TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Taoiseach won’t be ‘pressurised into box-ticking exercise’ on gay marriage stance

Enda Kenny declined to express a personal view on whether or not he supports gay marriage during heated exchanges in the Dáil today insisting it was a matter for the Constitutional Convention.

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said he will not be pressured into a “box-ticking exercise” in response to questions about whether or not he supports the introduction of gay marriage in Ireland.

Speaking in the Dáil today the Fine Gael leader said that issue, which has recently had support from a number of government ministers, was a matter for the upcoming Constitutional Convention and twice declined to express a view on whether or not he was in favour of same-sex couples marrying.

“You’re not going to pressurise both me as a citizen or as a leader of government into a box-ticking exercise here to say: ‘line them up now’ because I speak from this seat as government,” he told Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin during Leaders’ Questions.

During heated exchanges which saw a number of government backbenchers shouting across the chamber, Kenny would not be drawn on expressing his personal view on the matter.

The issue has been prominent in recent weeks following the Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore’s comments that gay marriage was the “civil rights issue of this generation”.

A number of other ministers including Alan Shatter, Brian Hayes and Leo Varadkar have spoken out in favour of gay marriage but cautioned of the need for a referendum to amend the constitution.

The matter is likely to be considered by the government-appointed Constitutional Convention, plans for which are being put before the Dáil today.

Watch the full exchange between Micheál Martin and the Taoiseach in the Dáil today (via Oirechtas.ie):

YouTube:

‘Civil rights issue’

Kenny said: “The process set out for government, for whom I speak and for which I speak, is that the convention will reflect on the question of same-sex marriage, give its recommendation to government and government will respond to that in respect of holding a referendum or not within a four month period.

“And if the answer to that question be yes then the government will set out a timescale of when it would intend to hold  a referendum.”

In response, Martin said that he did not need a “random selection of citizens” to determine whether or not he was in favour of same-sex marriage as was the case for the Tánaiste.

“Governments have to lead on these fundamental issues,” he said adding that if it was a civil rights issue then referring it to the convention opened up a possibility of there never being a referendum on gay marriage in the lifetime of the current government.

Enda Kenny said that his party was the first party to bring in civil partnerships which they were “very happy to support” and indicated that it was not appropriate for Martin to ask him his personal view on an issue that concerned the changing of the constitution.

“If you think you can just stand up and say: ‘What’s your view on this?’… This is the constitution we’re talking about and it is a matter for each individual citizen,” the Taoiseach said.

“And the process that we have set in train for this government is to take a number of these important issues that were never dealt with by your crowd and say: ‘This Constitutional Convention will reflect on each of these issues, will bring a view to government and government will respond.’”

Read: Cork city council passes landmark motion in support of gay marriage

Read: Hayes supports same-sex marriage, defends Taoiseach’s silence

Read: Gay marriage: Shatter joins Gilmore in support

Read: Eamon Gilmore: “The time has come on gay marriage”

Read next:

Comments (100 Comments)

• wasn’t he elected by “box-ticking”?

• Obviously he needs to conduct an opinion poll before he decides what he thinks.

• So I’m going to presume that he’s against it, as are a dying breed of the conservative part of the electorate, but realises the majority of the public are in favour so is trying to keep his mouth shut! Oh, the little Irish Tories!

• Either that or he’s actually for it but terrified he’ll lose a lot of the older vote if he admits it.Either way, he’s a coward.

• The only way to find out if the majority of the public is in favour or not is to have a referendum. Then we can move on to more pressing issues.

• @peedoff, what’s it like under that bridge?

• Yes, of course it’s a choice. I remember the day I first chose to be gay, it was when I realised that it was illegal in the country I live in. I mean who wouldn’t want to risk jail for the person they love? And when I realised that I would in all likelihood be bullied, verbally abused, possibly shunned by my family and friends, treated less favourably in work situations and have less rights than everyone else, well- I knew I chose correctly.

• Wise decision Enda Kenny.
      Don’t be bullied into a decision by this (thankfully) minority group.

• @Nigel

Yes, a coward, a dishonest coward. Stand up and be counted. We, the people, parents would like to know which side of the door our Taoiseach is on. I wonder what his reaction would be if and when his son/daughter, if they had the courage, told him that he/she was gay? He obviously thinks, hopes and prays that it won’t happen!

Doesn’t matter whether he’s afaid he’ll lose voters he’s already lost them. Not answering this question won’t make much difference. He should answer it for the young people of Ireland, they need to know that they not only have the support of their family but the Government of the day and people of Ireland.

• Has the gay community high-jacked the Journal by any chance?
      Almost every day the same sad topic.
      If world war 3 broke out it would get less coverage.

• “If world war 3 broke out it would get less coverage.”

I’m pretty certain WW3 would get more coverage…

• @ Sheila
      what has having a homosexual child do with this. It’s not because you’re a homosexual that you support same-sex marriage. Some are into barebacking…

• Why should I respond to anyone on my personal views in respect of this issue when the majority of Gestapo like tow rags including Deputy I’ll commission a Report Martin simply want to abuse him regardless of his answer. He is absolutely correct as Taoiseach in responding in non committal fashion.

• @Darren Marcus

He gives the impression that all is well in his little world. I feel that he should look passed his thinking and feelings on this subject and try to understand what life and equality is for everyone in this land. Nothing is black and white. Nobody knows what life might throw at them today, tomorrow. He should think ahead for his family, and other families, for others beliefs, not just his, or catholism. No, one doesn’t have to be homosexual but one certainly has to try and have a better understanding on the subject and acceptance of others and what their beliefs are.

• ‘Box ticking exercise’ he says?
      These are people’s lives he’s talking about!
      What a waste of water, skin & bone!!

• Seriously its a simple question, its a Yes or No answer nothing to hard about it to be fair.

• Christ why don’t we subject the Taoiseach to torture so that we can get yes/no’s from him on about a hundred or so issues and then hold his answers against him if they don suit us. That’s the logic behind your views on the matter. Wow what a mob.

• In fairness Mark your question wasn’t so good we need to read it twice :-) Regarding your question cast your mind back to the fiscal compact referendum. You may recall Kenny claiming he does his debating in the chamber in Leinster house? Last week refused to answer a question on the forth coming budget this week refused to answer a straight yes/no question. What a waste of space that man is. Here’s a suggestion why doesn’t he go off into the countryside and find a few cycle rides to attend. One of his highly paid special advisers might be able to fill in for him in the chamber. I’d suggest the deputy leader of FG but sure he has his own problems to work on.

• Civil marraige and religious marraige are 2 separate entities. Gay people don’t want religious marraige we want civil marraige. If people think that gay people getting married will affected their marriage they are deluded. It will have no effect at all. It’s just pure bigotry to want to create in law 2nd class citizenship on a group of people. If people want me to have 2nd class citizenship then they can take 2nd class taxes from me.

• Kenny has about the same level of leadership qualities as a sack of potatoes.

• Still can understand how Same Sex Marriage is a constitutional issue at all…?!
    I mean, Bunreacht doesn’t define marriage as being specifically between a man & woman (unless I’m mistaken??) so surely a Bill from the Oireachtas could enact it.

Getting the impression that Enda’s bouncing this issue to the Constitutional Convention to avoid making a decision on it himself.

• Elmo 10/07/12 #

I don’t like the idea of the gay marriage issue being used as a vote grabbing gimmick. It shouldn’t matter if Kenny is for or against it, as long as he knows that we have a right as a democratic country to have our say on it and he lets us get on with it.

• Were we allowed a democratic say on the Bank Guarantee or compensating bond holders? At least gay marriage has the backing of numerous opinion polls conducted amongst the public and not FG backbenchers!

• @Eoin

I thought Ursula pushed him?!!!!!

• Why do we have a right to say? It doesn’t affect anyone except the two people who are getting married. There should be no vote on this at all, it’s a private matter.

• Elmo 10/07/12 #

@Conor
      As far as I understand it they’re looking into whether legalising gay marriage would require a referendum or not. The only reason it would require a referendum would be if it meant having to change something in the constitution, that is why we will (may) be allowed a democratic say in it. Guaranteeing the banking debts did not involve changing the constitution so they didn’t see it necessary to consult us. Rightly or very very wrongly, that’s how it works.

@Chuck
      See above. If it requires changing something in the constitution then we all get a say in it. If it doesn’t then the TD’s will have to decide it among themselves, I guess. It would be more likely to pass if the public got to vote on it, I’m sure.

Just to be clear I am all in favour of allowing gay couples the same basic human rights as straight people. I just don’t like the idea that some politicians will probably use this issue as a personal campaign for votes rather than the human rights issue it is. As can be seen by other leaders trying to force Enda to say where he stands on the issue. Like I said, whether he’s for it or against it is irrelevant as far as I’m concerned as long as he doesn’t try to stand in the way of whatever democratic process is required in this particular situation.

• This fella really loves to mince his words. “Box ticking”? That’s a new one.

• Box ticketing? Ah go away Enda before you trip over a pencil.

• A Constitutional question or not, why should gay people have to ask any heterosexual in this country whether they can legally marry or not? Straight people don’t need anyones approval. Change a few words on a computer and print it out. Hey presto you are now pronounced married. A civil rights issue? Of course it is. As it stands today we still live in a society that says as a gay person you’re not quite as equal to a straight person, therefore denying that they share a full humanity with everyone else. Enda Kenny is a political slither. It shouldn’t actually matter what he thinks. Society has had enough time to realise the damage institutional homophobia causes. Just let people turn up at registry offices, give them there piece of paper and be done with this issue once and for all.

• Fantastic comment, I 100% agree.

• Elmo 10/07/12 #

That’s a good point Marc. I assume that all gay people in the country would vote in favour of it, if we did have a referendum. So that only leaves the straight people with a decision to make, which does equate to the straight people deciding the rights of the gay people, which does not seem like equality to me.
      Also, on a side note, referring to it as “gay marriage” seems wrong too. Should we be referring to current marriages as “straight marriages”? Having a different word for it seems like marking it out as different which again seems unnecessary to me.

• Dec Rowe 10/07/12 #

There’s roughly 300000 gay people in Ireland, say each of these have 3 straight friends that will vote in favour of a referendum… that’s a lot of votes! ;)

• what a fraud and a coward!

• At least there was no flower pot for Enda to fall into this time!

Don’t have my copy of Bunreacht na hÉireann on me at present. Just wondering what article it is that states that marriage exclusively takes place between a man and a woman?

On a side note, this is easily the third or forth time in the past month that Enda has very obviously run screaming from a question put to him by Martin looking for his, (as leader of the country), position on a wide range of issues. Does he actually have any of his own? It’s an embarrassment when the Taoiseach at leaders question doesn’t seem to have any answers to even the easiest of questions. Not fit to lead!

• Bunreacht na hÉireann does not specifically state that marriage is between a man and a woman. Gay marriage could be legislated for tomorrow morning!

• I think the Supreme Court ruled that it is currently defined as a union between man and woman at some stage? Think the case came about because a same sex couple (married outside of the Irish state) wanted to be taxed as a couple?

Maybe thejournal could clarify that?

• My thoughts exactly Conor as when writing on this issue previously, I did consult the constitution and found no such provision nor definition. This reason is a cop out by the Government in order for it to avoid addressing the issue. FG fearing its Christian Democratic wing will revolt if it moves on legislating for gay marriage.

• He’s clearly opposed to gay marriage, if he wasn’t he’d say so! Absolute eejit, embarrasses me how our country’s being run by a mongo like him! I’ve attended every Pride festival for the last 5 years, and it warms me inside seeing its support and turn-out grow every year. It’s embarrassing to think we’re in an era, people will look back on in 50+ years time and go “What the hell were they thinking?!” Hopefully it’ll change soon, love is love regardless of gender.

• Christ, does the man stand for ANYTHING?

Guess what enda. Gay Irish people are paying your ridiculous wages too, they have a right to know your position on an issue thats so important to them.

• A pretty unsatisfactory response, once again, from our esteemed leader.

• He is trying to play it safe. Be seen to be progressive but don’t alienate the conservative vote.
    But you know what?
    I have no respect for Martin because he would act the same way also.
    One is as bad as the other.
    What I expect Martin to do is make a statement along the lines of ‘Taoiseach, I and my party are completely in favour (or against) same sex marriages.’
    Please take a stance yourself before using this as a political football without any due consideration for those who desire to see it introduced.

• Who cares if he’s for or against this or that. At the end of the day, as Taoiseach he must ask himself and we ourselves the age old question, “do I really believe everyone should be equal?”. For me that’s a yes, for others…not so much.

• Stephen Maher is quite right when he says Enda is entitled to his own thoughts on the matter, as are we all, and to leave him be. However, the manner of Enda’s defense in this regard is baffling me… It just seems odd to me for him to say “that’s an issue relating to changing the constitution, so of course I can’t express a view on that”, but yet governments always campaign for particular results in referendums. Why is this an issue that the leader of the government must stay quiet on, but other referendums are not?

• its absolutely irrelevant what a referendum would reveal – there is no way that it is ethical or moral in any way to withhold reasonable rights from any demographic.

• Nice to see Martin trying to get Kenny to nail his colours to the mast but I don’t remember hearing him shout about it quite so loudly when he was in government.

• Fagan's 10/07/12 #

Micky boy was too busy enjoying himself, staying in hotels in Geneva at 3 grand a night. He’d back 2 chairs marrying if he thought it would up his expenses account.

• I think ultimately Mr Kenny is a pragmatist and will support whatever the majority opinion is. If he is personally against gay marriage thats fine he’s entitled to his view. Martin wanted his personal view so that he could use it against him whenever a decision is taken re this issue. At the moment I don’t think that gay marriage is of serious intra party conflict. It is irritating when people here and on other forums try to supress discussion of this issue by immediately labelling those against gay marriage as ‘bigots’ ‘conservatives’ or ‘relgious nuts’ thereby hoping that the application of these labels will cower people into submission, in essence they are displaying the exact characteristics that the purport to abhor, intolerance and bigotry. Many ordinary, decent people across the country have serious concerns about gay marriage and there views shouldn’t be dismissed to placate a minority. Having said that, I am personally in favour of allowing homosexual couples to marry. Marriage is at heart a fundamentally conservative institution as two individuals pledge to rely upon each other and not the state, allowing gay couples to marry will strenghten the institution of marriage and in turn society. How could conservatives like myself not support this?

• While I agree with your points I strongly object to the granting of equal rights being referred to as “placating a minority”. People with mental illnesses are in the minority, that doesn’t mean granting them civil rights is just placating them. It should be a bloody given and certainly shouldn’t be compared to giving ice cream to a child throwing a tantrum.

• I think nearly everybody has an opinion on it so it is quite clear that he is both against it and a coward. He dares to accuse others of populism while it is quite clear that he will go with the majority, regardless of his own opinions- pathetic, how can he ever be regarded as a “Leader”?

• I’m actually unsure if he’s against it and afraid he’ll lose the young vote or for it and afraid he’ll lose the older vote. Either way, he’s put himself in the office of Taoiseach, we deserve to know his views on issues such as this. in my opinion it speaks volumes about his character.

• Article 41-3-1 “the state pledges itself to guard with special care the institution of marriage on which the family is founded and to protect it against attack”. No mention of a family being male/female at the top. Therefore the blocking of gay marriage is unconstitutional.

• Well, I think that could be open to different interpretations.
      Legal definition of a family would have to be defined rather than accepting what conservative pre-Vatican 2 catholic bigwigs had in mind when they used the term family

• What they had in mind is irrelevant. What they wrote into law is all that matters. And in the absence of a definition, it cannot be construed to simply mean man and woman to the detriment of equality.

Article 40-1: “all citizens, as human PERSONS, be held equal before the law”

• It was defined in Murray v. Ireland as involving a man and a woman (the point of this was that there was no need for children to qualify as a “family”) and this was recently enough affirmed by the now Chief Justice, Susan Denham

• funzeye 10/07/12 #

So he wont be pressured into giving a straight yes or no answer. He is supposed to be a leader, instead shows cowardice for fear that he might lose a few voters. How can we trust politicians to make the right decisions for the country when every decision they make is predicated by the question “How many votes will I lose by making this decision?”. Really depressing stuff.

• Well if he won’t give a straight answer doesn’t that speak volumes?

• Me thinks it’s more tick tock tick tock for the boys and girls of contunity FF than ticking a box

• Ah Enda, I’d prefer not to be pressured into a box ticking exercise to elect Dáil dwellers, but …..
    Get off the fence. And regardless of your opinion I reckon people might be capable of deciding this one for themselves. I’d say he can’t wait to throw another referendum at this one, or does he solely save them for Euro- related matters?

• Can Enda ever get through an interview or speech without saying “in respect of”? I counted four times there.

• Ben Gunn 10/07/12 #

lIt matters not that may or may not support same sex marriage. What matters is how the government acts on the issue.

• Look, he’s against it.
    Plenty of people are.
    It’s his opinion, leave him with it.
    Can’t believe I’m defending this guy, but when it comes to matters of sexual morality in this country things seem to have gone a bit odd.
    If a person doesn’t go along with the p.c. Orthodoxy these days they are ridiculed and pilloried.
    Much easier to paint on a smile and go with the flow, just like we did with those bastards in the church for all those years.
    I’m all for personal freedom, but freedom of thought is a prerequisite for all subsequent freedom which is why I detest the p.c. Gestapo as much as I hate the hierarchy.

• Well said.

• Actually agree with you tbh…
      Although I’m in favour of SSM personally, I loathe the mafioso like bullying that happens to those that disagree.

• Michael Martin isn’t bullying him, he’s pushing him for some sort of a response. If he is against it then he can say so, people are just frustrated at how he seems to push anything slightly controversial under the carpet. We can have a referendum in a matter of weeks when the EU needs it but when a section of our own society campaigns for it they get ignored for years.

• He’s the prime minister of a democracy and arguably more than anyone else, his opinions are fair game for comment. If you can put forward unbiased evidence of negative outcomes connected with gay marriage, then you’re entitled not only to be against it but for your views to be respected. If you’re advancing ungrounded arguments or simply saying “I just don’t agree with it” without explaining why, you’re still entitled to be against it but you can expect some grief from fellow commenters (or TDs if you’re in the Dail). Nobody is threatening freedom of thought but the freedom to discuss ideas and rebut the ones you don’t agree with is just as important.

• “Can’t believe I’m defending this guy, but when it comes to matters of sexual morality in this country things seem to have gone a bit odd.”

Apologies Stephen, but when one Irish citizen is afforded the facility to marry the person they love and want to spend the rest of their life with, and another citizen is not, it is not a ‘sexual morality’ issue, it is an equality issue.

• I agree on the general point about PC bullies.

But I don’t see how gay marriage represents an “odd” liberalisation of sexual morality. I presume gay couple’s vows will include a vow of fidelity. What could be more moral than that??

• See?
      The slightest hint that someone is straying from the straight and narrow and the sniffing and crooked looks begin.
      Oh well. . . .

• If he supported Gay marriage he would come out and say it openly.

• Eh eh eh eh eh eh eh eh eh I am the Taoiseach , now sit down and ciunas ….. Edna get off the fence !

• Enda Kenny won’t be pressured into advocating a position on a potential gay marriage referendum, because as Taoiseach he speaks for Government. In other news he’d like to thank you again for voting yes on the Fiscal Compact, just like he(The Government) advocated.

• There like siamese twins shouting at each other..Pathetic..

• Daniel R 10/07/12 #

I know he’s thinking tactically but he should realise that what he’s doing isn’t smart. By refusing to express his views he’s causing confusion between progressive voters and conservative ones, loosing chunks from both groups. If he came out in support, yes he would loose the conservatives but polls clearly show that the majority of Irish support ssm and he would thrive in that area, like Obama did. One wonders who’s advising him, it’s clearly the wrong advice. It’s demoralising that politics revolves around votes and not the betterment of people’s lives, we need a new paradigm.

• he is waiting to see how the wind is blowing regarding this one then he will make a decision to suit the polls. Can somebody confirm that Brian Hyes was talking out his backside the other day when he proclaimed that there will not be a referendum unless the goverment is sure of a yes result? I thought the point of a referendum was so we could deciede the outcome?

• Yep just spent 15 minutes typing and it disappeared.

• Where have all the previous comments gone ?

• And these children that you spit on nAs they try to change their worlds nAre immune to your consultations nThey’re quite aware of what they’re going through ….david bowie

• Fair play to Kenny. He goes up hugely in my estimation.

Ivana Bacik was caught out badly on Pat Kenny yesterday – she says gender doesn’t matter when raising children but can’t stop whining on about gender quotas in the Dail. Apparently it matters when she says it does.

I would be confident this would be defeated if a referendum was held. It’s easier to say you agree with something when you have a crazy liberal screaming at you about “human rights” or other such nonsense – anything to get them away from you. The secrecy of a ballot box is a different matter where one has to think about protecting the institution of the family in the state, and maintaining the hierarchy which dictates that the most ideal upbringing for a child is by it’s biological parents. Whining on about what about adapted children, etc does not change this simple fact.

• There is absolutely no correlation between those two arguments. Gender quotas are about equal representation in the governing of this country. When it comes to parenting it doesn’t matter a fig. And since when are human rights nonsense? Take a trip to Syria or Iran and then come back to us talking about ‘nonsense’. Crazy liberal indeed! Since when is accusing someone of being for individual freedom an insult? I’m quite proud of it and you’d find yourself in an awful lot of trouble without us.

• Elmo 10/07/12 #

I’ve tried replying to this comment three times now and it’s still not showing up, so apologies if later it shows up again in triplicate.

Anyway….. “protecting the institution of the family in the state, and maintaining the hierarchy which dictates that the most ideal upbringing for a child is by it’s biological parents”

You couldn’t throw a stone these days without hitting a child that’s being brought up by it’s mother with a different boyfriend every few months, meanwhile they might spend the weekend with the biological father or his parents, if they even know who their father is. There is no “institution of family” in this country any more. How many families are actually that preconceived idea of a family that people have? Not as many as you seem to think.
      There are kids being brought up in one parent homes that turn out just as well as kids brought up in two parent homes. It has nothing to do with the sexuality of the parents, or even the number of parents. Being gay doesn’t make you incapable of loving a child, or providing a safe environment to bring a child up in.

• What a load of closed minded b°ll°x!

• if there is a referendum on Gay Marriage in Ireland. I wont be voting

• Most people I know are against same sex marriage. It was never intended for anyone but heterosexuals. Hope Enda sticks to what is the law of the country.

Add New Comment