Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Thursday 28 September 2023 Dublin: 11°C
# the seanad
Here are all the Senators elected to the 26th Seanad with all seats filled
The identities of the 11 Taoiseach’s nominees will remain unknown.

LAST UPDATE | Apr 3rd 2020, 10:20 PM

Seanad Count E Maxwells Dublin The counting of votes in Dublin Castle. Maxwells Dublin

ALL THE SEATS have now been filled in the 26th Seanad. 

Counting concluded at Dublin Castle shortly after 9.30pm with the final two seats on the Administrative Panel decided.

Fianna Fáil Senators Diarmuid Wilson and Mark Daly have both been re-elected today with former Fianna Fáil TD Fiona O’Loughlin also elected. 

Earlier, former TD Noel Rock and former Senator Lorraine Clifford-Lee failed to be elected. 

In total, the Seanad is made up of 60 seats, the breakdown of which are:

  • 11 -Taoiseach’s nominees
  • 6 – University seats
  • 43 – Vocational interests 

The six university seats have now been filled, as have all the seats in four of the five Vocational Panels. 

Outgoing Senators, councillors across the country and incoming TDs are eligible to vote for the nominees on the vocational panels. 

The identities of who will be among the 11 Taoiseach nominees is as yet unclear with the process of government formation ongoing. Those 11 senators will complete the lineup in the Seanad.

Here’s who has been elected so far: 

Cultural and educational panel

  1. Seán Kyne
  2. Malcolm Byrne
  3. Lisa Chambers
  4. John McGahon
  5. Fintan Warfield

Agricultural panel

  1. Victor Boyhan
  2. Denis O’Donovan
  3. Paul Daly
  4. Niall Blaney
  5. Tim Lombard
  6. Paddy Burke
  7. Michael D’Arcy
  8. Eugene Murphy
  9. Pippa Hackett
  10. Annie Hoey
  11. Lynn Boylan

Labour panel

  1. Jerry Buttimer
  2. John Cummins
  3. Robbie Gallagher
  4. Joe O’Reilly
  5. Ned O’Sullivan
  6. Shane Cassells
  7. Pat Casey
  8. Gerard Craughwell
  9. Pauline O’Reilly
  10. Paul Gavan
  11. Marie Sherlock

Industrial and commercial panel

  1. Micheál Carrigy
  2. Barry Ward
  3. Aidan Davitt
  4. Ollie Crowe
  5. Catherine Ardagh
  6. Frances Black
  7. Mark Wall
  8. Sharon Keogan
  9. Elisha McCallion

Administrative panel (incomplete)

  1. Mark Daly
  2. Martin Conway
  3. Diarmuid Wilson
  4. Fiona O’Loughlin
  5. Garrett Ahearn
  6. Rebecca Moynihan 
  7. Niall Ó Donnghaile

National University of Ireland (NUI)

  1. Rónán Mullen
  2. Michael McDowell
  3. Alice-Mary Higgins

University of Dublin, Trinity College

  1. David Norris
  2. Ivana Bacik
  3. Lynn Ruane

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel