TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

VIDEO: Rowdy scenes – but no disagreement – as Dáil votes for eight-week break

The Dáil’s summer break is a week longer than it was last year, though it now sits for slightly longer each day.

THERE WAS some rowdy scenes – but ultimately no dissenting voices – in the Dáil this morning as TDs agreed to send the house into recess for eight weeks.

The proposal for an eight-week summer recess was the last of six items to be agreed by Deputies this morning during the Dáil’s daily Order of Business session.

Socialist Party member Joe Higgins said he was seeking a “variation” of the proposal for an eight-week recess, just as threats from the IMF were “ringing in our ears”.

Unless the IMF was “suffering from acute policy schizophrenia,” Higgins suggested, it was inappropriate for TDs to suspend Dáil sittings for such a long period.

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore, representing the government, suggested that Higgins was engaging in “scaremongering” and insisted the IMF’s recommendations were not binding – and also argued that the previous Dáil term had been particularly fruitfui.

Gilmore said the government had made “significant progress” on its agenda, with breakthroughs on legislation at both Irish and European level.

The Ceann Comhairle, Seán Barrett, sought to restore order as members appeared merry at the thought of an eight-week break from the chamber, at one point suggesting:

All I have to say is, schoolchildren leaving sixth class would be behaving better than what’s happening here.

Ultimately when the proposal was put to TDs, there were no members voting Níl, and the motion to suspend the house until September 18 was agreed.

The Dáil is due to go into recess shortly after 8pm this evening when it completes its daily business.

Read next:

Comments (34 Comments)

• Once again showing we have a A Class opposition anyway. Not one of them, even Joe Higgins, said No to the break. Keep up the good work “representing the working class”!

• so much for reform

• Ah sure,as long as the good serf’s of Ireland do nothing,they can take as many holiday’s as they want,and they will,and we’ll still be here pissing and moaning,but doing nothing about it!!!

• Worse than a pack of kids is right. Some holiday for them.

• I’ve watched it live past few weeks and they act like school children all the time,I reckon school children would be embarrassed of them, its complete disgrace how they act, are they that stupid that they don’t even know there on TV?Sean Barrett pointed it out them one morning that it was live and most them shut up!! Just showed me how stupid they are!

• Nice work if you can get it!

• Why do our politicans do this sort of thing.? Answer 75% of them are career politicians, really long holidays, huge expense accounts, and unreal pensions are why the got into the business, They know the Irish people are apathetic and easy controlled , with the help of Pat Rabbitte’s RTE, Fine Gael’s Newstalk, To-day fm , plus The Independent newspapers they make sure we will never turn on them for taking such liberties. I mean 2 months Holidays during the biggest crisis since WW2 its madding but will anybody be on the streets no, even if they were thousands out marching RTE wouldn’t mention it ,for fear Pat would call another meetimg and demand Labours way be re run.

• It’s a bit if a sham but I don’t know what your problem is with today fm…. Do you listen to Matt Cooper? He doesn’t let anything lie

• Your 100% correct about Matt cooper, I would say however that he is the token non right wing voice on O’Brien’s network, much like Nepolitano was on Foxnews until he was fired. When it comes to asking the hard questions these days Vinne Brown and Ursula Hannigan are only real Journalists in the country. The rest are controlled by their pockets.

• You know what, and I know this often gets said, but Irish politicians must be the most ignorant, deluded, arrogant and disgusting bunch of cretans in this land. I was sickened last night watching Vinny B to hear the heckles of what sounded like children with A.D.D when Micheal Martin was trying to discuss a serious topic, that being our health system. The fact that they can’t even keep their mouths shut without acting like animals after escaping from Dublin Zoo when discussing the welfare of the sick and elderly (alot of whom sit on trolleys whilst the heckling took place) illustrates not only a disconnect from reality but a new sick, horrible and repulsive side to the morons they have now proved themselves to be! They remind me of the class idiots back in school who wouldn’t shut up and let the other students learn, rather just keep shouting like a chimpanzee in the hope someone takes notice of you!

• @Diarmaid Twomey

So well said. No wonder that horrible little weed Howlan was in jolly humour. I hope wherever all of them are going on their hols, it pisses rain the whole time. Last time I had a holiday was 5 years ago.

• Wouldn’t mind seeing a dust up in the dail. Might actually show that they give a f**k.

• Ned 19/07/12 #

It’s good to see them all having a laugh and battering it back and forth before the summer break. It’s well for them, accountable to no one with little care for what’s actually happening in the country. Pretty sick to watch while sitting here in a different country away from my family. Good on ye lads, keep up the good work

• I have watched the Dail heckling in the past, had to stop watching it, because it wasn’t good for my nerves. They laugh, sneer at each other, shout over one another. It is just cringing to watch. Pack of feckin eegits, every single one of them. Now they head off for a two month break, while we are all here, worried sick about our future, and our children’s future, you couldn’t make this stuff up, it’s so sickening its almost laughable. almost.

• We should be thrilled! The do nothing but spin bullshit when they’re there or push nonsensical policies for the sake of it. I would be pleased if they remained on holidays permanently.

• I am sick to death of these arseholes.

• Everyone one of them r a disgrace!!! Only thing there laughing at is the Irish people, should all be bet with a stick !!

• mel 19/07/12 #

They should feck off for 52 weeks

• It’s a pity that not only can certain T.D’s not take any pride in their appearance (joe Higgins looks like he just came in from tending to the cows), but ALL T.D.’s don’t have the professionalism to act with restraint or maturity.

What this clip shows is the socialists getting off-topic and not putting their money where their mouth is, the Ceann Comhairle failing to accurately administer discipline or order in the chamber, and every member of the Dáil acting in a yob-like and childish way.

It’s embarrassing.

• Sure the teachers get it so why not the politicians ………..

• Boils my piss that kind of carry on.nLet’s take to the streets, I’m actually going to start a revolution.

• n365 20/07/12 #

Charade

• We’re thinking of you this time of year,
    Wishing you happiness, joy, and cheer.
    May all your days be warm and bright,
    And your nights enhanced by holiday light.
    Enjoy your delectable holiday foods,
    As parties and gifts create holiday moods.
    Favorite people play a meaningful part,
    While treasured rituals warm your heart.
    You are special to us in many ways,
    So we wish you Happy Holidays!

• What a stupid poem, wish them happy holidays my arse
      Should have said wish them f**kers would have stayed on and do some work for a change, no wonder the country is getting nowhere with people like these carrying on like the last bunch that got us into this mess.
      Shameful and a total disgrace, they don’t give a f**k about the Irish people as long as they keep feathering their own nest.

• Tokidoll 19/07/12 #

Matt and ged_star, thanks for the laugh of the year so far. I may die from it, but I’ll die happy

• I hope they enjoy it. Well deserved.

• Well Deserved my arse, they should be staying on and trying to sort out the mess we are in, Instead the over paid useless twits give themselves a pat on the back and take a 2 month holiday, absolute shame.
      A bunch of kids wouldn’t act the way these godshites did. What a complete and utter waste of tax payers money.

• So there taking holiday with OUR money?? ie the people’s money??? 8 weeks of the people hard cash.

Add New Comment