TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Taoiseach: Government has a lot done, more to do

Enda Kenny and Eamon Gilmore gave a progress report for the government this afternoon, and singled out distressed mortgages as the one area which has not seen enough progress.

Enda Kenny and Eamon Gilmore launching the progress report this afternoon
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE TAOISEACH AND Tánaiste have said that the government has achieved much of what it had planned for its first year in office – but still has a long way to go.

Enda Kenny and Eamon Gilmore this afternoon launched the annual report on the Programme for Government, which was agreed exactly one year ago this week.

Enda Kenny said that the government’s priority had been to rebuild the international reputation of the country and said that he believed that the report reflected that priority.

The report found that the government had stabilised the banking system, stabilised the live register figures and improved confidence in the long-term sustainability of the country’s public finances.

It also found that the government had exceeded deficit reduction targets while managing to protect the most vulnerable by maintaining primary social welfare rates.

The Taoiseach said the government recognised that the burden on taxpayers was “onerous” and that there were still challenges ahead, saying:

We have to deliver for those who are stuck on the dole queues or heading to the airports

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore said that the focus of the past year has been on stabilising the country and the focus of the next twelve months will be on recovery.

“We are no longer on the edge of the cliff. We have pulled the country back”, said the Tánaiste, adding that the government had stabilised the country politically, financially, economically and diplomatically.

Gilmore singled out distressed mortgages as the single issue which has not seen enough progress in the past year.

The Taoiseach said he has met with all ministers, junior ministers, and secretary generals of all government departments to talk about progress in the Programme for Government.

He described today’s progress report as an “honest appraisal” of what the government has achieved in its first year in office.

The government’s priorities for the next year include:

• Further enhancements to the IMF-EU bailout to reduce the legacy cost of the bank bailouts
  • Meeting deficit reduction targets
  • Protecting front-line services
  • Aggressively implementing the Action Plan for Jobs
  • Supporting debt-distressed families through targeted additional mortgage interest relief and reforming personal insolvency law
  • Reforming the HSE
  • Establishing the Constitutional Convention and holding referenda on Children’s Rights and the abolition of the Seanad

The Taoiseach reiterated the government plan for Ireland to be the best small country in the world in which to do business, to raise a family, and to grow old in, by 2016.

Enda to publish progress report – but ditches ministerial ‘report cards’ >

Kenny: ‘The Europe Train is leaving the station… we have to be on it’ >

Read next:

Comments (77 Comments)

• “The Taoiseach said the government recognised that the burden on taxpayers was “onerous” and that there were still challenges ahead”

What a load of bull, this government like the last only care about themselves and their rich friends. Feck off to Germany where you belong Enda

• A lot done …. Yeah alot of hardship done ….. More to do…. yeah more hardship, more austerity , more doom and gloom and more taking it up the arse from the IMF, ECB and Brussels to do ……

• Have we turned the corner AGAIN ?

• alot done???? they’ve done fck all and he’s the biggest embarrasment of them all

• Completely dissagree Aidan. Working his arse off from what i can see. Although reading comments on here I dont know why Enda Kenny or Michael Noonan bother…. Sure you could loads better Aidan…

• No mention of the government special adviser’s salary cap or the increase in 3rd level fees. Surprise, surprise…

• I’ll tell you what the government has done and what they’ll be doing a lot more of, Backtracking on the pre election promises. Lying gits each and everyone of them.

• A lot done more to do where have we heard that before? It sounds familiar.

• for the money them muppets are on they should be doing a hell of a lot more

• Will this gombeen ever stfu ?

• people there is nobody behind the wheel we are on our own

• Bunch of F**KINGS gobshites

• The first bullet point:

“Successful renegotiation of the EU-IMF programme, including a reduction in the interest rate, the reversal of the cut in the minimum wage and agreement on reinvestment of the proceeds from sale of State assets for job creation”

*Cringe* Hasn’t this been thoroughly debunked already? This should be read as a public relations/propaganda document only.

• You can’t bake a cake without breaking a few eggs.
    Unless all the eggs leg it to Canada that is…

• jimbo 07/03/12 #

Ha alot done my backside,you have done nothing for us but bring us misery and bleed us dry of every penny,the best thing you can do is get lost

• You will see exactly what the people think of your ‘a lot done more to do’ come the next election

• all these yes men are just as bad as the fg/lab coalition, liars and fools, they make me feel violent

• Your a disgrace to our country , ENDA kenny” how can you play with Irish people’s lives and stand there lying to the Irish people and you and all FG / LB could stand in the DIAL as OUR leader and blackmail the IRISH PEOPLE to force the into A Severe AUSTERITY FISCAL TREATY , going around threatening Vulnerable People and ask them to vote on a severe Fiscal painful treaty and that if they don’t vote in a yes vote , that we will not get a cent of any bailout” which is a lie and you know this you and your other politician who are mad spending on flights first class and five star hotels including meal provided on the expenses of the Irish payer tax money, and all you are looking out for is yourself and your own cronies and to he’ll with the people, you make me sick, shame on you and the rest of the liars that cannot be bother to tell the real truth about this fiscal reform treaty that you signed on behalf of the Irish people to force them into a yes vote, treason and corruption has taken place here in Ireland of the Irish people, I have read the fiscal treaty and you would not put an animal through this, never mind human people, a disgusting liar and cheat, is all you are, if we were to vote this fiscal treaty, it would be a death warrant on the lives of Irish citizen, please read PDF of the fiscal treaty for yourselfs, jobs will be lots , more immigration arriving, extra taxes and lower your wage packs more, education will be neglected, health services will run down, Irish assets sold , firewall to the cheapest price and bidder, privatisation will be coming to your door like the greyhound bin collectors , free tax for them outside our country, while the Irish people will be the muggers of all and the losers in this reform fiscal pack treaty, it would be run the way Europe see,s fit, their way not Ireland’s way, Germany and France want to bring in new laws on democracy and the refrendum of the musical kangaroo court will come into force, is this what iris and wants for their future, no I don’t, I want to give all young people and children and families and elders and disable people a better future in life and that is to run Ireland’s way not europes way , living in the 1930s like the Germans and other countries lived in a poorer struggling life, the europeon banks will take every penny and we will have nothing to show for, Rita Cahill

• They stole the quote from Fianna Fáil.

• Scarr 07/03/12 #

Here are the headlines; government says ‘Government is doing a good job’ and later…..’Enda kenny does uncharacteristic u-turn’. Next.

• just shows how out of touch they are….a right shower of lying muppets…. they have no clue….they just want to line their own pockets at our expense

• Protecting Front line services
    What about all the front line workers who retired recently
    and all the new recruits brought in to replace them ….
    oh yeah ….there are no new staff …

• Are living in the real world , this lovely green island is slowing but surely going down the loo ,

• So more or less the same priorities that they’ve already failed to deliver on!!!

• Sounds like something Eamon Dunphy would say. I believe in Ireland.

• I would believe in Ireland if I could believe in the Government but I don’t. In my own area, 3 of Enda’s own plus Enda himself promised the earth, moon and stars and it has transpired just this week that it was all a pack of lies. Yet they used it to get votes and strung it out for as long as they could until a senior civil servant came out and said actually, it is never going to happen. I note Enda is not publishing performances for TD’s also. Sure how could he when it is his own party letting the people down with their lies and promises. What pisses me off even more is the fact that the didn’t have to lie. Confidence in FF was at an all time low before the GE and what FG and Labour did was jump on a bandwagon, use it to their own shameful gain in order to get into a Leading Government. Alone. But they would be in power anyway, but a coalition wasn’t what they wanted. They each wanted it all, and lied to gather votes. The extent in my own town was obscene. And the fact that Enda himself came down with Reilly in tow and sat and reaffirmed these promises, only to do a complete u-turn is truly sickening.

• I live in the real world and I believe on balance they have done a good job.

• I live in a real world too. A world where FG and Labour came to the NW and used cancer sufferers to gather votes. When all the while they knew that what they were promising these people would never come to pass. Sick people, people who were recovering, people who were told vote for us and we will return your cancer services to Sligo. A hospital that was on par with performance rates worldwide with the treatment of cancer. People who had to travel hundreds of miles just to get treatment. On a bus. Imagine living high up in Donegal and having to get on a bus in the early hours of the morning and travel on it to Galway for your treatment. And then get back on it after your treatment and travel all the way home. Sick with cancer. And alone. Taken away from your family at a time when you need them most. And it is this plight the Government jumped on to get votes. They used these people in the most dispicable manner and all for a vote. Lies, promises and we don’t care who we use to get it. How can you have faith in people who would do that?

• Pair of wankers . Absolute vomit.

• ………..and they play well with the other children in the yard .Especially when
    away from home , the whole of Europe says so, and they all get pats on the head
    for their good behavior …….

• “A man can be measured by his promises.” fredrich Nietsche.

• Tell me I didn’t pay for that report?????

• How does he believe they protected social welfare payments, telephone allowance cut. electric units cut. electric and gas gone up 20 %. vat increased. car fuel tax increased. trying to get the pensioners to pay property tax just because they have a place to live, and trying to bring in water charges they say water charges are the norm across europe, Question is the price of a pack of cigs. 9.10 euro across europe is the vrt on cars the same in Ireland as it is across europe. One could go on all night , what it amounts to is yet another lie by the people who were going to be up front with the truth before they got into power, The day will come when ye will pay the price for your lies .

• In fairness they have done a good job so far, they’re not wizards. They were handed a house on fire… they haven’t rebuilt it yet but they have put the fire out. Unemployment is stabilised, we’ve gotten much better terms on the bailout, and confidence in Ireland abroad is recovering.

Had Cowen and Co. still been in charge we’d be resorting to cannibalism by now.

• a lot done more to do, now where did I hear that before o yes it was from the finna fail party, the only people done are the poorest of our society shame on the Labour party for letting the side down , the are now in the same boat as endas kick the poor mans party.

• Quote:
    Fine Gael believes that the IMF/EU bail-out deal has not and will not restore investor confidence in our country, and must therefore be renegotiated to reduce the interest rate and to ensure a fairer sharing of the cost of fixing Ireland’s broken banks. The current deal is bad for Ireland – and bad for Europe.
    • Bad for Ireland. The financial markets are closed to Ireland principally because investors are concerned that any more capital injections into the banks – the cost so far is €100 billion – will sink the Irish economy.
    • Bad for Europe. Our EU partners want Ireland to return to the financial markets as soon as possible. However, it is difficult to see how this can happen unless the market’s concerns about the banking bailout are addressed directly.

• All the FG and Labour hacks will come on here asking for definitive promises that have been broken and then lambasting any poster that can’t give details. The very nature of politics is that very few actual concrete promises are made, no definitive timelines or outcomes are ever given, with the very purpose that it will then be hard to ever lay a hand on the government. Even FF were able to struggle on as the opposition found it impossible to uncover a smoking gun.

What is clear to many is that FG and Labour sent out the message before and during the election, that they were going to bring a new type of politics, a new transparency, politics for the people.

What we have seen so far is a government who seem to be doing following the same plan the last guys were doing, who have shown no backbone in Europe, have done nothing to improve transparency (to the point that the German parliament found out before our own people about the budget).

This is the real reason for the fall off in support. Of course FG/Labour will spin the line, and maybe even convince themselves like FF did, that the reason is because they are making tough decisions. Most people realise that we are in a hole and need to take tough medicine to get out, hence why the Irish have been much more accepting that others of the austerity. What people are displeased with is the apparent lack of any change, and real difference between FG/Labour and the guys who went before

• David is out of touch, ok teachers don’t work as much but look at nurses doin 12 hour night shifts, also I know of plenty a principal who works hours and hours tryin to get things sorted out for their students off their own batt. TDs get some of the most time off of any profession. And the question of if they worked in the private sector is not an argument. Being a TD is a vocation – if you want to earn money in the private sector go and work there never mind the fact that most of them wouldn’t have a look in against real hard working people. The salery should be 35K for TD, 40K for a junior minister, 45K for minister and 50K for taoiseach. Oh an 55K for president. That would weed out the greed and he some real genuine people in the job!

• Upward only rent reviews off the agenda now completely?

• Upward only rent problem off agenda
      Hospital trolley problem off agenda
      3rd level fee rise off agenda
      Mortgage debt crises off agenda
      Stopping barrack closure off agenda
      Bond holder burning off agenda
      No more money for banks off agenda
      Jobs budget off agenda
      Debt reduction off agenda
      Stemming emigration off agenda
      Keeping hospitals open off agenda
      All that’s left now is Enda off ag Enda

• I see David is on the war path again in full cry of support for the FG/Lab/sinn fein the workers party coalition.
    Does he not know that the former super junior minister Mr Penrose has returned to practice at the Bar.
    So much for full time politicians !!!
    On another note where’s all the shouting from Phil “the power” Hogan about household/sceptic tank registration and charges ?
    The U Turn sign makers must be working over time.
    Will they tell us the charge will be “paused” pending full introduction of property tax as the proposed savings on Anglo debt will far out weigh what would have been collected.

• They have done better than the last lot and to expect much from a gov in one year is stupid.
    They are making all the right ground work and I think the next 18 months things will pick up.

• is that so? i suppose you are basing your assertion “They are making all the right ground work and I think the next 18 months things will pick up” on experience from the last time a group of elitist bankers and politicians colluded to rob the country blind? i dont believe for one second that fg/lab/ff/sf werent all in on it together from the start, lets see how many of them wont accept their huge pensions, i dont see any members of any of the big 4 parties making any noise about this issue, why do we tolerate these liars and con men?

• John. Good to read a balanced comment. The easiest thing in the world to criticise and offer no alternative. Unfortunately most people have no idea how a country is run. Just imagine this, if My weekly income was €200 and my outgoings was €250, how long could I stay solvent ?. The answer is quite clear, something would have go, simple economics. Most people think short term and fail to see the bigger picture. Of course we are mad as hell because this was not our fault but we must get out of it so let’s all give these guys a chance.

• blah blah blah myles, another ‘im all right’, it is you that isnt seeing the long term picture, sure, there will be jobs for all when another 500k people have left, balanced comment my arse, we are paying a debt that isnt ours and i do not believe them that there isnt any choice, sound, ill give them a chance when i get a job, or maybe i wont ever come back to this country again because blinkered morons like you get to vote

Add New Comment