Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Wednesday 7 June 2023 Dublin: 13°C
Fine Gael via Flickr FG's Seymour Crawford will not stand in Cavan/Monaghan in the next general election
# General Election
Fine Gael on the hunt for two new candidates in Cavan-Monaghan as Crawford retires
Seymour Crawford was the only Presbyterian TD in the Dail – but he will not stand in 2011 general election.

FINE GAEL MAY have to find two new candidates to stand in the Cavan-Monaghan constituency in the case of a general election. Longstanding TD Seymour Crawford has announced his intention not to stand at the next election.

Crawford is currently the only Fine Gael TD in the five-seater constituency, although Senator Joe O’Reilly just missed out on a seat for the party in the 2007 elections. As such, he is expected to run again for FG – but they now have to find a replacement runner for Crawford. His resignation comes only a day after local newspaper The Anglo-Celt reported that they would be increasing their number of candidates at the polls from two to three. The paper had suggested that “a Cavan town-based candidate would scoop up maximum votes in the area”.

Sinn Fein are also expected to increase the number of their candidates in Cavan-Monaghan to two and Labour “is hoping to make a breakthrough, buoyed by good performances in last June’s local elections in Cavan town and Cavan Electoral Area”.

Seymour Crawford is currently the only Presbyterian member of Dail Eireann and is Vice-Chairperson of the British-Irish Parliamentary Body.