You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
NO DECISION HAS yet been made by the Irish Airline Pilots’ Association (IAPLA) is to on a Labour Court recommendation aimed at ending its lengthy pay dispute with Aer Lingus.
Pilots who are members of the union have been working-to-rule since 26 June after negotiations over a pay increase with the airline reached an impasse. The industrial action has resulted in the cancellation of over 500 Aer Lingus flights.
The Labour Court intervened once IALPA threatened further industrial action would be taken last week. Yesterday, it recommended a 17.75% pay increase for pilots.
IALPA met today to discuss whether to recommend accepting or rejecting the Labour Court proposal.
No decision was made as a result of the meeting as the union is waiting on a reply from the Labour Court to the letter it sent, as it is waiting to receive confirmation on its understanding of the recommendations laid out in yesterday’s decision, it is understood.
When a decision is made by the executive members of the union, the choice will be put to its members through an electronic ballot.
Once the Labour Court has replied to the union’s letter, the executive members will meet again to establish its position on the decision.
The company will also consider “the longer-term implications of implementing the recommendation and of this dispute which has been enormously damaging both financially and reputationally”.
Previously, Aer Lingus said any increase over 12.25% should also include an agreement on increased productivity and flexibility in return – something the company says has been agreed with other workers at the airline.
The President of IAPLA, Captain Mark Tighe, said yesterday that an electronic ballot will provide pilots with an opportunity to carefully consider the terms of the recommendation.
“Pilots will have the opportunity to consider its terms and to carefully consider our next steps. This has been an exceptionally complex dispute, reflected in the Court’s decision last week to utilise its legislative powers to investigate the matters in dispute,” he said.
It is understood the executive board of IALPA will meet one-on-one with its members over the coming days, after the Labour Court’s reply.
‘Positive momentum’
Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland this morning, Minister of State for Enterprise, Trade and Employment Peter Burke said “cool heads” are needed in order to resolve the dispute quickly.
“We have to move on to the next chapter as an island economy again and for so many vulnerable sectors that really require connectivity to be at a premium over the summer months ahead, we really need to ensure that this dispute is resolved,” he said.
Speaking on his way into Cabinet, Taoiseach Simon Harris said he hoped the offer was a signal of “positive momentum”.
“It looks to me like everybody really worked intensively on this, and I really do welcome that,” he said.
“I’ve said from the start, the only way you [resolve] industrial relations is through engagement and through compromise. [We] certainly have the engagement, and it looks to me like we now have compromise.
Related Reads
Aer Lingus accepts Labour Court 17.75% pay increase recommendation for pilots, IALPA to consider
Aer Lingus cancels a further 80 flights next week
“I don’t think it would be helpful for me to tell any side what to do. I fully respect the idea that unions obviously have to engage with their own members, but I really do hope this is positive momentum.”
IALPA had been seeking a pay increase of 24%, which they said equates to inflation since the last pay rise in 2019.
However, the union said it would be willing to consider a lower pay increase during a meeting with the airline at a hotel last week.
Members of IALPA rejected a previous Labour Court recommendation of 9.25%, arguing that Aer Lingus pilots should receive an increase of an almost 24% in their pay.
But it accused Aer Lingus of not making a similar compromise to move from its offer of 12.25%, without requests for pilots to improve productivity.
An interim Labour Court recommendation for pay increases of 9.25% was rejected by IALPA members last month, who then decided to pursue industrial action.
Includes reporting by Muiris O’Cearbhaill. Additional reporting from Press Association.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
29 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Yet 20 years later the DUP still openly consult with loyalist paramilitaries, one senior member recently found to be in possession of British army weapons and ammunition.
@Eoin .h: When a border went up in the Irish Sea we didn’t see Loyalist terrorists taking up arms and killing people . Unionists showed their objection to this by not taking their seats in Stormont. When Brexit discussions was taking place there was a possibility of a border going up on the island . Republicans wearing balaclavas started to make threats of violence once again . They set off a bomb in NI as a threat to what will happen if there is a border on the island of Ireland.
@Jack Moss: Lol. What a load of nonsense. ‘Border in the Irish sea’. We’re talking about someone checking the contents of the odd lorry at a port and labels for some sausages. The DUP backed a hard hard Brexit precisely to try to erect border infrastructure on the island again despite the fact that the majority of people in NI voted against Brexit. And it all blew up in their faces. They are a horrible shower. Now both Paisleys are gone from their seats, SF are the largest party and hold the first minister position, Jeffrey Donaldson it turned out was up to all sorts and we here today what the queen thought of the orange order marches that were happening in her name. The DUP and loyalism is a complete joke at this stage.
@Jack Moss: so the UVF weren’t spraying ‘peace or protocol UVF’ all over Belfast? Simon Coveney didn’t have a bomb hoax when he went north, then had multiple threats? Unionists politicians didn’t stand in front of angry crowds for months and spout rhetoric like ‘nationalists take and unionists give, and we have nothing left to give’? Just so you know, a customs check isn’t a border, as the courts ruled. However, physical infrastructure on the partition line contravenes the good friday agreement.
@Eoin .h: The only people that wanted a border was the EU . It’s a EU border . The Uk would have free trade with anyone . The border was put up by the Irish state in 1923 when they added tariffs to all goods imported from the UK. Up went the border custom points so the 26 counties could make money . The British and unionists were against a border . They believed the 26 counties would eventually come back into the UK and any border would prevent that from happening. 90 odd yrs later the Irish state demands that there can’t be a border on the island that they insisted having in 1923 to make money for the new Irish state .
@joe moody: Jack Moss, or Tommy Whelan, as he is also called, gets his brain handed back to him after every debate on here. He’s an ex British soldier that has been conditioned to think of Queen and Country. He thinks the British civilised the word with their empire. Rather than pillaging it under the banner of the butchers apron.
@Pat Corr: 100%..They planted their silly flag in the soil of another countey after conquering them, exploit the people, enslave them, drain their resources and if they were lucky they would build a school or hospital and say they civilised the country.
@Jack Moss: Ah if things were only that simple. The customs post was to show clearly that the Free State was a separate country to the UK.
Tariffs were added by the UK and responded to by the Free State government.
UK wanting free trade, it had free trade and walked away from it.
In fairness Paisley shook hands with McGuinness and Nationalists and both acknowledged one another’s history’s, drew a line under it and moved forward. Coming from his pov you have to give huge credit for it.
There are plenty still today who redraw one sides history and refuse to move forward. FG always had top spot in that department, at least they’re open about that. The kinda shocker for me is the Republican FF, under Martin at it the whole time.
@Troll Hunter: absolutely. Paisley spent his entire life demonising Catholics or anything Irish yet managed to form a good relationship with Mcguinness and SF and acknowledged their dedication to peace. Puts into perspective the mentality of FFG. They had an easy run to the top then pulled the ladder behind them.
@Eoin .h: FFG only interested in whatever could be used to smear what they see as their biggest political opponents. They continually bring up things from before those monumental handshakes and the historic croke park handshakes. That absolutely disgusts me..
Like I know FFG will stall a United Ireland for all long as possible. They only care about keeping as much political power as possible. I expect that out of them.
They are continuously bringing up one side of NI history pre GFA, using the language and propaganda of the other side, using the same tactics to smear a political opponent, when almost all they bring up if covered in the GFA… and that truly offends me, nor will be forgiven.
@Troll Hunter: They drew a line under and moved forward to cushy jobs as MLAs. Both laughing at their electorate that they had instilled sectarian hatred that would see them elected. In the 50s and early 60s the two communities were coming together particularly the younger generation. The damage done by Paisley, McGuinness and Adams will take a long time to heal.
@Jb Walshe: It was mainly SF/PIRA followed by DUP/UVF that prevented peace being achieved prior to the GFA. Paisley, McGuinness and Adams also got too much media attention to spew their sectarian propaganda.
How is it wrong to want one’s Country to be free, independent and United.
How is it wrong for an abandoned people to want to rejoin their country.
Surely the thinking and questions should be based on how to achieve,factoring in all the pro’ and cons, rather than all the cons been the focus to not achieve it.
You have those who use things like costs to scare people off, while those same people support Billions to Ukrainians for example.
You also have those who will demonise all in NI as the same to scare people.
GFA is over 20 yrs old.
@Troll Hunter: We live in a democracy were the people decide the future of the country they live in not a bunch of terrorists that believe they have a right to take up arms and decide the countries future . Ireland is not a 32 county all Irish independent nation because of republican violence over the last 100 yrs or so . Do you think it would be ok for a bunch of lunatics to take up arms today and demand Ireland leaves the EU when the majority of Irish people are pro EU. No they be terrorists just like the men of 1916 were terrorists that attempted to remove Ireland from the UK when the majority of Irish people were pro British.
@Jack Moss: War is over. Obviously not in your head. You have serious issues.
GFA over 20 yrs ago. When there is a United Ireland, it will be based on the will and vote of the People of this Island alone.
People like you, who fought to keep NI British and the Catholics/Nationalist suppressed, no longer get to decide duck squat anymore.
@Troll Hunter: I didn’t fight to keep anything British myself and my comrades served in NI to make it a safer place and stop people from getting killed by terrorists. Never did I or my comrades ever go out onto the streets of NI to kill people . 21 bomb disposal officers were killed in NI . Many of them were killed in Nationalist areas dealing with IEDs that was left by loyalist terrorist organisations . Many more were left blind and seriously injured. Soldiers served in NI to suppress a terrorist insurgency and defend the rights of the people of NI to self determination by a democratic process .
@Troll Hunter: Both islands was invaded and colonised by the Normans in 1066 and 1169 . The Normans ruled Ireland to 1541. There was no 32 county Irish nation before 1169 . It was an island divided up into 5 provinces that was broken up into 150 kingdoms that was knocking the Sh.t. Out of each other . It wasn’t even likely that Ireland was to become one country because it never was one country before 1169 . Ireland only became a 32 county Irish nation in what is the UK today . Every country that exists in the world has a history that involves other countries. Fifty yrs after independence you voluntarily gave your sovereignty to s foreign power in Europe for financial gain . You didn’t even last 50 yrs as an independent sovereign nation .
@Jack Moss: Ffs Jack Catholics in NI did not have democracy until the GFA, the GFA was a result of the Catholic fight for freedom.
Believe it or not, I have huge respect for anyone who puts on a soldiers uniform in any country, especially if they believe it’s for the right reason.
Also believe it or not, I don’t hate you, nor British soldiers and not even the SAS. I do despise many things they have done, prob will never forgive some, but also totally accept reality and unfortunately very few good things happens in wars. It’s a nasty business that never should happen. But for most normal people once war is over they accept the peace and get on with it. Is the objective of war to win and have peace ?
@Jack Moss: Shouldn’t have put a border there in the first place then. Britain went on to use these tactics in their other former colonies when they saw it was all falling apart so that they could cut and run and leave the mess that they had left behind them.
@Jack Moss: you have a very sad revisionist version of history. You seem to enamored by the British, a country that had been one of the major contributors to slavery, to illegal occupation of countries across their so called British Empire.
@Jack Moss: you and your geographically challenged kind will eventually get the message that you can’t go into other countries terrorise, murder, enslave anymore.
@Jack Moss: you can feck right off ,you were a occupational force whose sole job was the surpression of the catholic community.
A shocking stain on your own history
@Troll Hunter: The unity project is valid, only if it is clearly progressed on the basis of full respect for both cultures, with no hangover of domination either way. The descendants of the plantations are here to stay, and need to be reassured that they and their kin can preserve their British status, if they so wish, and all that goes with that.
And that is not a huge problem, as it has been done ever since 2022, in the Free State/ Republic, and no one was obliged to swear an oath to abandon their British heritage.
So this fact just needs to be highlighted to those who need that reassurance. Plus the reality, that the combined economy actually needs the enlarged population to thrive for all who live here, regardless of creed or colour.
@Jack Moss: wrong, wrong, the people of Ireland were Irish, under British rule, the people were upset because their lives were turned upside down, but when the British killed the leaders of 1916, the people felt guilty and angry with the British empire, it reminds them of the length a empire will go to stay in power, when they send general Maxwell the queens right hand man military, to kill the Irish leaders, he by the way has my family name, I done my research, the Irish are correct, the British empire about taking other people’s land alway has my friend,
@Jack Moss: The Gerrymandering involved in the shape of the 6 counties was political and financial. That is all they cared about.
They had lost the island with the executions and the Black and Tans killing whoever they pleased to.
But they kept the main industrial hub and made sure there was always a Loyalist majority!
@offside again: let’s start by agreeing there is an Ireland at least and we who live here get up and go to sleep each day in this place. After that we can see if we have anything else in common and anything we don’t understand or are ignoring about our neighbours view. After that we can question ourselves somewhat. Alternative to that we can take the Celtic and Rangers point of view and carry on.
@offside again: no it not, I lived in Germany when it became united, it cost a lot of min tax payers money and both sides working towards a new state were eventually everyone will respect each other, with a fair vote, that’s Ireland of course more complicated due to the planting of ulster Scottish 16 century Scottish loyalty to the crown sent to Ireland to grow in number, anyway we get the point, work together for a new nation and everyone is happy
SF has always believed they don’t have to play by the rules . It should have been the end of the GFA when three of their terrorists were caught in Columbia training FARC rebels . During Covid O Neill was telling people they couldn’t go to their relatives funerals then hundreds of republicans turn up for Bobby Storeys funeral. Even during the troubles they were crying about a shoot to kill policy but they had a shoot to kill policy . They claim to be soldiers fighting a war but the Brits were not allowed to shoot back at them . One rule for SF/IRA and another rule for everyone else .
@Jack Moss: Yeah, yeah., we know your views on everything Ira bad, sf bad, Irish vermin.. Brits are gods, they invented the world, slavery was good for economics .., Empires are the pinnacle of civilisation…. people should be greatful consider themselves privileged to be colonised by the Superior English..
@Jack Moss: You’re a worse bigot now, than Paisley was then, before he accepting both histories, shaking hands like a man and moving on with goals of truly moving on…
@Jack Moss: You don’t get it do you? You should never have been or had reason to set foot on this island ever. The British army then took it upon themselves to gun down innocent unarmed people on the street who were merely protesting for equal rights such as the right to have a job, somewhere to live or maybe even a vote in their own country. That did wonders for the IRA now didn’t it?
@John Moore: Actually the Irish were the British army . The British army was formed up on both islands . There was 21 Irish infantry regiments in the British army . Many of them were older than English regiments. The Irish involvement in the BA goes all the way back to the early days of the armies history which is about 340 yrs old . The Irish were pro British and pro empire . They played a part in the creation of the empire and profited from the empire . Over the last one hundred yrs the Irish have rewritten their his history into a 800 yr victim story . Ireland is the only country in the world were the people that live there are not accountable for anything that happened their over the last 800 yrs .
@Jack Moss: Jack 10 mins of All Murray would debunk 99.999% of your junk.
Yes there was Irish in the British Army, there were Irish in many armies, even were on both sides of American Civil War, they were well used by all those other countries. And yes there was ‘Irish Regiment’ in the British Army, but none were controlled or ordered by an Irish Government under an Irish Flag.
Many Irish fought in WW1 and when they got back to Ireland they were disgusted how their country men were treated by the British, astonished how the British kept the events of the 1916 Rising from them and were almost broken from that betrayal. Almost all joined Collins and then fought for their own freedom.
@Jack Moss: again you can’t refute one point put to you, you just spew nonsense!
Every generation on the island had a revolution against your barbaric occupation no matter how much you delude yourselves about your horrendous colonial past we understand full well what the vast majority of people on this island fought and died for!
@Jack Moss: get a life will you…Irish people being spit on, treated as second class citizens by the British IN OUR COUNTRY…Britain made the IRA possible, history is full of freedom fighters to get countries like Britain the hell out of thier country and you can spin it whatever deluded way you want to but it is as simple as that.
@joe moody: Actually the Majorie of countries got their independence without violence. Australia , New Zealand, Canada , Jamaica, Sierra Leon, India , Pakistan, Qutar , Belize, South Africa and so on . 54 ex British colonies voluntarily join the commonwealth.
@joe moody: Actually the Irish fought for Britain for over 300 yrs . The Connaught Rangers , The Dublin Fusiliers , The Royal Irish Regiment, The Royal Munsters , The Royal Leinster , The Royal Irish rifles , The Inniskillens , The Ulster Rifles , The Royal Tyrone regiment, The Royal Irish militia. There was 21 Irish infantry regiments in the British army that served the UK for over 309 yrs . It must be hard for you to accept who really were in history .
@Jack Moss: holy god you seriously believe your own delusions! Have you ever asked yourself why countries would need to gain independence from Britain??
Would it be the fact you forcibly colonized and brutalized vast amounts the worlds population?? Please accept reality, your demonic empire was responsible for pillaging and murdering its way through history…
@Jack Moss: there has been a colonial loyalist presence in Ireland for centuries during your many plantations where you attempted to eradicate the Irish culture and ethnically cleanse the island, it’s no suprise there is a small percentage of west Brits on the island..
@joe moody: Actually it was the Scot’s that was responsible for the plantations of Ulster in 1609 . The Scots (Stuart’s) held the throne between 1603 and 1714 ruling over England and Ireland . There was 7 Scottish monarchs that ruled over Ireland and England . James the first was the first Stuart monarch . He was the son of Mary Queen of Scots and responsible for the plantations of Ulster in 1609 . The Scots also created the Union UK in 1707 when they merged the English and Scottish parliaments together to form the Union . The 32 counties was created between the 13th and 17th centuries. Wicklow been the last county in 1608 . The only time Ireland was an all island Irish nation was when it was part of what is the UK today .
@joe moody: It was soo horrible that 54 ex colonies voluntarily joined the commonwealth with the Queen as head . Today there is 56 countries in the commonwealth with another 4 countries waiting to join .
@Jack Moss: More nonsense because you can’t actually refute anything put to you..
When referring to BRITAIN that means the British island, Scotland included why try and hide the fact the fat oligarchs and royals in London decided to carve up Ireland and treat it as their own personal farm!
@Jack Moss: those nation’s where so pillages and utterly dependent on Britain after centuries of colonization and oppression! You literally looted the world and raped the peoples resources it’s historical fact you can not change it, just spend ten minutes reading about the British made famines world wide or what you did to china with opium etc. endless barbarism that you simply can’t justify.
Makes you seem like a true demon.
The irony after Ian Paisley gave his blessing to the UVF to fight. Unionism are as guilty as anyone for the conflict in the north but deny this basic fact and people accept it.
Over 5,000 women in Europe have to travel abroad for abortions each year
Órla Ryan & Maria Delaney
3 hrs ago
na na na na na na na na
Quiz: How much do you know about the Batman films?
5 hrs ago
Gardaí
Six-year-old girl who was cycling her bike dies in incident involving a truck in Galway city
Updated
19 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say