TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

VHI prices set to rise next month

The company said the fact that people are living longer with chronic illnesses and the rising cost of public hospitals were the main factors contributing to the increase.

Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

HEALTH INSURANCE PROVIDER VHI Healthcare has said it will increase its prices by up to 3 per cent across most of its plans next month.

The price hike will take effect from 22 November and could represent a €100 increase in the yearly cost of health insurance for an average family.

A spokesperson for the company said VHI is aware of financial pressures facing customers and has been keen to keep prices as low as possible.

“In 2011 VHI Healthcare spent €1.226 billion on meeting our customers healthcare needs and we expect this to increase by a minimum of 6 per cent in 2012,” the spokesperson said.

VHI blamed this latest increase on the fact that people are living longer with chronic illnesses which it said is contributing to increased demand and utilisation of healthcare services.

The company also said that while it had driven down average claim costs for private hospitals and consultants fees, the cost of public hospitals has continued to rise.

The spokesperson said that in order to be sustainable in the long-term the company “needs to price its premiums to reflect the actual cost of delivering healthcare”.

This month Aviva healthcare also increased its premiums by up to 7 per cent which will cost families an additional €150 a year.

VHI and other insurance companies will appear at an Oireachtas committee meeting on Thursday to discuss the risk equalisation scheme that aims to keep health insurance affordable for older and sicker people.

Read: Car insurance premiums for female drivers set to soar after December>
Health insurance set to rise – but no-one knows by how much>

Read next:

Comments (44 Comments)

• The screw just keeps on turning.

• Expect massive price increases over the the next year, to make up for all the people leaving because they can’t afford it.

• No more VHI for me. Public Health service here I come.

• Ah yes the Irish way of dealing falling customer numbers,increase prices.

• Same economics as CIE, rather then cut costs they increase prices. Young people aren’t getting health insurance. Another ponzi scheme by the generation born in the 40′s 50′s and 60′s!!

• Total mugs game if you’re reasonably healthy and under 40. Anything serious will be dealt with on the public system anyway. Put the money to better use for your health by joining a gym or taking a holiday.

• Well theyre not getting another penny out of me, that’s for sure!
    I missed the deadline last year to terminate my contract with them when they uped their fees,
    I certainly won’t be making that mistake again!
    Bye bye VHI! x

• Charge the customers more instead of reducing what they pay the consultants… Cos it’s the consultants that are on the breadline and not the people paying the inflated policy’s.

• Factually incorrect – consultants don’t make much out of private procedures – on account of the fact that whatever is paid by the insurance company has to be used to pay for the support staff, the hospital bed, the hospital facilities, etc etc etc.
      The only consultants that make any money on private lists are the plastics. And most of that is because insurance companies don’t cover most procedures the plastics carry out – on account of the fact that their work is not seen as life threatening.
      Once again – the Irish health system is based on priority – there is no major benefit to getting health insurance – yes you might get treated a bit quicker – but if you need treatment fast, treatment fast you will get on the public list.
      Please don’t post below me saying “I was left waiting for 2 years in 2005 for a scope” – not interested – a lot has changed with the times – so should your records.

• in response to above .you do get treated quicker for non life threatening medical problems much quicker when you have health insurance.

you get seen and sorted in weeks compared to years sometimes in the public system .

• Egallag 22/10/12 #

OK Michael – how about I was left waiting 3 months in 2012? Isn’t that great, except that my private health insurance had me seen within 24 hours and diagnosed with a dangerous chronic condition. By the time the public system was ringing to offer met scope I was 3 weeks away from massive surgery to sort the life-threatening aspect of my illness. Soo do one pal – the VHI have been amazing throughout, seen quickly and provided with home nursing when I got out of hospital. I’ll pay whatever they want. If you haven’t been seriously I’ll in this country then you haven’t yet realised how great your health insurance is- I hope you always think its a waste of money, it was a waste of money for me for ten years! Then it gave back everything I ever spent with knobs on.

Apologies if it’s a bit impassioned but healthy people being ‘expert’ on health insurance is baloney.

• Egallag 22/10/12 #

OK Michael – how about I was left waiting 3 months in 2012? Isn’t that great, except that my private health insurance had me seen within 24 hours and diagnosed with a dangerous chronic condition.

By the time the public system was ringing to offer me the scope I was 3 weeks away from massive surgery to sort the potentially life-threatening aspect of my illness.

So do one pal – the VHI have been amazing throughout, seen quickly and provided with home nursing when I got out of hospital. I’ll pay whatever they want. If you haven’t been seriously ill in this country then you haven’t yet realised how great your health insurance is- I hope you always think its a waste of money, it was a waste of money for me for ten years! Then it gave back everything I ever spent with knobs on.

• Micheal 22/10/12 #

First of all 3 months is not a long time to wait on the public list.
      People always assume that their condition is the worst ever seen in the history of ever. It’s not. You were made wait on the public list because there were people in need of treatment faster than you. I am glad you got treatment faster, but the likelihood is that had you waited, you would have been treated by the same consultant, in the same hospital, with the same support team.
      The reality is that those who go private will always be treated faster than public – purely because the public system deals with everything – from fractures, chronic conditions, strokes, trauma, emergencies, whatever walks, crawls, wheels, arrives in the door, whereas the private system can (quite literally – and do) pick and choose what it is that they deal with.
      Patients nowadays are mostly treated publicly – even when they have insurance – they take the benefits of their policy with regard scans, X-rays, and scopes and get treated by teams best able to deal with whatever ailment you present with – those teams are by and large on the public system.
      Again, I am glad you are getting treated faster – but were it necessary, your treatment would have been in action as early as tomorrow morning on the public system.
      That is not me speaking as a healthy person, that is me speaking from experience.

• Get a life!!!GP’s here are ripping us off. In another European country like France,I read a GP consultation is ? 25.

• My comment was in response of@Niall Murray.

• @ Caroline Locke
      Calm down there, there was a hint of sarcasm in the first sentence of my post ;)
      Not sure why your going on about GP’s but you should read about how they’re free in the UK. I also pay through the roof for them and my 1400 p/a vhi.

• Egallag 22/10/12 #

Michael – I was referred out of A and E for the scope, I wasn’t looking for one for the craic. I have seen people getting their scopes the next day on the public system, they have to make a show of themselves in order to convince anyone they need it – not my way.

Three months isn’t long to wait, unless you need treatment much sooner than that. It’s all relative. I don’t think I’m a special beautiful snowflake of a medical patient, I’m only too aware of how many very ill people there are waiting on treatment.
      You sound as though you’re writing from a health professional POV rather than a patient, if that’s the case, although you’d have experience it’s be very different in mature token. Apologies if I’ve misread that though. And you’re dead right I would have had the same team in the same hospital, I just might have been seeing them in an emergency rather than a planned situation because I would have still been waiting on my diagnosis and caused myself all manner of harm.

Apologies for typos and earlier double post – phone acting the maggot.

• And we were told competition would bring cheaper prices. What a farce, the requirement for multiple companies to hold large reserves as well as all the extra staff are a big part of the huge price increase since completion was introduced. Go back to one state owned provider and we will all be better off!!

• If the costs of treating a VHI Member is greater in a Public Hospital compared to a Private one then the patient should be told that reimbursement will only be made if the procedure is carried out Privately.

• Wrong, Wrong, Wrong… if you pay for insurance you should be able to choose your Dr and your hospital. That’s the purpose of being insured

Sorry Ms Jones I know Dr Smith has treated you for the last two decades, but there’s another Dr at a private hospital 120 miles that’ll do it for €50 quid cheaper. So we’ll need you to travel up there twice a week.

• One way for costs to spiral is for people to present to an acute public hospital and then “go private” as an inpatient. There is no option for these patients to go to a “cheaper” private hospital because they don’t provide the acute services the patient needs.

• Can someone give Enda a bell and ask him what happened to the low cost economy he was on about pre the general election. Would have thought after 18 months he would have found it by now.

• Ingenious! Higher private health care prices means more people who can’t afford it which means more people relying on public services which are being slashed left right and centre!

• Micheal 22/10/12 #

And yet people complain about private patients in public beds – who by the way, are extremely good value for money, considering that the state gets paid by the insurer or consultant for that patients stay – make up your mind people.

• Cost of living, going through the roof! Thank you FG/Labour, things are getting worse since you were elected on the lies you told. A long list of screw ups, you incompetent shower of muppets!

• Aidan 22/10/12 #

Ah the stretching of life continues. Not an increase in quality of life.
    Having VHI saved me 1000s over last 2 years, but don’t think I can afford it any more.

• I have never had or needed medical insurance, it all seems like yet another con and money making racket dreamed up by the marketing men to part people from their money.

• Bye Bye VHI…Vicious Heavy Handed Incompetence ( VHI )

• AL 22/10/12 #

i will never buy health insurance while there is the levy to pay for the oldies.

they can fund their own ponzi scheme – im out.

• Anyone know what’s happened re the pre-election manifesto of ‘universal healthcare’ the current shower were pontificating on about (prior election of course)? Or was universal healthcare yet another broken promise?

• eoghan 22/10/12 #

People that are sick more should pay more the quoting system they have is crazy.iv never used my insurance but still have a high premium

• Community rating.Idea everyone pays the same.The young subsidise the elderly,until its their turn and the future young subsidise them.

• Flawed logic because we all know that by the time people of my age group (I’m 31) really need the VHI there’s going to be no younger people (barring the very wealthy ones) on the system to subsidise us.

Terrible strategy that could only have come out of semi- state groupthink.

• Only saying how it is Lonore never said i agreed with the system.

• Agreed and what’s going to cause a much bigger problem for the health service is that out of my social circle the number of people (now approaching their mid to late 30s) that have no pension provision of any kind and no intention to take one out is the vast majority. Of those that do, the plans aren’t going to be anything like sufficient to provide for luxuries such as private health insurance. Given that, in the long term a majority of the population having insurance will be a thing of the past.

We need to bite the bullet and build a good public system, accessible by all and paid out of tax. If someone wants an ensuite, a menu and freshly squeezed orange juice let them pay for it outside the system themselves.

• Alien8 22/10/12 #

Someone spare a thought for the kids of Garda sergeants… Cornflakes every day for the next year!

Add New Comment