle 05/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Is this the same Ciaran Conlon that was the Director of Fas? If so he was out of a job if I’m not mistaken! Hmm Another favour for the boys eh? Investigation time I think!!

• Elizabeth Taaffe 05/12/11 #
    Report this comment

35k pay rise? A lot of people now would be happy just to earn 35k a year!

• RP McMurphy 05/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Now, now, €127,000 is only Ir£100,000 in old/renewed(maybe) money, so he’s not too far off the mark and only gettin’ ready for the changeover which is comin’. Ye can’t fault him for that bit of foresight…..poor auld Enda, damned if he does and damned if he doesn’t.

Report this comment

Eileen, the facts are there for everyone to see, the people in this country have abdicated their responsibility regarding informing themselves of what each political party stands for and what the TD who call to their door stands for. It’s not difficult for instance to find out if he/she has stuck by his/her word and take them to task IFC he or she didn’t. Too many people in this country can’t even differentiate between Fianna and fine.
    They don’t know which party some TD’s belong to. I was a public rep. For quite a long time and I left the party I was in because of the very thing that is happening today- lies, nepotism, False
    promises etc. And guess what? I had a
    very difficult time getting elected as an
    independent because people just didn’t
    believe that they were that corrupt. There
    were of course people in the party who were genuine hardworking but essentially the party at the top had no word. People don’t wNt to know. They will be said and led by the TD and if anyone tries to put them right the call them right wing and other derogatory terms and just wait until the expected referendum is going on and you will see them all doing what they are told and I am tired of listening to and reading criticism of politicians on the one hand and then seeing the mutts giving them credence on such serious matters. Not sarcasm, Eileen, just pissed off with the electorate.

I didn’t think anything about Enda’s waffle last night. Same sh….te, different programme. Of course he threw in his pennyworth about supporting the Eurozone (Enda speak for fiscal union).

• John McHugh 05/12/11 #
      Report this comment

I don’t think its fair that you are blaming the electorate for trusting parties to implement the policies they say they will implement. People do want to know, thats why they voted for apposing parties to the party you decided to leave(FF).
      The problem is that the citizen are offered useless mandates which have no responsibility or legal conditions involved wheras bankers, developers, speculators, hedge funds, bond holders are given contracts signed in our name by the parties/individuals we hand mandates to.

That is why we are in the situation we are in now, where FF, FG, Labour and the Greens care more about the developers, bankers, speculators, hedge funds, and bondholders then they do the people who voted them into power.
      FF, FG, Labour and the Greens share your view on the electorate. They see us as idiots waiting to be taken advantage of. The fact you admit it publicaly goes to show you are no different to them.

You should have offered your electorate a legally binding contract if you are so sure of yourself and your policies. Your situation also leads me to point out that previous members of poitical parties who go independant when the ship sinks should be forced to have a disclaimer below the ‘independant’ label on the ballot paper which identifies the previous party ties they have had.

I don’t mean to insinuate that you are bad for having previous ties to FF but I guarantee that there are previous FF members who still have ties with FF who are using the Independant label to slither their way back into power.

The same will happen to FG and Labour when they are kicked out.

Interested on your opinion on article 47 and 48 of the provisional constitution which your previous party removed without permission from the irish people. In my mind the power to veto and initiate legislation would make governments more accountable and citizens more engaged and responsable with their votes.
      Much like how Swis has been for the last 400 years with those powers given to the citizen.

• Report this comment

cheeky fucking bastard

• Maggie Beirne 07/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I have lost respect for all of them now. will never vote again. all they are there for is the money, while they fill their bank accounts i cant even put my storage heating on because i am so afraid of the bill. and being a wheelchair user i cant keep warm moving around. hence i am dosed with a flu. ah well the rich get richer, and the poor get poorer. whats new?????? sorry rant over. :)

• Ally Collyer 08/12/11 #
      Report this comment

@martin Mc Cormack
      We were told when we registered on the electoral roll that we could only vote in local council elections and EU elections. We have no vote in either the govt. (general) or presidential elections.
      However, I will ring and find out if this is so, but we never received voting cards for the general election, but did so for the council.
      Thirty years or so ago we (English) could only vote in european elections.

Add New Comment