TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

TDs to Wallace: ‘Pay up using whatever resources you have’

Meanwhile, Fianna Fáíl wants Oireachtas committees to hold prompt investigations into Wallace’s tax affairs.

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

TWO OF MICK WALLACE’S colleagues in the Dáil’s Technical Group have said Wallace should seek to pay his company’s €2.1 million settlement with the Revenue Commissioners using whatever resources he has available.

Both the Socialist Party’s Joe Higgins and independent TD John Halligan have said Wallace should use whatever assets he has in his other companies to cover the settlement, which Wallace yesterday said would probably never be paid.

Both TDs, however, joined with their technical group colleagues in stopping short of asking Wallace to resign, saying he was ultimately answerable only to the people of Wexford who he represents at Dáil level.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Today with Pat Kenny, Higgins said “every penny that’s owed to the tax [sic] should be paid” – saying the money should be found ”either from personal resources or any other company where there are assets”.

Higgins said it was unjust that one company could “go to the wall” while another “which is substantially in the same ownership doesn’t have to hold responsibility in any sense”, adding:

There should be a common responsibility right across companies owned by the same people where there are assets.

John Halligan, who is out of the country and did not sign yesterday’s Technical Group statement criticising Wallace’s actions, today expressed similar sentiment – saying Wallace should initiate the payments “from whatever resources he has”.

Extensive empire

Wallace is the secretary and director of several companies, including M. and J. Wallace Ltd, the construction company which is currently in receivership and which was involved in the €2.1 million Revenue settlement.

Among those are four companies involved in property management – Quartiere Bloom Management Ltd, Cannavaro Management Ltd, Behan Square Management Ltd and John Rogerson Management Ltd - as well as Wallace Calcio which operates his series of Italian cafe-bars.

He also runs Savage Streetware Ltd and Wallace Imago Ltd, which operate in the retail clothes business, and Wexford Youths FC Ltd – the Airtricity League team which he founded in 2007 and managed for three years.

CRO records show that club to be 100 per cent owned by M. and J. Wallace Ltd, the company at the centre of the current news. That company is in turn 99-per-cent owned by Wallace, and 1 per cent owned by his son Sasha.

Wallace has previously stated that most of his companies’ income was going straight to the banks, given the debts they had run up during the construction boom.

Oireachtas inquiries

Separately, Fianna Fáil has urged the two appropriate Oireachtas committees to move quickly to establish whether Wallace was in breach of Oireachtas rules in his companies’ tax affairs.

This morning the party whip Seán Ó Fearghaíl called on both the Oireachtas Committee on Procedures and Privileges, and the Committee on Members’ Interests, to investigate and form views about the settlement between M. and J. Wallace Ltd and the Revenue Commissioners.

“Being elected to Dáil Éireann is a great privilege and honour.  It also carries with it certain responsibilities,” Ó Fearghaíl said.

“We have onerous personal responsibilities as public representatives, but we also have a collective responsibility to ensure that we behave in a way that encourages public confidence in the Oireachtas.

In this spirit, I believe it is important that the Oireachtas Committee on Procedures and Privileges move quickly to confirm that it will be calling Deputy Mick Wallace to give evidence on the recent revelations about his business affairs and that it will make a statement on the issue.

Ó Fearghaíl said it was important that all members of the Oireachtas, regardless of their prominence or party affiliation, be held to the same standard of probity and accountability.”

This morning the chairman of the latter committee, independent TD Thomas Pringle, said it was unlikely that his committee would have any grounds on which to investigate Wallace because his company’s VAT underdeclaration was made before he became a TD.

The Irish Times this morning reported that the former committee, chaired by the Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett and including members from all sides of the Dáil, was preparing meetings with a view to proposing a motion of censure in Wallace.

Such a motion would be the second since the current Dáil was elected; a similar motion condemning Michael Lowry was passed in the aftermath of the Moriarty Tribunal’s findings being published in March 2011.

Technical group TDs: ‘Massive difference’ between Wallace’s actions and household charge boycott

Wallace may face Dáil censure – and could lose seat after court action

Read next:

Comments (40 Comments)

• Fianna fail wants an investigation into the tax affairs of a TD ??? How about all TD’s and see how far we get.

• FF could start restoring trust by complaining to the Guards about misappropriation of party funds by Flynn. I would bet my negative equity mortgage that won’t happen though.

• If FF are so blatantly in support of hounding Wallace like this, and if they want him to pay back the 2.1 million to the tax man (Which i believe he should), then FF must support putting forward a motion for the Gardai to investigate all of Bertie Ahearne’s funding and Charlie Haugheys funding. And even though the bawl Charlie is dead, all the assets he accrued through scamming etc (if found to be accrued corruptness etc), then those same assets should be returned to the state (regardless of which family or party member have those assets now).

It is just so sickening to watch the hypocrisy of the FFg/FF TDs jockeying for blood. They are the last people who should be making statements, until all the corrupt TDs have been jailed from their party’s. And the leaders of those party’s should stand down in disgrace. Anyone found to have supported hiding facts about the corruption, or obstructing investigations into corruptions should also stand down (Kenny and Miceal Martin would have to go immediately).

• I heard Joe Higgins on Pat Kenny, and can honestly say he was woeful! An intelligent man I enjoy listening to, but today he completely made a show of himself!

• FF are not going to complain about stolen donations to their party, because they know that the culture of criminality is so rooted in the party, that it would tear it apart. You mention at a FF ard fheis that their is going to be an audit of cumann accounts and watch how many chairs and treasurers start sweating.

• If your one of mick wallaces creditors, do the decent think and make him bankrupt. He can no longer serve as a T.D and we can concentrate on the footy.

• @ Rodrigo Detriano

Sorry, but I think he’s one of the most boring people in the Dail. It’s torture having to listen to him. He gives me the impression that he hasn’t really got a clue what’s going on around him. He waffles so much and for so long, that he not only has lost any interest from the interviewer but everybody else has left the room or changed channels!

• Now would be an excellent time for revenue to announce an annual audit into all TDs affairs with those not 100% compliant having payment garnished heavily until they are.

Oh & FF… The kettle called, apparently you’re of African decent….

• Scrapped this list from an article in the Irish Times.

Former Fianna Fáil TD Denis Foley
      Former Fianna Fáil TD Michael Collins
      Former Fianna Fáil TD Beverley Flynn
      Former Fianna Fáil TD Dr Francis Constantine Ward
      Former Fianna Fáil TD Charles J Haughey
      Ex Fine Gael now Independent TD Michael Lowry
      Former Fianna Fáil TD Ray Burke

Actually surprised how few names there are….

• Damien 08/06/12 #

“which Wallace yesterday said would probably never be paid.”

If we all said that about taxes, we’d spend time in jail but since he’d a TD, he’ll probably get off scott free

• I’m just distracted by his ladybird earring!! Never trust a man with ladybird earrings!

• VAT is money from a third party, tax on goods or services. Plain and simple it’s theft. Wallace resign and pay the price.
    The little man can’t do it and neither can you.

• About as much chance of Wallace going to jail as there is Kenny officially accepting the findings of the Moriarthy Tribunal or Martin reporting 50k theft from party by Pee Flynn to gardai.
    Yep that’s a zero. Let’s face it none of them are interested in even scratching the surface.

• And…I think he’s using the good old ‘Ben Dunne Method’ to garner sympathy and pity from the public. Don’t be fooled!

• What’s there to investigate? Mick Wallace broke the law. He should resign immediately. A prosecution should be immediately brought in the name of the people. I think a 5 year prison sentence would be appropriate.

• Ehhh what’s the story with that photo? Man massage?

• Alas we have been led on by so many of our representatives, this deception of honesty and transparency by these people and their petulant arrogance (yes joe Higgins I’m referring to you with the many others) is poisoning our souls and violating our dignity and our rights.
    People wonder why the younger generation have become disillusioned and distructive when these are the VIPs they should aspire to emulate the future of this country is in great peril.

• Shasha is his son not his daughter.

• Right you are – amended now. Apologies, confused readers (and Sasha, if you’re reading).

• And yes I was not trying to say that his name was spelt ‘Shasha’, whoops.

• Some portfolio Wallace has.
      And he considers himself a socialist?
      This guy makes a mockery of the term socialism.
      He makes a mockery of Irish politics.
      A mockery of the Daíl and it’s members.
      This blonde dimwit should have to adhere to a dress-code when on political business.

• @ StrayMutt

I have to agree with you, I don’t care how many ‘thumbs down’ I receive, but in my opinion, the day Wallace and the others were allowed in to the Dail/House dressed the way they do, the House was looking for trouble. It should have been understood that one cannot enter the Upper House/Lower House looking like they’ve just been pulling beetroot! (I’m originally from a farm, so I’m not slagging off anyone) Another thing I detest TD’s/representatives doing is chewing gum in the House. There’s a time and place. Ms. Daly consistently chews gum and was doing it again today. Her hair is always dirty looking and her dress code needs updating!

I don’t have money like them, but I bloody well make sure I shower and wash my hair every day! I also try and dress neatly every day whether I’m going to the shop for a pint of milk or to a meeting.

• I don’t believe that we should purely judge people on the basis of their looks, we should judge them on their intentions and actions!! It’s funny that the corrupt politicians who were exposed as a result of the tribunals wore suits on a regular basis and kept to the dress code??

• Why are Sinn Fein so silent on the Mick Wallace issue. Just think if they were to win the by-election in Wexford which is only a matter of time away now, they (Sinn Fein) would be within 1 TD of assuming the main opposition role in the current Dail. How tempting for all the anti-FF’s out there.

• TD’s generally get advice on tax from the senior tax advisors in the civil service and when these guys go to work for the biggest accounting companies like PWC, Earnst and Young, SKC, etc. they act as consultants to the government and to senion politicians. They also act for the Banks and Building Societies. This all adds up to one rule for the elite and too hell with the normal person. Mick Wallace’s spostrs events are probably being sponsored by the banks like the tennis clubs, sailing clubs, golf clubs, GAA clubs, Rugby clubs etc. all this while the taxpayer is bailing out the whole lot of them. WAKE UP.

• Paul 08/06/12 #

I smell another lengthy and costly tribunal with the usual uncertain outcome

• I in no way condone Wallace actions, and I agree directors of companies which go under should be held to a/c and and other assets they pocess should be used to ofset losses,, just like when a citizen can’t afford to pay a bank for whatever reason, they go after everything you own.
    BUT
    I find it funny/sickening the huge cry of disgust and calls for resignations coming from FF & FG backbenchers, when there parties were incolved in a much of severe tax evasion about 15 years ago, which they covered up for along time, people in glass houses and all that.
    also
    i wonder how much has been paid to AIB or BOI top officials in BONUSES never mind inflated wages since the banks need tax payers money to survive,, were is all the calls to stop this if they value citizens revenue so much.

funny if not so sad!!!!

• I don’t see why people are complaining here.

Politicians and those employed in law introduced opinions into law for the purpose of circumventing law and getting away with the crime.

If you think something is wrong then take out a private prosecution.

I know you won’t succeed, but you could try if you have faith in law in Ireland.

• Have to laugh at the gall of FF, people in glasshouses and all that.

• I would vote for Wallace, I see no harm in what he has done tax man only going to give it to ludicrously wealthy bonds or county managers or worse hulk hogan to abuse householders

• What about the small businesses who supplied him that he never paid? What about the employees whos pension funds he took the money for, but didn’t put into the pension? This is in no way victimless. He ripped people off left right and center, and continues to do so, knowingly.

We are paying off the bank debts because this idiot and people like him decided to spend the VAT which should have been going to the govt on more shitty speculative property instead. This guy was one of the ones who CAUSED the bad debt crisis, and continues to make it worse by refusing to pay his debts.

He took a wage of 289k the year he didn’t pay that VAT, as did his son.

He claims the MAXIMUM expenses allowable in the dail. On top of his 90k salary.

He owns vineyards in Italy among many many other things.

Con-man of the highest order, and yet people still have the wool pulled over their eyes.

• He deliberately understated his vat liability, that’s fraud
      He deliberately didn’t pay his employees pension payments, that’s illegal
      Did M&J Wallace declare this underpayment for their tax clearance cert which they needed to work for Dublin City Council? If not it’s yet more fraud.

• he wasn’t a td at the time they can’t do anything to him

Add New Comment