You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo of Dublin traffic. Alamy

Would you like to see cars limited from driving through Irish cities?

Paris is limiting through traffic.

PARIS HAS LIMITED cars from driving through the central core of the city from today.

The restriction covers the first, second, third and fourth districts, with some exceptions.

This includes emergency vehicles, buses, taxis, residents, those with reduced mobility or who work there, and ‘destination traffic’ – those in the area for a specific reason such as a medical appointment, shopping or a cinema visit.

Essentially, the new change is to stop people driving through the city from one side to the other.

Dublin rolled out a similar measure along the quays earlier this year, but should the idea be extended to other Irish cities?

So today we’re asking: Would you like to see cars limited from driving through Irish cities?

Poll Results:

No (4722)
Yes (4246)
Unsure (516)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 150 comments
150 Comments
    Mute Jim Ryan
    Favourite Jim Ryan
    Nov 8th 2024, 7:44 AM

Uncontrolled immigration , Children’s Hospital , Housing , Scoliosis , Hospital waiting lists , Homeless , Neutrality in danger , Vulture Funds , Crime , RTE Bailout , Bike Shed and on and on . That’s the list of FF FG GP “achievements” over the term of this government . So tell me Simon and Micheal and Roderick , if re-elected what if anything will you do differently next time ?

Mute hans vos
    Favourite hans vos
    Nov 8th 2024, 8:18 AM

@Jim Ryan: difference? I suppose their wages is going up again.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Nov 8th 2024, 9:00 AM

@Jim Ryan: nothing like trump,will waste another 5 years.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Nov 8th 2024, 9:47 AM

@Jim Ryan: The cake is a certain size. Bickering over the size of slices is ongoing. At least FF and FG are making the cake bigger not driving enterprises out of existence because of a Marxist illusion.

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Nov 8th 2024, 9:58 AM

@Colette Byrne: 4 years you uneducated dope

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:03 AM

@Jim Ryan: Our Neutrality? Our Constitution says that our armed forces cannot go into action without authority from the Oireachtas. That’s it. There is NO mention of neutrality. Our neutrality is a ‘custom’, not any legally ir constitutionally binding decision m

Mute Jim Ryan
    Favourite Jim Ryan
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:13 AM

@thomas molloy: I’m no Marxist . We have a housing crisis and can’t/won’t house our own Irish people but it’s no trouble to our Government to house 200,000 Ukrainians . We can build modular houses for them . But Irish people don’t get a look-in when it comes to housing with this Government . Then we have asylum seekers here who should NEVER have been allowed into Ireland . We have Irish politicians smugly speaking about “Ireland’s International Obligations” to accommodate refugees and asylum seekers , but you won’t hear a word out of those same politicians on their Obligations to us the Irish people .

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:37 AM

@Jim Ryan: Vote for Islamo SF. Your immigration will be even better.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:38 AM

@Jim Ryan: Bla-bla-bla. Professional moaner.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:54 AM

@Jim Ryan: Apart from housing, none of those things effect the majority of Irish people but agreed they do nothing

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Nov 8th 2024, 4:24 PM

@K O: typo doesn’t make me a dope, you mo£on.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Nov 8th 2024, 4:25 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: This is correct. What you omit is that the majority of Irish people, time and again, have shown that they support neutrality. It is a constitutional imperative that the will of the people be respected, IMHO

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Nov 8th 2024, 5:11 PM

@Colette Byrne: But it’s not just a typo, is it?

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Nov 8th 2024, 5:31 PM

@Darth O’Leary: Fine, as long as it’s not done like Brexit. Vote first, then decide what it means. The full, clear and definitive meaning of ‘neutral’, in the Irish context, must be clear FIRST. Personally, the present article is fine by me.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Nov 8th 2024, 5:44 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: A vote would be fantastic but it’s not welcome by FFG because they know the answer they’d get

Mute pauley870
    Favourite pauley870
    Nov 8th 2024, 7:08 AM

First we will be told lies and then broken promises otherwise same as usual

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Nov 8th 2024, 12:43 PM

@pauley870: You are very hard on the media. It’s early days to know who they will support.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 8th 2024, 2:10 PM

@thomas molloy: You’re obsessed with the media.. I’d say take a break from it lad. Both main stream and Social.. judging by the drivel you post, it’s not serving you very well.. go hit a sliotar up a mountain for yourself.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Nov 8th 2024, 4:29 PM

@Brian: We all should be focusing on the media as it is most voters source of information/bias. Eg if the media had fact checked Boris Johnson’s claims Brexit would not have happened.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 8th 2024, 6:41 PM

@thomas molloy: Listen, plenty of ‘media’ fact checked BJs bullsht during the campaign.. if people reading the sun and other such rags want that to be their only source of information.. thats on them.. the information and facts are out there across all media platforms, and whilst it’s getting harder to access it some regards.. with all the other bs around it..this incessant banging of your anti media drum is tiresome.. I mean to say where are you getting all your unbiased 100 per cent factual news from.. please enlighten me. ?

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Nov 8th 2024, 7:18 AM

We can expect lots of false smiles, unwanted knocks on the door and promises that will undoubtedly be broken. What else would you expect coming up to an election?

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Nov 8th 2024, 7:55 AM

I expect the Polls to be wrong, again.

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Nov 8th 2024, 2:23 PM

@Jack Cass: wishful thinking unfortunately

Mute Marvin Dollery
    Favourite Marvin Dollery
    Nov 8th 2024, 5:08 PM

@Nigel Hayden: No way, the entire planet is turning away from treasonous leftists.

Mute Tim & Emer Brennan
    Favourite Tim & Emer Brennan
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:50 PM

@Jack Cass: I’d say your dreaming nailed on sf won’t lead any government

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Nov 8th 2024, 7:36 AM

we can expect a lot of lies, false promises and very woke oriented bulls…

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Nov 8th 2024, 7:11 AM

I know who I’ll be voting for. I imagine most of us do. Can we just skip to the voting bit?

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Nov 8th 2024, 7:49 AM

@honey badger: tell me who? I really don’t know who to vote for apart from not the current ones.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Nov 8th 2024, 8:00 AM

@Basildon Joe: Vote for whoever you want. Just make sure you do vote.

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Nov 8th 2024, 8:16 AM

@honey badger: answer my question please I need guidance

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Nov 8th 2024, 8:33 AM

@Basildon Joe: Should I cut the crusts off your sandwiches, too?

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Nov 8th 2024, 9:18 AM

@honey badger: please help me yes.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:40 AM

@honey badger: a lot of undecideds out there, apparently..

Mute FlipBip
    Favourite FlipBip
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:42 AM

@Basildon Joe: Vote nationalist

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:55 AM

@FlipBip: What does that mean?

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Nov 8th 2024, 11:30 AM

@Basildon Joe: Labour, Greens, and Social Democrats. Between them they are running more than enough candidates to form a government, if enough people vote for them

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 8th 2024, 12:01 PM

@lesidees: a nice thought, but highly unlikely!

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Nov 8th 2024, 12:01 PM

@lesidees: maybe I’ll go labour or are they too woke?

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 8th 2024, 1:48 PM

@lesidees: Ah Greens tho. Regardless of how much ‘climate’ triggers people, incompetence should never be rewarded.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Nov 8th 2024, 3:41 PM

@lesidees: Labour and Greens sold their souls to get a pop at ministerial pensions. large protest coming their way again this time as a result. Labour are in terminal decline and might only have AK-47 in the house next time. Greens can probably depend on some under 40s who care about the planet but popularity is for the policy more than the party ( their result is probably the most unpredictable of all parties because they could potentially transfer all over the place and do relatively well)

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Nov 8th 2024, 9:59 AM

Register. Decide. VOTE!! Bad governments are a result of good people not voting. REGISTER! DECIDE!VOTE!

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 8th 2024, 11:01 AM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: Bit of a sweeping one. Not sure you could successfully argue that but anyway. Who to vote for! OR who to vote against? Regardless nothing will be built here for decades. Any party committing to building infrastructure might get a look, any language about giving out fivers or forming governments with the current Green party will be a massive negative.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 8th 2024, 4:01 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: bad governments are a result of people not voting?. Not true. No matter how many people vote in this country we’ll still end up with the same bad government. Simply because there isn’t an alternative.

Mute Tim & Emer Brennan
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:53 PM

@Ger Whelan: subjective viewpoint this Government got a lot right no angels but no alternative as they choose to defend kiddy fiddlers

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Nov 8th 2024, 9:52 AM

Ireland has emerged as one of the most expensive countries in the European Union for goods and services. Heard on radio this morning already knew tough. More same or will something be done to help iris people . Even when can travel is more expensive for flights and parking everything a rip off here

Mute Tony Gleeson
    Favourite Tony Gleeson
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:00 AM

Look after the pension who paid tax a prsi sice the we’re 16yea old

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:40 AM

@martin finnegan: Martin, the median salary in Ireland is twice as much as most of the rest of the EU. The prices are aligned with people means. It’s basic economic you missed in school.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Nov 8th 2024, 12:04 PM

@Alex: Ye but the prices are nearly 3 times with other European countries

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Nov 8th 2024, 1:17 PM

@martin finnegan: it is also one of the countries with the highest salaries and highest minimum wage.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 8th 2024, 2:59 PM

@Alex: Explain then, why the price of a litre of milk is the same in a shop in Dublin and Clare.. yet there is 10k in the difference between the median salary in both counties.. and that’s not even taking into account low income earners, minimum wage earners and unemplyed/disabled/OAPs.. whose means are prices aligned with..? or do you even have a clue what you’re talking about..???

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Nov 8th 2024, 4:27 PM

@Brian: don’t bother him with facts. Can’t you see he’s happier without them

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 8th 2024, 4:39 PM

@Darth O’Leary: Indeed.. glad I wasn’t subjected to the economics classes he was in school.

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Nov 8th 2024, 7:48 AM

Loads of pretty posters and lies incoming!!

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Nov 8th 2024, 9:43 AM

Journal could you put up a Gravy train tracker like the Santa tracker at Christmas.

Mute Lefty Cries
    Favourite Lefty Cries
    Nov 8th 2024, 7:25 AM

No shinner vote

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Nov 8th 2024, 6:42 PM

@Lefty Cries: why don’t you go outside & shout at the lads putting up sf posters instead of your relentless toxic bleating on here? Set your phone to measure your time spent on comments while you’re at it. All of your accounts that is.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 8th 2024, 7:21 AM

Will FF & FG have enough of the sweet cake to “go it alone”????

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Nov 8th 2024, 4:44 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: hopefully

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Nov 8th 2024, 8:58 AM

Even the journal can’t distinguish between both party’s, it was michael who told us, was that not the news of the day yesterday. Please keep up journal.

Mute Billy Eyelash
    Favourite Billy Eyelash
    Nov 8th 2024, 11:26 AM

we need to vote Sinn Fein for a more equal and diverse ireland

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Nov 8th 2024, 11:33 AM

@Billy Eyelash: Not if you want your kids safe you don’t.

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 8th 2024, 12:21 PM

@Billy Eyelash: Shalom

Mute Tim & Emer Brennan
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:51 PM

@Billy Eyelash: freedom for kiddy fiddlers

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Nov 8th 2024, 9:25 AM

Empty Promises & Lies, we seem to fall for the lies as a Nation, every time. Some of these people are pathological liars.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:42 AM

Not to be the bearer of good news but even if FG isn’t perfect (far from it). Ireland went from 3rd world country with nothing going for it to one of the wealthiest country in Europe with taxes surplus every year. Moan as much as you can but that’s a fact.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:44 AM

@Alex: Just look at the state of France or the UK our next African neighbours. Social policies have its limits. In France not even 50% of people pay taxes to subsidise the other lazy 50%. No one wants that. Only invalid and elderly should get any help.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:50 AM

@Alex: Then stop sending millions of euros to sh!thole who never use the funds as they are supposed to be.

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Nov 8th 2024, 10:43 AM

No votes for Mary Muslim Lou and her pedo party

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 8th 2024, 3:10 PM

Only thing I expect is a lot of broken promises.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Nov 8th 2024, 1:51 PM

We can expect three weeks of unmitigated b/s and lies!

Mute John Hally
    Favourite John Hally
    Nov 8th 2024, 11:12 AM

Did you notice that the only person not smiling is Rodders, I wonder why

Mute Martin Ridge
    Favourite Martin Ridge
    Nov 8th 2024, 11:41 AM

Nothing new thats for sure

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Nov 8th 2024, 7:50 AM

Just like in US the public in Ireland are more intelligent than the world is flat Marxist incapables who want everyone negative about progress.

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Nov 8th 2024, 12:35 PM

It is very simple what people will hear for the next 3 weeks. Lies, lies and more lies from a bunch of absolute liars.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Nov 8th 2024, 5:32 PM

@Gerry Lamont: All 550+ of them are liars?

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Nov 8th 2024, 4:15 PM

I think we can expect BS piled on top of BS and all done with a straight face and genuine fake sincerity! Business as usual, really…

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Nov 8th 2024, 1:05 PM

Handy link here to all the constituencies, incumbents, who is running, etc.
    RTE news : General Election Constituency Profiles

http://www.rte.ie/news/election-24/profiles/#/general-election-constituency-profiles/

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Nov 8th 2024, 4:26 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: Thanks for sharing. RTE provide predictions in each constituency based on “analysis”
    This is very speculative and littered with unsubstantiated presuppositions. This is not the job of the national broadcaster imo. Nowhere, AFAIK, in the link does it disclose the source of this “analysis”

Mute Spanky McShart
    Favourite Spanky McShart
    Nov 8th 2024, 4:22 PM

We can expect nothing. All proceeds go to Brussels.

Mute Lydia Mcloughlin
    Favourite Lydia Mcloughlin
    Nov 8th 2024, 6:07 PM

Same old, same old. SSDD.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:35 AM

The Socialists in Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil arguing with the Socialists in Sinn Fein as to who can put forward more radical left-wing policies and who can spend more of our hard-earned money which they steal from us through taxation. You’re screwed up the creek without a paddle no matter which of the major parties that you vote for. Smaller parties like Labour and PBP are just as bad when it comes to being left-wing. There is a hegemony of opinion in Dáil Éireann and it is cancerous for the Irish people.

Mute Jonny Dun
    Favourite Jonny Dun
    Nov 8th 2024, 3:12 PM

FG for the win!

Mute FlipBip
    Favourite FlipBip
    Nov 8th 2024, 2:40 PM

I wish terrible things upon them.

Mute wwvCLOuF
    Favourite wwvCLOuF
    Nov 8th 2024, 6:36 PM

Whoa… so many to choose from in my new exciting election… well, you all look so tempting but no point in wasting my vote, so…. I’m gonna go with The People’s Judian Front. Final answer.