You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

need to know

The Evening Fix... now with added uncomfortable Gardaí

Here’s all the things we learned, loved and shared today.

Eyes forward lads and lassies! Aisling Fitzgibbon aka ‘The Girl Against Fluoride’ strips off outside Leinster House to highlight the cost of the addition of chemicals including fluoride to the water supply as trade union members march through Dublin City Centre in opposition to Austerity. (Niall Carson/PA Wire)

HERE ARE THE things you need to know as we round off the day in three easy steps.

THINGS WE LEARNED

#ANTI-AUSTERITY Around ten thousand people turned out to protest at austerity measures in Dublin City Centre this afternoon, at an event organised by the Dublin Council of Trade Unions. A number of speakers, including ICTU president Eugene McGlone were heckled at the rally, in what SIPTU president Jack O’Connor called ‘fascist behaviour’.

#CALL FOR RESIGNATION The Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin has called for the resignation of the Health Minister James Reilly, calling the primary care centre debacle a ‘pack of lies’. Former junior health minister Róisín Shortall also hit out at Reilly today, again saying that he was engaging in ‘stroke politics’ when two locations in his constituency were added to the priority list.

#ACTUAL RESIGNATION The editor of the Irish Daily Star Michael O’Kane has resigned after the paper published topless photos of Kate Middleton back in September.

#THAILAND Thousands of protesters in Thailand have called for the prime minister to step down amid accusations of government corruption. Tear gas was fired at demonstrators and 132 people were arrested.

#NEW BISHOP The diocese of Cloyne has a new bishop – Canon William Crean. He has said that he’s committed to bringing healing to the diocese after the revelations of the Cloyne Report. He also said that he’s apprehensive about what lies ahead of him.

THINGS WE LOVED

• Want to see Amy Poehler and David Letterman kissing? Of course you do.
  • Shane Lynch from Boyzone has a new music video, which he directed AND stars in.
  • This picture of a bearded dragon (NOT an iguana) with BIG dreams:

(Imgur)

THINGS WE SHARED

(Fire Lindsay Stone/Facebook)

• Dallas' biggest baddy JR Ewing (Larry Hagman) has died at the age of 81. Here he is having the craic with Bertie Ahern a few years back.
  • It's going to be a cold one tonight and tomorrow morning. Here's Met Eireann's prediction for 6am:

• How easy is it to sing karaoke while putting your hand into a box of snakes? It's not easy, but it IS hilarious:

YouTube/TruTVNetwork