Advertisement
This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 27 May, 2020

Yesterday’s News

SPONSORED

Monday 5 March, 2018

How to buy an exceptionally quick car on a €10k budget - and 4 you should see first

Want to make a fast getaway? Here’s how to do it on a budget.

Monday 26 February, 2018

Want an SUV that doesn't just look the part? Here are 5 you need to see

Believe it or not, some SUVs DO actually do what they say on the tin.

Monday 19 February, 2018

Want to get the neighbours talking? 5 impressive motors to check out under €15k

Get those curtains twitching. For less!

Monday 12 February, 2018

SPONSORED

Monday 5 February, 2018

Looking for a car with personality? 5 models that will stand out for under €15k

Budget-friendly buys that’ll catch everyone’s eye.

Monday 29 January, 2018

Looking for a fun car to spice up your life? Here are 4 must-sees on a €10k budget

Sometimes you just need to step up and buy something flashy.

Monday 22 January, 2018

How to buy the safest second-hand car on a €15k budget - and 3 models to see first

We pick the cars that aced those safety tests.

Monday 15 January, 2018

Alfa Romeos are back. Should I look at a used one?

The legendary Italian marque roared back to prominence last year with its new Giulia winning plaudits.

Monday 8 January, 2018

Buying a first car for your son or daughter? 4 models you should really see first

This week, we’re taking a look at starter cars for test passers.

Wednesday 20 December, 2017

How you can grab a bargain on the last 172 cars - and 3 models to check out

Dealerships are focusing on 181 models – which can mean savings if you’re not fixated on the numberplate.

5 lovely luxury cars I'd buy if I had €50k to burn

‘Tis the season… to dream about things we can’t afford.

Monday 18 December, 2017

Looking for Korean value? 5 family cars you should see for under €15k

Korean makers traditionally offer low prices and great warranties. Here are the models to look at.

Monday 11 December, 2017

How to buy a premium estate with change from €20k - and 4 models you need to see

Want a big car that will buck the SUV craze? Look no further.

Monday 4 December, 2017

How to buy a serious performance car for the price of a family hatchback (and 3 models to see first)

Want a beast on a family-wagon budget? Look no further.

Friday 24 November, 2017

How to buy a serious Audi for under €12k - and the 4 models you should look at

Want those four rings on your grille? Here’s how to be smart about it.

Monday 20 November, 2017

How to buy a great compact crossover for €12k - and 4 models you need to see first

It seems like every new car these days is a compact crossover. Here are the ones to look at.

Monday 13 November, 2017

Going continental: 4 French and Italian motors that are surprisingly reliable

The brands ditching the ‘style over substance’ stereotype.

Monday 6 November, 2017

Looking for a great family hatchback? 3 must-see models that often get overlooked

The market leaders can carry higher prices. Here are some alternatives.

Friday 27 October, 2017

Which is better: An older car with low mileage, or a newer car with high mileage?

It’s a dilemma many second-hand buyers face. So what are the pros and cons?

Monday 23 October, 2017

How to buy a savage SUV on a €12k budget - and 4 models to check out

Want a big car with a big badge? Here’s where to look.

Monday 16 October, 2017

How to buy a car that will run for years - and 3 models to check out first

Looking for reliability on the second-hand market? We’ve got some tips.

Monday 9 October, 2017

Looking to buy Japanese? 4 family cars you need to see for under €15k

Japanese models have a great reputation for reliability. But which models are ahead of the pack?

Monday 2 October, 2017

Something different for your driveway: 3 unusual used models that can be great value

We look at some more unusual models that are well worth checking out.

Monday 25 September, 2017

How to buy a premium car without spending premium money - in 4 simple tips

We look at ways to buy a big-ticket motor at a (relatively) small price.

Monday 18 September, 2017

Looking to buy a beautiful BMW with change from €25k? Here are 3 unusual options

It is possible to buy Bavarian auto magic without remortgaging your house. Here’s our advice.

Monday 11 September, 2017

Buying a second-hand Golf? Here are 4 models you need to know about

The mighty Golf comes in many shapes and sizes. If you’re buying second-hand, here are some key variants.

Monday 4 September, 2017

Looking for a great crossover SUV? Here are the 4 used models to check out first

It’s a crowded market out there. We sort the showstoppers from the also-rans.

Monday 28 August, 2017

Want to drive a beautiful classic Porsche on a €10k budget? Here's the model to look for

Prices are soaring for classic Porsches – but there are still bargains to be had. Here’s our guide.

Monday 21 August, 2017

How to buy a serious Mercedes-Benz on a €20k budget - and 3 models to check out

The German auto maker has a deserved reputation for prestige – but a used Merc could be more affordable than you think.

Monday 14 August, 2017

Skoda, SEAT, VW or Audi? Here's how to choose from Volkswagen's vast range

These four models are all made using Volkswagen’s modular toolkit.

Friday 4 August, 2017

Want a serious performance car on a €15k budget? Here are 3 to check out

Seeking a seriously mean motor without a millionaire’s money? We’re here to help.

Monday 31 July, 2017

Bigger and badder than an SUV: 4 pickups to check out on a €20k budget

Looking for a workhorse that will also make an impression? We’re here to help.

Monday 24 July, 2017

Grown out of your first hatchback? 4 spacious cars you should really check out

You can go estate or SUV – but either way, here’s how to be smart.

Monday 17 July, 2017

Looking for a hybrid under €20k? Here are the 3 you need to think about

Looking to save on petrol bills? Here are the models to consider.

Monday 10 July, 2017

How to buy a great SUV on a €15k budget (and 3 to check out first)

SUVs might be large, but that doesn’t have to mean sky-high costs.

Monday 3 July, 2017

Keen driver with a €12k budget? Here are 4 of the most exciting cars you can buy

If you love to drive, here are the models you need to check out.

Monday 26 June, 2017

How to buy a classic car on a €10k budget - and 3 models to consider first

The on-the-road costs can work out far cheaper than a standard used car.

Monday 19 June, 2017

Need a seven-seater and change from €20k? Here are 5 you should see

Extra space doesn’t have to mean extra spend.

Monday 12 June, 2017

How to buy a serious prestige car on a €12k budget - and 3 to check out first

You can buy a lot of car for that much. Here’s what to watch out for.

Friday 2 June, 2017

€10k budget for a city car? 6 nearly-new superminis you need to check out

Squeeze into any parking spot with these nippy little motors.