You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fine Gael leader Simon Harris and Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin Alamy Stock Photo

Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael pause talks for Christmas after making 'progress' today

They plan to meet again in January to resume discussing a potential Programme for Government.

FIANNA FÁIL AND Fine Gael have parked government formation talks for Christmas, planning to meet again in the New Year after making “progress” in meetings today.

The two parties, which secured 48 and 38 seats in November’s election respectively, are angling to get back into Government together with the support of Independents or a smaller party.

After a series of talks over the weeks since the election, the parties have confirmed that they made progress on various issues in talks today and have concluded for the Christmas break.

They plan to meet again in January to resume discussing a potential Programme for Government.

They also intend to continue engaging with the Social Democrats and Independents as they look to gather enough numbers for a majority in the Dáil.

The most likely outcome currently appears to be that Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael will go back into Government together with the support of a group of Independents after both parties backed Independent TD Verona Murphy as their pick for Ceann Comhairle.

Murphy, a member of a newly-formed grouping of Independents called the Regional Group, was elected as Ceann Comhairle on Wednesday during the 34 Dáil’s first sitting.

The Labour Party had also engaged in discussions but has ruled out entering an agreement with Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael, citing a “policy gulf”.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

118 Comments
    Mute Eamon De Valera
    Favourite Eamon De Valera
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:27 PM

Progress more like regression for all of us.
    Older generation are poisoning the hopes of the younger generation.
    FFFG don’t care about anything as there never held to account.

Mute Eamon De Valera
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:28 PM

@Eamon De Valera: their*

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:34 PM

@Eamon De Valera: people like yourself are too immature to take over the reigns from the ‘older’ générations.
    Still a long to go.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:37 PM

@Eamon De Valera: what a load of rubbish some people on here don’t get the fact that the Irish electorate are too intelligent to be taken in by fake left wing parties governed from Belfast by Dodgy people.
    The leaders of Sinn Fein Labour and the SD’s fake understanding of working people who are they joking most are living in Mansions and earning over €100,000 a year don’t insult me with your fake understanding of being on the breadline

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:42 PM

@Eamon De Valera: The younger generation have nobody to blame but themselves. They have the power to change things if they want to. But they won’t get up off their lazy asses and vote

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:59 PM

@Tim Brennan: And you’re intelligent?

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:06 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Absolutely I’m truly blessed with Common sense and the ability to call out fake lefties

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:54 PM

@Tim Brennan: you’re not buying a mansion in Dublin if you’re on a TDs salary these days…… Thanks to FG/FF

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 20th 2024, 11:10 PM

Well well

Mute Colm O Ceileachair
    Favourite Colm O Ceileachair
    Dec 20th 2024, 11:14 PM

@Eamon De Valera: They”re

Mute PaudieC
    Favourite PaudieC
    Dec 20th 2024, 11:29 PM

@Eamon De Valera: * they’re

Mute Derick R M
    Favourite Derick R M
    Dec 21st 2024, 1:18 AM

@Eamon De Valera: Eamon, you’re still with us – a Christmas miracle. Sage as ever. Is it back to basics then – a choice between subsistence living in 1950s Eire or emigration ?

Mute Drama Deano
    Favourite Drama Deano
    Dec 21st 2024, 3:49 AM

@Eamon De Valera: they’re*

Mute You're Not Serious
    Favourite You're Not Serious
    Dec 21st 2024, 8:37 AM

@Eamon De Valera: they’re

Mute donal O'brien
    Favourite donal O'brien
    Dec 21st 2024, 8:56 AM

@Eamon De Valera:
    Come on The Journal
    This poster isn’t Emon De Valera
    He died 48 years ago

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Dec 21st 2024, 2:43 PM

@another one: Some appear to have managed it pretty well even after claiming to have survived on the average industrial wage for many years until only recently deciding to keep their full salary!!!!

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:27 PM

@Tim Brennan: feckwit

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 21st 2024, 11:03 PM

@Tim Brennan:
    All posh kids of the elite
    Typhoid Mary lue daughter of a FF developer private education
    and Trinity chum.
    Then the dingbat running Labour, private fee paying education and still using the sector.
    And let’s not forget Posh before plebs. Full of trust fund commies.

Mute Glen Kelly
    Favourite Glen Kelly
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:41 PM

What a lovely Christmas present to all

Mute Marjory
    Favourite Marjory
    Dec 21st 2024, 3:40 AM

@Enoch Kochwomble: He wasn’t found guilty of rape, you sausage.

Mute You're Not Serious
    Favourite You're Not Serious
    Dec 21st 2024, 8:40 AM

@Marjory: enough about his sausage

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Dec 21st 2024, 1:22 AM

Jesus lads I have 2 days to work let alone the retail with 4 – surely you could work till Christmas Eve if it’s as important as you say to form a government- especially since things are going so well?!?

Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:59 PM

it’s sickening that we will never get rida these shower of James Blunts.. never… we need to change the system cuz it’s rigged…

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:03 PM

@Stiles: are you talking about brits ?

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Dec 21st 2024, 12:56 AM

@Stiles: called democracy, if you dont like it, you can always leave

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Dec 21st 2024, 1:39 AM

@Peter Byrne: the complete and utter stupidity of the ‘rigged’ comment. And there are 89 people who agree with it. Just give us ONE example of this ‘rigging’.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:29 PM

@Alan: these are the same people who don’t vote

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Dec 22nd 2024, 8:28 AM

@Alan: Verona murphy

Mute Scott Milne
    Favourite Scott Milne
    Dec 21st 2024, 1:31 AM

Whatever arrangement the parties come to, they must start to protect communities, and care for the younger generation who needs affordable homes NOW…

Mute John Reynolds
    Favourite John Reynolds
    Dec 21st 2024, 1:04 PM

@Scott Milne: first off as regards housing the infrastructure to supply water alone can’t be done until 2035 irish water issued this statement recently so to put it bluntly even if we had the builders you would have no sewage or water esb so all this bs talk of building 50000 a year is adream

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Dec 20th 2024, 11:02 PM

Progress ???., the only ones making progress here are the Independents led by Lowery and apparently the Healy-Rea’s will get their snouts into the trough as well. A few counties and constituencies will do well again as did Ryan and the Greens last time out . Lowery will be the Real Taoiseach. The upper part of the Island and the West will again be neglected.The Dublin/Navan rail line will probably be sacrificed when if fact it should be going all the way to Cavan.

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Dec 21st 2024, 6:05 AM

@Eugene Comaskey: it’s Lowry.

Mute Bills n Stuff
    Favourite Bills n Stuff
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:36 PM

5 week paid break. Joke. Don’t give out about this joke of a government cause yous vote for it every 5 years

Mute Nikki Swift
    Favourite Nikki Swift
    Dec 21st 2024, 1:51 AM

Ffg will never lose. It has always been their plan to form the next government no matter what sh$$ they come out with during their campaign them people would do anything to keep power

Mute Marjory
    Favourite Marjory
    Dec 21st 2024, 3:47 AM

@Nikki Swift: Such penetrating insight!!!

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 21st 2024, 12:11 PM

@Nikki Swift: The Irish electorate are too intelligent to be conned by the Belfast mafia

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:33 PM

a lad from the religion of peace at it again in Germany. more cultural enrichment barriers required in pedestrian areas

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:39 PM

@Alex: actually journal, it might not be that interesting.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:40 PM

@Alex: Any actual proof of this that you didn’t actually make up?

Mute Pelagius Asturias
    Favourite Pelagius Asturias
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:45 PM

@Ger Whelan: It’s all over X and Telegram, multiple media outlets reporting actual facts, and other Xmas markets have been evacuated. Are you really that ignorant?

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:41 PM

@Pelagius Asturias: I don’t use social media. It’s not the media it’s peoples opinions and 90% of the time its Bo77ocks

Mute Pelagius Asturias
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:43 PM

@Ger Whelan: There are actual media outlets of all sorts within these platforms. Stick to RTE news then. In the meantime, Merry Christmas.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Dec 20th 2024, 11:44 PM

@Ger Whelan: Default mode: deny everything!

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Dec 20th 2024, 11:57 PM

@offside again: It might be, if any of your friends or family were at the German Xmas market!

Mute Pelagius Asturias

Between the Journal and RTE with the ‘Car’ headlines. It was a Muslim. Is the truth so hard to report? Roderick O’Gorman got some dirt on you lot or something?

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:52 PM

@Pelagius Asturias: give them time. It’s apparently a doctor from Saudi Arabia.

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:08 PM

@Pelagius Asturias: I don’t know what point you’re trying to make.

And I suspect you don’t either.

Practically all terrorist classed attacks in Europe for the past few decades have been from far-right extremists or Saudi Arabian radicalized religious fanatics.
    Yes, Saudi, who we still somehow regard as allied to the West.

Yet Iran is ostracized and sanctioned, when it has never threatened us, much less attack us.

Mute Pelagius Asturias
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:19 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Hopefully one day, the penny will drop for you. In the meantime, Merry Christmas pal.

Mute Pelagius Asturias
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:26 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere:

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0166046222001028

Your wrong..again.

Mute Pelagius Asturias
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:27 PM

@Pelagius Asturias:
    *you’re

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Dec 21st 2024, 1:41 AM

@offside again: and a MAN. And a PROFESSIONAL. I’d like to know what football team he supports

Mute Marjory
    Favourite Marjory
    Dec 21st 2024, 3:46 AM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Oh my goodness, the sheer naivety. You will go like a lamb to the slaughter.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:21 PM

Once numbers increase and they feel emboldened we can expect similar attacks here around paddy’s day and Christmas. Normally invited guests are grateful and integrate. Certain demographic will NEVER integrate.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:44 PM

@Freda Peeple: clown.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:58 PM

@offside again: Stay in France you creep

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 20th 2024, 11:04 PM

@J B: Well actually nearly all tribes mix, there is one who won’t. Why invite people into your country who’s culture is the polar opposite of what we stand for? Radicalised to such an extent they will indiscriminately kill your family and friends because we are “infidels” it’s literally in there cult handbook to eradicate non Muslims.
    The Germany thing is different, they up until September were supplying weapons that were being used to indiscriminately kill Palestinians, but at the same time welcoming in Palestinian refugees… anyone seeing the issue here?

Mute J Ven
    Favourite J Ven

I wonder who crashed their car in the German Christmas market, I doubt it was an angry Elf. I’m betting on peace people.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:58 PM

@J Ven: brilliant … yawn … contribution …

Mute J Ven
    Favourite J Ven
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:18 PM

@offside again: Thank you, I know it was brilliant, the truth hurts, but hiding it won’t make it go away. Another brilliant thought.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:33 PM

@J Ven: who is hiding what here exactly ?

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:01 AM

@J Ven: Christians ramming garda cars in monaghan and women in Cork! But don’t let that ruin your turkey dinner!

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:28 PM

If you opened the comments on the German incident and moderated them ; it could be an interesting expérience.

Mute Will Q
    Favourite Will Q
    Dec 21st 2024, 1:29 AM

I just hope Santy has a bit more conviction..

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Dec 20th 2024, 9:35 PM

An open comment section on the journal…Christmas miracles do happen!

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Dec 20th 2024, 11:55 PM

Irish children have been waiting years for scoliosis treatment, but the government can medevac children from Gaza for treatment!

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Dec 21st 2024, 12:07 AM

@Brian Hunt: They not coming for scoliosis treatment. Many are amputees ffs.. You are the lowest of the low, having a problem with children getting emergency medical treatment ffs.. The Gov have spent Billions on Ukrainians, who many have gone through nothing like innocent women and children of Palestine. Your not a Hunt but a Knut.

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Dec 21st 2024, 1:01 AM

And the plane was provided by the Slovakian Government..

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 21st 2024, 11:09 PM

@Michael Collins:
    Hand back the hostages, and Hamas surrender and it stops.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:50 PM

Religion of peace strike again in Germany. And Ireland still support Hamas.

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Dec 21st 2024, 2:55 AM

@Alex: don’t be ignorant Alex! You’re being ignorant.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:51 PM

Disgusting what happened in Germany!! The perpetrator should be tortured as many times as the number of victims and again and again until the end. Disgraceful that innocent people have died.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:52 PM

@Jack: and Simon Harris’ tribute is weak.

Mute Paul Byrne
    Favourite Paul Byrne
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:47 PM

Donald duck party

Mute Eamon De Valera
    Dec 21st 2024, 1:46 AM

@Paul Byrne: don’t get my hopes up about them

Mute Paul Byrne
    Favourite Paul Byrne
    Dec 20th 2024, 10:49 PM

Sinn fein

Mute D F
    Favourite D F
    Dec 21st 2024, 9:05 AM
    Mute Marjory
    Favourite Marjory
    Dec 21st 2024, 3:39 AM

Wasters.

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Dec 21st 2024, 9:59 AM

Progress talking the same nonsense over and over and over and over and expecting a different result do your jobs that’s what you’re paid for

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Dec 21st 2024, 9:12 AM

FFG came 3rd

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Dec 21st 2024, 1:09 PM

They must think the public are stupid
    This has been arranged weeks ago
    But then again we deserve who ye voted for

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Dec 21st 2024, 11:05 PM

Yes off course go enjoy your break lads well done looking forward to what going do to clean up mess have made. Happy Christmas fsg

Mute Jonathan Hanlon
    Favourite Jonathan Hanlon
    Dec 21st 2024, 12:18 PM

Poor lads are worn out!

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 21st 2024, 12:09 PM

Sinn Fein Bogey people at it again. Mrs Stanley better be prepared the Kangaroo court is in progress.