You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File image of a Dublin Luas tram Alamy Stock Photo

New NTA study makes case for ‘Gluas’ light rail system for Galway

The total estimate for the project is between €1.23 billion and €1.34 billion.

A FEASIBILITY STUDY on a light rail system for Galway has found that there is a “case for developing” a Galway Luas.

The National Transport Authority study found that the focus for a light rail corridor should be between Knocknacarra in the west of Galway city to Roscam in the east, with potential longer-term onward connections.

indicative route Preliminary route option for the 'Gluas'

However, these route options are preliminary and would need to be explored further following any decision to progress light rail Galway.

The study found that an annual demand of around 7.5 million passengers could be achieved per on this corridor by 2043.

It’s also estimated that the Gluas could result in a 10% reduction in car trips.

It was also noted that there may also be potential to justify a light rail system in the shorter term.

The total estimate for the so-called ‘Gluas’ is between €1.23 billion and €1.34 billion.

The total route length is around 14.8km, so the cost is equivalent to around €80 million to €90 million per km – this figure includes the costs of the depot, purchase of trams, indicative allowance for land costs, and a “30% to 44% risk allowance”.

While the study acknowledges that this “appears to be a very high cost”, it adds that this figure is “based on the expectation of major highway works, particularly outside the city centre, to provide sufficient levels of segregation to ensure reliability of services”.

Sinn Féin TD Mairéad Farrell said it’s “positive to see that the report agrees that a light rail tram could be considered as a viable transport option for Galway City”.

She described the current level of congestion in the city as “unacceptable” and added that “we must be looking at all avenues to provide a functional, integrated transport system”.

The NTA said the feasibility study will be used to inform the development of the Galway Transport Strategy, alongside recommendations for active travel, bus services, rail, roads and demand management measures.

Farrell welcomed the above development and said: “We need solutions as soon as possible and the fastest solution that we can provide is upgrading the bus system that is already in place.”

She added: “There is not one silver-bullet that will solve our traffic woes, but a light rail along with park and ride and frequent and reliable bus and rail links would do wonders for our city.”

Meanwhile, Green Party Senator Pauline O’Reilly said people may be “surprised” that it is “more than feasible” to have a light rail system in Galway.

Speaking on RTÉ, O’Reilly added: “If you want these things to happen, you have to decide that you want to prioritise them and you need politicians who prioritise them.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

75 Comments
    Mute Jamie Hinch
    Favourite Jamie Hinch
    Jan 21st 2025, 8:40 AM

Trump just undid lower prescription costs for lower incomes, wonder how his base will feel about this…form an orderly queue here ____

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 21st 2025, 8:42 AM

@Jamie Hinch: Ironic really, Biden turned America’s economy around after the orange man baby destroyed it and you think after one day he turned water into wine, get real

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Jan 21st 2025, 8:52 AM

@Brian D’Arcy: I’m no Trump fan but Biden turned Americas economy around? Where are you getting that from exactly? I have plenty of family over in America I can tell you Biden did not turn around the economy in his disastrous spell in charge!

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:41 AM

@Dave f Doe: someone left you traumatised by not cutting your old fellas tackle of when they saw the horrible little manboy it produced

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:45 AM

@James Rowan: number of people in employment began increasing early on in Bidens tenure and increased every month of his tenure after that, US has the fastest growing economy in the world right now and rebounded from Covid, economically, better than almost any other country. Inflation currently is at the lowest rate in years. So, solely from an economic standpoint, Brian is right. Yes inflation went thro the roof, but it went to the roof everywhere thanks to Trumps pal Putin.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:50 AM

@Dave f Doe: as I paraphrasing the moby lads, if iam a losser baby why don’t you kill me ,

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:54 AM

@Brian D’Arcy: Utter bull

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:54 AM

@Robert Halvey: Beck *

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:58 AM

@Freda Peeple: thanks

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:04 AM

@James Rowan: empirical fact is no match for your few cousins in America.

Mute Darran Macken
    Favourite Darran Macken
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:04 AM

@Brian D’Arcy: he did not turn economy around, he’s at fault for world inflation my god yous lot are unreal, because you see high prices in homes and vehicles you think the economy is good??? Wow

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:13 AM

@Darran Macken: it’ll be the exact same in a week when Trump is taking credit for it and you’ll be on here saying he’s brilliant.

Mute jason dawson
    Favourite jason dawson
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:33 AM

@Brian D’Arcy: no he didn’t, their national debt went up 7 trillion dollars, now at 36 trillion dollars.

Mute William Jennings
    Favourite William Jennings
    Jan 21st 2025, 11:50 AM

@Dermot Blaine: No, actually you’re completely wrong about that. Only 20% of the inflation can be directly attributed to the Russia-Ukraine War. Biden canceled a long-planned sale of offshore oil rights and blocked drilling in Alaska which caused prices to spike a full three months before the invasion happened. He also repeatedly shut down multiple pipelines from Canada that would have sped up oil transportation. The rest was caused by Biden’s extreme and wasteful stimulus spending that destroyed the dollar and put prices through the roof because inflation happens when too many dollars are chasing too few goods. Also, the vast majority of jobs that Biden “created” were simply bounce-back jobs that opened up again for Americans after Biden lifted the Covid restrictions that he put in place.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:59 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: have you somehow stats for that

Mute Jonny Dun
    Favourite Jonny Dun
    Jan 21st 2025, 4:22 PM

@James Rowan: so have I and they have done very well under Biden. Stock markets rose on average 55% so all those with stocks and 401k retirement plans did very well. Not to mention the infrastructure act that created jobs all over the country including in red states. Unemployment at historic lows. Inflation was a big issue but dropped from 9% to around 3%. Trump simply lies about everything.

Mute Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Favourite Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Jan 21st 2025, 6:04 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Biden left over 2 billion dollars of military hardware in Afghanistan. Bright bulb

Mute Moses
    Favourite Moses
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:10 AM

Good luck to Trump in his term of office. I hope he does a good job and has a thriving national and international economy during his tenure. I also hope he has a safe four years in office.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:35 AM

@Moses: Anti U.S.ism is so immature.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:40 AM

@thomas molloy: US is entitled to be for the US. They gave Ireland its freedom from colonial servitude to England and that will never be forgotten.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:56 AM

@thomas molloy: what drugs are you on?

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:57 AM

@thomas molloy read a few books lad the US off axxholes need to ask themselves a few questions, but I forgot more then half your population have a very limited access to Education,

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:06 AM

@Moses: the economy is already thriving, trump will take credit for it next week and all the maga’s will believe him as if it materialised out of nowhere.

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Jan 21st 2025, 11:18 AM

@thomas molloy: I take it that history was not your strong point in school?

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 21st 2025, 11:23 AM

@Robert Halvey. I can help you with badly needed education on Irish Sovereign freedom and the crucial importance of US pressure on imperialist Britain to surrender Ireland to the Irish. “De Valera was a commandant of the Irish Volunteers (Third Battalion) at Boland’s Mill during the 1916 Easter Rising. He was arrested and sentenced to death, but released for a variety of reasons, including his American citizenship and the public response to the British execution of Rising leaders. He returned to Ireland after being jailed in England and became one of the leading political figures of the War of Independence. “

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:10 PM

@Moses:
    2 unlikely outcomes

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Jan 21st 2025, 4:11 PM

@thomas molloy: but by that logic it was the French that enabled the US to gain freedom from the British Empire too, so it was the French that saved us all? You might scoff but at least the French intervention in the US War of Independence was real, like shiploads of arms, volunteers, a recognized alliance, support from European leaders….. On the otherhand you’re extrapolating from an individual event for a single person all the efforts from multiple parties that made Irish independence a reality. Dream on! The US has been many things to Ireland but it’s only slightly responsible for our freedom. We don’t owe them for it, just as US citizens don’t feel they owe France anything even though that was a far greater involvement.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jan 21st 2025, 4:24 PM

@Moses: Hopefully the Big Mac’s will do where the bullet failed.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 22nd 2025, 3:44 PM

@The Firestarter: College of Social Media was his alma mater!

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Jan 21st 2025, 8:50 AM

I prefer to call him the Orange Ogre, because that’s whst he is.
    If, as he says god saved him from dying, because he wanted him to sort things out…. Then I am turning atheist!!!

Mute Chop Chop
    Favourite Chop Chop
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:20 AM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: Riveting stuff there Ollie

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:45 AM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: from now on I’ll call you a babbling toddler. Because that’s what you are. Your claim to be a mature adult but yet here you are using petty insults about a person you have never met and hasn’t affected your life in anyway

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:13 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick:
    God didn’t save him.
    He was rejected as a bad egg.

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:19 PM

@Ger Whelan: Looking at the majority of your posts, mine make a lot more logical sense than your inane ramblings!!

Mute Bomber
    Favourite Bomber
    Jan 21st 2025, 8:57 AM

A reminder to our brilliant leaders who lodged protest against US for using our airspace to transport arms into Israel should consider a course of action carefully that if Trump threatens to retake Panama Canal he can also order to repatriate US companies back to their land especially the big tech companies headquartered in Ireland. Without them we’ll just eat twice a day.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:05 AM

@Bomber: Trump can try to lure US companies back to the US with financial incentives. He certainly can’t ‘order’ them to repatriate. How would that work?

Mute Iano C
    Favourite Iano C
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:20 AM

@Bomber: You clearly have no clue as to how politics works.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:21 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: Journalist Matt Taibbi summed up the mindset of many American voters (during the early days of Trump’s first presidency). Taibbi said that as long as “The Other Side” were attacked in reporting or opinion/editorial pieces that was all that mattered. A chance to store up and release anger, fear, resentment. Strong emotion over-riding any other perspective or possibility. That explains the acceptance of unconvincing or unskilled partisan grandstanding, or obvious contradictions and lies. Bread and circuses for the modern age. Screwing over the voters, but giving them neurotransmitter hits to compensate those voters. You can’t get through to them with info or reasoning because of that.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:36 AM

@Bomber:the disconnect that magrats produce, so what happens to the crying lying orange and his billionaire rent boys assets overseas, Do you honestly believe they will risk losing access to world marketing

Mute Bomber
    Favourite Bomber
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:37 AM

@Iano C: Yeah when criminal pardons criminals.

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:39 AM

@Bomber: capitalist pig! So our leaders rightfully lodging protest over America using Irish airspace to fly weapons to the Israelis to blow up innocent men, women and children for profit is a bad thing. You dont even have a moral compass you odious little piece of excitement.

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:18 PM

@Dave f Doe:
    You don’t protect them obviously.

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Jan 21st 2025, 1:04 PM

@Dave f Doe: u annoy me? Fella ur such a gowl it’s hysterical, TTFN.

Mute Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Favourite Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Jan 21st 2025, 6:07 PM

@Iano C: Ruled by the dollar

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 22nd 2025, 3:47 PM

@Dave f Doe: You want you children to be picked on in school!!!!!

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:09 AM

Good auld journal no comments allowed on starmer or rudakabana, typical of this woke outlet.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 21st 2025, 11:03 AM

@K O: Irish media still running scared of media they can’t control. Still trying to invisible non left diversity newspapers. The Washington Times

By Stephen Dinan
    The Washington Times
    Monday, January 20, 2025
    Ten quick signatures of newly inaugurated President Trump on Monday sought to demolish the Biden administration’s immigration framework and launch what promises to be the tightest border in U.S. history.
    Aides said he was signing orders and proclamations that would label the waves of migrants an “invasion,” proclaim a national border emergency, revive his “Remain in Mexico” policy and order the Pentagon into the battle to turn the tide.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey

Working people cheering on the crying lying orange thing are akin to turkeys voting for christmass

Mute Temp Stuff
    Favourite Temp Stuff
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:38 AM

@Robert Halvey: the promise of cheap gas, cheap chicken wings and no tax on tips won the day in America. It’s no wonder they was to scrap the dept of education.

Mute Mick O'K
    Favourite Mick O'K
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:06 PM

@Robert Halvey: is this your mantra now? Seeing as you’re posting the exact same thing day after day

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jan 21st 2025, 1:44 PM

@Mick O’K: at least micky lad I can see an orange piece off crying lying thing playing little manboys like the worthless fiddles they see themselves as

Mute Chop Chop
    Favourite Chop Chop
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:37 AM

Is there anything to be said for another giant Trump in a nappy balloon? Surely that’s the best course of action now.. what you guys think?

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:14 AM

@Chop Chop: I think it’s joe who literally wears the nappies!

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:10 AM

Look,Melania! People are saying I’m mature now! No Donald,that says “immmature”

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:23 AM

@Larry Betts: Classic White cat meme.

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:23 PM

@Dave f Doe:
    Smart hat she wore.
    Prevented her from kissing the Dump,or even having to look at him.

Mute Marie Power
    Favourite Marie Power
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:14 AM

Came here just to indulge in a bit of schadenfreude: the ‘paper’ don’t matter anymore. Even the dullest must now surely know that they are the propaganda arm of the NUJ, that bastion of Marxism.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:17 AM

@Marie Power: Bold of you to expect the Trumpers on here to understand what Schadenfreude means. They probably think it’s a brand of sausage or something.

Mute Mick O'K
    Favourite Mick O'K
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:07 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: you’re an auld sausage yourself pal

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 21st 2025, 1:48 PM

@Mick O’K: thanks Mick. How are things?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 22nd 2025, 3:49 PM

@Marie Power: The NJJ the bastion of Marxism, you are funny!

Mute Cormo R
    Favourite Cormo R
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:44 AM

The orange panda is back!! This is going to be great craic for the next four years…..

Mute William Jennings
    Jan 21st 2025, 2:00 PM

It’s a damn shame how much our media and newspapers have gotten so twisted. Some of those headlines reek of a clear hatred for Trump. Look, I’m not a huge fan of Trump either but seriously, could we just get back to a time where the newspapers just reported the news without adding in snarky and immature headlines? It should be as simple as “Donald Trump was officially inaugurated today as the 47th President of America” because that’s exactly what happened.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jan 21st 2025, 4:25 PM

@William Jennings: yeah yeah dispicable man

Mute William Jennings
    Jan 21st 2025, 8:40 PM

@Tim Brennan: In your opinion Tim. The voters didn’t see it that way and gave Trump his second term in office. Your attitude is a prime example of the problem that we have in society today. Instead of behaving like a plank and throwing out ad hominem attacks, give at least some sort of coherent reason why you don’t like Trump.

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Jan 21st 2025, 9:01 PM

@William Jennings: Well said….unfortunately we have a very biased, opinionated and prejudiced main stream media who love to applaud and champion one side ( the far left) whilst berating conservatives! Their own personal or ( paid for) opinions is not professional journalism!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 22nd 2025, 3:50 PM

@Emer McDonnell: What far left is that as the US dont have one and in Ireland they hold their meetings in a phone box!

Mute Alan Boyd
    Favourite Alan Boyd
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:52 AM

If the americans think the prices of gas and groceries is goona come down they are bigger fools than i thought the food and gas companies are making to much money and thats what trump wants!!!

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin

@common sense: Lmao you simps have very limited memory, please do continue wit your fantasy adventure tho