You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A traveler lies on the floor of the Montparnasse Train Station yesterday. Alamy

French train services fully restored after tracks sabotaged ahead of Olympic Games

Services will resume at their normal capacity tomorrow morning.

FRENCH TRAIN SERVICES are fully restored after tracks were sabotaged ahead of the Olympic Games in Paris this week.

Thousands of fans and tourists were left stranded this week after almost a third of trains were cancelled in northern, western and eastern France following damages which were conducted to the tracks.

French police are now investigating the incident, but the cancellations – which disrupt an estimated 160,000 to 800,000 people’s travels – have come to an end.

The SNCF, the train operating company in France, said services will resume at their normal capacity tomorrow morning. They thanked passengers for their patience.

Passengers who were impacted can now check online to see when their train is due to depart. Those who have had their trains cancelled should have been contacted by text message or through the SNCF’s app.

No claim of responsibility has been made for the meticulously planned night-time attacks on cabling boxes at junctions north, southwest and east of the French capital.

The event happened just before the Olympic Opening Ceremony was due to take place in Paris on Friday. About a quarter of Eurostar high-speed trains between Paris and London and Paris and Brussels were also called off.

French authorities are on high alert for a terrorist attack during the Games, which run until 11 August. Tens of thousands of police and troops are on Olympics security duties.

Over 50 members of An Garda Síochána are also in France to assist with the French authorities during the Games.

Some 250,000 people missed their train on Friday according to SNCF, because of the attacks that dozens of investigators are now working on.

- includes reporting by © AFP 2024

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

18 Comments
    Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:40 PM

Surprised & disappointed at this announcement. She always appeared as a sensible & dedicated Minister. Down to earth & straight talking, commodities sadly often lacking in today’s political leadership. But if she feels her work ‘is done’ & doesn’t have the heart for the ‘fray’ it’s a logical & honest decision. I wish her all the best in her retirement & thanks for her service.

Mute Steve White
    Favourite Steve White
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:34 AM

@Frank Mc Carthy: Heather Humphreys abused her Ministerial powers to appoint a party member to a state board in order to burnish his credentials for the Seanad/General elections

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:53 AM

@Steve White: let he who is without sin etc…..

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:19 AM

@Ian McDonald: Jesus Mary and Joseph ian. Keep the false religious beliefs out of it.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Oct 20th 2024, 3:43 AM

@Tired Jim: Is your da? I appreciate that’s a hard question ,jim.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Oct 20th 2024, 6:54 AM

@Frank Mc Carthy: she must be punished for he bad work.

Mute K P
    Favourite K P
    Oct 20th 2024, 8:26 AM

@Frank Mc Carthy: good riddance. Wasted opportunity to bring in meaningful reform and align Ireland social welfare system with most of Europe on a get out what you pay in principle. Instead of someone on a decent wage loses their job they get 450 for 3 months. In Germany you get 75% of your wage for 2 years. Also her approach on XL bully dogs was a carbon copy of the UK where it’s been shown to fail. Waste of space. Next

Mute J N
    Favourite J N
    Oct 20th 2024, 8:52 AM

@Frank Mc Carthy: your deluded. She is ad bad if not worse than the rest. Poison

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:54 PM

What does this say when Humphreys along with many high profile FG politicians, have now decided not to seek re-election on the upcoming GE, is it the leadership. Or is it the makeup of the current government, and the many blunders, that seems to keep on giving

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:01 AM

@Paul Maguire: READ the article maybe, she’s 64??- I took my pension at 53, tbh, it just wasn’t ‘doing it’ for me anymore so said ‘adiue’

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:06 AM

@Frank Mc Carthy: pension at 53? So you are an ex government employee.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane

@David Cotter: He’s definitely part of her pr and spin team

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:55 AM

@Paul Maguire: it’s the ungrateful moaners on TheJournal

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:12 AM

@David Cotter: haha, nope invested wisely

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:43 AM

@Ian McDonald: Considering you’re one of the biggest said moaners ian that comment is very funny. Although you’re probably a grateful moaner so I could be wrong..

Mute BarryH
    Favourite BarryH
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:51 AM

@Paul Maguire: It says that that FG are prepared to place the future of Ireland in the hands of a bunch of novices. They will need to get at least 20 new TD’s to get into Govt and 10 of those novices will be junior or senior ministers. If that ain’t a disregard for Democracy, I don’t know what is. Leave the country in a mess and just walk away and leave people who know less about what they are doing clean it up.

Mute Christopher Fealy
    Favourite Christopher Fealy
    Oct 20th 2024, 4:46 AM

@Paul Maguire: it’s all about the corruption that’s going to come out soon in this fg and ffg ect . Just look back at the broadband 25 year contract awarded by fg ect ,and who was made a director in 2020 of that company .shit to hit the fan soon. ,but been held back till election called . ,yet all walk away in big fat pension ect

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 20th 2024, 8:48 AM

@Christopher Fealy: yeah, just like the scandal in Washington that forced Leo to step down. That never happened.
    She’s 64, in a tough time consuming job and has lost her mojo. That’s perfectly understandable, no matter what you think of her. I happen to think she mostly did a good job and she brought in several improvements in her area.

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Oct 20th 2024, 9:24 AM

@Paul Gorry: not me Paul, only you. Only you. Staying awake all night to have a go at every comment

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 20th 2024, 11:26 AM

@jak: there is no scandal, that’s my point. Not everything is a conspiracy.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:46 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: AHH public servants

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Oct 20th 2024, 6:02 PM

@David Cotter: cop or ex nut nurse

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:38 PM

Praise the lord…..dreadful lightweight politician

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:42 PM

@David Cotter: nonsense, she carries a fair deal of ‘clout’ at the top table, a great ambassador & speaker on behalf of her constituents.

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:44 PM

@David Cotter: please elaborate

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:59 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: nice polished soundbite frank ..would you like to declare your position in professional politics?

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:02 AM

@Tony Lyons: we’ll Tony the latest one is when child benefit is still going to millionaires she said to give it back…..Jesus wept what a clownish thing to say..

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:05 AM

@David Cotter: oh I’m HAPPILY RETIRED with a big bunch of rescue doggies ( NOT inc Mrs Mc Cathy)

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:08 AM

@David Cotter: maybe you should run in the election, obviously, you know-it-all-all, sure we’d be lucky to have you

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:10 AM

@Kevvy kerrr: not corrupt enough buddy

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Oct 20th 2024, 3:16 AM

@David Cotter: At least she put herself up for election and got elected. Unlike you. Professional fkin whinger.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:49 PM

@David Cotter: she also said it couldn’t be means tested!!
    Yeah they can means test the carers allowance!
    FG don’t care about the vulnerable people in this country

Mute Joseph Fitzgibbon
    Favourite Joseph Fitzgibbon
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:00 AM

I think part of the reason so many politicians are leaving nowadays is the abuse they get from the general public. I know some of them are in it for their own benefit and egos, but it is a very difficult job and they are an easy target. The advent of social media in the last few years has hugely increased the ease in which to anonymously attack people. It’s fair to criticise but some of the things you read and hear about are outrageous.

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:09 AM

@Joseph Fitzgibbon: common joe there’s way more difficult jobs out there with abuse assaults and dreadful pay….

Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:14 AM

@Joseph Fitzgibbon: Absolute nonsense. Extremely prvileged high paying job, they should feel honoured to be representing their constituents.

Mute Joseph Fitzgibbon
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:22 AM

@David Cotter: I didn’t say it was the most difficult job, I said it was a very difficult one. Sure, the pay is very good, but you could lose it in the next election. I don’t understand when people criticise them in such terrible ways, who puts them in these jobs anyway!!

Mute Trump 24
    Favourite Trump 24

@qffaffaf affrafrfraf: Its not a high paying job in the slightest unless you think a 100k job is high paying. If so I presume you are a peasant

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:36 AM

@Joseph Fitzgibbon: so…it’s not a difficult job
    There’s staff for you..a party machine..a dail staff to help also
    A big payout if you loose your seat.
    A lobbying job if you do loose your seat or a seat back on the council or media work and so on…
    They give it the poor me all the time joe but thousands of people run every election ..

Mute Joseph Fitzgibbon
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:50 AM

@David Cotter: Not sure what world you live in. For those that have families, you basically give up the vast majority of the time with your family. Where I live, very few people wanted to stand in the local elections, partly due to the abuse they get. Women politicians seem even more open to anonymous threats and nonsense. All of them don’t have party machines as you say, a lot of Independents now and smaller parties. As I say, not all politicians are very good, but many go into it with good intentions.

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:15 AM

@Joseph Fitzgibbon: ah yes time with the family
    We’ll why then are so many seats inherited…..
    Independent and small parties still employ a staff.(taxpayer funded obviously)
    And we’re not talking about local elections..thousands stand for the dail
    And by the way the only assault I’ve heard of lately in politics was by a politician…on his sister

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:02 PM

@qffaffaf affrafrfraf: you mean moaners and self opionated mo€#ns.

Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:13 AM

Some good news finally, delighted

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Oct 20th 2024, 3:24 AM

When the permanent damage is done, they all jump off the sinking ship with illegal emigrants coming in left, right and centre and they walking the streets at night in groups with hoods up and NO ONE knows who these people are.

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:06 AM

So many standing down, not contesting.
    People who have basically destroyed others to reach the level of political success that they have attained.
    How many FG or FF aspirants have they trod over to keep themselves in a lifestyle that they’re comfortable with.
    And now they say, can’t be bothered any more.
    Doesn’t pass the smell test, never mind the laugh test.
    What do they know that they’re not telling us.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:15 AM

A huge loss to the lads on benefits .

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:21 AM

@Willie Marty: tbh, I liked her, I respected her…..BUT that bowing down to the long term unemployed with benefit hikes & double bonuses…. gotta say that left a bad taste in mouth, in an era of full employment….sent out the wrong/ a weird message

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:35 PM

Didnt see that coming. Will be difficult for FG to retain her seat.

Mute Trump 24
    Favourite Trump 24
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:41 PM

@Andrew Kenny: Won’t be difficult at all.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:44 PM

@Andrew Kenny: credit union trustee

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:47 PM

@Andrew Kenny: A huge loss not only to FG but to the Country ! Best wishes to her in whatever she chooses to do in the future.

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:50 PM

@Phillip Smyth: evening Phillip, you have a point … Or was that just a post for ‘postings’sake?

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:53 PM

@Kevvy kerrr: never post for posting sake should know that by know thoughts prevail(Kev)

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:54 PM

@Kevvy kerrr: and good evening to you Sir.

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:57 PM

@Phillip Smyth: well, not much good about it really, Newcastle, Arsenal and Munster all losing today, blast it!!!!

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:04 AM

@Kevvy kerrr: tomorrow is the day I suppose I shall really enjoy my evening (kev) Liverpool will sound bite the season.

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:10 AM

@Phillip Smyth: for some reason….. Methinks that mouth watering game has DRAW written all over it……. It’ll be a point each in Anfield tomorrow afternoon

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:32 AM

Micheal Martin is when I’m sixty four he’s the one that needs to go and call it for the rest of his party.

Mute PhiBo
    Favourite PhiBo
    Oct 20th 2024, 2:32 AM

Really won’t be missed.

Mute MonkeyTarmac
    Favourite MonkeyTarmac
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:43 PM

Don’t blame her. Must be a horrible job given the current climate, national issues and consistent blunders by her own party.

Mute James O'Grady
    Favourite James O'Grady
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:07 AM

Totally shocked but I can understand why. A person of great talent, a marvelous Minister, a very kind and human person. She will be missed by her constituents, by her party and by us all. Many thanks and good health

Mute Trump 24
    Favourite Trump 24
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:42 PM

She well deserves her retirement that you for your public service

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:47 PM

@Trump 24: nobody can say say she didn’t give it her “all”, there are so few politicians nowadays we can say this about but Heather H wasn’t in it for the fame or money……. As a society we owe her a debt of gratitude. Happy retirement

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:02 AM

@Trump 24: Trumpbot malfunction on aisle 3

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:04 AM

@Kevvy kerrr: are you drunk

Mute Trump 24
    Favourite Trump 24
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:31 AM

@Anthony Curran: Silly child she was a fantastic politician

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:14 AM

@Kevvy kerrr: She ended up with 3 to 4 million all the same, not bad for not being in it for the money !

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:18 AM

@Trump 24: as fantastic as Trump ?

Mute Stephen Byrne
    Favourite Stephen Byrne
    Oct 20th 2024, 6:21 AM

Well well she won’t have to wait till 66 for state pension. Massive payday and another big pension for the taxpayer to pay.it all adds up.didnt have to put in many years to get it.meanwhile the rest of us will collect about 300 euros less a kick back on our pensions after 35 years. Legislation by the legislators for the legislators.is she due any other pensions like a teachers

Mute Andre Rafter
    Favourite Andre Rafter
    Oct 20th 2024, 8:19 AM

Everyone of them running away from the mess their leavining this country of ours in. They know they have gotten the migration issue’s completely wrong. The overspending on the childrens hospital, security hut, bike shed, and the housing for these migrants are only the tip of the iceberg. But of course, they can run off into the sunset with their huge pensions and leave some other unfortunate to try sort it all out. What a total and utter shower this government has been.

Mute Fergal Tully
    Favourite Fergal Tully
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:49 AM

Woke people and the opposite of woke people wondering how can I blame heather for my life. The exact reason the comments are left open. She is a great politician who just did her job. Enjoy the gardening and bargain hunt you deserve it

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:25 AM

@Fergal Tully: Yes great, was great at getting an Animal Abuser off the hook, demolishing historic buildings and jobs for her mates..

“Although Humphreys said John Nulty was selected “on merit”, she later admitted she regretted the decision.”

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Oct 20th 2024, 3:56 AM

@Michale Kane: why dont you run next election, I am sure you will make a great TD, I bet the job is dead easy, you should give it a go as you obviously have all the answers

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Oct 20th 2024, 4:29 AM

@Peter Byrne: Why don’t you offer anything useful to say peter? You’re quite frankly the worst fffg troll to never make sense in the journal comments!

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Oct 20th 2024, 7:00 AM

@Fergal Tully: I doubt very much she will have to bargain hunt. I’d say she’ll be going for the top end- designer etc….

Mute Mary Breezer
    Favourite Mary Breezer
    Oct 20th 2024, 3:01 AM

Great news Won’t have to lisen to that terrible voice

Mute MarkR
    Favourite MarkR
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:11 AM

As a member of her constituency I am really sorry to see her go but completely understand. There is so much abuse and crap thrown at politicians these days and who needs it at the age of 64.

Mute Joe Mc Dermott
    Favourite Joe Mc Dermott
    Oct 20th 2024, 2:25 AM

@MarkR: and deservedly so.. FG melting down from the inside out,

Mute Steve White
    Favourite Steve White
    Oct 20th 2024, 3:18 AM

@MarkR: has unregulated hate and violent speech online contributed to that toxicity?, now who could have done something about that?

Mute Eileen Kelly
    Favourite Eileen Kelly
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:18 AM

I think very many of todays politicians should consider their own positions . It seems so many stay in politics as a life long career even when their health, commitment and input , no longer sustain the demands required in political life to act for the electorate. It is honest for Heather Humphreys to access her position and I respect her for recognising it is time. The pity is many such as Michael Martin and others , cling to power despite changing and challenging times when such changes call for new thinking by empowered, educated and informed politicians who have defined resources to meet changing demands.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Oct 20th 2024, 8:52 AM

Her Auto Enrollment Pension legislation has a.section in it that allows the State to tax those same pensions up to a rate of 47%< this was sneakily put in & is there so people's pensions can be raided when things go tits up. Her gold plated Ministerial Pension & that of her other 17 colleagues will be exempt of course. She knew she was leaving & dished out a massive Social Welfare package, rewarding those who don't work or contribute anything, nothing for those paying for it all. Another poor Minister who abandoned working people & forgot the bread & butter issued, that's her legacy. Mc Entee, Harris, ROG & Martin are going to pull every stunt before they leave, so controversial legislation like the Hate Speech legislation are going to be rail roaded through.

Mute David Lambe
    Favourite David Lambe
    Oct 20th 2024, 4:16 AM

Pity very effective minister thanks for your service heather

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Oct 20th 2024, 7:23 AM

Ah now! Ffg in absolute freefall! A scandal like this deserves a 24 page pull out from the s*n or a November election!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:13 AM

Not my favourite politician, but respect where it is due. She worked hard for the people who voted for her and her party.
    She was too Tory for me!!!!!

Mute steve grehan
    Favourite steve grehan
    Oct 20th 2024, 5:25 AM

Me oul mate Sadiq Khan looks depressed in this photo, did he just hear that climate change toppled another camera in Hillingdon.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:44 AM

No one’s ever happy. Give me a break. Blame the
    Government but don’t grow balls. Take some responsibility people. Really. Too many want hams outs. And they’re the first to cause division. L

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:56 AM

@Jack Hayes: well said !!!

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:21 AM

@Jack Hayes: Yeah Jack, because ordinary folks all have wealthy friends who financially back them and/or physically help their campaigns in return for state contracts.

Mute Denis
    Favourite Denis
    Oct 20th 2024, 2:02 AM

I wonder will she run for president….

Mute Séan Ó'Múrchú
    Favourite Séan Ó'Múrchú
    Oct 20th 2024, 7:55 AM

Huge loss after all her amazing positive contributions

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Oct 20th 2024, 7:07 AM

Hmm, I wonder has she enough energy to run for the Áras?

Mute micheal duff
    Favourite micheal duff
    Oct 20th 2024, 1:36 PM

One of the better T.D’s so much understanding of live. Sad to see her go.

Mute Gerry
    Favourite Gerry
    Oct 20th 2024, 12:12 PM

Her background in a border county and her proven ability to perform well in several ministries should qualify her as a credible candidate should FG decide to run someone for the Presidency. Her biggest legacy will probably be Pension auto enrolment although it will be many years before this is fully recognised. She was the only minister able to astutely and effectively share with the public some of the billions of Euro this country is awash with.
    The terrible state of Health, Education, Security ,Housing etc give no hint at the enormous funds available to a government who have failed to act.
    But Ms.Humphries through fortune or otherwise acted decisively and effectively.
    She will be a loss to the state.
    P.s. I’m a floating voter with no political allegiance.

Mute Sean Mccabe
    Favourite Sean Mccabe
    Oct 20th 2024, 8:30 AM

Regardless of her been 64 why on earth would she decide to step down now

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Oct 20th 2024, 8:45 AM

@Sean Mccabe: because shes 64. “Will you still need me will you still feed me when i’m 64- The Beetles.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 20th 2024, 8:49 AM

@Sean Mccabe: what a daft question.

Mute kiemur1
    Favourite kiemur1
    Oct 20th 2024, 10:14 AM

FG candidate for President in 2025?

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Oct 19th 2024, 11:41 PM

In whom we serve

Mute Sean O
    Favourite Sean O
    Oct 20th 2024, 7:29 PM

Excellent news that 18 now rats leaving sinking ship ⛴️