Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now

Aengus Mac Grianna is a popular staffer - he's been voted on the board of RTÉ

Riverdance co-creator Moya Doherty has been picked as the new chair of the RTÉ Board

Aengus Mac Grianna with Mario Rosenstock.
Aengus Mac Grianna with Mario Rosenstock.
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

NEWS READER AENGUS Mac Grianna, who we all know is capable of laughing at himself, is popular in the halls of the national broadcaster, as he has been elected as the RTÉ staff representative on the board.

Today, he and six other new members were officially appointed to the RTÉ board by Government.

The Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources, Alex White appointed Riverdance co-creator Moya Doherty as the new chair of the board.

Doherty, who has a long-spanning career in theatre, radio and television production, both in Ireland and internationally has already fronted a number of RTÉ arts, features and documentary programmes.


She is an executive producer involved in a number of projects, but she is best known for co-creating this little number at the Eurovision Song Contest of 1994.

Source: ESCManiac/YouTube

Speaking about her appointment Minister White said Doherty is a “gifted, experienced and successful broadcaster, communicator and businesswoman with the highest reputation both in Ireland and abroad”.

I am delighted that she has agreed to take on the role of RTÉ Chair, particularly at this challenging time of change in broadcasting and emerging communications technologies.

Doherty said she was honoured to be appointed to the Chair of the RTÉ Board.

Making a difference

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.

Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can make sure we can keep reliable, meaningful news open to everyone regardless of their ability to pay.

RTÉ’s future

She said the next few years will see RTÉ having to find structures capable of redefining the role of public service broadcasting in a media space transformed by social and digital technologies.

“I am looking forward to the challenge and privilege of working alongside all who are part of the RTÉ community, internal and external, to help to carve a strong identity for the future for the public service broadcaster,” she said.

Alongside Doherty’s appointment today, there are four newly appointed Ministerial nominees:

  • Frank Hannigan
  • Deborah Kelleher
  • PJ Mathews
  • Anne O’Leary
  • Fergus Armstrong

RTÉ director-general Noel Curran is also a member of the Board, while four existing board members, nominated by the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Transport and Communications, remain in place until their terms expire in February 2015.

Read: Sharon Ní Bheoláin caught rapid ‘threatening’* her co-presenter in RTÉ blooper>

Read: Louise McSharry opens up about her cancer battle on the Late Late Show>

Read next: