You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

shutterstock

Gene discovery linked to why we stop feeling the clothes we wear once we’re dressed

Trinity College scientists work with fruit flies to make discovery about ‘habituation’ that could help with some neurological diseases.

FOR THE FIRST time two genes involved in many neurological diseases have been proven to act together to allow the development of a simple form of memory called habituation.

The discovery made by scientists in Trinity College Dublin found that the two genes regulate specific aspects of protein production in nerve cells. The findings have implications for our understanding of memory formation in general, and will also aid ongoing research in related diseases.

Regular activities

Habituation occurs when we are repeatedly exposed to a stimulus and our response is lessened over time as a result due to the regularity of it.

Two everyday examples include our ability to stop hearing ambient noise when concentrating on a particular task, and the fact that we stop feeling the clothes we are wearing once we are dressed.

Working with fruit flies, the scientists explored the fundamentals of memory and learning and investigated the molecular function of the two genes, called Atx2 and FMRP.

Fruit flies

The scientists, led by Professor of Neurogenetics at Trinity, Mani Ramaswami found that fruit flies that normally learned to ignore a familiar, unpleasant smell, failed to do so if they had defects in either gene.

The two genes are linked to Motor Neurone Disease, Spinocerebellar Ataxia type 2 and Autism Spectrum Disorder.

Professor Ramaswami said:

This work may provide a partial explanation not only for defects in memory consolidation that is associated with early-stage neurodegenerative disease, but also for defects in adaptive ability seen in autism spectrum disorders.

To read the full published study, click here.

Read: Scientists find first definitive proof MERS disease infects camels>

Read: First meningitis B vaccine now available privately in Ireland>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

35 Comments
    Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    Dec 20th 2013, 6:55 AM

I read the headline and then then the next line about fruit flies and for a second I was very confused as to why fruit flies would need clothes! I appolagise it’s early and my brain hasn’t had its coffee yet!

Mute Robert Anthon.
    Favourite Robert Anthon.
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:20 AM

Spell check Rachel, I APOlOGIZE for the pedantics.

Mute Denise Houlihan
    Favourite Denise Houlihan
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:31 AM

…if you’re American. ‘Round these parts, we spell it apologise.

Great bit of research.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:36 AM

Burrrrnnn

Mute Ciara Kennedy
    Favourite Ciara Kennedy
    Dec 20th 2013, 10:45 AM

Did you not read her comment? She hasn’t had her coffee yet.

Mute Denise Houlihan
    Favourite Denise Houlihan
    Dec 20th 2013, 10:51 AM

If that’s for me Ciara, I was directing my comment at Robert (love correcting grammar nazis!)
    But I should have been clearer – I was also without coffee at the time; three cups up now and still not on top of my game.

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    Dec 20th 2013, 2:52 PM

Jeeze relax Robert (mutters to self: “there’s always one”) as for the lovely ladies who actually got and defended my comment thank you! ……Oh and merry christmas ladies, hope ye all have a wonderful holiday :)

Mute Andrew Gilmour
    Favourite Andrew Gilmour
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:05 AM

This article is very poorly written as there are some huge benefits to habituation and this is actually great news that they are making a breakthrough in this area. Tens of thousands of people in Ireland
    Suffer from tinnitus. It can be seriously debilitating and if you can’t habituate to it can lead to prolonged stress anxiety and depression. Another issue is chronic pain management. If there is no cure for your condition and the only way to treat it is with powerful pain killers then habituation could be hugely beneficial. Well done trinity for the breakthrough and long may it continue.

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:25 AM

This is theJournal, not theJournalofScience. Think of it as food for thought – - it’s never comprehensive.

Mute enda1... begrudgers0
    Favourite enda1... begrudgers0
    Dec 20th 2013, 6:53 AM

This is what we should be spending money on not throwing into the septic tank that is welfare. I really cannot see the value in wasting good money on useless people

Mute Patrick Varley
    Favourite Patrick Varley
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:02 AM
    Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:14 AM

Is your real name enda kenny? Such a useless comment from somebody who has probably never been unemployed due to having a relative who knows somebody who knows somebody.

Mute PaulGerard
    Favourite PaulGerard
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:01 AM

Assuming people who have no job are useless is a bit …. well useless.

Mute Doey Walsh
    Favourite Doey Walsh
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:03 AM

Welfare also includes child support which your mother most likely availed of to raise you
    But hey, your right, fcuk logic!!

Mute Dara Darkey
    Favourite Dara Darkey
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:39 AM

Enda…….Sheer ignorance.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Dec 20th 2013, 2:08 PM

I have Aspergers syndrome, which is an an autism spectrum disorder. I also have a PhD from Trinity College, in geology.

As a child I suffered allot from sensory sensitivities, clothes itched terribly, especially wool. Imagine wearing clothes made of glass fibre. I fainted in class because of the smell of the paper used in art class. On a school tour I had to stand up on the tour bus as the seats were too itchy. I’m still very sensitive to sound.

I have friend with Aspergers who was bullied by school bullies who would scratch their nails across their school bags, the sound caused her physical pain. She’s still frightened, traumatised, by the sound of material, clothes / bags, making any sort of scratching sound.

These problem lessens for some with age, but not all. This research is welcome. It certainly will one day help young children with autism avoid the difficulties with debilitating sensory sensitivity.

Mute Doey Walsh
    Favourite Doey Walsh
    Dec 20th 2013, 2:43 PM

Well said David!!

Mute Karen Moroney
    Favourite Karen Moroney
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:00 AM

I too am picturing fruit flies in little hats n gloves….and ugg boots :)))

Mute Bandy Wagon
    Favourite Bandy Wagon
    Dec 20th 2013, 6:56 AM

Good comment. Just wait for 5 hours until the useless people wake up so they can reply to your comment!

Mute Bandy Wagon
    Favourite Bandy Wagon
    Dec 20th 2013, 6:57 AM

for Enda (purple egg)

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:17 AM

Was my reply early enough for you? By the way i work but this attitude towards the unemployed makes me sick. 14% unemployment even after mass emigration yet a few years ago we had 3 % unemployment. Are all those people useless???

Dec 20th 2013, 7:46 AM

Ruari if you have a phd and are fluent in say 5 languages then I would pity you if you were on welfare, anyone else well they are just not worth bothering about

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:57 AM

Enda i emigrated to get work but i know lots of good people, some educated and some not who are not in a position to emigrate and cannot find work. They are not useless. Thats a very narrow minded view you have. About 3% dont want to work. In economic terms 3% is full employment.

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    Dec 20th 2013, 1:05 PM

Bandy – not to mention the doctors, nurses, guards, taxi, drivers, shift workers ect that were working last night.

Mute Andrew Mercer
    Favourite Andrew Mercer
    Dec 20th 2013, 10:28 AM

Guess those genes don’t work when my jocks get in a bunch. I can assure you I feel that when it happens!!

Mute Bandy Wagon
    Favourite Bandy Wagon
    Dec 20th 2013, 6:54 AM

Culchies… How do they explain the track suit bottoms & shoes or the wranglers & mucky work boots to the pub??

Mute R Neuville
    Favourite R Neuville
    Dec 20th 2013, 1:24 PM

Couldn’t be stupidity that the Irish pay tax on their Family Homes to bail out the banks.
    Must be genetic. What do you think Profs?

Mute mark mulvey
    Favourite mark mulvey
    Dec 20th 2013, 6:52 AM

Get a real job for god sake , no one cares

Mute Bandy Wagon
    Favourite Bandy Wagon
    Dec 20th 2013, 6:52 AM

Love it bud

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:34 AM

Beam us all up Enda to your utopian planet. On second thoughts…

Mute Stephen Barry
    Favourite Stephen Barry
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:29 AM

Hope they find the gene as to why potential scientists waste time on pointless research and eradicate it.

Dec 20th 2013, 7:47 AM

And the above comment is why we shid no waste any money on the underclasses their brains aren’t developed enough to contribute to society

Mute Stephen Barry
    Favourite Stephen Barry
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:57 AM

I shid u not :)

Mute Stephen Barry
    Favourite Stephen Barry
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:10 AM

You shid have spent more time in English class buddy.