You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/George Dolgikh

How many food businesses received closure orders in April? It's the week in numbers

Plus: The number of Australian $50 notes that have been printed with a typo.

EVERY WEEK, TheJournal.ie offers a selection of statistics and numerical nuggets to help you digest the week that has just passed.

122: The number of seats won by the DUP in the Northern Ireland local elections, receiving the biggest vote of all parties. 

460 meters: The extra distance that participants of the Belfast City Marathon ran after a car leading the runners diverted from the official route.

6: The number of food businesses that were ordered to partially or fully close after being found in breach of food safety legislation in April. 

30: The number of people who were treated for hypothermia at an outdoor techno music festival in France after unexpected snowfall left many ravers sheltering under survival blankets distributed by the Red Cross.

$1.17 billion: The amount of money Donald Trump’s businesses lost from 1985 to 1994, based on tax information acquired by the New York Times.

84: The percentage of Irish adults who drink alcohol, a percentage which is expected to increase by 2030 according to a new study published in The Lancet.

€3 billion: The projected cost of the National Broadband Plan, which aims to bring high-speed internet across rural Ireland, approved by Cabinet this week. 

12: The prison sentence handed down to a German-Russian fraudster who tricked New York high society into believing she was a wealthy heiress and stole more than €178,000. 

60: The number of years of searching that an 81-year-old Irish woman carried out before finding her birth mother this week, now 103-years-old. 

€5: The penalty that customers of the MyTaxi app will face if they cancel their booking. 

46 million: The number of Australian $50 notes that have been printed with a typo.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

5 Comments
    Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:00 PM

Not the funniest joke ever but do people really need to apologize for every remark that is not passed by the PC Brigade, like I think Ireland’s homeless crisis is not that big but rather inflated by those who want to jump the housing list or yes the two presenters for RTÉ’s news programme were chosen because they were female and it was a pr stunt for the broadcaster………

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:18 PM

@Sean Higgins: this particular guy is a creep.

Mute Daniel Donovan
    Favourite Daniel Donovan
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:34 PM

@iohanx: Always thought Gove was weird but come on a joke is as it suggests, a bloody joke.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:42 PM

@Daniel Donovan: I laughed. Their Queen made Harvey a CBE, I think he can afford to take a few jokes at his expense.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 28th 2017, 4:40 PM

@iohanx: indeed he is but the joke was pretty tame

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 28th 2017, 5:11 PM

@Dermot Lane: Rueful, even. And, as it turned out, truthful. In my view it would be a poorer system had he been complacent about live interviews on national television. Hmm?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 28th 2017, 5:15 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald … radio, even.

Mute Robert Jones Smith
    Favourite Robert Jones Smith
    Oct 28th 2017, 2:53 PM

Is that a wine stain? No its a weinstein.

Mute WinSomeLoseSome
    Favourite WinSomeLoseSome
    Oct 28th 2017, 2:59 PM

@Robert Jones Smith: bad attempt of a joke… not because of the controversy just a really unfunny joke. It doesn’t make any sense as a pun.

Mute Robert Jones Smith
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:02 PM

@WinSomeLoseSome: Oh I do apologise. I’ll try harder next time. Please forgive me.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:07 PM

@WinSomeLoseSome: He’ll have his other profiles give it likes to show you!

Mute WinSomeLoseSome
    Favourite WinSomeLoseSome
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:27 PM

@Robert Jones Smith: I will submit your apology to the council of internet outrage. Hopefully it will be accepted. If not, you will be exiled.

Mute Robert Jones Smith
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:35 PM

@WinSomeLoseSome: Please put in a good word. I’m a changed man. I’m with her. Diversity is our strength. Islam is a religion of peace. There are 63 genders. They pay gap is real! The EU f-ing rocks! I wish Merkel was my mother. Free speech is outdated etc etc..

Mute Robert Jones Smith
    Oct 28th 2017, 4:04 PM

@Salvatore Mazzani: Phil’s got issues.

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Oct 28th 2017, 4:11 PM

@Robert Jones Smith: When are you and your other identities coming to Crumlin to punch me in the teeth? LOL!

Mute Robert Jones Smith
    Oct 28th 2017, 4:22 PM

@Philip Gerard: Crumlin? Ugh no thanks. Bit rough around there, I’m sure someone will punch you eventually. Or rob your car or whatever it is they do for fun around there. Ye bleedin howiya.

Mute Robert Jones Smith
    Oct 28th 2017, 4:27 PM

@Philip Gerard: Oh will you make one of those call out videos that you guys like to make? They’re always fun to watch. “Here dis is big Phil! I’m callin you out for a baytin Rob! I’ll meet ya in me mammy’s gear-dan after home and away! The baytins will be fierce so dey will”

Mute Bob McTanned
    Favourite Bob McTanned
    Oct 28th 2017, 4:37 PM

@Robert Jones Smith: Lol

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Oct 28th 2017, 4:50 PM

@Robert Jones Smith: Chicken. I’ll be jogging around Sundrive the odd morning, if you and your split personalities ever grow a pair of balls and venture out of your Camelot.

Mute Robert Jones Smith
    Oct 28th 2017, 4:52 PM

@Philip Gerard: zzzzzzzzzz

Mute Robert Jones Smith
    Oct 28th 2017, 4:55 PM

@Philip Gerard: How will I know which person in a tracksuit is you Phil? Needle agus haystack.

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Oct 28th 2017, 6:13 PM

@Robert Jones Smith: You can even bring your ma if you’re afraid, little boy. I’ll look for the 12 year old with the rugby jersey. LOL!

Mute Ciaran Fairley
    Favourite Ciaran Fairley
    Oct 28th 2017, 6:21 PM

@Robert Jones Smith: Excellent lol. Seriously, give up the day job. You’ve a new calling.

Mute Robert Jones Smith
    Oct 28th 2017, 6:21 PM

@Philip Gerard: Like beating up kids do you? I’m not surprised. Just give it up Phil, you’re only embarrassing yourself….. Here, ill translate that for you: Baytin jung fellas is it wha? I’m not bleedin surpri-ized. Gerrowa dat geardan will ya? Scarlet for your ma for havin ya.

Mute Robert Jones Smith
    Oct 28th 2017, 6:23 PM

@Ciaran Fairley: Thanks mate. It’s too easy with the likes of Phil :-)

Mute Robert Jones Smith
    Oct 28th 2017, 9:33 PM

To all the good people of Crumlin, I mean no disrespect. I’m sure many parts of Crumlin are perfectly nice and many wonderful people live there. Phil is not one of them, obviously. Please don’t take what I say to heart, just having a laugh at your man’s expense x x x x

Mute Simon Carroll
    Favourite Simon Carroll

When did we get so sensitive that people have to apologise for jokes? Everyones humour is different, if you don’t find it funny, don’t laugh.
    Humour is how some/lots of people deal with trauma,stress,nerves etc
    Lighten up!!

Oct 28th 2017, 5:56 PM

@Simon Carroll: ah so the jokes about Dr Shine and his sexual assault of men are going to be hilarious.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 28th 2017, 6:33 PM

@Deborah Behan: has the case concluded?

Mute Robert Jones Smith
    Oct 28th 2017, 6:37 PM

@Deborah Behan: I always thought that it was funny that he’d bring me out to dinner and a movie before checking my prostate.

Mute Simon Carroll
    Favourite Simon Carroll
    Oct 29th 2017, 1:05 AM

@Deborah Behan: If I fond them funny I’ll laugh, why are you trying to insinuate that I only laugh at jokes about women? Weird

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Oct 28th 2017, 2:56 PM

Shocking stuff. An apology isn’t good enough he should walk through the streets naked while carrying an ‘I’m sorry’ sign and being pelted with rotten fruits and vegetables.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:02 PM

@O Swetenham: SHAME!

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:45 PM

@O Swetenham: He’s an MP, he’d hire a horse and claim it back on travel expenses.

Mute Crash Bantercoot
    Favourite Crash Bantercoot
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:11 PM

I am so actually outraged by this I am in the corner of a darkened room rocking back and forth in between bouts of projectile vomiting and explosive diarrhoea.

Mute Keith Healy
    Favourite Keith Healy
    Oct 28th 2017, 2:51 PM

Too soon I guess

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:00 PM

@Keith Healy: how soon before we have cameras installed in schoolyards nipping all the childish, inappropriate jokes at source? Michael Gove is a donkey, but he didn’t insinuate he was going to be raped or that the presenter was a predator, or belittle any victims of sexual abuse. So yeah, too soon.

Oct 28th 2017, 5:58 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: would you make that joke to one of his victims if there’s nothing wrong with it?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 28th 2017, 5:14 PM

How is that offensive? He even gave the context in the joke. OK, it wasn’t funny but that’s not something to apologise for.

Mute Nigel Healy
    Favourite Nigel Healy
    Oct 28th 2017, 5:22 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: rape apologist now Dave? Never thought I would see the day.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 28th 2017, 6:34 PM

@Nigel Healy: go on, for a laugh, show me where I defended a rapist

Mute Nigel Healy
    Favourite Nigel Healy
    Oct 28th 2017, 6:54 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: defending a rapist is no laughing matter Dave, I am appalled, although not surprised that you find it funny.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 28th 2017, 8:14 PM

@Nigel Healy: I find you funny. You’re a joke. You and your phony outrage.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Oct 28th 2017, 8:39 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: Dunno about that. Telling an unfunny joke is far worse
    than offending someone with a joke.

Maybe awful jokes are cause for a public apology tbh

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan

I suppose this isn’t a good time to tell my ice cream and spa joke?

Mute Robert Jones Smith
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:10 PM

@William Grogan: Please do

Mute Bob McTanned
    Favourite Bob McTanned
    Oct 28th 2017, 3:23 PM

Better order another truck load of cotton wool, enough for every poor little thing who gets offended

Mute Metempsychosis
    Favourite Metempsychosis
    Oct 28th 2017, 5:56 PM

People are too quick to apologise for this kind of thing. If they stuck to their guns and told people to cop on, they’d get more respect. By agreeing with their detractors, they only feed the flames of the criticism and make it impossible for anyone to defend them.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Oct 28th 2017, 5:01 PM

He should just apologise for being Michael Gove.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 28th 2017, 5:13 PM

@Ted Murray: unfortunately he seems pretty ptoud of that.

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Oct 28th 2017, 5:55 PM

Suitably offended to advance an existing agenda.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Oct 29th 2017, 8:15 AM

You wouldn’t hear Trump apologizing for the likes ,fake New’s he say