You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
“ANTI-WIND” COUNTY DEVELOPMENT plans, that rezone land allocated for onshore wind farm projects, are increasing the risk that Ireland’s renewable energy targets will be missed, the industry has claimed.
Wind Energy Ireland, a renewable energy lobby group, are calling on An Bord Pleanála (ABP) to make decisions in the context of national climate and energy security commitments and pleading with local authorities to identify suitable land for wind farms.
Noel Cunniffe, CEO of the group, fears that the lack of progress on these applications could result in Ireland missing its 2030 onshore wind farm targets. Currently, he said, Ireland is on track at meeting this goal in 2044.
He is calling on Housing Minister Darragh O’Brien to amend his action plan so that recruiting people with the expertise to quickly assess applications for renewable energy infrastructure to ABP is prioritised.
The group says that development plans in counties such as Laois and Westmeath are either rezoning land to prevent wind farms from being constructed or allocating land in unsuitable areas, such as in close proximity to homes or in areas with very little wind.
Justin Moran, the group’s external affairs executive, told The Journal that the group wants to see county planners and developers strike a better balance in local zoning plans.
While the lobby respect that county development plans hold “critical weight” in ABP’s decisions, Moran said that the national planning authority should also be required to uphold national climate and energy security commitments.
ABP said it cannot comment on the reasons why it chooses to reject applications.
A letter penned by the lobby organisation in 2017 highlighted how the space provided to developers in Co Laois’ zoning plan was significantly smaller compared to the previously drawings.
Fleming said while he supports renewable energy, and has approved of plans in the county in the past, the area included in the planning application for the wind farm in Co Laois was “not suitable”.
“This is good news for the local communities in the area and I would ask the developers to pack up their bags, go away and not contest this decision or reapply,” he said.
Moran stressed the need for local authorities to engage with developers so both parties can identify suitable locations for wind farms. The Journal has asked Laois County Council for comment.
The lobby group has said while it welcomes these changes, priority should be given to increase the number of planners with an expertise in renewable energy infrastructure with the national planning authority.
It argues this is particularly necessary given that only one planning application for a wind farm was approved during the third quarter of this year. ABP told The Journal that just two applications were made for wind farms during the third quarter, however.
Moran said that the pipeline of projects could increase as there are several now at the pre-planning stage.
He pointed to a backlog of 31 onshore wind applications which are currently seeking planning – representing approximately 18% of the required megawatts needed to meet Ireland’s renewable energy targets.
Moran added that any assessment carried out by ABP must be done “thoroughly and robustly”.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
50 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
shameful act. intolerance…..is dodds gone dotty or what, the majority of protestant communities in the republic have very friendly relations with the catholic communities. much more tolerance down here than the backwater of the six counties
I’m Catholic, I attended a Church of Ireland school in Cork. It suffered 3 arson attacks over the course of a few years while I was a pupil there. The Gardai arrested one loony who thought he was taking on the British, in reality he was denying children their right to education. This may well be a one man operation by some sad case.
Absolutely Fintan, and I hope she is as quick to tweet or bleat, when those halls are re built with the help of the decent people of those two community’s, from all denominations. I guarantee there’s a committee set up already . Silly woman.
Being tolerant seems to mean having to put up with taking shite from everyone. Who cares if Orange Order churches are burned? What do people think they preach there? The same thing they preach in the mosques. Violence against these idiots that have let you into their country.
sorry i meant to say u cannot be accused of been tolerant in any way…or for that matter been overly informed…
1) Orange Halls are not churches but halls of an organisation that excludes … women, gay people, catholics and any protestant that is married to a catholic or who may even have been to a Catholic church for a wedding or funeral.
2) It is simply lies to say all mosques preach voilence
Couldn’t disagree more, we are every bit as intolerant and bigoted down here, the definition of Irish for a lot of people (especially on this website) is hating the Brits/Protestants, following Celtic and most laughingly of all, being a Catholic.
Mister loterio…. While both jurisdictions have their pluses ands minuses i must say from experience that tolerance is not one of the attributes of our northern friends…. Maybe you should spend more time here in Ireland?
Okay maybe our Northern brethren are ahead of us in the bigotry stakes, but the fact of the matter is that we wouldn’t win any awards down here for our tolerance, as I previously stated you would be immediately viewed with suspicion in this country if you happen to be British/Pro British/Protestant etc
Is that just your own opinion lothario?..I have family and friends in England who travel here regularly and never once did they experience anti British sentiment, in fact family members of mine have made their own circles of friends they have met while here and keep in contact.
The North is one of the most bigoted parts of the western world, never mind Ireland or Britain.
Look at all the attacks on people from different parts of the world, look at all the flags and death threats against people from all over the world around marching season.
Also constant orchestrated attacks on the offices of any political party who democratically votes against the unionist agenda. The silence from Westminster is deafening.
You know feck all about the north if you think our situation is remotely comparable.The only place that challenges N.I. on the title for the Alabama of Europe title is Scotland.
Scotland is socialist SNP where it not New Labor. In Alabama they despise Obama care. Can you imagine a movement to throw out the National Health in Scotland ? You know nothing about Alabama.
While I’m no fan of unionism or the orange order i think it’s important to not bring ourselves down to their level of triumphalism and tricolor burning by celebrating their misfortune and giving credibility to the idiots who Burnt down this Hall
Yeah Gerry comes across a soulless calculating man who would defended the Einzgruppen and without a shred of compassion or decency. McGuinness just comes across as a decent enough chap with a sense of human decency.
It is embarrassing that people felt the need to do this. I usually look at stuff like fleg protests, flag waving, Twaddle, Drumcree, Pastor McConnell, homophobic first ministers and think to myself, well at least in the Republic we don’t have that kind of nonsense. Apparently we do.
Nothing republican about it. No republicans just busted into an orange Hall in Tullyvallen in 1975 and opened fire killing 5 people. Them republicans today just don’t step up to the murderous mark of their predecessors.
There’s been atrocities on both sides. Its the past, and by the way you make me ashamed to be a utd fan. Lose the crest before you make idiotic statements
McGuinness is quite right in his statement. Refreshing to hear such directness from SF leadership rather than the usual circular ambiguity from the great bearded one, hedging his bets with his supporters in the shadows.
@Adrian you are nothing but a disgusting excuse for a Unionist , but like many who are cut from the same cloth even trying to talk to you is a pointless exercise. Are you suggesting no unionist organisation has been responsible for any atrocities ? Am I to then refer to Things that happened 40 years ago and then apply it to all Unionists. Ignoring the fact that the fast majority of them such as is the case of Republicans are not violent and do not carry out these hate crimes. Maybe ill counter act your argument and go back 100 years when you British and yes sure I might as well say you and blame you directly for the British entering a sports even and opening fire on the crowd. Maybe I should just blame all of my issues on Unionists. It would be very easy to blame everything in life on the British or Unionists however I’m not that naive or brainwashed by the low lifes of my society. The problem with these guys that started the fire in Donegal is they are exactly like you and I mean exactly like you . Afraid to let go of the past and dedicating your time to a cause that the normal people of both sides of the border dont give a toss about any longer . So you go live your life under some impression that we are out to get you and when you turn hopefully 70+ years old and begin to think for yourself , the first thing you will realise like all those who came before you , it was pointless and a waist of time … Then you will try and convince those like you at your age right now and guess what they will simply ignore you . By the way I dont see anyone saying lets kill all brown people because they are all ISIS extremists either , if you want to make a statement try and make one that isn’t completely irrelevant
Exactly, fair play to Mc Guinness, and I hope the bigoted lowlifes who burnt down this hall and worse still tried to burn down a church, are caught and dumped in the middle of the Shankhill Road.
How do you know it wasn’t young fellas just showing off trying to look “mad” after a few tins?? Just because it was used by the OO it had to be republicans? Your an awful narrow minded ape.
Adrian I think you are suffering from the dunning- Kruger effect! Look it up and it might become clear to you, although I doubt it! Stupid people are actually too stupid to realise they are stupid and you my weak minded man fit into this category for sure!
u are wrong truth and very much mistaken Gerry Adams did it all…. Did you not know he shot Michael Collins as well and according to Bangers, Mr Rogers and Mr Gahan there is strong evidence that he killed Brian Boru too in 1014 and that Brudar was framed…..
ps do not tell anyone as Independent Newspapers will run with the story
Being killed in the field is a lot different to being gunned down inside an orange Hall while unarmed. British soldiers were killed in the field and they also killed people in the field too, that’s war.
what you are saying is according to your own bias that whether somebody is murdered as distinct from executed depends on where they are or on what side of the argument they are on.
A “truth and reconciliation process” is long overdue
Your stance should be recognition that republicans and loyalists killed people and have a modicum of objectivity when you come on here spouting anti- republican vitriol! It doesn’t help and it really paints you as a bitter person who can’t seem to move on! This might go right over your head though because as I said, weak minded people are often too weak minded to realise they are suffering from Said affliction so you could be rather stuck!
I am a bitter person because I had people I knew murdered by republicans, I will never stop being bitter towards them.
Theres another thread here about bloody Sunday, many are posting criticism about the British army on it about an incident 42 years ago yet you are implying I can’t criticise a republican atrocity that happened after that?
I only mentioned that particular massacre because it was done inside an orange Hall, Mr McGuinness was a member of the group that carried it out and here he is condemning an arson attack??
Don’t try and tell me I can’t mention this incident, it’ll be brought up everytime I feel the time is right to counter SF hypocrisy.
PS i know both sides committed atrocities, anti British and loyalist comments appear on this site on an almost daily basis, you get to remind us of British and loyalist violence so I’ll do the same when it comes to republicans.
You say Mr McGuinnes was a member of the group that carried it out ? Could you clarify that please………….or back up that allegation……..while you are at do you think he was wrong to say the attack on the Orange Hall was wrong ? and by the way who qualifies to join the Orange Order
McGuinness was a member of the PIRA, claimed to have left in 1974 but still endorsed their campaign until the 90′s. The Tullyvallen massacre took place in 1975 and it was perpetrated by the PIRA, the same group that carried out the Kingsmills massacre the following year, that’s 15 innocent people butchered for religious reasons by a group that claimed to be non sectarian.
Of course it was wrong to burn down their hall, doing so sinks down to the level of hatred and bigotry that the OO practice daily. It was probably some local teenagers who did it, they probably see the hatred that the OO show every year for all things Irish and in their immaturity thought burning one of their hall was a good idea.
It doesn’t matter what we do,these miserable DUP brain donors will always take every opportunity to demonise us.The OO receives annual grants and parades in the south have always passed off without incident but some lone nut burns down an Orange hall and that is the standard we are judged by.
While I deplore criminality in general, including destruction of property by arson, I find it difficult to sympathise with our very own version of the KKK, culture me arse.
Russell Brand has been charged with rape, indecent assault, oral rape and sexual assault
5 mins ago
Newry Crown Court
Antrim couple jailed for ‘sickening abusive injuries’ inflicted on four-week-old baby
4 mins ago
Live Blog
US stocks drop sharply as EU considers response to Trump tariffs
20 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say