Sign in. It’s quick, free and it’s up to you.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Sign in. It’s quick, free and it’s up to you.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
WHEN YOU BROWSE through the web without a care in the world, it’s handy to keep track of what you’ve visited. When you’re trying to remember that site you stumbled upon but can’t find, it can be a lifesaver.
But not everyone wants that to be the case. You do have the option of wiping out your history entirely, but if it’s just a few sites or pages you want to clear, then you can do that too. Here’s how.
Remove a specific site
You could go through the process of scrolling down and ticking each time you come across a site you want to be removed, but there’s an easier way to do this. Instead of ticking the box, click on the dropdown box at the end of the site description and click “more from this site”.
This will present you with a list of the times you visited that site as far back as possible.
Remember, holding down shift and clicking further down will allow you to select multiple entries, saving you the hassle of selecting them individually.
Make use of search
All history pages come with a helpful search function that will allow you to search for specific keywords or sites. If there’s a specific element or word that you don’t want to be found, then search for it in history and remove all traces of it.
Delete autocomplete suggestions
When you search for something, your browser will usually make a note of it for future reference. This can be useful for future searches but not so much if it and similar terms get in the way
Getting rid of one is rather easy. When you’re typing something out and you get a previous search term, use the arrow buttons to select the term and hit shift + delete and it will disappear (Bookmarked links or searches suggested by Google won’t disappear).
Be aware of other services that save history
Your browser history isn’t the only thing you should be concerned about. For one, your Google searches are saved onto your own personal database which keeps track of everything you do across Google. Also, everything you search on Facebook is saved as well so make sure you check that too.
Use incognito mode
Sometimes cleaning is more about prevention than anything else, and if you really don’t want your web activity to be picked up by your browser, then it’s recommended that you use incognito/private browsing mode (if you’re not already, that is). Every modern browser, both desktop and mobile, has it and it certainly comes in useful for a number of reasons.
Use clear function
Same with Incognito mode, every browser allows you to clear your history entirely, but you should make a note of what options are available. For one, you can choose the time frame and/or what type of content you want removed. Useful if you just want to get rid of saved passwords from an hour ago, but want to keep your browser history (mostly) intact.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
have your say