You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

EU Commissioner Phil Hogan (file photo) Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

Timeline: How Phil Hogan spent his time in Ireland and where he travelled to

The EU Commissioner has issued a statement about his movements during his time in Ireland.

EU COMMISSIONER PHIL Hogan has issued his much-anticipated report to European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen about his movements in Ireland this month.

Hogan has faced scrutiny to explain how he spent his time in Ireland in recent weeks following the fallout from the Oireachtas Golf Society event last week.

In a memorandum to Von der Leyen this afternoon, Hogan outlined how he travelled between Kildare, Kilkenny, Dublin, Limerick and Galway during his stay here.

Here’s the timeline of his movements released this afternoon… 

31 July

Hogan arrives in Ireland, where he completes the Passenger Locator Form before travelling to his temporary residence in Co Kildare.

5 August

Hogan is admitted to a Dublin hospital for a medical procedure. While in hospital, he tests negative for Covid-19, adding in his statement that ”a negative test result ends the self-restriction period”.

6 August

Hogan is discharged from hospital and returns to his temporary residence in Kildare.

eu-college-of-commissioners-meeting-in-brussels File photo. Hogan speaking to von der Leyen last January. Etienne Ansotte EC / DPA/PA Images Etienne Ansotte EC / DPA/PA Images / DPA/PA Images

7 August

Hogan travels to Kilkenny. In a previous statement, he says he travelled to the county “for a period of convalescence” and to complete his period of quarantine. 

8 August

Localised lockdowns come into effect in Kildare, Laois and Offaly.

12 August

Hogan travels to Dublin for work at the European Commission office.

While in Dublin, he holds separate meetings with Tánaiste Leo Varadkar and Minister of State with responsibility for Trade Promotion, Digital and Company Regulation Robert Troy to brief them on ongoing negotiations with the US.

The Irish Examiner is reporting today that he stayed in the Dunraven Arms Hotel in Adare, Co Limerick that night. However, Hogan’s statement does not explain where he travelled to after his work in Dublin.

HOGANVARADKAR Hogan says he held a meeting with Leo Varadkar on 12 August RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

13 August

Hogan plays golf in Adare, Co Limerick before returning to Kilkenny.

17 August

Hogan travels from Kilkenny to Galway via Kildare, where he stops briefly at his property to collect personal belongings and papers relating to the ongoing trade negotiations with the US.

On his journey, Hogan states that he was stopped by a garda for using his mobile phone while driving.

18 August

Hogan plays golf in Galway and stays in Clifden. His statement this afternoon says he did not take part in any formal dinner or reception that night.

19 August

Hogan plays golf in Clifden again, before attending the now infamous Oireachtas Golf Society dinner with Minister Dara Calleary, Independent TD Noel Grealish and dozens of others.

21 August

Hogan returns from Galway to his residence in Kildare to collect his remaining personal belongings, including his passport.

He stays there overnight before an early morning flight to Brussels. Meanwhile, ‘golfgate’ dominates Irish news headlines.

22 August

Hogan returns to Brussels.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

69 Comments
    Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:22 PM

The man needs to resign. He thinks he is untouchable and is sticking two fingers up at the rest of us who he sees as being beneath him.

Mute Tony Gordon
    Favourite Tony Gordon
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:25 PM

@Brian Madden: a negative result DOES NOT end an isolation period as you may not yet test positive if not symptomatic that’s why the 14 day quarantine

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:34 PM

@Tony Gordon: total hogwash…
    On 17 August 2020, en route to Galway from Kilkenny, I briefly stopped off at my apartment in Kildare to collect essential work papers concerning the EU-U.S. trade talks.
    So he went to meeting with Leo and them without these essential papers that he had to get on 17th sure.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute James Neill
    Favourite James Neill
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:42 PM

@LITTLEONE: also why would he need to get the papers if going to a golf dinner, a bit of light reading while playing a round? It’s complete BS to cover the fact that he brainfarted by going back to Kildare during the lockdown or knowing Phil didn’t give a monkeys what anyone would think.

Mute JoyMonkey
    Favourite JoyMonkey
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:59 PM

@Brian Madden: Bollox, the guy needs to move around wherever he needs to, he’s running the AG ministry of the EU. Did the police and nurses stay at he in Kildare. Cop on people.

Mute George Demo
    Favourite George Demo
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:13 PM

@LITTLEONE: The papers were in his golf bag which he also took with him

Mute George Demo
    Favourite George Demo
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:13 PM

@LITTLEONE: The papers were in his golf bag which he also took with him

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:21 PM

@Brian Madden: last time I checked kildare was not on the way to Galway from kilkenny.. Also in days after this shambles he stated he went straight to kilkenny after been discharged from hospital yet now he saying went to kildare first.. Well he should have had another visit to hospital to get his fóir out of mouth lying arrogance of him and if he met Leo you can bet Leo knew he was going to Galway

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:36 PM

@George Demo:

Yardage book for CGC was all the paper that was in his golf bag, not important papers pertaining to his role as EU Commissioner for Trade.

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:47 PM

@James Neill: Why were these ‘important papers’ not available on a laptop computer? Are there no printers in Galway? Could one of his 13 assistants in Brussels not printed them and sent them by courier to Galway?

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:48 PM

@Earth Traveller: Phil’s ‘team’ in Brussels: https://ec.europa.eu/commission/commissioners/2019-2024/hogan/team_en

Mute James Neill
    Favourite James Neill
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:54 PM

@Earth Traveller: exactly, it stinks of ‘jaysus lads someone come up with something believable to get rid of this’, whereas it’s fairly obvious he went back for clothes and golf clubs i.e. not essential travel

Mute Declan Flynn Lynch
    Favourite Declan Flynn Lynch
    Aug 25th 2020, 5:17 PM

@Brian Madden: leo just tell the EU TO FIRE him this is bigger than having an edge on brexit. they should all resign because if they are allowed to stay it undermines the whole democratic system & sends out a message that they are bigger than the laws made for the people!

Mute Mícheál
    Favourite Mícheál
    Aug 25th 2020, 5:20 PM

@Tony Gordon: “If you have tested negative for COVID-19, you will receive your results by text message. You do not have to self-isolate any longer.”

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/covid19/testing_for_covid19.html

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Aug 25th 2020, 5:21 PM

@LITTLEONE: he might also tell porkies to the Americans during trade talks old school politican.

Mute Orla Murphy
    Favourite Orla Murphy
    Aug 25th 2020, 5:39 PM

@Mícheál: That only relates to the self isolation you have self-imposed because you had symptoms, it’s not related to the 14 day isolation requirement.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Aug 25th 2020, 5:41 PM

Are the UK Brexit trade negotiators going to take this man seriously after this debacle considering in their jurisdiction politicians always resign without being pushed when they are caught doing wrong?

Mute a politicians promise is as good as a lie
    Favourite a politicians promise is as good as a lie

He conviently left out the part about staying in Adare in his letter to the European President… That’s a bigger sin now. He lied to the European President

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:10 PM

@a politicians promise is as good as a lie:
    This Gowl thinks he is above everybody and just sneers at everyone.
    He thinks he is above having to explain his lies and B/S.
    Well now his B/S has stuck to him and now he is damaged and tainted goods with no credibility at all.
    He has to go or be sacked.

Mute Brendan Woods
    Favourite Brendan Woods
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:27 PM

Getting away while driving with a mobile phone is killing me. There is no mercy for the rest of us.

Mute Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Favourite Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:30 PM

@Brendan Woods: 100% and there should be no mercy for anyone for using while driving.

Mute Keith Twamley
    Favourite Keith Twamley
    Aug 25th 2020, 5:40 PM

@Brendan Woods: I really don’t understand this, surely anyone getting caught using their mobile while driving now automatically must only receive a caution. Undermines Road Safety measures no end. Gardai can say it’s at their discretion, but you could argue the case.

Mute Anthony Egan
    Favourite Anthony Egan
    Aug 26th 2020, 2:01 AM

@Keith Twamley: Indeed you could! Take it to court and cry Woulfe!

Mute ISAM
    Favourite ISAM

His actions and subsequent letter are an affront to the people of Ireland. Children have missed their birthday parties, Weddings have been cancelled, funerals held without family members and our our sick have died on their own, alone and scared. And Mr Hogan considers a golf jolly to be justifiable? Let there be no excuses, everyone who attended or facilitated that event on Clifton has to be held to account. Apologies are not enough. Resignations are required, from everyone starting with Mr Hogan and right through to to the manager of the hotel. No exceptions.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:45 PM

@ISAM: Absolutely. Nothing else will cut it at this stage

Mute Aunties
    Favourite Aunties

@ISAM: loads of people play golf ?! Whats your point ? He moves in high circles. Thats his job !

Mute Siobhan Mc Garrell Mackenzie
    Favourite Siobhan Mc Garrell Mackenzie
    Aug 25th 2020, 5:22 PM

@ISAM: totally agree.. the whole thing should have been cancelled AGES ago.. how did they think this was not going to get out..!!

Mute ISAM
    Favourite ISAM
    Aug 25th 2020, 5:26 PM

@Aunties: What’s my point? Are you for real? Our public representatives are not exempt from common law and by any democratic standard it’s a reasonable expectation that they lead by example. Mr Hogan has already lost the commissioners role. The whole media circus is abhorrent in the extreme. In the same manner appointments made to the judicial system are now untenable and this will be found to be the case. It’s inconceivable that an individual can be called on to pass judgement yet display such a lack of judgement in a personal capacity.

Mute HectorPickaxe
    Favourite HectorPickaxe
    Aug 25th 2020, 5:28 PM

@ISAM: While I don’t condone most of his actions, it’s a bit much to slate him for playing golf. The restrictions that saw us all miss funerals, weddings etc. don’t now apply to sports. There are plenty of people playing golf and other sports, restaurants are packed to capacity in tourist areas and people are travelling all over the country. I’m from killarney and the place has been jointed for weeks

Mute Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Favourite Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:28 PM

Golf on a Thursday, a Tuesday and a Wednesday. Chap has it sussed.

Mute Padraig Dolan
    Favourite Padraig Dolan
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:35 PM

@Cisrán O’ Donoghue: copying Trumps style of leadership

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:37 PM

Neck like a Jockeys bollix. Why was he holding a phone? Bluetooth in all cars now and I’m sure he drives a top of the range one.

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:14 PM

@Olivia Smith: men of his age aren’t very tech savvy!

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:19 PM

@Martin: Give over ffs, he didn’t get where he is without knowing how to press a button on the steering wheel.

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Aug 25th 2020, 5:31 PM

@Olivia Smith: I’ve seen plenty of men and women in high powered roles and you would be surprised what they can and can’t manage, he probably had never paired his phone to whatever new car he has

Mute Niall Gannon
    Favourite Niall Gannon
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:21 PM

I wish I had half the neck. What a remarkable show of arrogance

Mute Seán O'Loughlin
    Favourite Seán O'Loughlin
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:16 PM

Interesting that he allegedly travelled to Kilkenny the day before the Kildare Lockdown came into effect… He’s selling us a bag of magic beans.

Mute Eoin O'Neill
    Favourite Eoin O'Neill
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:53 PM

No mention of playing golf in the KClub on August bank holiday Monday 2 days before we got his negative test for Covid. So he broke his isolation rules. Still lying.

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:33 PM

Is there no way that FG can remove his party membership card? That is property of FG Ireland and not the EU, is it not?

Mute SkepticalHippoEyes
    Favourite SkepticalHippoEyes

If only Rory worked on his game as much as Big Phil #majornumber5

Mute Me Darlin' Dublin
    Favourite Me Darlin' Dublin
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:46 PM

Can we find out what Brian Hayes was doing at the event? We should be asking the banking outfit that he represents what were they at sending their man along to an event such as this as a persuader with his bag of money no doubt.

Mute Gene Johnston
    Favourite Gene Johnston
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:34 PM

Phil ” the trickle” first water,now information grrrrrrrrrrrrr

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG

Dare any Of the riffraff use a phone while driving.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul

Out ya go Big Phil and close da door behind ya.

Mute Aunties
    Favourite Aunties

Busy man. Very important negotiator for Ireland’s economic future in the world. I’d lay off him. He apologized.
    Let him get on with his irreplaceable negotiations on our behalf.
    I vote SF by the way.

Mute Sean O' Donovan
    Favourite Sean O' Donovan
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:54 PM

@Aunties: “Ireland’s economic future” ohhhh, gotta love that one. After lockdown #2 we’ll have a recession on top of a recession. Brexit will be the last of our worries. Oh dear, economy trashed! Mehole will probably negotiate another special offer loan. Buy one, pay for 3.

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:55 PM

@Aunties: I agree, much as we like to see someone this arrogant taken down a peg or two, we have to look at the bigger picture.

Mute John Mccormack
    Favourite John Mccormack
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:19 PM

@Stephen Doyle: No we don’t he has to go

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:20 PM

@Aunties: I think the banker/judges/politicians socialising is a much much bigger story…What judgements were this group involved in lately, laws changed to suit vultures etc so many questions and so many judgements yet to be called in to question..
    Get in to that proper and literally half the TD’s would have to resign…

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:25 PM

@Aunties: he has told lie after lie how could anyone trust him.. He blatantly lued about being in kildare before going to Galway.. He didn’t self isolate so he put the staff at hotels in danger he also broke lae by been on phone, he took 3 days to even apologise and only then when job under threat

Mute Bluepoolroad
    Favourite Bluepoolroad
    Aug 25th 2020, 5:18 PM

@Sean O’ Donovan: Brexit is never least of our worries.

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:06 PM

I see the FG mob are out in force today.

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:06 PM

Enough already. Move on

Mute JoyMonkey
    Favourite JoyMonkey
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:02 PM

I can’t believe we’re still talking this. Who cares, let him do his job. All the haters. Get off social media and go for a walk.

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Aug 25th 2020, 6:58 PM

@JoyMonkey: ….or get a life

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe

Who cares! Media trying to run the country.

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:27 PM

Testing negative for Vovid 19 means that on time of test you showed no signs of covid 19. It does not say you were negative next day. Therefore all isolation rules apply.

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:28 PM
    Mute Tony Martin
    Favourite Tony Martin
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:36 PM

How does he get time to do his job he spends more time travelling and playing golf we all been told to restrict our travel to assenchel jorneys since when did golf and golf dinner outings become essential Sack him has costing us a fortune in travel expenses

Mute Conor Doherty Coughlan
    Favourite Conor Doherty Coughlan
    Aug 25th 2020, 3:40 PM

I’d love to bounce a balloon off his spongey hairless head

How do i make a comment less “ toxic “

Mute anne kelly
    Favourite anne kelly
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:26 PM

Well done Stephen in Journal.ie for getting Hogan’s time line out for all to see! Gosh how can a guy perceived to be a intelligent, smart negotiator get it so wrong! Honesty is always the best policy! Hogan’s position as Commissioner is very shaky this p.m.! I don’t envy Ursula Van L.

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:50 PM

@anne kelly: If she doesn’t sack him, she is telling every EU citizen that EU Commissioners can travel around Europe and disobey laws and rules with immunity.

Mute Oliver Jumelle
    Favourite Oliver Jumelle
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:23 PM

This is worse than cummings

Mute Divad Nayr
    Favourite Divad Nayr
    Aug 25th 2020, 4:04 PM

Yawn, must be slow news week

Mute noname
    Favourite noname
    Aug 25th 2020, 5:22 PM

So he went to Kildare again after Galway despite it being in lockdown ???

Mute muirhill121
    Favourite muirhill121
    Aug 25th 2020, 8:05 PM

The reaction to this a bit hysterical. He hasn’t killed or injured anyone. Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone. Lots of us have used our phones when we shouldn’t and it seems to me that more than half the population are breaking or have broken Covid regulations. The bigger question is: is he doing a good job in Brussels? Moral indignation from Sinn Féin is just too much to take considering the litany of awful crimes committed by their friends over the years!

Mute bombacho
    Favourite bombacho
    Aug 25th 2020, 6:04 PM

Complete lie!

Mute Siobhan Mc Garrell Mackenzie
    Favourite Siobhan Mc Garrell Mackenzie
    Aug 25th 2020, 5:18 PM

From listening to the radio and TV today.. its looking like Mr Hogan is going to get away with this.!!

Mute Marcas Ivarsonn
    Favourite Marcas Ivarsonn
    Aug 25th 2020, 6:02 PM

I’d like to know his toilet habits