We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Dolores Keane will be performing live on stage with her band Maurice Gunning

Dolores Keane, Paddy Glackin and more: The 'Oscars of traditional music' is live tomorrow on TG4

Expect magic as legendary musicians are joined by special guests on stage at the National Concert Hall.

A WORLD-CLASS line-up of traditional musicians and dignitaries will gather in Dublin tomorrow night for a very special ceremony: the TG4 Gradam Ceoil Awards.

Known as the ‘Oscars of traditional music’, the 2022 ceremony will see performances from musical royalty – including Dolores Keane singing live on stage with her band – as well as some of the most exciting emerging artists in the field.

Legendary fiddler Paddy Glackin will receive the Ceoltóir / Musician award on the night, with Keane, the groundbreaking singer and founding member of Dé Dannan, taking home the Gradam Saoil / Lifetime Achievement award. 

Viewers can expect musical sparks to fly as award recipients are joined on stage by their own special guests for a unique line-up of talent.

Dancer and activist Edwina Guckian will receive the Gradam Comaoine / Outstanding Contribution award Maurice Gunning Maurice Gunning

It is the first time the annual event has taken place in the capital, with President Michael D Higgins among those presenting awards on stage at the National Concert Hall. The TG4 Gradam Ceoil Awards 2022 will be broadcast live on TG4 from 9.30pm, and will also be available worldwide on the TG4 Player.

This year also sees the introduction of the new Grúpa Ceoil / Music Group award. The inaugural honour will go to Skara Brae, the influential group whose self-titled (and only) album has inspired generations of singers and musicians since its release in 1971.

Groundbreaking group Skara Brae are to be honoured in a new category TG4 TG4

Skara Brae members Mícheál Ó Domhnaill and Tríona Ní Dhomhnaill later went on to join the Bothy Band with Dónal Lunny, Paddy Glackin, Matt Molloy and Paddy Keenan. 

Watch Skara Brae performing An Cailín Rua in 2005:

Trad TG4 / YouTube

Also honoured on the night will be accordion player Diarmuid Ó Meachair, sean-nós singer Sarah Ghriallais, fiddle player and composer Connie O’Connell, and dancer and activist Edwina Guckian, who will receive the Gradam Comaoine / Outstanding Contribution award. Stephen Rea and Mary Black will be among those joining President Higgins to present awards.

Alongside the award recipients on stage, the ceremony – hosted by Doireann Ní Ghlacáin and Páidí Ó Lionáird – will also see a host of performances from Cathy Jordan, Paddy McEvoy, Rory McGorman, Robbie Hannon, Neil Martin, Áirc Damhsa, Stephen Doherty, Áine & Francis O’Connor and Eileen De Paor.

The TG4 Gradam Ceoil 2022 Awards ceremony is live on TG4 on Easter Sunday, 17 April, at 9.30pm. It is also available to watch worldwide on the TG4 Player. #Gradam25

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel