You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mark J. Terrill/AP/Press Association Images

Column Alec Baldwin is waving goodbye to public life – and can you blame him?

Sharon Ni Bheolain was treated abominably by our tabloids at the weekend, so what must it be like to be an international star? It gets hot under that spotlight, writes Lisa McInerney.

FIRST SHIA LABEOUF, now Alec Baldwin. It’s not exactly a trend yet – though perpetual chin-stroker James Franco seems tantalisingly sympathetic – but if 2014 comes to be defined by Hollywood actors deserting their posts en masse, who’d be surprised? Though admittedly it’d be nice to see someone plagiarising Shia LaBeouf for a change.

Alec Baldwin’s decision to quit public life comes to us via an editorial in New York magazine. He’s had a turbulent few months. His late-night talk show on MSNBC was cancelled after long-time adversary, TMZ’s Harvey Levin, alleged that Baldwin called a TMZ videographer a “faggot”. Alec’s aghast. He’s not homophobic. Sure, there was that time he called a Daily Mail reporter “a toxic little queen”, and yeah, he casually refers to a transgender man as a “tranny” in the opening paragraphs of the same editorial that he’s using to deny his alleged homophobia, but he’s just hot-headed and being famous is hella hard. He then goes on to list a number of people, media outlets and … uh, cities that have wronged him.

Amongst those to get it in the ear is young Mr LaBeouf, who drove Baldwin up the wall by being too rigid about learning his lines for the Broadway production in which they were both cast.

An uncomfortable truth

Look, there are a lot of reasons to be annoyed with Shia LaBeouf, but his being too darned professional isn’t one of them. The man combated being caught plagiarising with more plagiarism, in the apparently vain hope that we’ll all assume it’s performance art. He even became an art installation in an LA gallery, weeping silently with his head in a paper bag (James Franco’s chin was buffed goodo that day). And, then, at the Nymphomaniac press conference, he cruelly butchered an Eric Cantona quote. This is not a man who needs to be taken to task for learning his lines.

It’s rather a coincidence that the visibly floundering Baldwin has identified the visibly floundering LaBeouf as a personal problem that has compounded his issues with public life, as if their fragile egos were drawn to one another in some sort of peacock-baiting cosmic joke. Whatever the reason, there’s an uncomfortable truth in there somewhere: Baldwin, temperamental gasbag one minute, conscientious zealot the next, has a point.

It must be absolutely head-wrecking to be Hollywood-famous.

Whatever you think of him, consider the paparazzi

Baldwin is an actor of considerable talent and charisma. He’s also undoubtedly a pain in the arse. Not hugely interesting unless he’s lashing out at paparazzi or roaring unpleasant epithets on his daughter’s voicemail, he’s baited by showbiz journos and photographers to display the traits they claim to want to shame out of him. His temper is legendary, so he’s encouraged to lose it as often as possible. There’s no excuse for his carry-on, because he’s not two years old, but we can appreciate that his behaviour is facilitated by those who stand to make money out of it. Whatever you think of the man, the paparazzi’s treatment of his wife and baby daughter is heinous.

In his essay, Baldwin complains about the loss of the personal space New York used to grant its residents.

[People] take your picture in line for coffee. They’re trying to get a picture of your baby. Everyone’s got a camera. When they’re done, they tweet it. It’s … unnatural.

Sarcasm on hold, guys; he’s right. Sharon Ni Bheolain was treated abominably by our tabloids at the weekend, where a story about her ordeal with a stalker was accompanied with sneaky photographs of her shopping and walking the dog. These were double-standards, assuredly exhibited. Par for the course for an RTE personality; what must it be like to be an international star? Little to no craic, I’d wager.

So, granted, being a Hollywood star isn’t all muffin baskets from the Gersh Agency. But while we can grant Baldwin his point on invasion of privacy in a culture where everyone can (and will) play the paparazzo, there’s another interesting detail buried in his rambling diatribe.

‘Gay media culture’

Strongly liberal himself, Baldwin’s biggest bugbear is the erosion of his A-list privilege by what he sees as the sudden eminence of aggressively liberal values, especially the disdain for gay slurs. It is simply not OK to call anyone a “toxic little queen”, or a “faggot”, or a “tranny” anymore. Whether offenders accept it’s hate speech or claim it as momentary, regrettable rudeness is unimportant; a professional entertainer in 2014 should know that certain labels are simply off limits.

Baldwin’s resentment of the “gay media culture” that punished his indiscretions is palpable, and, if we’re feeling generous, understandable. There’s always someone happy to school you when you step out of line, no matter who you are, and now that the media and the public are drawing ever closer together, the need to be constantly guarding your own gob must feel frustrating for a personality like Baldwin’s.

Hot under the spotlight

Still, forgoing the use of gay slurs is hardly too big an imposition, especially when Baldwin claims to be an LGTB ally. Those liberal media sentries might be ever-ready to rain down judgement, but it’s for a good cause. Discrimination left unchallenged is a much bigger problem than actors getting called out for being thoughtless buffoons. Baldwin may demand to be seen as a misunderstood good guy, but he’s got a large hunk of crow to eat first.

In the meantime, disappearing from public life might be just the tonic. As for his worthy opponent Mr LaBeouf, may I suggest some sort of collaboration? He too could do with the time-out. It gets that hot under the spotlight.

Read more of Lisa McInerney’s columns here >

Read: 10 eyebrow-raising quotes from Alec Baldwin’s goodbye rant

Read: Shia LaBeouf arrives on red carpet with a paper bag over his head

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

23 Comments
    Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:46 PM

It will continue until intelligent border controls are put in place.

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:54 PM

@Munster1: To do that we would need proactive clever leadership without influence from Ireland Inc. Not sure if you have got the right country?

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:57 PM

@Munster1: it makes sense that everyone is quarnteeded but FFG are totally against it for some strange reason.

Mute Darren Lambe
    Favourite Darren Lambe
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:01 PM

@Brian Madden: Larry handing out brown envelopes again.

Mute John McCann
    Favourite John McCann
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:12 PM

@Munster1: can’t happen quick enough, another Limerick funeral, Newcastle West, up to 200 people at it, many travelled from UK. Guards know about these in advance and seem to do nothing to stop them, they issued fines ffs,

Mute Paul Greham
    Favourite Paul Greham
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:28 PM

@Munster1: Thankfully there’s only one case here. With 10,000 arrivals through the airport there could have been a lot more by now. Mmmm.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:41 PM

@Paul Greham:

How one Covid-19 case at a meatplant led to over 150 cases and a school outbreak

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40216511.html

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:43 PM

@John McCann:

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:44 PM

@Da Dell: Mmm not allowed to reply to ya John, interesting .. was wondering if they are on the spot fines ?

Mute Paul Greham
    Favourite Paul Greham
    Feb 25th 2021, 9:06 PM

@Da Dell: ‘Mmmm’ was meant to indicate sarcasm.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 25th 2021, 9:15 PM

@Paul Greham: Thats what I had thought man … who knows who they have checked compared to those who walked clean through, the priority seems more in checking if some Irish Pub recipient is going on holiday to Tenerife … although I have not heard of the Tenerife variant yet …

Mute Marie O'Shea
    Favourite Marie O'Shea
    Feb 25th 2021, 11:03 PM

@Paul Greham: one case they are telling us about

Mute Nigel o'Neill
    Favourite Nigel o'Neill
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:18 PM

@Munster1: Govt voted, last night, against mandatory quarantining

Mute Cian
    Favourite Cian
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:50 PM

I wonder what all the lockdown fanatics will say in a few years when we’ve to pay billions of billions of euros back from all the unnecessary bailouts of businesses. Local pub getting 3k a week for subsidies wouldn’t of made the colour of it before covid. The mismanagement of funds during this lockdown is extraordinary. But not a surprise giving our country’s history.

Mute Jamo
    Favourite Jamo
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:58 PM

@Cian: I’d prefer that than having to bury somebody close to me. You can pay things back but you can’t bring anybody back to life.

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:05 PM

@Cian:€3k which has to pay rates bills insurance, €3k equates to about 500 pints over 7 days now don’t know where you learnt maths but doubt if any of these business are staying open on €428 a day before anything is paid in normal times insurance alone is bad enough but do you think brewery gives them drink free!! Electricity is free, rates and rents free!!

Mute Martin Galvin
    Favourite Martin Galvin
    Feb 25th 2021, 9:04 PM

@Jamo: Lucky you, that no one close to you has ever died …. Pity I can’t say the same ….

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Feb 25th 2021, 9:24 PM

@Cian: If all of Europe and plenty of the western world are in the same boat then I get the feeling they will write this off, if only to step up competition against China that escaped with its economy largely intact, if not its reputation.

Mute Cian
    Favourite Cian
    Feb 25th 2021, 11:41 PM

@Jamo: I’ve buried someone close to me because of this virus very sad couldn’t say goodbye properly before they went however we’ve buried people before this and will do it long after this is life. Death shouldn’t cause a standstill of daily life.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Feb 26th 2021, 7:50 AM

@nelliekel: if your pub is closed, there is no bill to pay for the 500 pints. Lights/heating also minimal in a closed pub. Costs of running a closed pub considerably less than an open one

Mute Seaghán Mahon
    Favourite Seaghán Mahon
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:55 PM

Its never going to go away when there is flights coming into the country. Sydney has being over 20 days of no locally transmitted cases but about 20 cases last week came into the country from returning travellers who were already in mandatory hotel isolation so it never got a chance to spread.

Forcing returning travellers into hotel quarantine is a big step but it works

Mute Cian
    Favourite Cian

Only one way it’s coming into the country…

Mute Séamus Heffernan
    Favourite Séamus Heffernan
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:11 PM

@Cian: Migratory birds? Do enlighten us, please.

Mute Martin Galvin
    Favourite Martin Galvin
    Feb 25th 2021, 9:01 PM

@Séamus Heffernan: It’s the Mars variant …. It came back on the rover…

Mute Séamus Heffernan
    Favourite Séamus Heffernan
    Feb 25th 2021, 9:22 PM

@Martin Galvin: F*****g Martians. Why can’t we close Earth’s borders and take a Zero Covid strategy?

Mute Finn Faulkner
    Favourite Finn Faulkner
    Feb 25th 2021, 9:24 PM

@Séamus Heffernan: Sarcasm not needed. This is a ridiculous situation where we an island nation can’t control our ports or airports from incoming variants, and a border where the government up North is being condescending and obstructive. We should have this under better control

Mute Cian
    Favourite Cian
    Feb 25th 2021, 11:40 PM

@Séamus Heffernan: it’s the Chem trails Seamus or the fluoride in the water take your pick…

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:00 AM

Serious moaners in this comment thread. One lad giving out to someone for being making a joke. “The situation is too serious for sarcasm”. Others basically pleading with the powers that be to lock them up.
    “L

Mute Mickety Dee
    Favourite Mickety Dee
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:01 AM

@Cian: There are probably loads of variants already in circulation in Ireland. I don’t understand why variants are only hitting the news now

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:02 AM

@john doe: “Lock us up and throwaway the key, we don’t deserve our freedom”
    Get a hold of yourselves people. Be sensible, protect yourselves and your loved ones and you will be fine.

Mute Brendan McCarron
    Favourite Brendan McCarron
    Feb 26th 2021, 7:59 AM

@Séamus Heffernan: Apparently it was an Amazon delivery…

Mute Lauren McKeown
    Favourite Lauren McKeown
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:06 PM

There are hundreds of variants and there have been since last year. They’re only speaking about it now to push their agenda of fear and keep us in lockdown for the next year.

Mute Darren Farrell
    Favourite Darren Farrell
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:07 PM

@Lauren McKeown: I agree

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 25th 2021, 9:09 PM

@Marie Broomfield: LOL is right ..it certainly dose not impact them in their pockets anyways, plus they have got their pay rises too .. Its the Irish Taxpayer that will be paying for it not the Gov, as they did the gambling debts of the Banks..

Mute Brendan McCarron
    Feb 26th 2021, 8:02 AM

@Marie Broomfield: Lesser of two evils compared to ambulances in hospital car parks and people dying in their care homes unattended. Gov can fudge the numbers and load a bit more on the national debt but it can’t fix the healthcare system overnight (or over 10 months).

Mute Jason Shortt
    Favourite Jason Shortt
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:13 PM

First they said the death rate would be 3%. Then came kawasaki syndrome (that one didn’t really catch on), then ‘long covid’ and now it’s ‘variants’ (which is a good one because you can have an unlimited number of them). I’m not saying that these variants aren’t real, but they are clearly being used to keep the scare tactics going in order to maximise control. By the end of March, even by the government’s own projections, the majority of people who are vulnerable will have been vaccinated. It’s time to stop scaring people and start opening up. They could start by at least telling nursing home residents when they will get their freedom back, now that they have almost all been vaccinated. They were not even mentioned in the new ‘plan’. That should be bigger news than this latest variant.

Mute Lisa McCaff
    Favourite Lisa McCaff
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:32 AM

@Jason Shortt: you do realise that the variants noted by scientists so far are faster spreading. Like any virus it’s mutating. It can evolve a version that is much harder to contain, one that is more deadly, one that will attack a younger person faster/harder. They are trying to limit the spread whilst they get people vaccinated. Globally. You are living through a piece of global history. It’s not fun, but it’s very real.

Mute Emmett Whelan
    Favourite Emmett Whelan
    Feb 26th 2021, 1:52 AM

@Jason Shortt: long covid is a fact alot of people suffering months afterwards, i agree with u for the rest of wat u said , this will go on for years people need to get that into there head

Mute Wessss
    Favourite Wessss
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:51 PM

Be grand lads .. bring it to our shores .. sure it’s a free for all anyway – no quarantine necessary .. just stay within 5k of where you’re staying though

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:59 PM

@Wessss: are the government running a competition to guess how many strains we can bring in?

Mute Breedge
    Favourite Breedge
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:12 PM

@Brian Madden: what do you suggest Brian

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:15 PM

@Breedge: I suggest that they they quarantine all incoming flights bridge.

Mute Breedge
    Favourite Breedge
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:27 PM

@Brian Madden: Totally agree

Mute Breedge
    Favourite Breedge
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:30 PM

@Breedge: by the way its Breedge

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:36 PM

@Breedge: oops apologies Breedge, bloody autocorrect

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:53 PM

@Brian Madden: Would be great but since we don’t work with the North, they would just land in Belfast and travel South

Mute Philip Kelly
    Favourite Philip Kelly
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:08 AM

@Vanessa: it’s the other way round the DUP and Arlene Foster and the unionists will not work with us down here
    Get it. Right, every effort made to them has been rejected but that’s OK Michael Martin and FGFF are all best friends with them, you see it every day the Dáil sits as FGFF do not even give any republican a chance to bring up any questions without fffg. Talking about the IRA Who where only brought into the scene because fffg turned their backs on the nationalist people in the North

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Feb 26th 2021, 7:04 AM

@Philip Kelly: It’s a bilateral issue. But however we still don’t work with them (and yes they also don’t work with us).

Doesn’t change anything that we would still have an open door in the North

Mute Mickety Dee
    Favourite Mickety Dee

You’d swear variants didn’t exist before the uk found one

Mute a
    Favourite a
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:48 PM

@Mickety Dee: Ya but it’s fun to call it the UK varient

Mute Cian Martin
    Favourite Cian Martin
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:11 PM

@a: UKVID

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    Feb 25th 2021, 9:00 PM

@Mickety Dee: every time there’s a sense of positivity they pull something out of the hat to keep the fear going.. people have copped onto the 3 day or 5 day trend BS, now they throw in a new variant.. haven’t even got a name for it..
    US identified nearly 30 variants in circulation last week.. viruses mutate.. as they say in sport, you can only play what’s in front of you, get testing, isolate outbreaks and let the test of the people get on with living.

Mute Brendan McCarron
    Feb 26th 2021, 8:06 AM

@Cian Martin: Brovid

Mute Odd Socks
    Favourite Odd Socks
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:00 PM

I hope this new variant was found within 5km from the airport. Because if not the carrier of it is going to get a €100 fine from the Garda. And they wouldn’t want that on top of having covid-19.

Mute Fionnuala O'Brien
    Favourite Fionnuala O'Brien
    Feb 25th 2021, 9:40 PM

@Odd Socks: lol

Mute Fionnuala O'Brien
    Favourite Fionnuala O'Brien
    Feb 25th 2021, 9:40 PM

@Odd Socks: lol

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:08 PM

It’s the ‘NPHET Variant’ I’m worried about…

Mute Kehoe21
    Favourite Kehoe21
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:33 PM

This government always waits till the horse bolts before they close the gate.

Mute Brendan McCarron
    Feb 26th 2021, 8:08 AM

@Kehoe21: But said closure of this ‘gate’ is not mandatory, for fear of legal reprisals, according to Tanaiste. We would prefer that the horse bolts but everyone stays 5km away from it.

Mute Darren Lambe
    Favourite Darren Lambe
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:55 PM

There was too much positive news today anyway

Mute Tom O'Hanlon
    Favourite Tom O'Hanlon
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:59 PM

And hotel and enforced quarantine are weeks away if ever.

Mute Yvonne McGarrigle
    Favourite Yvonne McGarrigle
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:30 PM

Mandatory quarantine for EVERYONE coming into country except essential travel

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Feb 25th 2021, 10:30 PM

@Michael Hanley: we’ve an army doing nothing for years. Get them to man it. Plus we’re not closing the border, they just have to quarantine for two weeks before heading any further south.

Mute Spbeak
    Favourite Spbeak
    Feb 26th 2021, 7:50 AM

@Michael Hanley: I am not a fan of not trying just because of the leaky bucket. Even if we do it in Dublin, Cork and Shannon airports, that will surely reduce the risk – and slow the spread of variants. It does not need to be a perfect solution with a border on the north. Also if it works in the south the north/Arlene may just copy us.

Mute Eoin Ó Cuinneagáin
    Favourite Eoin Ó Cuinneagáin
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:14 PM

Nice to see in the height of this pandemic people presenting to the emergency depts is down 14% on this time last year ….. covid seems have averted the trolley crisis the first time in the history of the HSE. The virus also has reduced the number of cancer & Cardiac deaths 30% year on year. Long may it stick around dare I say ……

Mute Yvonne McGarrigle
    Favourite Yvonne McGarrigle
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:28 PM

Mandatory quarantine NOW

Mute Alan Leamy
    Favourite Alan Leamy
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:49 PM

Suprise suprise our government who continues to blame and punish the public have let another varient into the country

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Feb 25th 2021, 10:55 PM

@Alan Leamy: While also voting against mandatory quarantine in the Dail this afternoon. It’s like they’re trying to be the worst government ever. Job done.

Mute Denise
    Favourite Denise
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:00 PM

Incompetent people running this Show

Mute Marty Mc.
    Favourite Marty Mc.
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:53 PM

I have been saying for a while that we should continue lockdown till the end of 2021 and make sure everyone is vaccinated.Then we can have a new beginning in 2022..Its common sense.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:58 PM

@Marty Mc.: no

Mute Eoin Ó Cuinneagáin
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:29 PM

@Marty Mc.: I need my pints of Guinness now I tell you….. now ……….

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:49 PM

@Marty Mc.: 1st step of easing of restrictions here in Zurich on Mar 1st . Im getting my vaccine tomorrow and my parents back home in Ireland still have no idea of when they will getting theirs.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:55 PM

@Marty Mc.: are you for real get rid of the 3 muppets and holohan and the virus will go away

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:56 PM

@Marty Mc.: Embarrassing post of the highest caliber

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Feb 25th 2021, 10:29 PM

@Da Dell: I wouldn’t be leaving any Americans in if I was ye. Sure wasn’t it obvious that the worst varient would come for a country of Muppets. The California strain resists our vaccines.

Mute Lisa McCaff
    Favourite Lisa McCaff
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:39 AM

@Margaret Kane: that’s right Margaret. Sure didn’t they bring it in especially, thinking we were all enjoying ourselves too much. Ffs. Thick.

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:27 PM

@Marty Mc.: You’ve also yet to explain how further demolishing people’s businesses and livelihoods is common sense. Or how businesses are supposed to go another 10 months closed and somehow be ready to go for 2022. The restrictions may be having absolutely no effect on you, but recent data suggests 60% of people are feeling their mental health very badly affected by this. There’s no common sense in this suggestion at all.

Mute Richie
    Favourite Richie
    Feb 25th 2021, 11:18 PM

Nphet do not get to say when the country opens up.

And if Govt keep going this way it will lose people completely and it won’t matter what they say.

We have vaccines now. They work or they don’t. Life has to start going back to normal either way with mitigation’s once vulnerable are vaccinated. People will die of covid for the next 20 years.

Please take nphet off the tv. They should go to Govt buildings advise the Govt. Govt then make calls after social and economic advice also. We do not need nor is it good to see the single track minds narrative every night. They are an advisory board who are supposed to consider all health. They are focused on one area only meaning they have lost objectiveness.

Mute Robert Robert
    Favourite Robert Robert
    Feb 25th 2021, 7:47 PM

This news is like Kinder Surprise

Mute Pat Andrews
    Favourite Pat Andrews
    Feb 25th 2021, 9:03 PM

Sub Saharan variant. Who is travelling hehe from there and why?

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Feb 25th 2021, 11:21 PM

@Pat Andrews: I posted a similar query and it was deleted. It appears that political correctness means you should refrain from asking that very relevant question —–Well according to the P.C. police!

Mute Brendan McCarron
    Feb 26th 2021, 8:11 AM

@Pat Andrews: I read this post but with a Michael Jackson HEHE in the middle. Chamone.

Mute Sohoma Roanie
    Favourite Sohoma Roanie
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:03 PM

Anyone know how to watch the NPHET press conferences? I would like to hear the details directly from the conference. Just can’t find the link.

Mute Eoin Ó Cuinneagáin
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:32 PM

@Sohoma Roanie: stick head in toilet bowl then flush …… pretty much the same thing

Mute Tom kenny
    Favourite Tom kenny
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:59 PM

@Eoin Ó Cuinneagáin: you sir have won the internet today

Mute Yvonne Sheils
    Favourite Yvonne Sheils
    Feb 25th 2021, 10:57 PM

And our airports are still open…

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Feb 25th 2021, 9:38 PM

Political correctness and the fear of being branded as racists mean that we are compelled to let everybody and everything that they’re carrying into this daft little country

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:18 AM

Has anyone actually every heard Glynn say ANYTHING positive? He’s unbelievable.

Mute Fi Wyse
    Favourite Fi Wyse

Those giant bubbles don’t seem like a bad idea after all……..

Mute Cathal O'Connor
    Favourite Cathal O'Connor
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:28 AM

Won’t be long until we have the Irish strain and watch how quickly foreign travel will be banned then by other countries, I don’t think the word proactive exists in the Irish language, shambles

Mute Dino Manning
    Favourite Dino Manning
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:34 PM

Open the schools

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:15 AM

Why is this spanner and his cronies at nphet constantly making up new variants?

Mute Fran Proins
    Favourite Fran Proins
    Feb 25th 2021, 8:05 PM

@MartyMc..I agree..you make a good point.

Mute Gary Mullen
    Favourite Gary Mullen
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:36 AM

The key points from the meeting Nephet and Ff Fg and G are USE-LESS

Mute RiainOg
    Favourite RiainOg
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:03 AM

I think this one might ask for your bank details to wire a substantial amount of itself over, as we’ve become the sole beneficiary of the kings inheritance.

Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:35 AM

I wish the gov. would for once just be honest and say why they don’t want to do border control. “We’re afraid of Michael O’Leary” “we have and always will prioritise tourists” .. whatever it is, I just want them to say it. Instead of heel dragging and having talks about having talks.

Mute Margaret Doyle
    Favourite Margaret Doyle
    Feb 26th 2021, 11:10 AM

The Government are not listening to the Public. Both parties are now banned from getting my vote ever again. Close the ports and Airports and open the Country – Simples.

Mute still champ champ
    Favourite still champ champ
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:20 AM

Open s pop up marijuana shop with the stashed drug. Billions to be made

Mute Thinkingaboutmatters
    Favourite Thinkingaboutmatters
    Feb 26th 2021, 11:19 AM

Larry Goodman doesn’t have to worry about any of this. The ex Nama plutocrats can continue building their own palaces undisturbed by Gardaí. Only builders without connections get shut down. Rules for the little people.

Mute Boyd Gray
    Favourite Boyd Gray
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:37 AM

What? You mean we can’t blame the Brits any more?!