Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Thursday 7 December 2023 Dublin: 11°C
Team leo

New ministers in Finance, Justice, Housing: This is Leo Varadkar's Cabinet

Paschal Donohoe takes over in Finance, and Frances Fitzgerald moves from Justice.

LEO GETS SEAL OF OFFICE 758A1948_90514854 Leo Varadkar at the Áras today to accept his seal of office.

NEW TAOISEACH LEO Varadkar has confirming his new Cabinet to the Dáil this evening.

Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald moves from Justice to take over at Enterprise and Innovation – but will remain as Tánaiste.

Charlie Flanagan moves into the Department of Justice – with Simon Coveney taking over at Foreign Affairs. The Cork TD, who ran against the new Taoiseach for the Fine Gael leadership, will also take on a special responsibility for Brexit negotiations.

Mary Mitchell O’Connor – formerly the Minister for Jobs and Enterprise – has been demoted, and becomes a ‘super’ junior minister.

Below is the list of full ministers and junior ministers who are entitled to attend Cabinet meetings.

The new ranks of junior ministers will be announced next week – most likely on Tuesday.

Department of Finance and Department of Public Expenditure & Reform: Paschal Donohoe (promotion)

FINE GAEL 288_90512282

Department of Justice & Equality: Charlie Flanagan (moving from Foreign Affairs)

CABINET Sam Boal Sam Boal

Department of Enterprise & Innovation: Frances Fitzgerald (moving from Justice)

9927 Cabinet Meetings_90512644

Department of Employment & Social Protection: Regina Doherty (was formerly Chief Whip)


Department of Education & Skills: Richard Bruton (no change)

6786  Richard Bruton_90513223

Department of Housing, Planning & Local Government: Eoghan Murphy (promoted to Cabinet)

2 Leah Farrell Leah Farrell

Department of Children & Youth Affairs: Katherine Zappone (no change)

6995 More Affordable Childcare_90513356

Department of Health: Simon Harris (no change)

9899 Cabinet Meetings_90512640 Sam Boal Simon Harris Sam Boal

Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade – with special responsibility for Brexit: Simon Coveney (was formerly at Housing)

CABINET Sam Boal Sam Boal

A new Department of Culture: Heather Humphreys (her previous department is being split – see below)

90429884_90429884 graphy: Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland graphy: Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

A new Department of Community & Rural Affairs: Michael Ring (new department)

1 Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Department of Agriculture, Food & the Marine: Michael Creed (no change)


Department of the Transport, Tourism & Sport: Shane Ross (no change)

drug testing Sam Boal Sam Boal

Department of Communications, Climate Action & Environment: Denis Naughten (no change)

NAUGHTON Sam Boal Sam Boal

Chief Whip and Minister of State at the Department of Culture with responsibility for Gaeilge, Gaeltacht and the Islands: Joe McHugh (promotion)


Minister of State at the Department of Education with special responsibility for Higher Education: Mary Mitchell O’Connor (demotion)

File Photo Mary Mitchell O Connor declares support for Leo Varadkar in Leadership race. End. Eamonn Farrell Eamonn Farrell

Minister of State (Defence): Paul Kehoe (no change)

5 soldiers_90510040 Press Military Press Military

Minister of State (Disability Issues): Finian McGrath (no change)

Taoiseach Enda Kenny resigns. Sam Boal Sam Boal

Related: As it happened: Leo Varadkar elected Taoiseach >

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.