TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Latest: Taxi disruption is ongoing at Dublin Airport

Services have been withdrawn over a dispute about the number of parking spaces for drivers at the airport. It was thought that a resolution had been reached but taxi services continue to be disrupted.

Taxis at Dublin Airport's Terminal 2 (File photo)
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Updated 7.40pm

A DISPUTE OVER parking spaces for taxi drivers operating at Dublin Airport continues to see taxi services at the airport disrupted this evening.

Talks between driver representatives and the Dublin Airport Authority are ongoing, and a taxi spokesperson has told TheJournal.ie that it is hoped that a resolution will come tonight.

Earlier it was understood that discussions between the two parties in the dispute – taxi representative groups and the DAA – had yielded a resolution whereby drivers would resume services but this has not happened.

Taxi drivers decided to stop picking up passengers at Dublin Airport just after lunchtime today and Dublin Airport Authority said it was directing passengers to alternative modes of transport.

Taxi drivers withdrew services this morning in dispute over DAA’s amendment to the temporary overflow area for taxis at the airport which saw the number of parking spaces there reduced.

In a statement, the DAA said: “DAA held a meeting with a number of taxi driver representatives this afternoon. Based on discussions at that meeting, the taxi representatives informed DAA that normal service would be resumed at the airport.

“Regrettably, this has not happened, and taxi drivers are still refusing to pick up fares at the airport.”

Following meetings between airport authorities and a number of taxi driver representative groups this afternoon it was understood that normal service would be resumed and there would be further meetings between the two parties later this week or next week.

But this has not happened and there continues to be no taxi services from Dublin Airport this afternoon. David McGuinness, the chairman of Tacsaí Timonaí na hEireann (TTNH), said that drivers had given no assurances that they would return to work.

McGuinness told TheJournal.ie that until the DAA gave back the spaces to drivers they will not return to work. ”We haven’t got the right to tell people to go back to work,” he said.

“The drivers have made the decision that they want the whole parking area returned to them.”

DAA said that the amendment to the overflow area – which will result in 60 to 70 fewer spaces – was for commercial reasons and said that it had informed taxi drivers a month ago that this was to happen.

The taxi representative group, Tacsaí Timonaí na hEireann (TTNH), claims that in the early hours of Monday morning DAA removed 80 parking spaces from the overflow area.

This area holds around 170 taxis at Dublin airport in addition to 12 lanes for cars picking up customers from the airport.

“They removed the spaces without any consultation, without offering any alternatives,” a TTNH spokesman told TheJournal.ie this afternoon.

But a DAA spokesperson said this was not the case, telling TheJournal.ie: “We informed the taxi drivers about a month ago that this was going to happen.”

Terminal 2

When DAA opened Terminal 2 in late 2010, it added almost 60 extra taxi spaces at the taxi rank.

Taxi drivers pay €440 per year for a permit to operate at Dublin Airport and the representative group claims the DAA is not honouring the contract and accused them of “bully boy tactics” in removing the spaces.

Around five representative groups have been in discussion with DAA this afternoon and some form of resolution was thought to have been agreed but taxi drivers have not resumed work.

McGuinness did not say when they would go back to work but said that another meeting was scheduled for Friday.

In a statement the DAA said: “Taxi drivers have this afternoon arbitrarily decided to stop picking up passengers at Dublin Airport.

“The Dublin Airport Authority (DAA) regrets the significant inconvenience to our customers resulting from this unilateral action and has asked taxi drivers to resume picking up passengers at the airport as soon as possible. DAA staff are currently directing passengers to alternative modes of transport.

“DAA held a meeting with a number of taxi driver representatives this afternoon. Based on discussions at that meeting, the taxi representatives informed DAA that normal service would be resumed at the airport. Regrettably, this has not happened, and taxi drivers are still refusing to pick up fares at the airport.

“The decision to suspend services appears to be related to the fact that DAA is currently amending a temporary overflow area for taxis at the airport. DAA first informed taxi representatives of this decision about a month ago.

“The amendment to taxi space provision at the airport will mean that taxi drivers will have exactly the same number of spaces this year as they had in 2010, despite the number of airport taxi permit holders declining by more than 300 during the same period.

“DAA created the temporary overflow area for taxi drivers in 2010, prior to the opening of Terminal 2. This temporary overflow, which can accommodate about 170 vehicles, is in additional to the normal taxi holding area which accommodates more than 400 vehicles. There are also spaces for taxis at the ranks at each terminal.

“The amendment to the overflow, which is required for commercial reasons, will result in 60-70 fewer vehicles being accommodated in that area. When T2 opened in late 2010, it added almost 60 extra taxi spaces at the T2 rank. There are currently about 1,560 airport taxi permits and in total, DAA provides about 600 spaces for taxis at the airport.

“DAA is happy to discuss this issue further with taxi driver representatives and asks that normal taxi services be resumed at the airport as soon as possible.”

- Additional reporting by Emer McLysaght

Read next:

Comments (128 Comments)

• I noticed they didn’t go on “Strike” at 5am?.. No – they waited until ALL the Trans Atlantic Flights & Asian Flights had gone thru.. Bet they’ll be back for the Americans tomorrow morning!!
    As for a Taxi to Swords – TOTALLY AGREE with previous posts..

• the dispute didnt happen until this afternoon when things became untenable ,So perhaps less of your idiotic smart comment and get facts before you decide to critise.
      As for Swords issue again SOME drivers dont do thmeselves any favours ,but the majority of drivers take it on the chin .After a 3 hour wait obviously Swords isnt the ideal fare but many drivers do take it on the chin

• Dave 22/08/12 #

Take it on the chin? If its such an issue, dont go to the airport for fares! Not hard, is it? Another “public service” where the public serve the needs of the service and not the other way around!

• I’m an American, sure hope they are waiting for me in the morning! :)

• Always wanting it their own way. No sympathy from me as they always moan and complain when you try get a taxi to Swords. They have refused to take my wife to swords saying its not worth their while.

• Agree. Now isn’t a time for “choosing” to take business or not.

• Not when you have been cueing up for three hours. Blame the daa for that one by not setting up a short fare cue. And I dont believe you that they didnt take her because if they were reported they would lose their airport pass.

• As far as I am aware they can’t refuse just because it is not far enough. After all the are supposed to be providing a public service.

• I got a taxi to Ridgewood the other day with my girlfriend. The driver was a 300+Ib cretin with a serious attitude problem who drove very roughly, taking corners at speed. When we got back, I opened my car to take something out and he shouted out the window – “I hope your battery is flat!”. I had paid him the fare despite his rude and ignorant behaviour mainly because I was too tired to argue. I should have reported him but never got around to it in the end.
      To the ignorant cabby – If you aren’t going to drive your cab with a bit of manners then get a job in the An Post sorting office where nobody has to see you.

• airport taxi driver can get a pass, think its called fastpass, from the rank that allows them to skip the overflow(mondello, as they call it) area if they are going to be back with in a timeframe, got a taxi from airport to Coolock a while ago and the driver drove the stones out of the car trying to make it back on time

• I got a taxi from the airport to my dads house in Ballymun a few weeks ago. Normally about ?12/14 quid buy this joker drove down through the m1and charged me ?23..if their looking for sympathy..its between sex and syphilis in through dictionary.

• As well as a short fare queue maybe they should also have a ‘smelly banger’ queue that most taxis would have to use.

• My dad drives a 10 avensis gagsy so put that in your pipe and smoke it. What ever happened to all the compassion from the usual crew here that say you can’t judge the whole because of the few? I wonder should he just keep all the iPhones he finds in the car from the drunken clowns he has to put up with instead of getting them back to their owners?

• Computer says noooooo Stephen. You can’t pick up in the airport unless you have the pass.

• Dave 22/08/12 #

But it isnt “the few” John. Its every single time I ever asked for a cab to Swords. So I call a local company now and arrange a place to meet and avoid the aggro.

• That’s because they could be cueing for hours to get a little shit run down the road and then go back to the end of the que. Anyone would be pissed off. Blame the daa for not having a short run que, they pay to work there so this should be in place. And as I’ve said before just tell them out straight you’ll report them if they wont take you or give you hassle.

• John try reading instead of jumping to defend daddy, I never said any driver can have a fastpass, I said airport drivers can get a fastpass off the rank that will let them jump the holding area with in a timeframe i.e short fares

• Another reason why we need proper bus/train/metro/luas connectivity to the Airport. Ever arrive home after a full days work and travel, and try to get public transport from the Airport past 11pm. Hate having get a taxi.

• loads of times, aircoach was always there.

• If the airport was on the south side the Metro would be up and running a long time now.

• Has anyone suffered the same reaction as I have, when you say you’re going to Swords? It’s a bit scary sometimes! I started taking the bus if possible!, it’s not worth the hassle! I know they’re having tough times, but surely they don’t expect everyone arriving at Dublin airport to be going to Cork or somewhere.

• I live in Clare Hall which is close to the airport, and get a bus into town and back out again rather than hear the miserable feckers moan and moan about only getting a €15 fare. Cheek of them. No sympathy. I detest them.

• @ Rodrigo – Yes, all the time, when you say you are going to the Swords area they always complain that they have been in the queue for over 2 hours … blah, blah blah …. so now we just call our local Cab company and they send a taxi through to fetch us … costs me a little more for the pickup but I dont have to put up with a greedy taxi driver who thinks that all arriving passangers need a lift to the South side or further.

• That’s the reason why there is an airport staff member now on the taxi stand. Greedy taxi drivers were picking and choosing their fares.

• Gavin they can’t pick and choose their. Stop making comments about stuff that isn’t true.n

• Fares

• Dave 22/08/12 #

Thats horseshit John! Every time i got a cab from the queue abd said I was going to Swords, I got either a tirade, or a cold shoulder. So I stopped. I dont believe I have to hear taxi driver moans as part of the “service”.

• Then don’t get into it and/or report them for not taking you instead of moaning about it. Have you reported this behaviour? Because I would. This is why I think you are talking crap.

• Dave 22/08/12 #

Sure John, all the people here are “talking crap”, all reporting the same problem. Go back to your dreamworld, I have better things to do than put up with or go to the bother of reporting taxi driver crap. Hence I make alternative arrangements.

• I really do think it’s in your head. Do you expect a taxi to take you for free? Do you own a car? If so then you would know how much it is to run. Now imagine a taxi drivers costs.

• Barry 22/08/12 #

john you are talking crap, nobody expects a free taxi but its a taxi man’s job to take the fair regardless of if its a 5min journey or a 50min journey.

its well know that some (not all) taxi drivers refuse fairs because its “not worth their while”, their words not mine.

such actions are bang out of order and yet they continue to happen and not just at Dublin airport either.

you are living in a dream world if you think it doesmt happen

• What a wonderful welcome to tourists visiting Ireland or families returning home from their holidays!

• They ripped off the people of this country and tourists off for years , I have no sympathy !!

• Have I got this correct a taxi driver pays the DAA 440 euro per year in other words 1.20 a day rent in the middle of Dublin Airport to run a business ….and they are complaining !!!!

• Taxi drivers don’t understand the meaning of overflow. There’s an “overflow” rank in the middle of Dun Laoghaire and when thats full they just park up on the kerb causing traffic jams for the busses and using the pay & display spaces blocking access for regular car users. I don’t see how it is worth queuing for 2 hrs in the middle of DL for a fare and causing inconvenience to everyone else in the town centre!

• Not true Roy, during the last few shitty winters & last years floods the buses operated albeit with restrictions. A certain transport company has a hand in the DAA restrictions in relation to taxis & they can thank the taxi men who pull up at air coach stops & undercut their prices, illegal? Of course not but for every action there’s a reaction.

• Cpm 22/08/12 #

“Now I’m not on strike…but”

• Why are we the only country without a connection from the airport to the city center? Every european city I have visited has had excellent public transport and a connection from the airport. I don’t know why any tourists come back to Ireland if they do come back. Its so expensive living here. Imagine how we rip off the tourists.

• louise 22/08/12 #

See how long this I’ll last!!

• @Stephen…hear hear!!!!

• They are both miserable. Both DAA and taxi drivers. They are not put out. “only” the public are. They both a shower. DAA says it is solved. The drivers say “no” and here are the public wanting to go about their business, money in their hand and, foiled by a stupid row. When will DAA realise they must cater to customers needs and likewise the taxi drivers. It beggars belief that people are willing to spend money and a row between two third parties is stopping them and causing inconvenienc . God help us all.

• Why are people calling taxis a “public service” ? Think I saw it twice in this thread. They are not a public service, they are private contractors for hire. For that very reason they are not to be relied on because they’re answerable to no one really, they can down tools at the drop of a hat for any reason. Possibly there are issues with them and the DAA, I don’t know really since all I know is what I’ve read here. Ultimately I don’t care about them or the stinking DAA, they deserve each other. There are plenty other ways of getting around when they throw a fit so let them off …. they’ll never be anything other than legal fraudsters.

• Bunch of tossers, both DAA and Taxi-drivers!

• Sure its only a short walk from the airport to city centre!

• Let’s not stereotype every taxi driver there is good and bad in every industry but the drivers have a valid argument with the daa.The Dublin airport authority charge drivers to use the facilty but cannot facilitate the drivers.

• Any driver be it in a taxi or limo that moans or gives the customer the poor me stories wouldn’t be driving for me tomorrow. Iv always said to other drivers if you stop giving out for one you are more likely to get a tip and secondly you will feel better in yourself no one even yourself wants to listen to that all day.

• Because I have a licence for Dublin im from there and moved to Wexford. Like most people i will do what it takes to keep going

• There are 3 things that always amaze me about Irish taxis:
    1) the fast majority drive cheap shitty cars that are completely unfit to be a taxi.
    2) most of the drivers are incredible opinionated and have no fear to share there views, wanted or not.
    3) for some reason most taxi drivers always seem to think they deserve more then they get or have.

With some exceptions, most of my experiences with taxis have been reasonable at best but the majority unpleasant and uncomfortable…

• Barry 22/08/12 #

Mark, funny you mention sharing views when they are not wanted,

got married a few years back and of course hired a car, chap driving it on the day was also a taxi driver normally (he informed us of this but we also recognised him)

so, he collected us from church to bring us to the hotel and he just wouldn’t shut the hell up about politics and FF….on our wedding day!

eventually had to tell him to shut the hell up as it was certainly not the time nor place and without a doubt no bride and groom just married wants to listen to any political rants from any idiot.

• I’m no fan of taxi drivers in general,but this is just another case of the DAA pushing people around.

• Cop on to yourself mick do you think he has a passenger in his car for every mile he has driven. What do you think he does ? Opens the window and drags them off the street as he is driving by . Drops that one off and the next one is standing there waiting to get in .i am sure he would not be driving a car that was breaking down with 80000miles on the clock if he could to change it

• Alien8 22/08/12 #

As usual, a bit of cop on would help, and these situations wouldn’t arise – there are open fields from the airport to the existing train line towards either portmarnock or Ashton. Provide underground from airport to cpo overground until you reach existing rail lines, then have a direct express line to Connolly. Let a PPP build it as it (not that big a deal, unlike the m50 where there is no choice but to pay toll).

Building a metro north is a poor deal for the airport, as it is overpriced and is designed for votes along the line, not airport passengers.

Get this in place and let taxis strike all the want, over their miserly couple of hundred quid passes that they think they can hold tourists to ransom.

Rant over – in the pictures, they look like they are blocking the road: are the drop offs, car parks and buses working ok? Or are they only stopping the non union guys from working?

• I have to laugh at all the critics how would they know the life of a taxi man my husband is out the door every morning at five to go to the airport and sometimes doesn’t get a job for three to four hours he can’t be sick he had to replace his car after being five weeks off the road.was he able to go to the social welfare to claim anything, no! Aside from paying for his permit he has to pay for toll bridge and other charges. We don’t have small kids anymore but my heart goes out to all those taxi men who have mountains of bills for schools etc. We don’t hear about the suicides that are happening in this business because even though they’re willing to put the hours in and more they often drive home with 20 euro in their pockets and more often with a fine for having to park on the end of a rank where they are all full. So all you who think you know all about it you don’t until you have walked in their shoes!

• Most of the above are full of shit and are generalising them all. Half the stuff they’re saying is the stuff of fairy tales. Such the cars are all bangers, the have to go through my checks than other cars for a start and if the was such a scrap heap the insurance would be that high they would be working for that alone.

• Dave 22/08/12 #

They shouldnt turn work away, then should they??? If its so damn hard out there! Get the message – nobody supports you and its your own fault.

• Weren’t you one of the people supporting the cleaners at the Olympics? As I said full of shit!

• I’ve asked a few taxi drivers this question and none of them could give a decent answer………why wait 3-4 hours for a fare? Surely sitting at a small rank with decent turn around will bring in a decent amount of fares?

Personally I think its greed and lazyness, Sitting waiting on that one fare that will bring them €50+ instead of doing 10 shopping centre runs for the same money

• Barry 22/08/12 #

Donna you posting as if nobody else in the country knows how hard things can be,

there are far far far more non-taxi drivers finding it hard to get by on a daily basis then there are taxi drivers,

on this basis alone it would make zero sense to give taxi drivers any special treatment over other people

• Et tu, Donna?

• Ireland has the highest amount off taxis in the world for a population off 4.5 million people with 25,000 taxis licences est . . I know off people getting very sick and committing suicide cause they can’t earn a living. . .they have it hard trying to put a roof over there heads and feed there kids . earning less then the min wage and working very long hours . the high running costs off a car it will be soon ~ 2 euro a litre for fuel someone getting very rich from the price off fuel and ain’t the taxi driver. . .

• Iv read a euro a mile for every car yea right you have to bring the person home then return to A again and between that in the year circle around town looking for fares oh and use your car for home also so your in many cases that i know of like mine in my taxi who travels to Dublin 3/4days a week and does 70,000km a year how does a driver earn 70k a year

• To be fair to them -

300 fewer permits for Dublin Airport than in 2010? Perhaps.

However, the drivers are working longer shifts and more of them, so it’d be completely unsurprising if there were actually more cars in overflow at any given time than in 2010.

DAA picking stats that suit them. Nice job at spin, if you ask me.

• Stop with all the taxi bashing,Yes there are SOME bad apples but most are decent hard working and put up with a lot .The facts are the DAA took away badly needed spaces in the over flow area ,this area was needed as cars would otherwise be parrking on the road and that wasnt safe….It stands to reason that if a huge amount of cars with permits who pay the DAA 440 euro a year to work the airport then common sense would tell you that the DAA MUST provide spaces for cars to wait until they go to the terminals

• I know. If its such a handy number why dont all the haters go out and do it?

• To be honest Harold and Mark, it’s Russian roulette for the punters, there’s no smoke without fire here, it’s not ‘a few bad apples’ it’s a ‘significant amount of bad apples’ that have public perception this way. It’s the only industry in this country where the service provider whinges to a customer about how difficult their job is and how the world and it’s mother is out to get them (I emphasise at this point that by no means all taxi drivers do this). The truth is, in the 90′s punters could spend an hour at least, if they were lucky, trying to get a taxi out of town at night, now we don’t have to, so from our perspective, things have never been better, also i’ve noticed a stark contrast in the mood and humour of non-Irish (ooh did I phrase that correctly!!!) taxi drivers whom I find to be far more amiable and cheery

• Barry 22/08/12 #

mark,if being a taxi driver is so hard and was even hard in the good times (so I was told by many a taxi driver), then why be a taxi driver?

surely they should have got themselves better jobs?

• Well, all I can say is that people will be people. However, I’m content with airport taxi, because they’re professional and personally had no problems with them thus far.

• A sector not afraid to stand up for itself!

• Not surprised all the charges that have been put on them there and this rise in motor tax/fuel/insurance. My almost 60 year old father has to work 6-7 days there to earn a living.

• Just found out what tipped them over the edge to strike was that the daa done away with their holding area so they have nowhere to que. cant blame them on this one.

• They didnt do away with their holding area, they have a 600 space holding area at the back of St.Josephs credit union and a provisional holding area around the purple car park beside the Radisson that can accommodate a lot of cars, DAA took 60 spaces away to lay pipes for essential works, they still have their original car park, as usual they’re just whinging and moaning for no reason

• @Aaron you are completely WRONG.
      Firstly,the holding area behind the credit union holds approx 120 cars ,Where you got your 600 is laughable .
      Secondly, the overflow area is NOT being dug up for “essential pipe works”,again your comments are laughable and totally incorrect .
      The DAA took away essential parking spaces in this overflow area (approx 60 plus spaces) these spaces are needed otherwise cars will be parked out on the road and blocking traffic .
      so perhaps less of your “make up stories ” and stick with FACTS

• Aha ha Harold J Byrne, go take a trip to the Airport, they cars are parked all along the side of the road on double yellow lines nearly everyday and this was before they took spaces away, dont believe the bullshit they tell ya over there, there full of shite!

• @Aaron
      As I said your first comment was wildly inaccurate and totally incorrect ,As for your secodn comment well just like your first it makes absolutely NO sense

• Im not surprised it doesn’t make sense, the IQ of a taxi man isn’t the highest!

• the problem arose when the gardai not the airport police started giving out tickets to taxi drivers cueing to go into the taxi holding area , this would not have happened if the daa did not reduce the spaces it had already allocated a year ago .

• Maybe if taxi drivers did not have to compete for work with those who are already in full time employment . And stick their roof signs on after finishing there shifts . There would not be a need for such a large overflow . The government have no problem issuing new licences .because they are getting paid for them. And the same with the daa why issue permits to drivers if they do not have the room to allow them to enter the airport and work

• Also for all the people knocking taxi drivers they are the only form of public transport you know you can depend on when there are floods and snow.

• Paul 22/08/12 #

Taxi drivers are paying for a service from daa and are not getting it

• I’ll phase this in the same manner as those fighting for gay marriage. If you don’t like taxis don’t get one! Do you expect them to drive you around for free? There are many other methods to get around.

• No John I expect taxi drivers to use the road like other motorists,and not think the road belongs to them.Some of the worst offenders of bad driver are taxi drivers…

• That’s probably what the say about you. I would tend to think that some who drives for a living is better than most. My father ( taxi driver) thought me how to drive and I past my test on my first attempt. I’ll put that one down to a mix of good teaching and good listening.

• Ha ha “That’s probably what the say about you” classic.Are you sure you are old enough to drive ???

You would be right in thinking as professional drivers they would be better than most,sadly not.The reason as I stated is most taxi drivers think they own the road,therefore they pull out in front of other motorist,pull in without any warning,which happens a lot.Or my personal favourite taxi driver blocking up one lane of traffic to get to the other side,and being abusive and threatening when people beeped.

• What on earth makes you say that? Yea I’m sure no one else does any of which you said either. My main problem with this is the labelling of all taxi drivers as being fat lazy slobs, driving bangers when my father takes pride in his own appearance and that of his car and always goes out of his way to get something back to someone that has left something in the car. nI actually pity him every night he goes to work because he will most likely have to put up with idiots claiming he’s taking them the long way or puking/pissing in the back of his car and the possibility of violence from drunken fools. So I installed a gps tracking system with video/sound recording into the car to deal with the idiots and pissers. I also got him cs gas, a retractable truncheon and a stun gun to deal with any violence. So he is pretty well equipped to deal with any situation. He has just as much rights to an honest days work in a safe environment free from abuse and violence.

• Sorry… Where you mocking my spelling? What age are you?

• Yes I agree I’m probably over generalizing, and yes there are many bad drivers on Irish roads but they are not all professional drivers like taxi drivers,which doesn’t excuse it but it was you that said “I would tend to think that some who drives for a living is better than most.” Bus drivers and truck drivers are equally to blame for such behaviour,again these are driving for a living.There is no excuse for anybody to be bad at driving but more so professionals.

Oh btw I wasn’t mocking your spelling,that happens to everybody,can’t be helped sometimes.I was actually mocking your childish attempt at sarcasm :”That’s probably what the say about you” I mean,come on,is that the best you could come up with???

• It was an honest answer. Been in the car a few times with my dad when some rehab does something like drive the whole way around a round about in the left lane and he would say something to that tune.

• A retractable truncheon? CS Gas? A Stun Gun? I’m afraid my friend you and your father have broken the law. What right does he have to carry them? Every day Gardai aren’t tooled up like that…..

• Paul 22/08/12 #

Taxi drivers are paying for a service from data , and are not getting it

Add New Comment