You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A plaque has been erected in the doorway where Jonathan Corrie died

He passed away from hypothermia earlier this month.

A plaque hangs on the door where homeless Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

A PLAQUE HAS been erected in the doorway where homeless man Jonathan Corrie died on 1 December.

Corrie died from hypothermia on Molesworth Street, just meters from the entrance to Leinster House.

A plaque hangs on the door where homeless Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

His death led to an emergency summit on homelessness. It was chaired by Environment Minister Alan Kelly and attended by representatives from various interest groups.

The measures decided at the meeting included:

• Local authorities in Dublin being directed to put 50% of all new housing allocations towards vulnerable groups including those long-term homeless and people with special needs;
  • Bringing forward an additional 220 emergency beds for Dublin;
  • Making accommodation available for every person sleeping rough in Dublin between now and Christmas for those who wish to avail of it;
  • Reaffirming the Government’s commitment to ending involuntary long-term homelessness by 2016.

In his own words: Jonathan Corrie on homelessness – and hoping for a chance

“He could have been helped a bit more”: Jonathan Corrie’s devastated family on his tragic death

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute John Sleator
    Favourite John Sleator
    Sep 27th 2023, 2:07 PM

In 2008 1.7tonne was worth 650million,In 2023 2.3tonne is worth 157million.
    Cost of living crisis must be hitting the drug dealers also these days.

Mute Paul Moloney
    Favourite Paul Moloney
    Sep 27th 2023, 5:27 PM

@John Sleator: That’s a good one john

Mute Shane Scanlan
    Favourite Shane Scanlan
    Sep 27th 2023, 2:01 PM

Street Value……I do wonder what streets the Guards are buying their drugs on……

Mute mainmsam
    Favourite mainmsam
    Sep 27th 2023, 2:11 PM

@Shane Scanlan: asking for a friend?

Mute Journal Commenter
    Favourite Journal Commenter
    Sep 27th 2023, 2:56 PM

@Shane Scanlan: “what street do you buy your drugs on? Because it’s not the same street I buy my drugs on!”

Mute Paul Moloney
    Favourite Paul Moloney
    Sep 27th 2023, 5:28 PM

@Shane Scanlan: I don’t know but if they ever want a better deal then they should go somewhere else

Mute shane o mahony
    Favourite shane o mahony
    Sep 27th 2023, 11:17 PM

@Shane Scanlan:at that price their probably selling around Temple bar

Mute Chris O'Brien
    Favourite Chris O'Brien
    Sep 27th 2023, 2:04 PM

Pointless waste of money.

Note that there will be no follow up reporting – there never is – on the actual impact of things like this.

We need information.

How much do drugs polices cost taxpayers? (millions a year at least)

What impact do they have on availability of drugs? (85% of drugs aren’t intercepted, so the educated guess would be that the impact is negligible and very tempory at best – more likely the impact is closer to zero)

Relative to their cost, bearing in mind how badly we need money to eg pay carers, what is the point of these policies?

Not reducing supply. Supply is unaffected.
    Not reducing deaths. We have twice the OD deaths of Portugal, which has twice our population.

So what’s the point?

I’m all for letting the lads shoot machine guns into the ocean, but surely that can’t justify the cost.

Mute Butters
    Favourite Butters
    Sep 27th 2023, 2:21 PM

@Chris O’Brien: seeing as a kilo starts for about 2k from it’s point of origin the original value of the cocaine probably cost less than the surveillance alone.

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Sep 27th 2023, 8:41 PM

@Butters: the real cost is the impact, not how much it costs to make them. It doesn’t cost much to make bullets, but they do a lot of harm. However, I would not assume to know the impact this haul would make or not make, I’m just thinking about the desperately addicted people here.

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Sep 27th 2023, 5:09 PM

Great work by all involved, maybe tip of the iceberg but it keeps some of the filth off our streets.

Mute Michael Costello
    Favourite Michael Costello
    Sep 27th 2023, 9:24 PM

@Eamon: Why are people so negative. A budget amount is given for all the law enforcement agencies for the purpose of detecting and seizing drugs entering Ireland. While I agree that drugs are imported every week into Ireland a seizure like this, no matter how small people think it is, should be celebrate. How many lives has this seizure saved ?. And I don’t mean deaths from drugs. There are serious OCG running riot in this country and importation of drugs is just 1 of their sources of income. They reek havoc every where, people smuggling for slavery, prostitution, extreme porn. Let’s celebrate 1 up for the good guys

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Sep 27th 2023, 4:57 PM

On my way to Wexford for 2 x bags of strawberries…

Mute Brian Keelty
    Favourite Brian Keelty
    Sep 27th 2023, 6:45 PM

@Paddy: Double dips ? On blotter paper?

Mute John Sleator
    Favourite John Sleator
    Sep 27th 2023, 7:04 PM

@Brian Keelty: showing your age there I think lol

Mute Don't Forget
    Favourite Don't Forget
    Sep 27th 2023, 5:16 PM

We should keep and it sell ourselves to pay off our debt. By bedtime tonight the Garda will estimate the haul to be now worth 600 trillion bajilloon euros.

Mute Ciaran O Donoghue
    Favourite Ciaran O Donoghue
    Sep 27th 2023, 5:11 PM

Has the value of cocaine decreased since 2008? I’d have thought that it went up.

Mute Luka Roche
    Favourite Luka Roche
    Sep 27th 2023, 5:02 PM

Great money in Drugs.. Surprised Michael and Paschal don’t have a tax tied to it….

Then they’d know the drug dealers

Mute Leonard Gardner
    Favourite Leonard Gardner
    Sep 27th 2023, 5:14 PM

Probably bound for the UK and we done them a favour

Mute Sickof thisshit
    Favourite Sickof thisshit
    Sep 27th 2023, 6:28 PM

By the time it’s cut up Irish dtyle6itll be 10 x that.

Mute Jason L
    Favourite Jason L
    Sep 28th 2023, 2:30 PM

Liked and shared hope I win!

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected