You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach: 'Over 2,000 cases per day would significantly challenge the contact tracing system'

The Taoiseach said there are 700 contact tracers employed.

TAOISEACH MICHEÁL MARTIN has said if the country reaches 2,000 Covid cases per day, it would be very challenging for the contact tracing system.  

Speaking at Government Buildings yesterday, he announced that Ireland will introduce fresh lockdown measures beginning on Christmas Eve – with various restrictions kicking in in the following days and weeks.

He said the Government was acting “quickly and aggressively” to try to suppress the soaring case numbers.

Yesterday, a further 970 new cases of Covid-19 were confirmed in Ireland, with 13 deaths recorded.

Tánaiste Leo Varadkar said if no action was taken, and cases continues to rise at the same trajectory they are, the country could hit 2,000 cases by New Year’s Eve.

There is capacity to handle 140,000 tests per week, with the Taoiseach confirming yesterday that there are 700 contact tracers employed. 

In October, when there was a spike in cases, the contact tracing system was near collapse, with the HSE being forced to ask more than 2,000 people who received a positive Covid-19 test result during a particular week to alert their own close contacts. 

The HSE said at the time that this was due to the “unprecedented pressure” on Ireland’s contact tracing system over that week. 

Contact tracers normally inform close contacts of infected cases of their status and help arrange for them to be tested. 

When asked if the contact tracing system could handle the mounting case numbers, particularly if they hit the 2,000 mark, Martin said:

That would be very challenging, that would be difficult.

The Taoiseach said the HSE had informed him that they had increased the contact tracing workforce, confirming there are now 700 contact tracers employed. 

He added:

If you get up to 2,000 that is reaching very significant levels which would challenge contact tracing.

New restrictions

Ireland is returning to the highest level of its Covid-19 response – Level 5 – with some adjustments, such as allowing shops to remain open.

The measures will initially remain in place until January 12.

Martin said the government was making decisions on the assumption that the new UK variant of Covid-19 was already in Ireland.

“We have to act as if this mutant variant is in the country – we don’t have definitive proof, but clearly something is going on there in terms of the change, the scale and rapidity of the growth,” he said. 

The Taoiseach confirmed that there is no evidence this new variant has had an impact on hospitalisations in the UK.

Concern over the strain has led to a slew of European countries, including Ireland, suspending flights from Britain.

UK health officials have said that initial modelling and research suggests that the new variant may be 70% more infectious that other strains.

However, this week, Irish public health experts, such as the director of the National Virus Reference Laboratory Dr Cillian De Gascun, said the strain is “a cause for concern” but that the evidence is not there yet to say for sure that it is more infectious.

“I don’t think we have seen the evidence for that interpretation at this point in time,” he said.

Certainly there are significant case numbers in various regions of the UK and it has become the dominant strain over the last four or five weeks, certainly it’s a cause for concern. There are some genetic markers that might explain why it would be more infective, and perhaps might be more efficient at transmitting, but we haven’t seen the hard evidence for that.

Despite this, De Gascun said that due to the infection rates in the southeast of the UK it is “quite important and prudent” to operate on a precautionary basis.

Chair of NPHET’s modelling group Professor Philip Nolan also said this week:

It’s not to say the new variant is here or isn’t here, there’s no evidence that it is, there’s no need to read these rapidly high case counts as evidence that it must be here.

“It’s clear from the level of social contact that we’re seeing that this could account for those very high growth rates,” he said.

New variant

Martin acknowledged that a body of work had to be done on the impact of the new variant, but said there has been a rise in the case numbers, regardless.

“There is without question a rapid increase in the cases – the actual reason for that – is it socialisation? Or the variant of the virus – the mutant variant? Or is it a combination of both?”

He said he spoke to UK experts yesterday morning about the new variant.

“They are confident that this variant is responsible for increased transmission. They are growing more and more confident, they have to do more research, I acknowledge that,” he said. 

“But a lot of people believe it is inconceivable that it would not be in Ireland given our close proximity to the UK and people travelling over,” he said.

The Taoiseach said the government does have to apply a “precautionary principle”, stating:

“We do have to work on the basis that it’s here. I think it would be irresponsible if we worked on the basis that it wasn’t here.”

“The figures speak for themselves in terms of growth. Something different has happened in the last ten days, there is no doubt about that.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

53 Comments
    Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Dec 23rd 2020, 12:08 AM

Look forward to the vaccine numbers being reported daily with the same vigour as case numbers to give everyone some hope.

Mute Cynical
    Favourite Cynical
    Dec 23rd 2020, 2:55 AM

@Declan: If we clicked and commented on the good news articles more than the bad news ones and that would be the case.

But that will never happen – ‘bad news sells because the amygdala is always looking for something to fear’.

Mute Glenn Halpin
    Favourite Glenn Halpin
    Dec 23rd 2020, 8:08 AM

@Declan: good one Mehole, the system is significantly challenged at 200 cases per day.

Mute Michael J Hartnett
    Favourite Michael J Hartnett
    Dec 23rd 2020, 8:21 AM

@Cynical: only in those who are unaware of the amygdala and its purpose and those with anxiety issues.

Mute Dangling Damo
    Favourite Dangling Damo
    Dec 23rd 2020, 9:52 AM

@Glenn Halpin: the number of contact tracers given in the past was 800 now its 700. Surely the prudent thing to do would be to hire people on a temporary basis in anticipation of rising figures not play catch up as we seem to be doing. Maybe leo will dust off the bedside manner and answer the phone again. Also where are the additional icu beds to deal with the projected rise in numbers, are they stuck in a mire of red tape or (even functional given recent reports) hoping things will be grand if ignored

Mute EM
    Favourite EM
    Dec 23rd 2020, 12:11 AM

Ok why doesn’t he employee more people if that’s expected ?

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Dec 23rd 2020, 12:14 AM

@EM: agreed 200,000+ getting pup. May aswell give them a little more to do it

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Dec 23rd 2020, 12:23 AM

@john s: is that the whole 200,000+getting pup John?

Mute Lads you cant do that
    Favourite Lads you cant do that
    Dec 23rd 2020, 2:50 AM

@john s: a pup is not just for Christmas

Mute cars
    Favourite cars
    Dec 23rd 2020, 5:16 AM

@john s: do you have an issue with those who have lost their jobs because of this pandemic?

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Dec 23rd 2020, 9:02 AM

@cars: But that’s not what he said, now is it? Given the opportunity, do you think people on the PUP would take up a position (i.e. temp contract) as Contact Tracing, that I bet they could easily do, for a higher wage than the €350pw they currently receive. Someone who’s just lost their job definitely is struggling on the €350. Then when a persons company opens back up, they can take back up their position. Do you think people wouldn’t want an opportunity, albeit temporary, to earn extra when out of work, honest question?

Mute Lee Galiezitte
    Favourite Lee Galiezitte
    Dec 23rd 2020, 1:02 PM

@Alan Wright: I’d jump at the chance. I’d prob even do it for the pup considering I’d be bored doing nothing day after day for the guts of a year.

Mute Laura Halfitz
    Favourite Laura Halfitz
    Dec 23rd 2020, 12:31 AM

Never managed to properly recruit contact tracers so redeploying physios, environmental health officers, etc into contact tracing decimating other critical services. Whole thing is a shambles. Praying this vaccine works and they have an actual plan to roll it out.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Dec 23rd 2020, 10:30 AM

@Laura Halfitz: I truly admire your optimism but on past history wouldn’t hold my breath.

Mute john mc carthy
    Favourite john mc carthy
    Dec 23rd 2020, 1:55 AM

Level 5 and schools with 1000 students buzzing around with a mere cloth a metre from each other. Any other examples of dramatic irony?

Mute Paul Smith
    Favourite Paul Smith
    Dec 23rd 2020, 2:47 AM

@john mc carthy: I have the app for months and not once have I got an alert that I was near anyone that had it. How can that be true.

Mute Seánie Ó Flannagáin
    Favourite Seánie Ó Flannagáin
    Dec 23rd 2020, 7:19 AM

@Paul Smith: maybe you’ve been behaving responsibly?

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Dec 23rd 2020, 7:39 AM

@Paul Smith: you had a cough or fever? 80k cases. It’s very very feasible that 4 million of us have been nowhere near an active case

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Dec 23rd 2020, 7:42 AM

@john mc carthy: your post for one

Mute Brianto
    Favourite Brianto
    Dec 23rd 2020, 12:19 AM

Hi guys. STOP SPREADING THE VIRUS! Happy Christmas x

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Dec 23rd 2020, 8:51 AM

@Brianto: Enough with the blame game. It’s a virus lads. It does what a virus does. It doesn’t follow the guidelines.

Complaining about other people is not going to stop it from spreading.

Mute Peter Kelly
    Favourite Peter Kelly
    Dec 23rd 2020, 9:11 AM

@Jim Smith: people not following guidelines either.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Dec 23rd 2020, 9:37 AM

@Peter Kelly: So what’s plan B?

Mute Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Favourite Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Dec 23rd 2020, 10:52 AM

@Peter Kelly: I’m not sure the guidelines are what will stop the virus.
    Healthcare staff and patient aquired is always present and close contact with a confirmed case.
    The guidelines are due to change now so you could follow the change in transmission source and test your assumptions.
    All the data is available although the tracking and tracing is limited has many unknowns and community transmission csses>
    https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/covid-1914-dayepidemiologyreports/

Mute Bar O'Choc
    Favourite Bar O'Choc
    Dec 23rd 2020, 2:46 AM

Just stay locked in your home. Buy everything online. Never come in contact with other human beings. Be grand ;)

Mute Rob Foley
    Favourite Rob Foley
    Dec 23rd 2020, 12:11 AM

Can people not just do their own contact tracing ? Or I thought that was the point of the app ?

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Dec 23rd 2020, 12:49 AM

@Rob Foley: For all the fanfare about this App, there seems to be no news about whether it is of any use?

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Dec 23rd 2020, 1:06 AM

@Daniel Dunne: so many people are paranoid- and convinced that it’s tracking them. It’s not!!

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Dec 23rd 2020, 1:07 AM

@Rob Foley: there was uproar when there was a failure in the system and people were asked for a day or to to do contact tracing… it does make sense to a point but if someone identifies you as a “close” contact then you have to isolate for 14 days and have 2 tests – how would that work for people who do not want to know.

It is the way in Sweden in part but still has the flaw that firstly you may not have the contact details if they are stored in a restaurant or on the covid app..

it does work as a backup sure, it you have a family member waiting a test then one can plan action and seek advice if the test is positive but that does not work for strangers and people who do not want to know, and I am sure there are the few that want to hide that they might have covid to avoid the fallout, too

I do not know enough about how the pieces fit together but as many prongs as possible then the better.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Dec 23rd 2020, 1:08 AM

@Daniel Dunne: would be interesting to find out. I wonder would someone ask how many cases were detected using data supplied by the app.

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran
    Dec 23rd 2020, 5:47 AM

@Rob Foley: Didn’t see your comments before posting the same. They seem to have completely forgotten about it. Time to call Joe Duffy.

Mute Jim Lingk
    Favourite Jim Lingk
    Dec 23rd 2020, 7:43 AM

@Daniel Dunne: If it was any use it would be trumpeted.

Mute Jim Lingk
    Favourite Jim Lingk
    Dec 23rd 2020, 7:44 AM

@EvieXVI: That is literally the point of the app.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Dec 23rd 2020, 7:45 AM

@Rob Foley: about a month ago the comedian David O’Doherty told us on his podcast that he was traced by the app. It’s only one case I know of but it is working..

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Dec 23rd 2020, 7:47 AM

@EvieXVI: Actually people simply do not eant to have bluetooth on all the time…. It can be a security concern doing so…

Mute Nigel Comerford
    Favourite Nigel Comerford
    Dec 23rd 2020, 9:52 AM

@Rob Foley: would be the first thing I’d do I found out I had it. I’d be straight onto anyone and everyone I’d been around. Shouldn’t be up to the government to contact someone you were in contact with.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Dec 23rd 2020, 10:38 AM

@Rob Foley: Take a look at the app less then 200000 using it. According to an earlier report it took 3 weeks before someone was notified they were in close contact.

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Dec 23rd 2020, 3:58 AM

What contact tracing system???

Mute cork rebel
    Favourite cork rebel
    Dec 23rd 2020, 8:11 AM

I’d love to know how closed bars amd restaurants amd county borders is going to stop the spread. People will just meet somewhere else. All shops still open. Parks, supermarkets. Makes no sense at all.

Mute Albert Brennerman
    Favourite Albert Brennerman
    Dec 23rd 2020, 12:22 AM

They are a mess, we are not. Stay safe and shut her down for few. You’ll be fine if you get dosed but some poor fecker won’t see another one if we play roulette.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Dec 23rd 2020, 1:04 AM

In the words of David Anttenborough “ climate change will bring on many pandemics perhaps this is the “ real truth “& basically we’re all d**ked!

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran
    Dec 23rd 2020, 5:45 AM

What ever happened to the contact tracing app? I have it installed but it never gets mentioned. Surely it would help significantly. The cases will drop for a few days and shoot up on the 27th. People will go home and pretend to be fine.

Mute Hundredth Idiot
    Favourite Hundredth Idiot
    Dec 23rd 2020, 6:23 AM

@Gareth Murran: of you go into the Contact Tracing tab you can see the number of alerts they’ve sent out. 11k alerts from 6k cases.

Perhaps the issue is that the people selfishly spreading the virus are the same ones who won’t install the app. A human problem, not a system or technology one.

Mute Robert Conneely
    Favourite Robert Conneely
    Dec 23rd 2020, 8:35 AM

@Gareth Murran: Just looked at it, only 34‰ of over 16s using it. About 11,000 close contact alerts and 6000 cases identified from it.
    Do you use it?

Mute Woolly
    Favourite Woolly
    Dec 23rd 2020, 9:13 AM

@Robert Conneely: I use it but I dont go anywhere, I have only had contact with my own household for months and have all my shopping delivered but I do know someone who was traced through the App

Mute Michael Creagh
    Favourite Michael Creagh
    Dec 23rd 2020, 7:13 AM

100 cases per day would be a challenge from what were seeing,never mind 2000.

Mute Jim Lingk
    Favourite Jim Lingk
    Dec 23rd 2020, 7:45 AM

@Michael Creagh: that’s the NPHET attitude but obviously not true.

Mute Darren Malone
    Favourite Darren Malone
    Dec 23rd 2020, 9:22 AM

This is just my opinion But? I wonder if we didn’t have the 6 week lockdown to have a so called free Xmas, and people could have still shopped for Xmas would we have such high numbers now.

Mute Bar O'Choc
    Favourite Bar O'Choc
    Dec 23rd 2020, 2:46 AM

Just stay locked in your home. Buy everything online. Never come in contact with other human beings. Be grand

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Dec 23rd 2020, 12:05 PM

If the majority of cases are transmitted in households, why is the government forcing everybody to stay at home?

Mute Mick Gannon
    Favourite Mick Gannon
    Dec 23rd 2020, 9:33 AM

No mention of a challenge to overworked hospitals and staff will you still be expecting the student nurses to fill the void as yourself and your cohorts sit in your Ivory towers

Mute icaniwont
    Favourite icaniwont
    Dec 23rd 2020, 9:20 AM

700 employed to do contract tracing but how many are working over the Christmas period?

Mute gavin meade
    Favourite gavin meade
    Dec 23rd 2020, 9:47 AM

Really yea …… and you were not warned of this ? Playing god to look good . Clowns