Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

The world’s most expensive yacht – and the Malaysian who spent €3.4bn on it

AN ANONYMOUS MALAYSIAN businessman has just dropped an incredible €3.4 BILLION on a yacht – made of solid gold.

That’s over ten times the amount Chelsea FC owner Roman Abramovitch spent on his megayacht, the Eclipse, which previously held the title of the world’s most expensive yacht.

There aren’t many people in the world who could afford such an extravagance, let along that many Malaysians – according to Forbes billionaires’ list, only three Malaysians have a net worth of $5 billion or more.

If the $3.4 billion figure is accurate – and a representative from Stuart Hughes, the yacht’s maker, says it is – the most likely buyer is Robert Kuok, the richest man in Malaysia, with a net worth of $12.5 billion.

Kuok is the founder of the Shangri La hotel group, which operates luxury hotels across Asia, but the bulk of his wealth comes from his stake in Wilmar – the world’s largest listed palm oil company.

The luxury took three years to complete and is covered in 100,000 kilograms of precious metals – including a hull made of solid gold.

The master bedroom is particularly lavish – it’s adorned in platinum, and has wall art made of meteoric stone and (wait for it) the bones of a Tyrannosaurus Rex.

The world’s most expensive yacht – and the Malaysian who spent €3.4bn on it
1 / 4
  • Luxury Yacht (4)

...and a lavish upper deck for whatever else you might be into.
  • Luxury Yacht (3)

The yacht has a glass-covered atrium for dining...
  • Luxury Yacht (2)

...while the master bedroom is lined with platinum and includes the bones of a tyrannosaurus rex. (Seriously.)
  • Luxury Yacht (1)

The bottom of the vessel is plated in gold...

More extravagance: Sheikh carves name in sand so it can be seen from space >

Read Next:

Published with permission from

Business Insider
Business Insider is a business site with strong financial, media and tech focus.

Comments (38 Comments)

• RG Cuan 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

There’s famine in Africa and certainly many problems in this man’s native Malaysia.

The article should be about how morally wrong a gold-plated yacht costing billions actually is…

• John Banfield 21/07/11 #
      Report this comment

People can do what they want with THEIR money, as stupid as their choices may be.

• Garion Bracken 21/07/11 #
      Report this comment

Why do people always make that point when a person blows that kind of money? It’s not like the money dissapeared. It went into the pockets of those involved in making and selling the boat. Who are just as likely(granted that the likelyhood is still slim) to give it to charity. And it certainly gave some people who needed it work.

• Ironcrush 21/07/11 #
      Report this comment

Jealousy

• Calvin Galvin 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Tool

• John Manahan 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Whoever this man is, be it Mr Kuok or anyone else should hang his head on shame. Disgusting.

• Aaron 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

I’d love to see his face if he woke one morning and found that it had sank.

• Conor 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

For that money, he could have bought himself 2 nuclear submarines. But maybe he doesn’t need something long, hard and full of seamen now that he has a T-Rex’s bone in his bedroom.

• Tommy Murphy 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Wonder what axa wud charge to insure that. As others said- he can do whatever he wants with HIS money. However spending ~$3000m on a boat is just foolish.

• Mata Mata 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

It’s obvious we are being grossly overcharged for Palm Oil and stays at the hotels !

• Joe Crennan 21/07/11 #
      Report this comment

How much destruction of the rain forests to engender £3billion of frivolous disposable income.
      In the past (before motorised transport) excess money went into impressive buildings & public works that all could enjoy – just to look at, like houses of parliament – but that enhances everyone’s life. A selfish yacht doesn’t.

• Aaron 21/07/11 #
      Report this comment

@Joe – It doesn’t look to be too big a yacht so I doubt much of the rainforest was destroyed to make it.

Is the man not allowed to spend the money that he’s earned anyway he wants? You don’t know what sort of donations he makes to charity never mind the thousands of families he supports with jobs in his hotels.

• Paul Dempsey 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Conspicuous consumption at its most ostentatious and vulgar. Think what use $3.4 Billion could be put to in the Horn of Africa. The photos just go to show that money can’t buy good taste.

Despicable.

• Lionel Hutz 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Fair play to him. He worked hard and has rewarded himself. I’m sure he gives money to charity also.

• Conor 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Yacht’s the point of this?

• Patrick Abbott 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Isn’t it amazing how many red thumbs you get if you mention excess, vulgarity or Africa in your comment… Me personally, I think the yacht (technically a motor boat I think, would take a lot of wind to push it along) is quite ugly. All glass wood and stone. And what dick head museum sold dinosaur bones to make art.. thats the funny part. Anyway, I’m sure he’ll enjoy it and the boost to his ego.

• Simon O Flaherty 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

What a idiot a gold plated yacht. It’s the most ridiculous thing I have heard of it must be a joke. To spent 3.4bn on a extra heavy speed boat is just dumb. A vanity project gone stupid. I hope it isn’t that maylasian guy surely he is not that dumb. If it is he should be giving a Viking burial on that piece of shit yacht he’s just wasted money on. He could have given 2bn to charity and built a ocean liner for a billion. Dumbass.

• julie roberts 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

The ethnic peoples are being driven from ther own lands to make way for palm oil plantations to keep this Vulgar guy with his massive ego. Evil dick that he is.

• Niamh Bohane 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

I think it’s just difficult to read this story immediately after the preceding one. Such contrasts in our world. I think the gentleman from Scotland who won the euromillions last week had it right when he paraphrased – “With great wealth comes great responsibility”.

• Feckless Whisper 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Somebody give this man an Irish passport!!! We don’t need the IMF if we get this guy on board:D

• damien chaney 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Madness! I got a lovely little boat in lidls with an outboard and oars included for a fraction of the price! I would of given him a shot of it all he had to do was ask. Fair enough it didn’t have any t rex bones but apart from that….

• Mac Mccarthy 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

I hope it sinks and takes the loaded bastard with it

• Bob Go 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

there is something VERY VERY Wrong with this especially when the other headlines include:
    http://www.thejournal.ie/it-is-much-worse-than-people-realise-mary-robinson-visits-somalia-182685-Jul2011/

• Ironcrush 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

I wonder why people dont mention the femine and africa when some spending thousands of billions on warfare and killind people! With that money whole africa could be rebuild. This man not living in a communist country so he is allowed earn as much as he can paid tax, created thousands of jobs and entitled to enjoy his earning they way he wants. Cope on people

• Leigh Power 21/07/11 #
      Report this comment

Ok I think I managed to translate most of that. Somehow I don’t think 3.4 billion will fix all of Africa. Maybe if they stopped spending ridiculous money on weapons they could go along way to fixing their own problems.

• Simon Moore 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

fair play to him, its his hard earned money, he can spend it on what he likes, despite being very lavish, thats his lifestyle, if you had his money, you would do the same!

• Simon Moore 21/07/11 #
      Report this comment

and what this article doesn’t tell you is that this billionaire donates alot to charity, so in my book, he can do what he wants with his own money!

• Philip Bellew 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

A supremely vulgar, idiotic example of everything that’s wrong with the human species.

• Phil 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

With the current euro and US debt crisis, maybe buying 100000kg of gold with a motor attached is not so foolish!

• brian cleary 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Jesus he could have bailed us out instead

• Colin O Donnell 21/07/11 #
    Report this comment

this guy provides a hell of a lot of employment to everyone from the gold miners, the hydrodynamic engineers to the marketeers giving them all pride in themselves through gainful employment. Giving charity donations, in other words giving money to people for nothing takes away from their self worth and encourages people to not help themselves. In any case charity donations in my experience go down a black hole, whether it’s to the third world (allowing their government to spend more on guns because someone else is paying for the education system) or to poor people in the western world allowing an alcoholic to spend more on drink because someone else will pay for their food.

I suspect the begrudgers will have the last laugh here though because this is a hell of a target / prize for pirates!!!

• sure2bsure 22/07/11 #
    Report this comment

Love to go fishing for mackerel in Dublin Bay on it.

Add New Comment