You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Toni O'Rourke plays title character Emma Alamy

Brat Winter? Abbey Theatre to stage 'brat' adaptation of Jane Austen's Emma

Emma will run in the Abbey Theatre from 22 November to 25 January 2025 and tickets are on sale now at the theatre’s website.

THE ABBEY THEATRE is staging a production of Jane Austen’s Emma – but this time it’s “brat”.

This adaptation is promised to be a “period-but-playful” retelling of the classic comedy, which follows the title character Emma and her upper-class peers in a Georgian-Regency era England.

Adapted by Kate Hamill and directed by Claire O’Reilly, the play boasts a contemporary soundtrack with the same lovable characters.

For those who are better acquainted with the theatre than TikTok, a quick explanation of the recently-popularised “brat” aesthetic and lifestyle may be useful before making the trip to the Abbey.

The Journal has a handy guide to the concept which you can find here, but in summary the word “brat” took on a new meaning earlier this year upon the release of an album of the same name by British singer Charli XCX.

While some may say the “brat” aesthetic is so June 2024, a remix of the album released just last week titled ‘Brat and it’s completely different but also still brat’ ensures the Abbey has its finger firmly on the pulse.

The cast includes Toni O’Rourke (The Boy That Never Was; God’s Creatures) as Emma, alongside Patrick Martins (Redemption), Clare Barrett (Wild Mountain Thyme), Liz Fitzgibbon (Normal People), Ciara Berkeley (She Said), Domhnall Herdman (Angela’s Ashes), Hannah Mamalis (Republic of Telly), and Damien Kearney (The Wind That Shakes The Barley).

Emma’s life is fun, privileged and party-filled – but it has cost her and that will become very evident in the play.

She was plied with the best education but with nowhere to use it. She is obsessed with matchmaking but dedicated to celibacy, her class collides with the limitations of gender and social pressure leaving this buoyant, extroverted person unsure of her next move.

The play asks: How can you flourish in the world you want when it’s been decided that you can’t fully participate?

Emma will run in the Abbey Theatre from 22 November 2024 to 25 January 2025 and tickets are on sale now.

It’s not the first modern adaptation of the timeless story, with films like Clueless (1995) and the period-style Emma (2020) starring Anya-Taylor Joy (The Queen’s Gambit) creating new generations of fans.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

36 Comments
    Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:03 AM

Affordable housing for young working adults is the great failure of our time.

Mute Finn Barr
    Favourite Finn Barr
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:15 AM

@Argus Romsworth: the Gov should relax/ban planning rules for modular houses like they did for the Ukrainians. I know the gov got rode on the price, but you could get a decent 3 bed modular from Steeltech for 40 to 50 grand.

Mute The facts
    Favourite The facts
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:20 AM

@Finn Barr: yes but you still need to build roads, put water and electrical systems into place for them. You can’t just drop them anywhere and magically have these. These requirements drastically drove up the price of modular housing.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Iano C
    Favourite Iano C

@Niall English: ….and bigotry.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin

@Niall English: Doesn’t even register on the list imo.

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:32 AM

@The facts: Stop talking sense it’s The Journal people don’t like it.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:51 AM

@Niall English: Jog on racist

Mute Finn Barr
    Favourite Finn Barr
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:57 AM

@The facts: theres lots of young people in rural areas could get a cheap roadside site from a relative willing to pay for electricity connection and any other cost can’t get planning permission thanks to the restriction on one off housing. Not everyone wants to live in a concrete jungle!

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:58 AM

@Argus Romsworth: working , that’s where you went wrong if you want a house now.

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:59 AM

@Finn Barr: bs well over a ton now , riding like everyone else now

Mute Lance Taylor
    Favourite Lance Taylor
    Jan 9th 2025, 9:03 AM

@Argus Romsworth: isn’t it well for you in your million euro mansion

Mute Finn Barr
    Favourite Finn Barr
    Jan 9th 2025, 9:12 AM

@Pork Hunt: if your on about the price of sites- my cousin got a site for free off her granduncle and she can’t get planning cos she “isn’t from the area”.Lots more in same boat..

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 9th 2025, 9:13 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: you don’t think 100k Ukrainians and 35k Africans et al has an impact on housing supply?

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Jan 9th 2025, 9:57 AM

@Finn Barr: that’s completely true only for local needs and that needs to be abolished. This is Ireland It belongs to everybody. And y I would solve the housing crisis instantly. The government can pull out the strings for the Ukrainians but it “ chooses “not too pull any strings for the people who pay taxes and live here this needs to be drastically changed

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 9th 2025, 9:58 AM

@Finn Barr: 3 bed modular home not a site

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Jan 9th 2025, 10:37 AM

@Lance Taylor: I live in a 4 bed detached house in an estate. Hardly a mansion. But might be considered so by todays working youth who can barely afford to live in a shoebox

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Jan 9th 2025, 10:45 AM

@Anthony Curran: can’t be a racist if I hate everyone equally the same. but I’m only speaking from experience of what I’ve witnessed first hand, theft, sexually assaulting young school girls, verbally assaulting women working.

Mute Iano C
    Favourite Iano C
    Jan 9th 2025, 11:14 AM

@Niall English: That’s called anecdotal evidence. Plus, there’s plenty of Irish people guilty of everything that you listed and worse!

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 9th 2025, 11:18 AM

@Pork Hunt: “housing supply”… I have every politician of the last 20 years on the line for you? Nothing in contemporary society is making housing supply easier, you’re just hyper-fixated on the bleeting of the loudest sheep

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Jan 9th 2025, 11:25 AM

@Niall English: the two are connected

Mute James Brennan
    Favourite James Brennan
    Jan 9th 2025, 11:33 AM

@The facts: those have very little impact on the price of the modular house, they are site related costs. Modular house were been sold for about 100k , before government went n said it was going to build them for Ukrainians, then the price jumped to 225k, then nearly 500k

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Jan 9th 2025, 11:35 AM

@Anthony Curran: that’s not racism.

Mute If you're
    Favourite If you're
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:49 PM

@Argus Romsworth: Greed, greed, greed. We are truly a great country.

Mute Seosamh O Muiri
    Favourite Seosamh O Muiri
    Jan 9th 2025, 7:56 AM

Been I loved in trying to buy house for last year. In midlands. Pure lie. Gone for 6 . Each one went for over 30% of asking. Bidding now on asking 265. Bidding as of today at 345. Ha e to pull out as not enough money. Snakes of auctioneers have a lot to answer for . And yes they are partly responsible but not totally. Promoting bidding wars. I am dealing with them nearly two years. I have had all the bad experiences.

Mute Jamie Hinch
    Favourite Jamie Hinch
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:00 AM

@Seosamh O Muiri: Alot of developers are snapping up everything around us..

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:17 AM

@Seosamh O Muiri: an auctioneer isn’t there to get you a deal, it’s to get the best deal for the seller (they’re the ones paying them). It’s tough when you are losing out on bidding wars but if I was selling I’d want to get the best price I can.

Mute Deano74
    Favourite Deano74
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:19 AM

@Seosamh O Muiri: just moved before Xmas,the house we bought,paid 47,000 over the asking price,the ones we bid on before that,all 60,000 above the asking price.

Mute Deano74
    Favourite Deano74
    Jan 9th 2025, 10:48 AM

@Chutes Idiot: Thank you.

Mute IMHO
    Favourite IMHO
    Jan 9th 2025, 1:05 PM

@J B: More people should behave like this. Everyone complains about the housing situation etc , but few are willing to make any personal sacrifice

Mute If you're
    Favourite If you're
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:53 PM

@Chutes Idiot: My house made more money than I did last year! Whaaa?

Mute Patrick Newell
    Favourite Patrick Newell
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:36 AM

Nice to see this country learned nothing from 2006……and then the same people will be like but how is it happening again lads!

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:49 AM

@Patrick Newell: Basic Demand and Supply, the last crash wasn’t a Supply issue, 90000 were built in 2006 , but loose lending and people buying 2/3 houses and of course an apartment in Portugal or Bulgaria…….the banks gave out money and people took it ……now people need mortgages and it’s hellish what they need to do…..

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 9th 2025, 1:13 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: And are people financial experts? Any excuse to let the banks off tye hook but as you know, the recession hit because in America banks were betting on price housing increasing non-stop and of course tye rest of the world did the same so don’t blame the ordibary person, where was their mortgage write-down?

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 9th 2025, 1:51 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: So you agree with those who bought houses for speculation and profit. You agree with people buying more than one property and more in Europe. You agree that banks acted prudently for all the debt that was taken on.

Why should they get a mortgage write down ? , you appear to be agreeing, that speculation, etc, was OK?

America was way behind in this and only caught up after the .com bubble burst and money needed to made from somewhere ….and housing was next….

That’s hilarious

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 9th 2025, 1:55 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: And people don’t need to be financial experts to under basic adding and subtraction. What they might lack financially they certainly made up for in Greed.

Mute Jamie Hinch
    Favourite Jamie Hinch
    Jan 9th 2025, 7:55 AM

House by me has been thrown up twice for subsidence issues. The prospective buyers weren’t allowed to bring their own engineer in to inspect unless they went sale agreed. Is this the new normal now!

Mute Deano74
    Favourite Deano74
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:17 AM

@Jamie Hinch: they can go sale agreed,if the engineer report is not favourable they can withdraw the offer.

Mute Jamie Hinch
    Favourite Jamie Hinch
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:27 AM

@Deano74: The house went up for 230k and went sale agreed but they walked when they saw major issues with it so now it’s back down to 180k and they’re contacting original interested buyers now..

Mute Lance Taylor
    Favourite Lance Taylor

@Jamie Hinch: they cannot do that, completely illegal forcing people to buy defective properties. Have you reported them? Garda I

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 9th 2025, 9:15 AM

@Lance Taylor: no one is forcing them

Mute Lance Taylor
    Favourite Lance Taylor
    Jan 9th 2025, 9:45 AM

@Pork Hunt: yes they are being forced to sale agreed, false pretences

Mute Deano74
    Favourite Deano74
    Jan 9th 2025, 10:46 AM

@Lance Taylor: not really,going sale agreed obligates neither side,only when contracts are signed is the vendor legally bound to sell,if you sale agreed and pay your deposit you are at risk of loosing this if you withdraw,I just went through both scenarios before Xmas, absolute nightmare and then some.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 9th 2025, 12:41 PM

@Deano74: Booking deposit is 100% refundable if contracts aren’t signed most would give 10% on signing contracts but if there was a fundamental issue like the above and insufficient planning then the contract can be voided and all deposits returned. Experienced the latter last year.

Mute 5aeex4zc
    Favourite 5aeex4zc
    Jan 9th 2025, 9:33 AM

No good complaining after only 50% turning out to vote at last general election it gives the same FFG government who created this homeless situation another five year to line the pockets and help the super rich vultures to buy up more property for expensive rents for those who can afford it.

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 9th 2025, 10:00 AM

@5aeex4zc: 50% of register. The people that emigrated in 2010 still on the register as it suits the county councils for money from the govt

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Jan 9th 2025, 10:25 AM

@John Riley:
    There has always being a housing waiting list.
    Up to 10 years in some cases.
    That was when the applacant was made up of a couple and kids.
    Nowadays the list is expanded due to high numbers of single applicants, younkies, drunks, and wife beaters, plus single mothers, and the loss of bedsits due to over regulation.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:29 AM

A life of debt and servitude so the wealthy can get wealthier. For what died the sons of Roisin? Was it greed?

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:34 AM

@Anthony Curran: What you want it for free?

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 9th 2025, 9:17 AM

@Trump24: like a refugee

Mute Hayagriva
    Favourite Hayagriva
    Jan 9th 2025, 9:44 AM

@Trump24: where did he say for free you gowl? God forbid people demand better for themselves than being conned by another greedy rich wetwipe

Mute bruce banner
    Favourite bruce banner

Most young people i know have a long term goal of emigration, if we export a huge % of our young people who is gonna service the debt in the future?

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 9th 2025, 9:17 AM

@bruce banner: what a bs comment 3 of the 5 people you talk to say they would like to emigrate, but it’s a lot of hassle? Where Australia? More expensive than here with less free houses in cities……

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:22 AM

Is it the governments fault? OR are they simply a representation of who the Irish people are? Do we understand or value quality? imo we are trained from 100s of years of subservience to prefer lower standards.

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:39 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: Yes it’s the govts fault, and in part the banks fault. 2008 crash followed by no FG housing policy….. Oh, they did let the REITS go to town!!!

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:45 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: I think it’s a mixture, we as a country are obsessed with owning land/house, and that’s probably a result of 800 yrs of occupation type nonsense. We are the outliner in Europe when it comes to renting, I will say though our rental market is a shambles and needs a total reform, renting is seen as a waste of money, but most western countries have a huge swath of renters many who will rent for life….with appropriate controls. Buying a house is a sure way of struggling financially until your in your 50s and everyone is much closer to death by then.

I can’t see it changing either but if it doesn’t what’s going on now will continue.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:53 AM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: There was no capital available to build, banks were essentially taken over by the Government, the bonds were at 11% yield at one stage, our income collapsed and we ran huge deficits . How could anything be done irrespective of what party was in power?

Mute Peter Igloo
    Favourite Peter Igloo
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:57 AM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: there was no money to build a sandcastle, unless you were expecting the IMF to keep pumping money into a property bubble

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Jan 9th 2025, 10:16 AM

@Thesaltyurchin:
    Yet to hear a seller instruct an Estate rodent to sell their house at a fair price to a deserving family.

Mute Pat Redmond
    Favourite Pat Redmond
    Jan 9th 2025, 12:00 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: renting in other countries comes with lifetime security of tenure which is almost as good as owning.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 9th 2025, 12:22 PM

@Pat Redmond: Yes I know and it needs to be the same here, with fairness to both tenant and landlords

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Jan 9th 2025, 12:40 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: you plan, train workers, make deals with developers, figure out some finance arrangements. Nothing was done by govt until 2018/19 to really address it!!! It was highlighted as an issue in 2011, for nothing to be done for over half a decade is a scandal in itself. Look at the place now!….. in your opinion could nothing have been done to promote housing development in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017?!?!?….. Sub 10k completions until 2017, around 20k in 2019/20….. These peoples jobs are to manage this country and set policy!!!!

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 9th 2025, 12:50 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: Ah here train workers when they’re were hundreds of thousands on the dole, and no one knew if things would get better, personal bankruptcy at it’s highest ever, thousands of houses in ” ghost estates ” all taken over by Nama which was a deal , banks on the brink , house prices 50% lower with plenty of half built houses that nobody wanted or could even complete…….and your view was to build more?

Surely you can see the flaw in your analysis it wasn’t until 2015 when non construction jobs began to tick up a bit and probably 2017 when Nama started selling assets to anyone who wanted them.

It simply wasn’t viable.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Jan 9th 2025, 1:14 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec:
    FG were not short on ideas,
    They were short of money.
    And nobody would loan us cash as we were bankrupt.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Jan 9th 2025, 7:56 AM

The curse of this generation.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 9th 2025, 9:56 AM

@Paddy Ryan: €1000 month interest at 4.24% is more affordable than renting a starter home. Do they still teach maths in schools or just political debates and snowflakeism

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Jan 9th 2025, 9:21 AM

The post war decades were a blip, the rich robbing everyone else was always the norm. Taxing them out of existence is the only defence against the robbing b’s

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Jan 9th 2025, 10:18 AM

@Ronan Mc:
    So how come living standards for the average worker have increased dramatically from the war years till now?
    Ask a 70 year old.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 9th 2025, 1:16 PM

@H Woo: Oh my, the lack of knowledge continues, from a woman in her 90′s that had no money but plenty of food and a house, now it’s a choice of either or. Same old from you, clueless.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Jan 9th 2025, 6:25 PM

@Brian D’Arcy:
    ?

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Jan 9th 2025, 10:46 AM

3.5 times their salaries,. But. Cost of living has soared since celtic tiger. So surely puts people in a more vulnerable state, is this the banks telling porkies again. Car prices have doubled. What happened to the stricter lending rules. People are going to really fall in next recession, esp those who only deal in credit. There won’t be a guarantee like last time.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 9th 2025, 12:28 PM

@Colette Byrne: Wages have also increased the banks are stricter now and the guarantee is in place still and will be forever probably. 158bn in savings, 145bn in pensions, approximately 200bn in other financial assets like ETFs, 20bn of the Government debt is owned by citizens and 17bn in Credit Union savings which I don’t know if included in savings figures…..Totally different now and with essentially full employment and interest rates coming down….people are buying homes with a lot more than those in 2006/7/8…

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Jan 9th 2025, 11:36 AM

Economic slavery.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jan 9th 2025, 10:11 AM

Surely buying a home is no problem on the so called average wage I hear almost everyone is seemingly on?

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 9th 2025, 1:17 PM

@Paddy C: The average wage, hmm, slightly telling

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Jan 9th 2025, 1:55 PM

Scrap the Help to Buy Scheme, repeal all zoning laws like Tokyo did for single-use and multi-use zoning and repeal the rent control legislation that the government passed in 2015 that is now continuously spreading to more areas of the country like a plague. Oh wait, this is Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil we’re talking about, so of course they are going to continually double down on the same left-wing policies that got us into this mess in the first place! Expect more government intervention and distortion of the market.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Jan 9th 2025, 6:21 PM

@Frank O’Hara:
    Sinn Fein want to bring back Landlordism, by owning the land your house is build

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jan 9th 2025, 8:57 PM

Very little future ahead for younger generations unless they come from a wealthy family or earn high salaries they will struggle just to pay basic bills working flat out to do so we should be ashamed that weve all allowedthis ro come about. That’s not a future just an existence.

Mute Vincent Hickey
    Favourite Vincent Hickey
    Jan 9th 2025, 11:13 PM

GREED