You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Let's Get Quizzical

Think you know politics? Then take our bumper quiz of the political year

It’s been a big year for political developments and controversy, but how much of it do you remember?

2014 HAS BEEN an incredible year in the political world.

We’ve had resignations, elections, and controversies that have threatened the very existence of the government.

But how much of it can you remember? Take our quiz…

1. Ex-Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan described the actions of two garda whistleblowers as “disgusting”, but which PAC member was asking him questions when he said it?
Eoghan Murphy
Shane Ross

John McGuinness
Mary Lou McDonald
2. What event prompted independent TD Mick Wallace to remark at one point this year that “the fish rots from the head”?
Alan Shatter's resignation
The garda confidential recipient Oliver Connolly's sacking

Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan's resignation
Eamon Gilmore's resignation
3. Prior to Frank Flannery's resignation, what did Ruairí Quinn say he occasionally saw the political strategist doing?
Walk past ministerial offices with Fine Gael advisers
Walk into the Taoiseach's office in Government Buildings

Talk to Phil Hogan in the Dáil bar
Eat with Fine Gael ministers in the Leinster House canteen
4. How was Alan Shatter's resignation as Minister for Justice revealed?
He read a statement in the Dáil
Enda Kenny announced it in the Dáil

It leaked from a Cabinet meeting
Shatter held a hastily-arranged press conference at the Department of Justice
5. What problem faced Micheál Martin after the local elections?
He'd lost weight and his suits were very loose
He'd walked so much he'd ruined his best shoes

He'd got paper cuts all over his hands from handing out so many leaflets
His wife was very cross with him as he hadn't been home in weeks
6. How did former Fine Gael strategist Frank Flannery describe the party's local election campaign?
“A load of crap”
“One of the worst I ever saw”

“Shite”
“The worst since 2002”
7. Where did Eamon Gilmore announce he was resigning as Labour leader and Tánaiste?
Iveagh House
Government Buildings

The Dáil
The count centre at the RDS
8. Alan Kelly was elected Labour's deputy leader in July, but who came second?
Michael McCarthy
Seán Sherlock

Ciara Conway
9. Which government minister had their car stolen in September?
Alan Kelly
Paschal Donohoe

Heather Humphreys
Alex White
10. Sinn Féin's Mary Lou McDonald was criticised for flying business class to Australia, but how much did the flight cost?
€10,000
€4,000

€6,000
€8,000
11. What did Micheál Martin say he was preparing to do in September?
Preparing to be the next Taoiseach
Preparing to go into government

Preparing for an early election
Preparing for a heave against him
12. What did David Cameron say the Queen did after the Scottish independence referendum was defeated?
Screamed
Danced

Purred
Cried
13. Several political parties called for a referendum to enshrine state ownership of the water supply this year, but which one was the first to call for it?
Green Party
Labour

Sinn Féin
Socialist Party
14. Fine Gael TD Seán Conlan's bizarre dispute with a UK jeweller became public in October? But what was it over?
A pearl necklace
Diamond earrings

A diamond and ruby ring
Wedding rings
15. What colour was Michael Noonan's tie on Budget day?
Navy
Pink

Blue
Claret
16. What reason did independent TD Michael Fitzmaurice give for being late to the Roscommon-South Leitrim by-election count?
There were chickens to be fed
There was turf to be cut

There were sheep to be sheared
There were cattle to be moved
17. Fine Gael's John McNulty lost the Seanad by-election to independent Gerard Craughwell, but who was the other candidate in the race?
Catherine Searey
Catherine Seeley

Catriona Searey
Kathleen Seeley
18. Lots of politicians got involved in the ice bucket challenge, but which one used a digger for theirs?
Mattie McGrath
Stephen Donnelly

Mick Wallace
Luke 'Ming' Flanagan
19. Which junior minister got into trouble after it emerged his personal driver sat on the board of Irish Water?
Michael Ring
Paudie Coffey

Seán Sherlock
Simon Harris
20. Which of these politicians did NOT receive a death threat – that we know of - this year?
Noel Coonan
Alan Kelly

Enda Kenny
Gerry Adams
Answer all the questions to see your result!
You scored out of !
Taoiseach
You know so much about politics you could lead the country
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Tánaiste
You know so much about politics you could be as powerful as Joan Burton
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Minister for Finance
You know enough about politics that we'd just about trust you with the finances
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Minister for Transport
You're okay at this politics lark, we'll give you a safe portfolio that you can't possibly mess up.
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Minister for Arts
Oh dear, not great at this politics game, are you? Here's the most harmless portfolio we could find. Surely you can do better than Heather...
Share your result: