Sign in. It’s quick, free and it’s up to you.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Sign in. It’s quick, free and it’s up to you.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
APPLE HAS CONTINUED improving the security of its devices by adding an extra security feature to its messaging and video chat service.
iMessage and FaceTime users will soon be able to use two-step verification to be able to use accounts on iPhone, iPad and Mac computers.
It means that alongside the traditional username and password requirement, users will be sent a second code via SMS to enter so they can verify their accounts.
To activate it (if you haven’t already), users are required to go to My Apple ID, and go into Password and Security. Once there, you will be given the option of activating two-step verification.
Activating it means the next time you log out of your account or try to log in from a different device, it will require you to enter in a security code as well.
Originally, the feature was included in iTunes and Apple ID accounts in March 2013, however, that wasn’t enough to stop a scandal that saw numerous nude photos of celebrities placed on iCloud leaked to the public back in September.
At the time, Apple said there was no breach in any of its systems, instead calling it a “very targeted attack on user names, passwords and security questions,” but was still criticised for its role in the leak.
After that, it brought two-step verification to iCloud which prevents you from accessing web apps like Contacts and Mail until you enter in the extra security code.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
have your say