You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File imafe of gardaí graduates preparing for their passing out ceremony at Templemore Garda College. Alamy Stock Photo

Decision to send three garda trainees home due to tattoos is labelled ‘ultra-conservative’ by GRA

‘It does seem that this policy is slightly out of step and is robbing the organisation of three people with the potential to be excellent guards, said the GRA president.

THE GARDA REPRESENTATIVE Association has called for a review into An Garda Síochána’s uniform and dress code after three trainees were sent home from the Garda College in Templemore for having tattoos.

In a statement to The Journal, a garda spokesperson confirmed that a “number of Garda recruits have had their positions deferred pending their compliance with the Uniform and Dress Code within An Garda Síochána”.

“An Garda Síochána Uniform and Dress Code is published on the Garda website and details provided in the Recruitment Candidate Information Booklet,” added the spokesperson.

The uniform and dress code states that “tattoos on the face, or visible above the collar, are not permitted”.

It adds: “All other tattoos will be covered at all times while on duty, whether in uniform or plain clothes.”

The three trainees that were sent home from the Co Tipperary Garda College were part of 175 recruits that had arrived for induction two weeks ago.

Brendan O’Connor, president of the Garda Representative Association, told RTÉ’s Today with Claire Byrne that the move is an “ultra-conservative view of something that is very much the norm”.

The three recruits have reportedly been told to get the tattoos removed if they wish to re-enlist in the Garda College.

“There is a set of guidelines there and whether they adhere to them or not, I’m not exactly sure,” said O’Connor.

However, he added: “We’re talking here, in relation to one case, small and discreet tattoos behind the ear of a star.

“So it certainly can be concealed with makeup, if it is the case that it has to be concealed.

“It does seem that perhaps this policy is slightly out of step and is robbing the organisation of three people with the potential to be excellent guards.

“We’re in a recruitment and retention crisis, it’s hard to get people processed through the recruitment and selection procedure.

“We get them into Templemore, and then they have to leave because of something that does seem to be slightly judgmental in its approach.”

Last month, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar acknowledged that it will be “very hard” to meet the target of recruiting 1,000 gardaí this year.

“It is going to be difficult I think to reach that 1,000 target but we are not departing from it, certainly not yet,” said Varadkar.

“We’re looking to broaden the scope of our recruits,” said O’Connor, “so why are we shutting off this, it doesn’t really make any sense.

“We’re talking about discreet, non-offensive (tattoos).

“Body art is part of the modern culture and it shouldn’t exclude someone from becoming a guard”.

While O’Connor said policies have to be in place, he called for policies that are “more agile and more reflective of the wider social values of our very modern, tolerant and inclusive society”.

“That’s what should be reflected in An Garda Síochána and not the conservatism of previous generations of police rules and codes of behaviour,” said O’Connor, who also called for a review of the dress and uniform code.

“Times change, values change, so maybe this is a little bit conservative.

“It would seem that at a time when An Garda Síochána is saying we need to reach out beyond where we traditionally have looked for recruits, and we need to be more imaginative and more inclusive and more diverse… that someone who chooses to have something which is a very socially acceptable thing would be excluded from the training programme does seem to raise some questions.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

90 Comments
    Mute Brendan O'Connell
    Favourite Brendan O'Connell
    Aug 14th 2023, 2:47 PM

They should have tave thought of that before they decided to join, and the screeners should make it clear before they are allowed in . Waste of time.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:03 PM

@Brendan O’Connell: They probably assumed they were joining a profession with common sense rules.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:26 PM

@Ciaran: sure are , they had them before turning up and ignored them anyway

Mute Frank T.
    Favourite Frank T.
    Aug 14th 2023, 8:39 PM

@Brendan O’Connell: are the organisions living on tbe past ,tatooz are a normal thing in the last 2p0 yrs so much hypocrisy on yje little land of ireland shame on the government’s

Mute Rob Hunt
    Favourite Rob Hunt
    Aug 14th 2023, 2:42 PM

Headline could do with some work there – I thought the tattoos themselves were being labelled ultra conservative, which would have been a bit of a red flag for a guard. The move being labelled ultra conservative is correct TBH

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Aug 14th 2023, 2:45 PM

@Rob Hunt: Good one,

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Aug 14th 2023, 2:55 PM

@Rob Hunt: That’s what I thought too: ‘is’ before ‘labelled’ would fix it..

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:15 PM

@Rob Hunt: Thats the point, gotta rile up the sky-pointers. Shame here as when the lines are blurry people scramble to asses weather it is liberal or conservative so the can plant a flag. Could have caught a few here.

Mute Luma plex
    Favourite Luma plex
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:40 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: See, your first problem there Bob was you tried to think. Go back to staring at a wall and drink some cans.

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Aug 14th 2023, 2:43 PM

I honestly don’t see what difference in a job a tattoo makes. IF You earn the badge or do the work, that’s all that matters. Don’t have any myself, but each to their own.

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Aug 14th 2023, 2:50 PM

@Mick Hanna: what if it was a Swastika? In general, is it ok to have a tattoo that bashes a specific religion, race or gender?

Mute Mr Sparkle
    Favourite Mr Sparkle
    Aug 14th 2023, 2:54 PM

@Jim: Obviously a tattoo like that would give the Guards good reason to fear the Guard would bring his prejudices into his work, but realistically these 3 lads didn’t have any tattoos like that.

Mute Trent
    Favourite Trent
    Aug 14th 2023, 2:59 PM

@Jim: The Swastika was originally a symbol for peace then some head banger stole it

Mute Mike Carson
    Favourite Mike Carson
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:11 PM

@Mick Hanna: So true. I know and have seen plenty of serving garda with tattoos. Bit of an archaic POV. Don’t have any myself but honestly don’t see the issue with. Its a bit of good old fashioned, judgmental Irish, prejudice. This country, for all its societal advancements, can be very backward at time.

Mute Mike Carson
    Favourite Mike Carson
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:15 PM

@Jim: I doubt the type of person who would have those type of tattoos would pass the security checks and vetting. But in the age of inclusivity, tattoos are sacred in some cultures.

Mute Robert Burns
    Favourite Robert Burns
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:38 PM

@Mick Hanna: It’s about control of the recruits.

Mute UK Hurling Bloke
    Favourite UK Hurling Bloke
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:10 PM

@Jim: that’s mega whataboutery right there.
    Nobody mentioned anything about swastikas except you. RTFA – star behind the ear

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:19 PM

@Robert Burns: Sue it is, they want to control every thought and action they do!!!!!!!

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:59 PM

@Jim: People are entitled to have tattoos., but in a similar scenario, people are entitled not to allow them if they think it would interfere with the image of the organisation. Personally, I wouldn’t employ anyone with tattoos which couldn’t be covered up. Why people want a tattoo of their dead cat emblazoned on their body is beyond me.

Mute Mr Sparkle
    Favourite Mr Sparkle
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:04 PM

I’d rather a Guard out on patrol, who’s expected to give chase if needs be had tattoos head to toe rather than a big belly

Mute Gavin KKelly
    Favourite Gavin KKelly
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:58 PM

@Mr Sparkle: racist

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:37 PM

@james rowan: Look up for sarcasm….

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Aug 14th 2023, 2:48 PM

Can someone please tell the Garda management that it’s 2023?

Mute Dixie diver
    Favourite Dixie diver
    Aug 14th 2023, 2:57 PM

The nail in the coffin was when they start allowing them to have beards in my opinion

Mute Phuqaigh MacYu
    Favourite Phuqaigh MacYu
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:02 PM

@Dixie diver: Some of the male Garda have beards too.

Mute ciaran o dowd
    Favourite ciaran o dowd
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:05 PM

@Dixie diver: and yet the men still have to be clean-shaven

Mute PAUL C
    Favourite PAUL C
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:58 PM

@ciaran o dowd: nope

Mute Ronan Skelly
    Favourite Ronan Skelly
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:34 PM

@Dixie diver: especially the ban gardai

Mute Steven Schulz
    Favourite Steven Schulz
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:11 PM

I actually agree with the Garda on this. If they’re thinking of this as more than a profession but a calling, they can get the tattoos removed.

Mute Mike Carson
    Favourite Mike Carson
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:21 PM

@Steven Schulz: And do tell how a tattoo would affect said calling? Do tattoos infect the mind and make people evil? Or do tattoos make people like you judgmental? Do explain how a tattoo would hinder a garda in his line of work, other than raise a few judgmental eyebrows from, out of touch, faux righteous, folk such as yourself?

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:08 PM

@Mike Carson: Tattoos just might affect how a person, or the public in general, interacts with a Guard.

Mute Mike Carson
    Favourite Mike Carson
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:45 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Says more about the person interacting to be honest. Would that interaction also be affected by race or religion? Time the, minority, judgmental Irish gave it a rest and moved with the times. We judge people on actions not looks. Plenty of unapproachable guards without tattoos’. Don’t see the Irish rugby team been asked to step down because off tattoos. In fact most of them are lauded for their abilities and are seen of as representatives of this nation. Time the wet wipes of this nation focused on real issues and not judging other on their looks of all things.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:47 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: So using that logic, would or should a Garda react differently to a member of the public who has tattoos?

Aug 14th 2023, 4:52 PM

@Michael Burke: I would hope not.

But those members of the public are not in a position of power over the people, not in a position of trust, and anything that the public would find intimidating is not to be welcomed.

And I find tattoos can be intimidating.

Aug 14th 2023, 4:53 PM

@Mike Carson: I don’t find someone’s race or religion to be intimidating.

I do find that tattoos can be intimidating.

Mute John Jon
    Favourite John Jon
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:55 PM

@Michael Burke: They might but members of the public are not prohibited from above the collar or facial tattoos by society in general (t&c apply to State or private employees), so the Gardai just have to deal with it and hopefully leave their personal prejudices at the front door.

Mute Bat Boy
    Favourite Bat Boy
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:29 PM

I was walking through a music festival the other day. I thought to myself that we are almost at a point where people without tattoos are more unusual than those with them. So long as it is nothing offensive, what does it matter? If this is the sort of thing that Garda management worry themselves with, no wonder Ireland is becoming lawless.

Mute Grahame
    Favourite Grahame
    Aug 14th 2023, 2:58 PM

This is how out of touch the Garda and state in general are with broader society .

Mute James murphy
    Favourite James murphy
    Aug 14th 2023, 2:59 PM

Looks like the garda diversity and inclusion is not going so well. Inclusion by selection. With drew at the helm, its very easy to see why they are leaving in droves. Police should be apolitical.

Mute Joe Foley
    Favourite Joe Foley
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:14 PM

I see no problems with tattoos as long as they are not on your face or neck …Let’s be sensible here I say.

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Favourite Shane McGettrick
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:06 PM

@Jimmy Wallace: the regulation refers to visible tattoos, so that would be hands, neck or face I assume. Unless they happen to have Polynesian ancestry it hardly screams “good life choices.”

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:29 PM

@Joe Foley: some have them on their c…..s.

Mute Nickb
    Favourite Nickb
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:39 PM

I just feel privileged to be allowed to comment on this article!!!!!!!!!!!!
    We seem to just be dictated to by this ,so called ‘people’s news app’ these days.
    Our own views and opinions are usually neither permitted or encouraged.
    More and more the articles closing line is “comments closed” ?

Mute john christopher
    Favourite john christopher
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:12 PM

Does a tattoo effect the way law is administered.

@john christopher: The Guards don’t administer justice, although there have been some I’ve come across that believe they do. That’s the job of the courts, surely.

The guards interact with the public, and anything that affects the perception of the Guard that does that needs to be thought through.

Personally, I find tattoos to be ugly, and off-putting. I would not be inclined to place any trust in someone with a tattoo until I got to know them well. I would put even less trust than normal in any Guard with a tattoo.

Mute I'm Far Right
    Favourite I'm Far Right
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:09 PM

@john christopher: No, it’s not about that. It’s about removing individuality, same as school uniforms.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:19 PM

@I’m Far Right: It’s lefty loonies business, am I right?

Mute I'm Far Right
    Favourite I'm Far Right
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:33 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: Not really. Just the usual top down control measures at play.

Mute john christopher
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:42 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: what an out dated point of view. Some of the biggest criminals in this country wear suits.

Mute john christopher
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:48 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: I always thought the gardai were responsible for issuing summons and fine if that’s not administrating

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:38 PM

@I’m Far Right: Works for the communists anyway!

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:44 PM

So it is not ok for a trainee to have a tattoo on their arm while training to become a guard…but the force will involve members to participate in the gay parade which is fine…yet they are finding it difficult to fulfill the quarter for the year because rules brought out many decades ago

Mute Trent
    Favourite Trent
    Aug 14th 2023, 2:42 PM

so no Garda Ink tv special coming up on Netflix any time soon

Mute Patrick Presley
    Favourite Patrick Presley
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:30 PM

They’ve already relaxed too many rules in the Gardai,Height ,Beards etc. and the new uniform looks very shabby on some.

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna

Yet another thing, highly unlikely I know, but what if an Moari wanted to join the Garda…Would they force him to remove his Tribal tattoos? I Seriously doubt it. You Can’t have it both way’s.

Mute Aidocasey
    Favourite Aidocasey
    Aug 15th 2023, 9:37 AM

@Mick Hanna: Do you think they would get the job ? No chance

Mute Celtic Mark
    Favourite Celtic Mark
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:03 PM

I’ve seen police officers patrolling in London with short sleeved white shirts and tattoos on their arms. More than able to do their jobs, no problems there.
    What will happen when a trans person turns up to be a guard, they’ve opened themselves up to this so it’s only a matter of time

Mute Steve Davis
    Favourite Steve Davis
    Aug 15th 2023, 1:53 AM

@Celtic Mark: Read the article fully before commenting. Its tattoos on the neck and face thats the issue.

Mute Pauline Cahill
    Favourite Pauline Cahill
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:49 PM

That’s behind the times police men in most countries have tattoo’s so what’s special about the Gardai

Mute Edward O'T.
    Favourite Edward O'T.
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:00 PM

Many people in 2023 have tattoos and the cop’s management had better realize that and cop on if they want to meet recruitment targets,
    That auld commissioner to embarrass the guards with once again a debacle.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:33 PM

Tatoos are for fashion following sheep. Narcissistic ones as well ..
    What are tatoos for if not for showing off, or admiring oneself in the mirror and feeling ‘cool’ ?

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Aug 14th 2023, 6:16 PM

@offside again: You’ve a perfect name, now apply what you just said to the Maori or other indigenous people. Doesn’t quite work… does it?!!!

Mute john christopher
    Aug 14th 2023, 7:32 PM

@offside again: do the clothes people wear not do the same. People stand in front of mirrors to check these.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Aug 14th 2023, 3:35 PM

Rediculous,it’s hard enough to recruit guards now as the pay is not what it was, surely they should have been told before joining,they could be very good guards given the chance

Mute rosemary flowers
    Favourite rosemary flowers
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:17 PM

I’m not of an age to have had tattoos done but don’t object to others having them. I would draw the line (pardon the pun) on sectarian, gang or racist ones. All that the should matter is that they are fit and suitable enough to do the job. Surely it is more important to be honest and trustworthy than have no tattoos and be a gangster?

Mute Shane O Neill
    Favourite Shane O Neill
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:35 PM

Whoever sent them home, rather than initiating a review of the outdated rules, should be out on their ear.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:24 PM

A lot of the rules are very old and this is obviously one of them. They are trying to move the force forward and rules like this need to be dealt with.

Aug 14th 2023, 4:38 PM

Ridiculous rule when the force is crying out for new trainees. Tattoos are just a means of self-expression. It does not impact the ability to do your job.

Mute david duncan
    Favourite david duncan
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:24 PM

I heard they were sporting knuckle tattoos with abbreviations ACAB whatever that means

Mute John Jon
    Favourite John Jon
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:51 PM

Are there a lot of applicants with “tattoos on the face, or visible above the collar, are not permitted” and who cannot cover “at all times while on duty, whether in uniform or plain clothes” all other tattoos? A storm in a tea cup with doughnuts on the side.

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:02 PM

Does this also apply to Army….Navy and Air Corps

Mute James Carroll
    Favourite James Carroll
    Aug 14th 2023, 4:47 PM

@Jp Cleary: Because the Army, Navy and Air Corps are in daily contact with members of the public … Tattoos which appear above the collar of shirt will prohibit entry to the Defence Forces.

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:28 PM

@James Carroll: thanks James….. didn’t know

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Aug 14th 2023, 6:47 PM

@ Mick Hanna : What have Maoiris got to do with western world fashion?

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Aug 14th 2023, 8:12 PM

@offside again: Did you ever hear the phrase…Never Judge a book by the Cover!!! Just saying!!!

Mute helen mary fitzsimons
    Favourite helen mary fitzsimons
    Aug 14th 2023, 5:44 PM

Ultra conservative tattoos hmm? Or do you mean ultra conservative attitude to body art.

Mute Áine G
    Favourite Áine G
    Aug 15th 2023, 8:05 AM

The tattoos were very visible, on the neck and hands, Garda code says tattoos that can be covered by clothing are fine.

Mute Paddy Up
    Favourite Paddy Up
    Aug 15th 2023, 10:42 AM

Also the guy is a retail manager. I work in the industry and I would not hire someone with a visable tattoo to work in a shop dealing with the public.

Mute Paddy Up
    Favourite Paddy Up
    Aug 15th 2023, 10:36 AM

I’m sorry but visable tattoos are not professional and one was a lion on the guys hand. He wasn’t to be a Garda then he needs to look the part and a tattoo on your hand does not say Garda to me. I know they are a personal choice but I have never once seen a tattoo and thought it looked good, they all look terrible.

Mute A D
    Favourite A D
    Aug 14th 2023, 11:34 PM

The fact that the Garda Representative Association complained because the recruits were refused, suggests those were not objectionable tattoos.

Mute Aidocasey
    Favourite Aidocasey
    Aug 15th 2023, 9:39 AM

@A D: Did you see it… you can’t miss it

Mute pat
    Favourite pat
    Aug 15th 2023, 8:44 AM

Surely, in their interview, the Tattoo’s were seen, or were the interviewees asleep at the wheel

Mute Aidocasey
    Favourite Aidocasey
    Aug 15th 2023, 9:39 AM

@pat: It may have been covered in that bandage…

Mute Basit Saliu
    Favourite Basit Saliu
    Aug 15th 2023, 11:04 AM

If the Gardai can smoke cigarette (I saw it first hand just last year) then why can they not have tattoos? So much irony. Note: I have no tattoos or piercings whatsoever but I do smoke and a lacto ovo vegetarian.

Mute Natalia Pocełujko
    Favourite Natalia Pocełujko
    Aug 18th 2023, 4:18 PM

I am really having a hard time to understand this Gardai ” Tattoos Chaos” in Ireland. The country became so many difficulties against diversity, equal rights , abortion and other discrimination issues that this problem should not even exist at this stage. If any of the cadets have tatooted inappropriate words / symbols that they really can’t be a part of the system which protect us all? It’s your son’s and daughters , brothers and sisters out there and the matter of body art ( unless it is a safety issue) should be treated as a part of the grown and independent person .