You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PICS: 250 locals take back Kildare stud farm from receivers and lock them out

The farm, owned by Eugene McDermott, was to be sold by IBRC following an outstanding loan of €814,000.

AROUND 250 LOCALS in Co Kildare removed IBRC receivers from a local stud farm yesterday afternoon and locked them out.

The farm, owned by Eugene McDermott, was to be sold by IBRC, formally known as Anglo Irish Bank, following an outstanding loan of €814,000. While McDermott also owes money to Bank of Scotland, believed to be in the region of around €7 million.

On Thursday, the group, headed up by Charlie Allen of the Rodolphus Trust, padlocked themselves inside the 120-acre of Kennycourt Stud Farm in Brannockstown and parked a digger at the gate preventing gardaí and security guards working for the receivers from entering the site.

However, when locals left on Friday the security removed the padlock and the digger and moved onto the site.

At around 2.30pm yesterday afternoon, the locals gathered on the Curragh and moved in convoy to a field near the stud farm. They crossed fields and used an angle grinder to cut through IBRC’s chains on fencing.

When they got to the stud farm the two security men were told to leave and the group pushed the security men’s cars onto the road. They then returned the digger to its former position in front of the gate and padlocked it.

No gardaí were present during the takeover and McDermott, who still lives in the house on the farm, did not attend.

Here are 13 pictures from yesterday’s takeover:

Kennycourt Stud Farm
1 / 12
  • Kennycourt Stud Farm

Source: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Kennycourt Stud Farm

Charlie Allen of the Rodolphus Trust uses an angle grinder to cut through IBRC's chains.Source: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Kennycourt Stud Farm

Charlie Allen of the Rodolphus Trust speaks to one of IBRC's security.Source: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Kennycourt Stud Farm

Middle Ireland on the march.Source: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Kennycourt Stud Farm

The group moved in convoy across Kildare fields to retake the farm.Source: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Kennycourt Stud Farm

Charlie Allen of the Rodolphus Trust (front left with yellow waistcoat) leads about 250 people across fields to retake the Kennycourt Stud Farm in Co Kildare from receivers acting for IBRC.Source: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

PICS: Locals lock themselves inside Kildare farm to prevent repossession>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

308 Comments
    Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:16 PM

So the original owner owes nearly 8 million and owned a 120 acre stud and he did also not attend the reclaiming of his stud. I have a few questions as to how he got in this situation before I support forcibly taking it back. 8 million owed and 120 acre stud sounds like a failed businessman to me.

Mute Mark Anthony Bannon
    Favourite Mark Anthony Bannon
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:30 PM

Put your view in perspective. “Businessmen” invested circa €50 Billion in Irish banks and stood to lose it all and become, as you say, failed businessmen….That was until our government bailed them out of course. We protect outside investors instead of our indigenous population and industry and you cannot show solidarity with you fellow countryman. I can only jump to yhe conclusion thay you are upper middle class Dublin I.e not really Irish.

Mute Bobby Murray
    Favourite Bobby Murray
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:35 PM

Here here Mark Anthony very well articulated and basic common sense.
    The Politically Correct Fraternity turning on those that are standing up to the corruption of Banking cartel!

See 50 more replies ▾
    Mute John Divney
    Favourite John Divney
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:39 PM

Seeing as the government and therefore the people own IBRC he is siding with his countrymen.

Also, who appointed you arbiter or irishness?

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:42 PM

What are you talking about man. The guy with the guy faulks mask is clearly an occupy professional protester and the rest of the mob at a guess would be eirigi or those other loons that stormed the auction with their ‘constant markievicz he died over their in that park for ireland’. They protest against the big investors then help then the next. The owner didn’t even show up. These are hired thugs and wasters

Mute Penelope Wizzlehurst
    Favourite Penelope Wizzlehurst
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:45 PM

How does being middle-class Dublin make you less Irish? Genuine question.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:50 PM

And the reason the banks failed initially is the likes of McDermott borrowing obscene amounts and their inability to repay the loans, NOT the 95% of the population who have, on the whole, manageable mortgages. Yes, about 15% may be in arrears, but they are for amounts that can be reworked, whether it’s interest only for a period, a sabbatical on payments until they are in a better position or some degree of “discount”. But with regard to a debt of €8million on a BUSINESS venture, which has been through the relevant courts & procedures followed, they don’t have a leg to stand on.
    I wonder if his tax affairs are in order, because if the Revenue Sheriff needs to visit – it will be a completely different scenario for these “protesters”.

Mute Mark Anthony Bannon
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:59 PM

Firstly the Government do not own anything whatsoever, we fail to understand sometimes that the governments primary responsibility is to the people of Ireland, the protection of its resources and its constitution. They guaranteed bank deposits without a mandate from the people of Ireland, thereby ensuring generations of debt for each citizen. They did this due to advice, pressure and lobbying from the banking cartels. Those who would have stood to lose the most. They did not consider the ordinary Irish citizen. Do not be fooled; each hour you work and receive an hourly wage about 23% goes directly to pay back bondholders who decided to invest in the riskiest category of loans knowing full well that they could lose the original capital. Yet the Government decided to guarantee these investments.

Secondly, the bankers who recklessly traded by giving out 100% loans with very little control are now buying back these non performing loans for a fraction of the original cost. They are currently on a buying spree and stand to make millions.

Yet the governments divide and conquer tactics work. The ordinary Irish people argue with eachother like we are doing now. We fight witj ourselves instead of seeing the real enemy that is the IMF and banking cartels. Don’t resent these ordinary people that face eviction. Resent 55% income tax, property tax, water charges, 23% VAT, €3,000 a week pensions for Bertie and Cowen etc. We need to wake up.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:01 PM

Eugene McDermott is not, as you put it, “ordinary Irish”.
    Ordinary Irish don’t have loans of €8million they can’t, or won’t repay.

Mute thefunnyman
    Favourite thefunnyman
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:01 PM

It’s the west Brit thing if you’re from the j1 visa brigade your not really Irish, do you get me loike, roysh.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:05 PM

That’s neither here or there. People are being turfed out of their homes by hired thugs under the guise of the banks. I mean the comments here are disgusting. If you can’t support your own then Ireland is a lost cause.

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:08 PM

Well said mark .!!

Mute Linda Dunne
    Favourite Linda Dunne
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:09 PM

Because … some of us still remember what its like to live “outside” the Pale. Thing is … now there is more of US lol …… sweet question though ..

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:11 PM

But he hasn’t been at the property all week, and he’s not sleeping rough, I can only assume he has another property, or properties. The stud is a business asset either put up as collateral against the loan, or used the loan to purchase. It’s not an eviction, it’s a business asset repossession – big difference.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:12 PM

Don’t feed the trolls Penelope. The downside to social media is that semi illiterate fools can express their distorted version of reality

Mute Mark Anthony Bannon
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:13 PM

It stems from historical political ties with British colonialism. Traditionally south Dublin was home to those with the most allegiance to Britian. They never fully integrated with Irish culture, this has led to a fear of and lack of trust in the rural people of Ireland. They do not live the same lives or share the same idealogies.
    There are very little signs of recession in this part of Ireland and so people in South Dublin cannot emphatise with the struggles the rest of the country. Sadly, it is this political class that have most of the influence in the media and that is why it is difficult to organise mass protest and make real changes for the people of Ireland.

I believe we are currently under siege from outside forces such as the IMF. Our current Government lacks the leadership to make a stand. That is why it is up to ordinary people like the anti eviction task forces to make a stand. We must do whatever is necessary to restore our soverinty.

Mute cholly appleseed
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:15 PM

Mark, your clearly not considering ‘the ordinary irish citizen’ as you put it, by supporting a business man stud owner who owes 8million to the tax payer!! Your trying to sound all righteous but your contradictory statements speak for themselves

Mute Mark Anthony Bannon
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:23 PM

I appreciate he is not the norm but you are missing the point or maybe I am not explaining it properly.

I support ANY action that defends the Irish people against the austerity programme forced upon us by the IMF. We are talking about this man in particular because it was such a large anti eviction taskforce turnout and its now in the media. Make no mistake, any Irish citizen that is removed from their home and property is an attack on us all. I am not interested in this particular case, I am concerned with the entire movement.

Mute Solbank Sabadell
    Favourite Solbank Sabadell
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:25 PM

So far it’s cost the state €100000 to make this mans life hell and his 18 employees lose their jobs. The numbers don’t add up. We are allowing our corrupt government and bankers shoot us in foot.

Mute Solbank Sabadell
    Favourite Solbank Sabadell
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:32 PM

The tax payer as you say hardly wants to pay €100000 to ruin a mans life’s work his employees livelihoods and his young family’s childhood. Cop yourself on IRBC no longer exists and the corrupt spongers running up vast bills allegedly chasing money for the tax payer are riding us!!!

Mute Lugh Eile
    Favourite Lugh Eile
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:58 PM

Well said Mark. Bonds can also be insured so either way investors can’t lose. The Irish people have been screwed yet again by our own. German Government bonds have recently risen in value which no doubt is great news for Mr Noonan who owns some. I seriously think no proper investigation will go into the banking scam and would be very surprised if there are any arrests as most of the politicians are up to their neck in it.
    .”Evening Herald has a story tonight that the theives walked in using a swipe card to open locked doors. They went directly to a particular 3rd floor office and spent 30 minutes selecting which laptops to take. They entered and left after the staff had left but before the alarm went on. The laptops taken were all part of tax evation investigations into property developers. The Herald says the developers were all connected to the Fianna Fail party (but that is true of 99% of property developers).” Using a swipe card? I’ve yet to hear of any arrests and won’t be holding my breath!

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:46 PM

I would have thought buying a stud farm was upper class

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:49 PM

he doesn’t owe 8 million to the taxpayer. he owes over 7 million to bank of Scotland. The taxpayer don’t own bank of Scotland. Read the article.

Mute Mark Anthony Bannon
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:49 PM

Its the mentality of a collective group that defines class not assets.

Mute John Turkey
    Favourite John Turkey
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:50 PM

“Landlord loses estate to peasants, but peasants don’t want to own it.”

Nice.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:51 PM

Agreed Patrick. Totally.

Sep 1st 2013, 5:19 PM

Well then as a Dubliner, I suppose I should throw out my Irish dancing medals, my Irish language schoolbooks, my Gaeltacht photos, my family GAA photos, my Irish degree transcripts, all our Irish-sourced goods and demand repayment of all the tax and PRSI I paid to Ireland. After all, I’m not an Irish citizen by your outstandingly stupid logic, so what’s the point?

Sep 1st 2013, 5:25 PM

‘There are very little signs of recession in this part of Ireland.’

I guess you just chose to ignore the boarded up buildings, homeless people and overcrowded class sizes then? The dole queues? The people who have emigrated due to a lack of work? The recession has affected the entire country, and if people in Dublin display a lack of trust in rural dwellers, perhaps your ill-informed comments have something to do with it.

Mute Mark Anthony Bannon
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:31 PM

If you know you’re Irish you don’t need me to validate you.

I explained the historical political reasons for a separation of the body politic into the upper class of south Dublin and the rest of Ireland. Of course there are people like yourself that engage in the culture but the collective mentality of the two classes are at odds. One cannot understand or emphatise with another and so we continue to debate without realising families are being forced out of their homes, kids go to school with no lunch, there are soup kitchens for normal everyday families that are now in poverty because of austerity. People in the rural communities are really struggling.

In my experience the people of Dublin have no appreciation that this stuff is happening and that we are trying to change it.

Mute Mark Anthony Bannon
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:36 PM

Well I am pretty sure anyone not agreeing with this anti-eviction taskforce is from Dublin. You can argue all you want and try to point holes in what im saying but the proof of it is that no one outside of Dublin views this anti eviction movement as wrong. That’s my point.

Mute RP McMurphy
    Favourite RP McMurphy
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:47 PM

I know this man. His father is a property developer in that area. Family, including Eugene, own(ed) almost one side of the Main Street in Naas, along with a shell of a shopping centre. Eugene pinhooked in the horsey game for years. Maybe that is where the losses mounted up, or perhaps he is attached to the property side of things with the family and 7m is his part of the debt. Either way, I’m delighted the locals stood up to the bank. Long may it last and I hope it happens more frequently in Ireland.

Sep 1st 2013, 5:59 PM

People in communities everywhere are struggling – poverty doesn’t come with a postcode. Some more so than others, but people who borrowed millions and refuse to hand back the items they can no longer afford are part of the problem. In this case, we aren’t talking about a modest family home, it’s a million-euro stud farm that everyone else is being expected to pay for.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 6:00 PM

Thomas ; you must be from the country to post that …that or you’re one of thosE teachers who don’t understand the word IRONY…

Mute RP McMurphy
    Favourite RP McMurphy
    Sep 1st 2013, 6:10 PM

@penelope…why do you believe everybody else is paying for it??? The big money is owed to Bank of Scotland!!! You are taking the populist ‘run with the herd’ view which is so common on this site! The money owed to IBRC? Could be recouped if they let the guy get on with his business and pay it off over 10-15 yrs!

Mute Mark Anthony Bannon
    Sep 1st 2013, 6:10 PM

Tell that to the families he employs. They part of the problem too so using your logic?

Sure it will be grand. They can emigrate like the rest of the poor.

You’ll always be OK though won’t you; Daddys friends from his school days will give you a job if your stuck.

Mute Peter Gavin
    Favourite Peter Gavin
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:00 PM

That’s a mighty big chip on your shoulder Mark. For a champion of rural Ireland you seem to know an awful lot about the lives of people in South Dublin.

Mute Mark Anthony Bannon
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:05 PM

As I said, I live and work in Dublin and I am therefore in a position to have an overview of the entire system.

Sep 1st 2013, 8:13 PM

”Daddys friends from his school days will give you a job if your stuck’

Well no actually, seeing as how I emigrated to London for work. Obviously your all-seeing overview isn’t as accurate as you think it is.

Mute Mark Anthony Bannon
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:32 PM

I’m sorry that the actions of others have forced you to emigrate. I really am.

I would much prefer for all of us to be together on this and bring forth revolution and reform.

I was simply trying to explain how there exists two opposing mindsets in Ireland. As long as these classes exist there will always be a divided nation. It’s like the lack of support for the dublin bus strike. I can’t understand peoples logic for not supporting it but I can explain the geo political reason that lead to their skewed view.

I hope one day you can come back and ve part of a new Ireland.

Mute Mike Fitzgerald
    Favourite Mike Fitzgerald
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:34 PM

A perceptive comment. Shame that other commentators dont have the same insight and understanding. The real issue is the monetary system. in 1930′s Henry Ford said @ if the people knew and understood the banking system there would be a revolution before tomorrow evening..

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:57 PM

Still nobody will explain this mans situation. I am not giving out to the journal its either Eugene or one of the 250 who should respond yet nothing. Sorry lads not convinced. Distraction from the real issue.

Mute Jerome
    Favourite Jerome
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:11 PM

@mark. Sounds like this gambler was little different from the bankers. Difference is, he lost – bankers never lose! (Ok so they lost €80billon, but apart from €80billion what else did they lose ? ). Somehow I just can’t get concerned for a failed Irish oligarch !

Mute Mark Anthony Bannon
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:17 PM

Fiat currencies always fail. I think this decade will be a defining one. Since the advent of the gold standard and the monetary system we havr moved to legalised slavery through wages. Money is not real it only works becuase we believe its real. We will wake up soon I think. Possibly in 5 years. People cant take the effects of the monetary system anymore.

Mute Judith Allen
    Favourite Judith Allen
    Sep 1st 2013, 10:08 PM

This forum never ceases to amaze me, full of opinions and zero action – it’s actually laughable some of the assumptions here, you waste your time giving out about everything and anything – I’d love to know what all you geniuses have set up as an alternative ? There have been plenty of other evictions deferred due to actions such as this for families in far worse circumstances but I’m very sorry all you armchair theorists weren’t aware of this before forming your ‘worthwhile’ opinions, I’m just thankful some people have the balls to stand up for what they believe in as we would be waiting a long time for most of you here to do anything past typing a useless comment giving your 2 cents on a topic it’s clear you know little about.

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    Sep 1st 2013, 11:01 PM

In my experience the people of Dublin have no appreciation that this stuff is happening and that we are trying to change it.

Seriously? what do you think we do up here all the time, Maybe if you sent some less cowardly TD’s up to Dublin to represent you you might get something but no rural Ireland has always looked after rural Ireland and that is the reason we have gombeens running the country. Please lay off the Dubs we are sick of you people trying to blame us for everything grow up and read a bit.

Mute Mark Anthony Bannon
    Sep 1st 2013, 11:11 PM

I voted for Ming Flanagan because he fights for turf cutters right to cut their own turf for their personal use. He takes real action on this. He is not a career polilitican like the rest of them except for about 6 others in the Dail.

Mute Laura Nolan
    Favourite Laura Nolan
    Sep 1st 2013, 11:14 PM

Mike Great quote and oh so true!!!

Mute Laura Nolan
    Favourite Laura Nolan
    Sep 1st 2013, 11:16 PM

Mark, you’re gonna have great difficulty trying to convert the brainwashed. It took me a while but with research and patience, what you say is all true

Mute Jerome
    Favourite Jerome
    Sep 1st 2013, 11:19 PM

Do what exactly r u saying Judith?

Mute Mike Fitzgerald
    Favourite Mike Fitzgerald
    Sep 2nd 2013, 12:08 AM

A COUPLE OF RESPONSES SAY I AND OTHERS ARE ARMCHAIR THEORISTS. I DONT THINK SO. I COMMEND ANYONE WHO STANDS UP AGAINST BANKS BUT IT IS THE SYSTEM THAT IS WRONG. FIAT CURRENCY ETC ETC, MAYBE STANDDING UP TO BANKS A START FOR CHANGE,,,,SORRY RE CAPITALS …NOT ANGRY..ONLY NOTICED WHEN HALF WAY THROUGH
    ANOTHER QUOTE…JACOB ROTHSCHILD..LET ME CONTROL A COUNTRIES CURRENCY AND CREDIT AN THEN I CARE NOT WHAT LAWS THEY PASS

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 12:17 AM

“the meek shall inherit the earth but not its natural resources ; John Paul Getty ;
    First dollar cash billionaire in the U.S ,made his fortune in the deserts of the middle east ; he was as mean as dishwater by all accounts .

Mute Noel Gallagher
    Favourite Noel Gallagher
    Sep 2nd 2013, 8:08 AM

That’s semi-literate!

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 6:28 PM

Patrick, this guy isn’t being turfed out of his home. This is a business. If there happens to be a house attached to it, tough, they have to cut their losses and rent somewhere else.

Mute Thomas Reagan
    Favourite Thomas Reagan
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:09 PM

Please don’t call this a takeover. This is trespassing.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:20 PM

Thomas, Its called people power and doing the just and right thing.I say well done to them

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:23 PM

Denise maybe you can tell me how Eugene got into this mess into the first place.

See 32 more replies ▾
    Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:24 PM

This isn’t right that security guard was out doing his days work.im sure he has a family to feed and bills to pay and this group of thugs treat him like that.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price

trespassing ‘@thomas reagan …dose article 40.5 fall so . Please tell me what property means if you know so much .

Mute Thomas Reagan
    Favourite Thomas Reagan
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:34 PM

What are you on about? Article what?
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1994/en/act/pub/0002/sec0013.html
    13.—(1) It shall be an offence for a person, without reasonable excuse, to trespass on any building or the curtilage thereof in such a manner as causes or is likely to cause fear in another person.

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:38 PM

I think that picture of the security guard should be taken down. It must be very distressing for his family to see him being shoved around by that mob

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:42 PM

Well seeing as the loan came from Anglo maybe it was reckless lending Kevin? It’s not unheard of you know, Anglo and all, reckless lending of billions, bust economy, massive debts made payable by the public, lads laughing on tape about the whole thing???Ring a f*cking bell there Kevo?

Mute Fix Ireland
    Favourite Fix Ireland
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:48 PM

Reckless lending and reckless borrowing go hand in hand. It’s not like this man missed a few mortgage payments, he owes over 8 million.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:51 PM

“Reckless lending and reckless borrowing go hand in hand” – so there’s a dual responsibility, yes?A two way street?

Mute Bobby Murray
    Favourite Bobby Murray
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:53 PM

Kevin the same way we are all in the mess due to a conglomerate of corrupt politicians, bankers and bondholders? Wouldn’t it be wise to support those for what ever reason, who stand their ground against that conglomerate that epitomise corruption. Maybe the less fortunate in our society that are facing eviction due to no fault of their own may benefit from such action! To do nothing is not an option, it is a case of who do you support in this mess we all have been subjected too? I support anyone who stand up to the corruption that has plagued our country and Europe in general!

Mute Patrick O'Brien
    Favourite Patrick O'Brien
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:58 PM

Agreed the photographs of the security guard should not be posted insensitive

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan

@Fix Ireland.

He owes Anglo 814,000.

He owes bank of Scotland – not an Irish owned bank nor publicly funded or tax payer driven bank 7 million. Big difference here.

Mute Thomas Reagan
    Favourite Thomas Reagan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:10 PM

Hey Harry could you quote me section 40.5 ? I can’t find it.

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly

I say leave the picture up shows what this group of thugs are like.if this happened in a run down part of Dublin “the group of locals”would be known as a mob/vigilantes and would be called a riot.double standards in Ireland eh!

Mute CD
    Favourite CD
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:20 PM

I hope the Gardai use picture 9 to lock some of those thugs up…

Mute Thomas Reagan
    Favourite Thomas Reagan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:57 PM

““The dwelling of every citizen is inviolable and shall not be forcibly entered
    save in accordance with law.” ”

What does that mean in this case? It’s not his dwelling.

Mute Ben Brown
    Favourite Ben Brown
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:10 PM

since your so into law why are the bankers not in jail

Mute Ben Brown
    Favourite Ben Brown

yes he lived in the farm dumbass

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:12 PM

the farm even has better law both in the constitution and on statue then the dwelling go back to templemore

Mute Jerome
    Favourite Jerome
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:25 PM

This is now our bank, our debt, like it or not – and anyway it looks like the well heeled looking after each other – horsey set in cahoots !

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:34 PM

Screw ya

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:37 PM

Really ? He should have stayed at home . If he dies protecting the banks interest will they look after his family? No they f@@9?(;ing won’t . Never choose money against your fellow man. You will loose!

Mute GatheringYourMoney13
    Favourite GatheringYourMoney13
    Sep 1st 2013, 6:19 PM

More collateral damage of Anglo’s recklessness and criminality.
    If we were permitted to look at Anglo’s books
    I’d say that we would find other loans, of a lot more than 8 Million in there,
    that were lent out on a wink and a nudge with no collateral whatsoever.

Anglo the Criminal Bank.
    Ran by Criminals.
    Give this man back his farm you Criminals.
    He’s contributed far more to this economy than you ever did.
    You and your overpaid Gravy Train Hired Thugs and Receivers.

Anglo criminal Kabal that created a 32 Billion black hole (that will end up being 50-60 Billion by the time we pay it for)

Whose doorstepping and intimidating Seanie Fitz today?
    Whose Evicting him from his home?
    http://bigginsblog.wordpress.com/2013/03/20/most-vilified-banker-in-ireland-still-getting-vip-treatment/

Sep 1st 2013, 6:22 PM

Bring on the Attempted Evictions Enda!!!!
    There’s not enough Hi Viz Thugs in the country for all of us!!!!
    It’s Party Time Enda!!!
    Bring it on !!!!!!!
    Weasel Government!!!!!!

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:04 PM

to the journal and thomas reagan its a sad day when the journal is gagged and removes the truth as regards article 40.5 of irish constitution for the attention of the public and the gardai it says a lot about the country we to citizens live in

Mute CD
    Favourite CD
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:51 PM

I’m pretty sure the law says something about paying your debts or losing your collateral…

The dwelling of every citizen is inviolable and shall not be forcibly entered save in accordance with law.

Mute Fix Ireland
    Favourite Fix Ireland
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:53 PM

The dwelling of every citizen is inviolable and shall not be forcibly entered save in accordance with law

Stables do not come under the definition of a dwelling. And you seem to be ignoring the second half of the article you keep talking about. So in summary, either you do not know anything about what you are saying or you are deliberately trying to be misleading. Either way Harry you look like an idiot. Again.

Mute Jerome
    Favourite Jerome
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:00 PM

@alan Carroll. House is one thing, 120 acre stud farm is highest privelage, he gambled with the devil & lost.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:25 PM

Well actually Jerome he was highly successful in his field up until the crash – like many self employed and unemployed people up until the crash. The the crash came, caused largely by banks in the first place. Anglo being our nail in the coffin.

So, just to recap Jerome – the very bank that destroyed his business in the first place {and much of Ireland} kicked him off his land – and most people on this particular comments section are cheerleaders for the bank. Idiots.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:34 PM

Why is it right to defend a man who spent recklessly and now owes a fortune? Do these people not realise that THEY and the rest of us have to pay this man’s debts at the end of the day.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:37 PM

I see, Niall, it’s ok that he owes the seven million because it’s not to an Irish bank? A guy reneges on SEVEN MILLION euro, and these people are defending him, when it’s people like him that have us in the state we’re in.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:40 PM

Niall, just because people feel that this guy should face the consequences of his actions doesn’t mean that we support the banks. BOTH the banks and those that borrowed recklessly from them should face the consequences. The fact that the banks don’t seem to have to doesn’t mean it’s right that he should get away with it.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:45 PM

ìts people like you that has the country the way it is now on the brink of trouble

Mute Laura Nolan
    Favourite Laura Nolan
    Sep 1st 2013, 10:57 PM

Well said Niall. I don’t know how many people that have posted their comments here have personally dealt with receivers & their security people, but they are a nasty bunch, power trippers. I say well done to all those people who took to the farm!!

Mute cholly appleseed
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:16 PM

He owes around €8million. This isnt just a case of his family home being repossessed, this man invested and lost and knew the consequences. If people like this aren’t going to lose their assets then we have no hope of recovery. Shame on this mob

Mute Aodhan Fogarty
    Favourite Aodhan Fogarty
    Sep 1st 2013, 6:11 PM

7 million to a foriegn bank and just under 1million to a bailed out bank that put us in the recession.. The money made off the repossession won’t be giving back to tax payers and won’t be helping Ireland’s economy!!

Mute Vincent F
    Favourite Vincent F
    Sep 1st 2013, 7:00 PM

Do you suggest the loan is written off and he should remain on a 120 acre stud farm? If so I regret not borrowing €8,000,000 buying a house for 2 million and default on the debt yet stay in the house I bought and laugh at the people protesting to let me stay there. Come on!!!
    Now if this was a case where a family could not pay loan on there 3 bed semi which dropped by 50% in value but were trying to pay a reduced amount over a longer period and the house was a forced sale resulting in the family being thrown on the street I would object. I think people need to protest yes but please pick the right cause!!

Mute John Divney
    Favourite John Divney
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:21 PM

Judging from the photos it doesn’t look like they were too gentle with the poor security guard either, he was only doing his job.
    Absolutely no need for that.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

Definitely he was outnumbered 250-1 the way I see it. bullying.

Mute kevin connolly
    Favourite kevin connolly
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:41 PM

Yeah the fat stumpy bully boy. He’s like a wanna be heavy from Eastenders.

Mute Liam Rogers
    Favourite Liam Rogers

Arrest them and with assault

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:54 PM

All of you who go against this action of the 2550 or so people are offering your support to Sean Fitzpatrick and his pension ; well done the lot of you !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:03 PM

Thomas “the thug in a blueshirt” is it ? maybe…..
    Enda Kenny
    Dail Eireann
    Dublin
    I think that will get him , I could be wrong but he fits your description perfectly in my mind !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:04 PM

…or maybe Phil Hogan …..or maybe Michael Noonan ……. ALL AT THE SAME ADDRESS !

Mute Ben Brown
    Favourite Ben Brown

anyone have your name and address

Mute Tom Dallas
    Favourite Tom Dallas
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:14 PM

Fat lad in the Blue i reckon he would’t march in there on his own. And some of the posters say he is defending all things Irish, you can have Ireland if a mob of thugs can throw a fella around who is only doing his job. Tugs Bullies and Idiots.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:21 PM

Mine is it Bob ? or Thomas …..

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:38 PM

Ben ; sorry !

Mute Aodhan Fogarty
    Favourite Aodhan Fogarty
    Sep 1st 2013, 6:13 PM

250 witnesses against 1 yeah that’s not gonna work!!!

Mute Webolutionary
    Favourite Webolutionary
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:25 PM

They were holding him back, the man deserves a promotion.

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:10 PM

So he owes the money to US? Anyone up for organising a bigger group to take back what is ours?

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:18 PM

Their efforts would be better placed supporting the Priory Hall “residents”.

Mute Paddy Lyons
    Favourite Paddy Lyons
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:19 PM

Does he expect the taxpayer to pay his bills for him?

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly

Yes

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:55 PM

well the taxpayer is paying Sean Fitzpatrick’s pension and educating John Bowe for free, so why not this man Paddy ?

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    Sep 1st 2013, 6:11 PM

Mark Anthony Bannon. Congratulations! To stand out on these pages as a truly colossal b€llend – without peer – is a stunning achievement. Even the tired, small minded petty fcukwittery of Bobby Murray has been overshadowed today by your uneducated drivel. Well done!

Now go away.

Mute Irish Mule
    Favourite Irish Mule
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:27 PM

Thuggish behaviour, whatever about some poor sod being thrown out of their three bed semi but some lad gets greedy and owes millions. Why the heck would you waste your time defending greed. As for the treatment of that security guard he was clearly being assaulted on camera he was only doing his job. He should press charges against those thugs.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 11:58 PM

There is no easy walk to freedom anywhere, and many of us will have to pass through the valley of the shadow of death again and again before we reach the mountaintop of our desires.

Nelson Mandela

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 2:16 AM

red-thumbing Mandela! ; wow there’s a few of them racialists in this chatroom !

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:24 PM

Are we going to get the same bollox about Eugene McDermott that we get about the Quinns and Ivan Yates? Blah blah jobs… blah blah not his fault… blah blah banks etc.

Nobody in the banks put a gun to our heads and forced us to take out mortgages during the boom. I was raised to honour my debts and despite it being quite difficult at times, I do. And if it ever came to a point where I couldn’t, I wouldn’t expect to be allowed to live rent/payment free in the property. So why do these “anti eviction” protesters believe we should?

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan

I don’t agree with you most of the time, but on this I do.

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:47 PM

Thumbs-downing Brian’s comment makes no sense!

Mute Aodhan Fogarty
    Favourite Aodhan Fogarty
    Sep 1st 2013, 6:18 PM

Yes but when the bank manager tells you instead of taking out a million euro loan you can have 10 and sure pay it bank when you can it’s grand…

Banks encouraged these people to take outrageous loans without actually educating them!!

Mute Webolutionary
    Favourite Webolutionary
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:58 PM

@Aodan; I hear you, was a pub near us that operated the same way, you’d go down and ask for the loan of fifty, they’d say why not just have a few on the book? Settle when you have it’, you wake up the next day, dying, and you owe the whole dole…! Criminal I tell ya.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 6:35 PM

Aodhan, is anyone forced to listen to their bank manager? My bank manager offered me more than I asked for when I applied for a small home improvement loan. I said “no thanks”, because I wasn’t sure I could pay it back comfortable.

As my mother used to say about contraception, there’s no surer way to protect yourself than the word “no”. :-)

Mute Brian Od
    Favourite Brian Od
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:25 PM

No need to get rough with security staff only doing their job

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 12:46 AM

Never, never and never again shall it be that this beautiful land will again experience the oppression of one by another.

Nelson Mandela

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:05 PM

What the hell are you quoting Mandeal for? Mandeal disn’t do thirty years in prison for property speculators.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:06 PM

What the hell are you quoting Mandeal for? Mandelal disn’t do thirty years in prison for property speculators.

Mute Brian O'Donnell
    Favourite Brian O'Donnell
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:29 PM

Reminds me of the rally to support the Quinns. Misguided clowns.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price

you are now judge jury and executioner brian and you can join the gang cartel

Mute Michael Fallon
    Favourite Michael Fallon

This type of action would have more support if they stopped repossessions of family homes not failed incompetent business men.

Mute Fix Ireland
    Favourite Fix Ireland
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:49 PM

There are very few if any of those. How many people do you know of that have actually lost their family home?

Mute Matt McNamara
    Favourite Matt McNamara

Surely these photographs can be used in evidence and arrests made on these thugs !!!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:07 PM

Sean Fitzpatrick is awaiting trial ! He’s been arrested already and has to sign on at his local Garda station, don’t know if he got permission to attend the 600 euro a ticket Testimonial dinner of Brian O’Driscoll but he was there and he after swearing in court he had only a little over 3000 quid a month to live on …… He must have saved up for the ticket !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:37 PM

300 not 3000 apologies !

Mute Aodhan Fogarty
    Favourite Aodhan Fogarty
    Sep 1st 2013, 6:20 PM

If no one makes a complaint or presses charges how can the guards do anything??

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly

I suppose there was twice that amount of bank staff around him in the office on the day he was forced to take out the loan. Jaysis, won’t all those do gooders be livid when they find out they’re paying this man’s debt. How dumb and misguided can you be…

Mute Gearoid Griffin
    Favourite Gearoid Griffin
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:22 PM

Water gets muddied so fast with this whole repossession issue, doesn’t it.
    Need to know the background but on the face of it looks like this should be a lawful repossession.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:08 PM

On the face of it , it’s meant to ; that’s the trick !

Mute Keith Moynihan O' Brien
    Favourite Keith Moynihan O' Brien

Only in Ireland would people defend the bourgeoisie from the democratic state, and clap each others back that ’250 people’ roughed up one lonely security guard who accepted a job rather than be unemployed. (Pic 8-9)

*slow clap*

Mute Christina Coburn
    Favourite Christina Coburn
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:22 PM

I’m all for power to the people but jesus Mcdermott lost the Farm for non payment of debts no one forced him to buy the Farm. That picture of the security guard is a disgrace… shame on that lynch mob

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:11 PM

The security guard looks like a junkie to me ; still doctors differ and patients die !

Mute Tony Carey
    Favourite Tony Carey
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:51 PM

Dermot, how do you think You would Look, if someone had You By The Scruff of The Neck, while you were at your place of Employment,.??…This Man was a Work,..what protection under the Law, would you give to Him,.??…I find your Comment, regarding this Security Man,…Offensive to say the Least,.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 6:06 PM

I’d look like a junkie too Tony ! I find some of the posts here regarding the protestors offensive but hey that’s life !
    We are each of us one of 7 billion perspectives Tony , by definition none of us can see what another sees !
    If I was at a place of work on the wages that security men are paid I wouldn’t be caught by the scruff of the neck I can assure you of that. I don’t like soup !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:14 PM

Tony I don’t agree with the mishandling of the security guard by the way , but I totally agree that there should be no evictions ; if anything I admire the bravery of the security man but in this he is on the wrong side of the law and if you look at his eyes they have that “junkified” look to me…. I was merely pointing this out; hence my doctors differ……. !
    It was to balance the assumptive descriptions of thug etc. for the protestors !

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 1st 2013, 10:07 PM

Why do you think there should be no evictions, Dermot? Do you think it’s ok for people to borrow recklessly and then not face the consequences of their recklessness?

Mute Tony Carey
    Favourite Tony Carey
    Sep 1st 2013, 10:13 PM

The Word Junkie, as in your description of this Security Man at work, is No balance, to the description of the Protesters as Thugs. You should try and understand the Problems that face a Person addicted to Drugs, and the Family Problems ,. It is Your Description, of a Person with a Drug Addiction that i find Offensive ,. .,and i dont see any point, to your mentioning his Wages,.to me, thats like ..Adding insult to injury……..He is just a Working Man…and that is what most people see in this Photo…

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 10:34 PM

Grainne ; the banks got away scot-free with 64 billion that’s why I think there should be no evictions- they lost nothing and in the case of A.I.B. there was 1.4 billion transferred into a pension fund despite the fact it was publicly owned ! I have a load of other reasons but that’s enough for now !
    Tony ; I get your points, apologies , it is not my personal opinion I tend to post balancing and offensive comments as a mirror ! e.g. thugs v. junkies !
    With regard to the “only doing his job” well he’s there under the presupposition that evictions and the legality behind them is sound ; I know they are not , therefore I have little sympathy for any who work on the side of Bankers and politicians !

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 1st 2013, 10:43 PM

Dermot, just because the banks are getting away scot free doesn’t mean that this guy or people like him should. Two wrongs don’t make a right. Hopefully those responsible in the banks will face the consequences of their actions, but why should people who willingly took on these dodgy loans get away scot-free?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 11:15 PM

because they were the meat in the grinder for the bondholders burger and if the situation is allowed to progress without protest then your children will have nothing to eat or your grandchildren; the whole thing is a ponzi scheme ;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqvKjsIxT_8
    I would urge you to look at this clip ; it explains things very clearly.
    If you change your mind then as a result then I would simply ask that you share it if not then we will disagree ; it’s cyberspace after all ; nothing personal !
    either way I would love you to have a look at it and tell me what you think ; broaden my horizon with your perspective !

Mute Tony Carey
    Favourite Tony Carey
    Sep 2nd 2013, 12:44 AM

I accept your apology, regarding your comments..

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 12:49 AM

cheers tony; have a good one !
    all opinion matters especially and perhaps most importantly the one that one most disagrees with !

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:12 PM

While you can’t condone it, it’s basically breaking the law as far as I can see, you have to admire their bottle. The Irish never liked being evicted. :))

Mute Killian Lynch
    Favourite Killian Lynch
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:14 PM

It’s not like he’s being chucked out of a small cottage with starving kids. He owes nearly 8 million euro.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:33 PM

He must be well respected as 250 people turned up.

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Favourite Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:36 PM

It’s similar to the cult of the Quinn family up in Cavan!!

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan

If you’re from Cavan, then you know that Quinn created many well paid jobs for decades in a town where jobs were scarce. He was also well respected and liked.

Mute Thomas Reagan
    Favourite Thomas Reagan

He’s also added €50 onto my car insurance for the next 20 years.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:52 PM

He was also hoodwinked by, wait for it Thomas,….Anglo….surprise surprise……Note article above.

Mute Thomas Reagan
    Favourite Thomas Reagan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:04 PM

Everyone is a victim when it goes tits up. See above person in canary yellow waistcoat. A decent person puts their hand up and admits they were wrong and takes personal responsibility. Those people are few and far between in Ireland.

Mute Patrick Gormley
    Favourite Patrick Gormley
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:09 PM

I’m not being racist but…..check out the main photos of this mob , not many ” locals” . More like “rentamob” from Eastern Europe . Conflict of interest ( jobs) etc…

Mute james r
    Favourite james r

Which comes too €10000!! What about the billions. Our great government put on your shoulders

Mute Webolutionary
    Favourite Webolutionary
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:19 PM

he wasn’t being chucked out, that is what facebook will let you believe.

Mute Geraldine O Neill
    Favourite Geraldine O Neill
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:38 PM

But he didn’t turn up himself

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:45 PM

Thomas ; Fianna Fail, Labour, Sinn Fein and Fianna Fail added the extra cost to your insurance not Quinn ; it was they who voted for and or continue to uphold this most unholy and illegal legislation !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:47 PM

Insert “Fine Gael” for one of the above Fianna Fails ; I can’t tell the difference and would hate to insult anyone who considers themselves to be loyal to either branch !

Mute Ben Brown
    Favourite Ben Brown
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:11 PM

troll

Mute Jerome
    Favourite Jerome
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:46 PM

After delivering how many millions over many years on taxes, direct and indirect to the Irish economy. And don’t forget he did time, how much time have the €80billion bankers done – no doubt all good belvedere college boys with morals and ethics to best the band, and how much will you contribute to that €80 billion hole ? I don’t know either ! But Quinn …… easy target, he’s a jumped up culchie shur !

Mute Jerome
    Favourite Jerome
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:47 PM

@thomas Reagan.

Sep 1st 2013, 6:42 PM

€50 extra on your car insurance Thomas?
    You’d be still cycling or driving around in an ass and Kart Thomas
    if it were not for people like Sean Quinn
    bringing competition to the Irish Car Insurance market.
    What’s your point?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:01 PM

Who sold the shares to Quinn ?
    Who got fees for the transactions ?
    Did these people have inside knowledge ?
    Is Quinn acting to the gallery and behind it all laughing with the rest of the Bondholders while pretending to be broke ?
    Without full dsiclosure on all elements of the Bank Guarantee, then there isn’t a legal debt in the country that is held by any bank covered by it ; end of story !
    Oh. and remember one other thing a certain amount of your money that you pay into the financial system goes to fund Arms Companies and pays for terrorism and murder ; you don’t believe me now but it will be proven very soon !

Mute Mary Mulligan
    Favourite Mary Mulligan
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:20 PM

The Naas shopping centre project came to Standstill about a Year ago… It’s a big white elephant..
    Race horses repossessed and returned to Goffs as they were never paid for, this man was born privileged on an estate of originally 700 acres very large old house, old money so to say and it was not enough for him, I passed kennycourt yesterday just after 2.15…… Gates locked cars parked across them, he speculated and lost..!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:31 PM

Mary; would this be a fair resolution ;
    Mr. McDermott or whatever his name is is returned his original 700 acres and all that was purchased by him since is returned to the State !
    I don’t know and you probably don’t but what is the answer ?

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:44 PM

Geraldine, I’m sure he has plenty minions to do his dirty work for him. Doesn’t lower himself to getting his own hands dirty.

Mute Mary Mulligan
    Favourite Mary Mulligan
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:56 PM

The current acreage is now 120 … Originally 700 when owned by the father the rest has been sold off little by little over the years, the house seats surrounded by fields of land with the stud stables and animal housing right beside his house I could not see how he could keep the house without keeping he lands and the stud and the lodge house also…. I think if he owes the money he needs to pay it back,
    I had a business that failed a few years ago, we owed the taxman nothing all payed up, we ordered stock and paid for it as we received it, when we closed the shop, we owed only the bank, 30,000 which we are paying back at 800 euro a month, its like having a second mortgage, but we work hard and pay it…. It’s principle, he needs to pay it back, all greedy developers need to paid what they owe back, or have it taken from them.. and bent bankers need to go to jail…

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 11:24 PM

Mary; but the bent bankers won’t go to jail if the people don’t force change ; I agree that this particular person gambled and lost ; he should be allowed to retain his original farm though ; that is his children’s heritage ; it’s not his it’s his children’s food source and that is sacrosanct in my opinion !

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 6:25 PM

I’m not sure if respect is the word, William. Probably people looking to their own jobs, or from kind of mistaken loyalty to a chancer.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 9:56 PM

When does a business man who was successful for several decades, generates billions of Euro in turnover and employ hundreds of people become a chancer? Maybe we need more chancers and less begrudgers.

Mute Amy Ní Chaoimh
    Favourite Amy Ní Chaoimh

If only there was this kind of support for working people who owe a fraction of what this quasi-Quinn owes. Misguided.

Mute Fix Ireland
    Favourite Fix Ireland

Trespass, assault, criminal damage, riot, unautorised taking of a motor vehicle. Plenty of evidence. If there are no follow up prosecutions for this then the local Gardaí should be ashamed. This is not some down on his luck homeowner. This is another Quinn wannabe who borrowed more then he could repay and has found a herd of idiots to support him, probably with promises of local jobs or free pints.

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:50 PM

So this gob scheidt owes eight million to whoever …..and the neighbours are protecting him ?!?! I wonder how much all the neighbours owe ….possibly to you the taxpayer ?!?!?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan

64 billion Michael and counting that’s what our “neighbours” , or german and french banks if you prefer !

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:59 PM

I reckon if the 250 of them got together and threw in a few hundred thousand each they could make a dent in what he owes. “Neighbours, everybody needs good neighbours”

Mute Usawadee Wannapho
    Favourite Usawadee Wannapho
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:33 PM

A truly lawless society.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:17 PM

Well said ;
    Do you see what the guards are up to ;
    stealing money out of Garda stations, bank fraud with bank cards , free drink behind high walls ??? and that’s just a flavour of what we know ; shockin’ isn’t it !
    I won’t even mention the two guards who were investigating the P.I.P. scandal and who then took early-retirement and joined Bank of Ireland , cos that’s not illegal it is fishy to me though !

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:54 PM

So we have gotten to the stage where you can now borrow any amount of money in Ireland if someone is stupid enough to give it to you, and if your investment turns sour you can then renege on your responsibility to repay any of it,sounds like anarchy to me,and the worst part,the money is owed to the citizens of the country who are now owners of the banks.

Mute Julie Kerr
    Favourite Julie Kerr
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:03 PM

Judging by the pictures they man handled the poor security guard. At the end if they day he’s only doing his job he has the right to earn a living just like everyone else, there was no need to gang up on him. That’s a definite form of bullying.

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:04 PM

Wish I could just take a stud farm like that. These rich folks who think they’re above the law are what have this country where it is. It’s time to let NAMA/NTMA do their job and not let rich greedy thugs like this fool people into thinking it’s ‘people power’. Pay your mortgage, work hard and show respect and the recession will never affect you.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 1st 2013, 10:02 PM

Obviously, Darren, some of their serfs think he’s above the law, and themselves too. And they’re right – not one single person of those 250 will face any consequences for their lawbreaking.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 1:15 AM

oh…………….. so we’re SERFS now Grainne? ; is that a little bit of after banking dinner terminology slipping out there ?
    SERFS ! Mary you said SERFS ! SERFS, SERFS, SERFS, SERFS !
    What does that make you Grainne ?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 1:16 AM

Sorry Grainne I refered to you as Mary in the middle ; your post reminded me of Mary O’Rourke for some reason ; apologies !

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:55 PM

The thick schmuck in the waistcoat is a bit like toad of toad hall ain’t he …thick rich and ignorant !

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:18 PM

A bunch of howaya thugs and thick micks. Looks like a scene from “the field’

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:48 PM

Seany Fitz and “Picked it outta my arse Bowe” is it Paul? ; Thugs and micks is right !

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint

Its hard to have sympathy with people that have a stud farm but that’s missing the point. This is a good thing. If we organise we can change the political mindset & our plight. As a nation it’s time we learned to own our country. This is what these people have done regardless of how right or wrong it is. If we want change this is whats require.

Mute Thomas Reagan
    Favourite Thomas Reagan

How did this man own the stud farm? He did at one point using borrowed money. He then took on even more money backed by his stud farm to buy horses. He never owned anything, it was all borrowed cash. Now he doesn’t want to pay but he still wants to own the stuff.
    How can we live in a society that goes by those rules? Maybe I want to own a castle and ten houses for myself. I can go to the bank and they will pay for it all without me every paying them back?

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:37 PM

Thomas we live in a society where there is no rules or consequences for governments big business religious orders criminals & most of all bank’s. I want some of that power for myself or it to be taken away from the above mentioned. So as the former won’t change lets have the latter. We need an economic revolution. This maybe the green shoots of that.

Mute Webolutionary
    Favourite Webolutionary
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:17 PM

Why are the social media (facebook keyboard warrior fringe groups) calling this an eviction? Nobody was being evicted, his mansion, flash cars, etc were not at risk!!
    This is a battle of the Kilkenny Trust vs thecourts, a social experiment, that will fail, like the fallon familys pub, lft high and dry in court, the’Trust’ didnt even bother turning up.
    Freeman BS, with the Irish being led to believe they halted an unjust eviction, when none of that happened! dafuq?

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:50 PM

I agree with your point but this issue is not about the stud farm or the facts of the case. It’s about 250 people standing up for what they believe. Are you saying there are no evictions or borderline legal evictions in Ireland. There are plenty of them but most of them are not high profile like this one but these people have taken a stand here. That’s the big story people taking a stand. If it happens often enough it will effect change. The law is irrelevant in situations like this. When the Berlin wall came down people broke the law enough to be shot by vandalizing it. This may amount to nothing but it’s a good development because it shows what can be achieved.

Mute James Mark Donnelly
    Favourite James Mark Donnelly

You get it Mjhint! Its depressing watching people asking for criminal prosecution etc. It seems we’ll continue to sleepwalk into conformity no matter what it is. It seems people have just accepted the bank bailout and all the shenanigans, and have now simply moved onto making sure the banks are paid back in case more of their tax euro’s are taken. People need to back up again. We can’t simply forget what has happened and stupidly accept it, letting bankers and ministers have a virtually free ride. I agree that its hard to find sympathy in this case, but the principal is there! United, we can force an ACTUAL solution. To many ‘Im all right jack’ people though :(

Mute Webolutionary
    Favourite Webolutionary
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:09 PM

So if I buy a nice BMW M3, say I am going to open a taxi business, then refuse to pay for the car, nobody has the right to come repossess the motor? That is what happened here, fact that it’s land doesnt make this an eviction as the agenda commandos are spinning.
    Would you agree as a tax payer to pay for my BMW?

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:15 PM

Yes James I agree. If you take all the political & economic issues Ireland has had down the years & research it you will see the solutions to these issues were brought about by the Irish people themselves & not any government. We complain all the time about politics & all types of issues but no action. The politicians are liars & so are the banks. We have this mindset to trust such people. Breaking the law is no longer a reason to prevent such actions. Its just a distraction. I commend these people they are patriots of which there are few of in Ireland.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:26 PM

How did Sean Fitzpatrick end u running a bank you could ask that one as well !

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:33 PM

Web the banks have brought this on themselves. You are correct it’s anarchy brought about by a banking system that deliberately drove up house prices with the cooperation of their economic partners in government & construction. This is the result of that “we don’t give a fcuk we’re making money” attitude. Well if its anarchy in making money then what’s wrong with this anarchy. This is the results of people feeling shafted. If something doesn’t work it will be replaced. This maybe it’s replacement.

Mute James Mark Donnelly
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:37 PM

Thats the issue though. Thats whats happened, and is happening in terms of the banks etc. Its just that people seem to just accept it as a given. Its like they’ve just went, ‘That was terrible’, let them get away with it all, and then sided with them in going after everyone they want. Like has been said, its the principal of people being united, and standing up together against the great injustice that has occurred in our nation, and NOT allowing us simply move on from what the banks etc have done and are doing, that is to be applauded. I don’t know why people have just decided to accept what has happened, but I applaud anyone who stands up and says, ‘Hang on a minute’.

Mute James Mark Donnelly
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:39 PM

*Above is in reply to Weboltionary*

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:47 PM

Again I agree we don’t seem to address our problems in Ireland. If you look at the 1916 rising most Irish people condemned the actions of those that took over the post office. It was a public opinion disaster for those involved until after the trials & executions of those involved. For a very educated nation we are badly informed.

Mute RP McMurphy
    Favourite RP McMurphy
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:00 PM

@Thomas Reagan. His father gave it to him. He improved it, both main house and yard. Built on, modernised the yard, built ménage, put in walker etc…Tried very hard to make it work. But the horsey game well known to be risky and many in that game live the high life….part of the image I suppose!! Still has his Porsche for cruising around mind you :-)P

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 6:31 PM

So, Mjhint, you think it’s a good thing that people stand up for what they believe, when what they believe is that a man who gambled millions of euro should get away scot free?

Mute Mary Mulligan
    Favourite Mary Mulligan
    Sep 1st 2013, 7:49 PM

Mr McDermott whom owned half of Naas town, who borrowed to build a shopping centre in Naas, who borrowed to buy expensive horses who are now repossessed and gone back to Goffs, who owns many properties, is just another greedy developer, with a taste for the high life…. Who has now lost his family home, a home he inherited from his father… He owes nearly 8 million ! This is not a story of a men who lost his job, and has struggled to keep his family afloat and keep his 3/4 bed semi, as far as I am concerned Mr McDermott greedily gambled to acquire even more wealth then he originally had, if he has lost his estate it was through pure greed,

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:04 PM

Interesting post Mary ; have all his properties been confiscated in Naas ?
    Good regulation and a proper tax code would have prevented his building up of such a “Bubbled” portfolio !

Mute Webolutionary
    Favourite Webolutionary
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:49 PM

He didn’t lose his family home, the mansion was not in the proceedings. stop spreading mothergooseres. The goons who think they stopped an eviction will get allexcited again. :P

Mute Jennifer Allen
    Favourite Jennifer Allen
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:41 PM

Why haven’t the rent-a-crowd done anything about the situation in Priory Hall? Those are genuine people who bought in good faith and would happily repay their mortgages if they only had a roof over their heads. This country sickens me. This stud farm guy is an example of exactly the kind of reckless borrowing that landed the country in this mess. And the mob will mind him, and call security guards only looking to put dinner on the table and a roof over the heads of their own families scabs. I despair of this country sometimes.

Mute Kevin Keogh
    Favourite Kevin Keogh
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:24 PM

Jennifer, did you do anything yourself about the Priory Hall situation ? and how do you know the guy on the farm borrowed reckless, a stud farm is where they breed horses and cattle, the cattle are used by you and others for milk and meat, bar your a veggie, which is sound. I marched and protested with Priory Hall residents and will do so again, will you ?. But to be honest the protests do nothing and all the complaining falls on deaf ears of Kenny & Gilmore, they couldn’t give a hoot, now action they do hear load and clear, action yesterday restored a family to there home and land and yes I was there too. To me and many others it makes no difference be it a farm or house in the city, all evictions are immoral at the hands of corrupt bankers and politicians. And any man who fills his pockets full of silver from these Banksters to feed himself while aiding evictions deserves no sympathy from Irish people in this century or the last one when they cast Irish families onto the roadside including my own.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 11:18 PM

Well done for marching Kevin; a worthy cause. I salute you sir !

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Sep 2nd 2013, 8:55 AM

well said ITS THE SYSTEM that is at odds with it self and causing mayhem to democracy because of the few dictating to the many

Mute Noel O'Gorman
    Favourite Noel O'Gorman
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:00 PM

Nice of Charlie in the yellow waistcoat to provide photographic evidence of his act of criminal damage on IBRC property. Ball is in their court now to bring a prosecution for it.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo

He didn’t bother with the old safety goggles either I note

Mute Ben Sweeney
    Favourite Ben Sweeney
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:30 PM

The only person I feel for here is the security lad who got manhandled for doing his job.

Mute A.G
    Favourite A.G
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:25 PM

F##king thugs!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:41 PM

I know; I have a distinct distaste for bankers and politicians as well !

Mute Keith Richardson
    Favourite Keith Richardson
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:58 PM

Unfortunately there is probably no room in the prisons for these 250 criminals. (Criminal damage, assault, and trespass by the looks of things)

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan

there mustn’t be ; maybe that’s the delay in bringing corrupt bankers to court , there’s no room in the ‘Joy for them ! ; Good point sir !
    I think there’s more than 250 of them though !

Mute Ben Brown
    Favourite Ben Brown
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:07 PM

Question did the bank break any laws when giving mortgages out
    Why cant the banks prove in court where there money came from
    and why cant the banks prove in court who owns the mortgage

the bank broke liquidity laws They should be in jail

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:25 PM

Well said Ben we also have the evidence from the Anglo tapes that show that there was a distinct lack of regard for our Sovereignty ; they owe me 100, 000 in damages on that one is the way I see it !

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan

In the US and some other countries, the banks can only get back whatever they get from selling the asset. They can’t bankrupt you. If that law was brought into Ireland it would keep house prices lower which of course is a great thing. Many people waste too much of their money on their houses.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:55 PM

I agree with you everything should be done to keep domestic housing as cheap as possible with Government policy. After all it is shelter a basic human need like health care, education, plus a social safety net. It’s also good for the national economy if housing takes up less of a working persons income , there is more to spend locally and less pressure on wage demands , making Ireland more competitive abroad

Mute John Lillis
    Favourite John Lillis
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:39 PM

f—–ing knackers, pay your bills are f–ck off

Mute Panch Murphy
    Favourite Panch Murphy
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:50 PM

People on here are deluded, this isn’t some guy who lost his job and couldn’t pay his bills because of the recession and other factors outside of his control.
    This guy is part of the problem that has our country in the mess it is, he’s living on a 120 acre stud farm and owes 8 million!
    Bunch of stupid locals that can’t see the big picture and blindly support this gangster.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:44 PM

I can understand this for a semi dee and some family out on the street or begging off family, friends and neighbours but a Stud Farm is a business. I never expected to see the rich property speculators bailed out and protected and ordinary families kicked out of shelter , which is a basic human need.

Mute Edwin Cashman
    Favourite Edwin Cashman
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:06 PM

Where does it start and where does it stop

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:26 PM

Good question Edwin ; It’s all up in the air until we get the E.C.B. letter ; no letter ; no liability communal or personal !

Mute Shaun O' Higgins
    Favourite Shaun O' Higgins

Can the guy (lets call him Charlie) get charged with criminal damage for cutting the chain off? Picture nine is surely either assault or at least trespass on the security guard? .

Mute Paddy O Donnell
    Favourite Paddy O Donnell
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:57 PM

He got some poor auld gob sh@#* to do that for him!

Mute Patrick O'Brien
    Favourite Patrick O'Brien
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:31 PM

Fair play to them we need more of this in the country to show those Donkeys in the Government what the Banks are at

Mute James Pelow
    Favourite James Pelow
    Sep 1st 2013, 7:14 PM

If someone owed them money and weren’t paying it back would they be happy with that?

This guy is not a hapless victim — he owes the guts of €8m to banks! This is precisely the type of person that got us all into this mess (in cahoots with the banks).

Mute Edwin Cashman
    Favourite Edwin Cashman

Why does he owe so much? I’ll tell you why. Because someone with control of the chequebook decided to pass a massive loan for a risky investment and got paid a massive bonus in the process. Then when the economy went busto and the payments couldn’t be met things really get good for the banks. Compound interest alone sees the figure grow out of control, all the while the banks know that they’ll get their money back one way or the other, be it through bonds or government pay outs. All the while the pressure builds on the owner, I will agree that greed has gotten many ppl into these bad messes but for idiots to come on here and lambast innocent ppl for standing up for what is right makes me sick

Mute Fix Ireland
    Favourite Fix Ireland
    Sep 1st 2013, 2:46 PM

He owes so much because he borrowed so much and didn’t repay it. Simple maths.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:21 PM

Edwin – your argument lacks any logic.

By your reasoning people who are fat are fat because someone with control of a big deep fat fryer cooked a load of chips and sold them to some poor schmuck….

Mute Edwin Cashman
    Favourite Edwin Cashman
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:46 PM

Naivety in the extreme, nobody walks into a chipper and asks for a small chip and 2 battered sausages only to be convinced to walk out with 2 dinner boxes, 4 large chips and 2x large bottles of cola. When it came to the banks they convinced ppl to take massive risks. Ppl trusted them, still do infact. We are being force fed the idea that the loanee is the culprit but the opposite in fact is true.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint

Well said Edwin. The responsibility runs both ways. We have an issue in Ireland that we believe everything we are told especially by the authorities. Its a cultural issue. We are a credulous nation. We love to impress. Its time we as citizens take responsibility for our children’s future & that may involve taking on the banks & the state. Very few people commenting on the journal trust the banks & the state but when someone stands up to them they run to the hills. If everything this stud farm stands for is wrong the actions of these people is noble.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:15 PM

Again Edwin your lack of grown up reasoning is astounding

Have you heard of the word ‘no’

No bank can force you to take out a loan.

If your bank offered you a €10m loan with the usual penalties if you failed to repay it – would you take the loan?

Mute Edwin Cashman
    Favourite Edwin Cashman
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:39 PM

I have very little financial debt, I am socially and economically responsible, I am also open minded enough to see what’s actually going on. Maybe if the everyday I’m alright jack ppl opened their eyes and thinking to what’s actually going on then we would see real change, until then you will get thumbs up and I will get thumbs down.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:43 PM

Paul ;The banks broke almost every rule in the book to create a “bubble” and they knew what they were doing ; we have the proof in the Anglo Tapes ; let’s start at the start shall we ?

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 1st 2013, 9:56 PM

Someone passed a massive loan for a risky investment and someone accepted the loan.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 11:33 PM

the whole truth now Grainne please ; and a Banker got a masssive “fee” for organising said loan , which he then used to borrow a shed load himself and disappear into a 64 billion black hole and keep everything he bought by transferring the lot to his missus !
    oh and rammed the bill down mine and everyone elses throat !

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:10 PM

This is inspiring.

Mute Pat Mullan
    Favourite Pat Mullan
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:50 PM

When was the last time you seen a Business man standing up for a family about to lose their home during the eviction process. Both parties took on a risk and it failed. Both parties are a Business!

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Sep 1st 2013, 6:15 PM

I dunno, if it was a family from a modest home with building flaws getting evicted I dont think the cavalry would be quite so big.

Mute Webolutionary
    Favourite Webolutionary
    Sep 1st 2013, 7:14 PM

The cavalry haven’t a clue why they are there, I’m expecting a youtube video of a slideshow of the photos above, with the theme music from Last of the Mohicans ‘ Promentory’ playing as they came over the hill. lol XD

Mute Na Fulacht Fia Moore
    Favourite Na Fulacht Fia Moore
    Sep 2nd 2013, 1:42 AM
    Mute Webolutionary
    Favourite Webolutionary
    Sep 2nd 2013, 2:23 AM

Arah if it isn’t the Formerly Known As TNS dropping the word eviction, trying to make all this look like the saving of a family home, celebrations across facebook and ning radio how they held back the evil sherrif and tonight a family sleep knowing their troubles are over.
    I am not surprised they have been spreading the bogus eviction tags.
    Thanks for showing everyone in the class how they help spread mis-info ;)

Mute Sean O' Shea
    Favourite Sean O' Shea
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:06 PM

ONe thing is left out of this article is the claim that the land was given to a trust by mr McDermott. Hence the property would not be in the ownership of mr McDermott but of the trust.

Mute Thomas Reagan
    Favourite Thomas Reagan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:12 PM
    Mute Webolutionary
    Favourite Webolutionary
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:28 PM

Here’s the Trust failing to turn up for the Fallon case, they too were under the impression they were untouchable lol http://awakenlongford.wordpress.com/2013/08/14/the-trust-or-lack-of/

Mute The Hub-Ireland
    Favourite The Hub-Ireland
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:35 PM

Are you a Trust Law expert?

Mute Webolutionary
    Favourite Webolutionary
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:00 AM

Do I need to be an aircraft engineer to know when the wings and engine have fallen off a plane?
    I’m not an expert on anything, as there is always someone who knows that little bit more, but now that you’re here, I hope your expertise could answer something I read on the link above:

” this Trust is flawed from the outset firstly because of the Transfer of encumbered property and secondly because of the “Buyback Clause”, both of these issues are distinctly Anti Trust.”

Could this make the Trust, null and void? It’s own working imploded on iteself and it became an anti-trust? What are the consequences for the other people in the fund if the Trust lose this case too?

Mute Frank Nugent
    Favourite Frank Nugent
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:26 PM

We the Irish people are nothing more then cowards , we bend over backwards to keep Germany happy while our own are been shit upon , it always gets back to the dubs against the rest of the country , true it is a certain sect of dubs who couldn’t give a fiddlers f#% k about the rest of Ireland !! Likewise there are so many very wealthy pr#%^ s all around éire not interested in saving people’s homes / studs / businesses as they have more money then the rest of Ireland put together , but evictions have to stop somewhere , and if its hired help that’s going to do it , we’ll so be it !!

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:36 PM

Whoever counted 250 needs to go back to school.

Mute john cleary
    Favourite john cleary

Maybe you can tell us Kevin.
    Can you?
    Seems like there are 250 people down there backing the man with their presence while you’re on here, first comment in, telling us how you have a ‘few questions’.
    Get off your hole and toddle down to kildare. That’s where you’ll find answers to your ‘few questions’.

Mute Webolutionary
    Favourite Webolutionary
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:36 PM

250 idiots who think this is an unjust eviction & are doing the dirty work for he great ‘TFreeman Trust’, I don’t need to go to Kildare to know the truth, nor does anyone else, except the folk who are believing what facebook says lol

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:54 PM

Problem with all these movements is the lack of answers. Do you honestly think we all have time to go to some field to get an answer that can be posted in a minute? You took your time to make that comment can you not just tell me?

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Sep 1st 2013, 7:33 PM

I think their actions are inspiring.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 1st 2013, 10:11 PM

Inspiring how, Philip?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 11:27 PM

The ghost of Davitt is feeling pretty inspired right now I can tell ye !

Mute The Hub-Ireland
    Favourite The Hub-Ireland
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:34 PM

Try educating yourselves, the banksters broke Irish and European law not the ordinary man seeking to better himself, matters not if he borrowed to buy an apartment or farm.
    Should anybody need help with debt/legal contact the Hub Ireland.

Mute Paddy O Donnell
    Favourite Paddy O Donnell

Most irish people are educated enough that when you borrow 8,000,000 euros and don’t pay it back for whatever reason the borrower runs the risk of the bank looking to recoup its money.

Whats disgusting in this instance is “rent a crowd” (trying to polite!) hijacking the bational flag, they are not protesting on behalf of the irish people.

Mute Thomas Reagan
    Favourite Thomas Reagan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:58 PM

He borrowed to buy horses.

Mute Kevin Keogh
    Favourite Kevin Keogh
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:45 PM

Alan, judging by your comments I take it you side with the corrupt Bankers and the Fianna Mafia or maybe you were one of the scab security serfs thrown of the family’s farm yesterday. Makes no difference if this family is being evicted from 100 acre farm or semi detached house in a suburb. Any eviction by these gangster Bankers is immoral and the Irish people should get up off there arse and unite to expose and cast them out just as they were in Kildare yesterday. Think about it, these criminals got billon’s € stolen from the Irish people and still they want more including as many homes and land to add to there portfolios. Unite and don’t let them divide and conquer.

Mute Gerry Daly
    Favourite Gerry Daly
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:16 PM

I don’t have any knowledge of this event/incident apart from what I’ve seen online so I can’t comment on the case itself.

But what I find disquieting is the amount of people who defend the security guard who is ‘just doing his job’. Sure, his job involves manhandling and assaulting people for a living if required but hey, he’s just doing his job and when someone stands up to it, they’re classed as a mob. So how come the security people can get away with that ‘just doing my job’ stuff all the time AND get the sympathy of a majority of the commenters here? Notice the guy had his face covered too. If his job is so fecking reputable he shouldn’t have any shame in being recognised. But here ya go. These are the kind of people who will kick your own door in and throw you on the street without batting an eyelid but they’ll be defended on places like the journal for just doing their jobs.

The days of hiding behind that convenient defence are coming to an end. It doesn’t matter whether it’s solicitors threatening people (just doing their jobs), bankers mercilessly harrassing people (just doing their jobs) or Revenue routinely putting fear into people (just doing their jobs). People are going to start taking responsibility for their actions and that includes both sides to this particular story.

That ‘I’m just doing my job’ crap didn’t work in Germany in 1945 either, but it didn’t stop them trying.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:22 PM

There was a psychological experiment carries out to test a person’s ability to ignore their conscience ; It was inspired by the question “How could ordinary German citizen’s turn into such barbaric prison guards /”
    The findings were pretty cool ; working of memory here but about 30% of those tested were found to possess the ability to kill another as long as someone else would take the blame;
    People are like that ; deferring their individual and collective responsibility to the will of others in authority ; or “sheeple” as they are called here !

Mute Jennifer Allen
    Favourite Jennifer Allen
    Sep 1st 2013, 5:50 PM

From the photos the only one being assaulted there was the security guard. And in all fairness all guards are required by law to be licenced and are regulated and required to wear their licence on a lanyard where it is easily visible to members of the public. He is not entitled to manhandle or assault anyone. Security guards are often mainly there to protect the property for insurance reasons.

Mute Gerry Daly
    Favourite Gerry Daly
    Sep 1st 2013, 7:03 PM

And no doubt if the security and Gardai had outnumbered the people on the farm, and started wading in you’d still be saying they were just doing their job I suppose. Lanyard or no lanyard, that never seems to stop these guys being heavy handed when it suits them and they’ll always say they were just doing their job. They have afterall, a licence to hide behind, thus avoiding any personal responsibility for their actions. My whole point is that it doesn’t matter what kind of legitimacy some piece of paper or ID may seem to confer on people. There is no excuse for using a job title to hurt or threaten people. Whether that’s a security man, Garda, solicitor or the guy next door, the same thing applies.

I’ve had people come to my door here and threaten me in various ways, TV licence inspectors, solicitors and the like, all using some piece of paper or a nicely laminated ID badge they think gives them some sort of protection. It’s funny that when you ask them for their name, they always give you their job title instead. And they’ve all been sent packing with a few choice words and a minimum of fuss. Once you tell them they’re being held personally accountable for anything that happens they immediately think twice and back off.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:07 PM

The term you are looking for Gerry is cowards ; but remember thay may feel that the job is the only way they can make a living ,in a perfect world they might be bee farmers or something ….

Mute Lauren Mccormack
    Favourite Lauren Mccormack
    Sep 1st 2013, 6:49 PM

Looking at all the comments and its just what our currupt politicians want if any of you attended any of the protests that go on you would see there ordinary and bussiness people who wore affected and got a big loan dumped on our shoulders and kids and grandchildren cause of anglo and also them had to hear them laugh at us and jeer us i would certainly not let anglo wa****s reposes any home big or small who are you people sideing with we need to unite together we all want a change so stand for it and for the people backing up the banks and what not use wanna be ashamed or ur living all comfy part of the 1% who never suffer or your plain stupid iv seen this group help small familys and big old people familys in small and big houses its about not lettin them take anymore n turff people out on the streets wake up Ireland stop picking on the people out on the street fighting for the people of Ireland with yous are best intrest at heart some people discuss me and for the people saying hes only doing his job so when the soldiers back in germany who sed they are only doin there job was that acceptable cause its the same thing you never turn ur back on your own

Mute Frank Nugent
    Favourite Frank Nugent
    Sep 1st 2013, 7:43 PM

It’s great to see people standing together against these #ankers , if only the rest of the country would do the same !!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 1:25 AM

Little acorns Frank; the hay and turf is saved ; sure what else would a lad be at but putting manners on those who have tried to sell our Country down the river !

Mute Robert Moore
    Favourite Robert Moore
    Sep 1st 2013, 10:24 PM

Fair play to them. The people of ireland are finally speaking out.Each case has different circumstances but the action should be just the same. NO TO THE 2013 EVICTIONS!
    Nice to see V there too.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 11:29 PM

There’s a killin’ to be made on selling those masks !
    The modern day spartucus !

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price

come on kildare next the newbridge credit union

Mute Ben Brown
    Favourite Ben Brown

The amount of trolls on here lol

Mute Joan Brennan
    Favourite Joan Brennan
    Sep 1st 2013, 3:23 PM

In pic 12, top left, there is a man carrying a child in his arms.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:33 PM

In picture above there’s a Koala in a tree …

Mute Emma Harris
    Favourite Emma Harris
    Sep 1st 2013, 10:18 PM

I think all you begrudger’s should give this article a read. It explains perfectly how most people’s debt, no matter how large or small has been paid back 3 times over. The Banks have recouped their money and more through securitisation. The Irish people need to educate themselves to the weasel like ways of the banking system and realise that society is being programmed to side with the banks at the expense of their neighbours.

http://awakenlongford.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/securitisation-epic-fail/

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 2:21 AM

Maith an Cailin !

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 8:07 PM

Emma, this guy’s debts have NOT been paid back. Not by him, anyway.

Mute Rebecca Stuart
    Favourite Rebecca Stuart
    Sep 1st 2013, 10:54 PM

Proper Order!!! The country is full of repossessed houses and farms with huge displacement of families, leaving for faraway lands in their droves! What will become of Ireland and her people, soon Irish people will be the minority in this country while she opens her doors to all nations to come here and ride the benefits system. a system that our hard working, back breaking labour has shored up for decades. Ireland is on her knees, it is time for a unified approach to the putrid banks and building societies, like these guys have!

Mute Johnnathan Biskalero
    Favourite Johnnathan Biskalero
    Sep 1st 2013, 10:31 PM

fair play lads…….resist the banking takeover of our country what are they going to do send in the Army……

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 2:24 AM

Probably ex- eastern-european army guys who have been languishing on the dole here since 2008 waiting for their orders to come from the E.U. is my guess !
    I hope I’m right because that’s tthe final piece in the jigsaw and best case scenario in the long run over the shortest and most peaceful route for all concerned !

Mute Theresa Carter
    Favourite Theresa Carter
    Sep 2nd 2013, 12:02 AM

Eventually got to look at the pictures. One word- thugs!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 12:52 AM

who the bankers that put them in this position or the people who gathered ?

Mute Na Fulacht Fia Moore
    Favourite Na Fulacht Fia Moore
    Sep 2nd 2013, 1:59 AM

I know a few committed people there , & they are in no way thugs !!

Mute Leon Dowling
    Favourite Leon Dowling
    Sep 2nd 2013, 5:08 AM

Everything else aside, these thugs had no right to manhandle the security off the site. Mob mentality against 2 lads doing their job. And they are proud of it sure look at the picture of them, a picture they themselves put up of one of the security being forceably removed by multiple assailants. Look at the picture of the organiser speaking to one of the security, a brave man flanked on either side by two fat monkeys. No, these are not fighting for the people, they are just plain simple thugs. I agree with putting your hand up against the system and saying NO when it is wrong. I also see a rich stud owner with untold fortune (or lack of, the article doesnt say) that owes how many million?? I say to this “organisation” watch out for the little man, not the big land owner who probably slipped you a few quid to stage this “protest”.

Mute Ciara Sheehy
    Favourite Ciara Sheehy
    Sep 2nd 2013, 9:42 AM

oh my god.

”the people of Dublin have no appreciation that this stuff is happening”

last week, a man with a young family, from DUBLIN, took his own life because he was being hounded by banks to pay back a loan for a mortgage. a mortgage for a house that he no longer lived in. he no longer lived in it because it was deemed unfit and unsafe. the government promised for two years to fix these unfit houses that people are paying for, but can’t live in. they broke their promise, one of many broken promises. don’t dare say that people in dublin have no idea of the hardship that is going on. how ignorant of you. we are ALL in the same boat here. will you be at the locout on 18th september??? or do you just blow it out your ass on websites??

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 12:02 AM

Note to protestors ; The picture of you grabbing the security man is “BAD PRESS!”.
    Next time form a phalanx and take tiny steps forward in unison ; then the one should give way to the many it’s a democracy after all !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 1st 2013, 8:39 PM

According to one interpretation of the prophecies of Columcille, Ireland will prove the graveyard of Bondholders and their pets !
    To me the gang above look like the grave diggers ; The time has come it would seem !

Mute Harry Webb
    Favourite Harry Webb
    Sep 2nd 2013, 10:08 AM

Now that is great! People helping each other against all odds! There should be more of this to preserve justice!

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Sep 1st 2013, 4:31 PM

A Lock In?

Mute Gary Hickey
    Favourite Gary Hickey

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 3:56 AM

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 2nd 2013, 8:05 PM

Where are all the comments gone???