Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 17 °C Tuesday 22 May, 2012

Abortion Bill to be introduced to the Dáil tomorrow

TDs Joan Collins and Mick Wallace at a press conference in December.
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

A BILL IS SCHEDULED to be introduced to the Dáil tomorrow which would legislate for limited access to abortion in Ireland following the X case ruling 20 years ago.

Successive governments have failed to legislate on the 1992 Supreme Court ruling, which found that women have the right to abortion in Ireland if their life is in danger, including from suicide.

The Medical Treatment (Termination of Pregnancy in Case of Risk to Life of Pregnant Woman) Bill 2012 is set to be introduced to the Dáil by TDs Clare Daly, Mick Wallace and Joan Collins.

In a joint statement, the TDs said that the Bill aims to legislation for allowing abortion in circumstances where the life or health of the mother is at risk.

“This government has no bother paying the bankers billions or putting thousands of public sector workers on the dole queues,” Collins said this evening. “But for some reason it is unable to allow a pregnant woman whose life is at risk to have an abortion in her own country.”

“Labour and Fine Gael need to wake up and face the fact that this is a basic human right and we don’t need another expert committee to waste more time and money coming to the same conclusion.”

Wallace said that the European Court of Human Rights ruling in 2010 stressed that the lack of legislation on this issue adversely affected women without the means to seek medical services outside the state. “Our present government boasts that we are good at doing what we are told by European authorities…but we seem to have a problem with taking direction from the European Court of Human Rights,” he said.

Meanwhile, Daly said that economic constraints and increased austerity measures would see women without the resources to travel abroad for a termination “inevitably resort to backstreet abortions”.

The Bill is scheduled to be introduced to the Dáil tomorrow, and debated on April 18 and 19.

Read: Government urged to legislate for X case, 20 years after court decision >

Twenty years on: a timeline of the X case >

In pictures: The 20th anniversary of X Case protests >

POLL: Should it be legal to have an abortion in Ireland? >

Read Next:

Comments (74 Comments)

• Kevin Collins 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

very surprised that fine gael will (likely) be the ones to see this through but pleased nonetheless as its a long overdue step in the right direction. welcome to the 21st century ireland!

• Revolting Peasant 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

this is the ultimate hornets nest issue, im not brave enough to offer an opinion as i have seen people become violent in the past over this

• Abi Dennis 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

over abortion in case of danger to the mothers life?

• Katherine Nolan 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Agree. Anyone who was alive in the era of the various abortion referendums will recoil from the rancor that will infect the debate on this – I’m just waiting for it to commence below within minutes.

Kevin – it’s being taken to the Dail by members of the technical group, not Fine Gael/Labour. Chances are it’ll be debated, then quietly disappear again, sadly.

• Evelyn Finegan 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I don’t think anyone has an issue allowing abortion in cases where the mothers life is in danger the problem is when it is abused. abortion has been and is being abused in countries where it is legal.

Report this comment

sorry Evelyn but your assumption that no one has an issue allowing abortion in cases where the mothers life is in danger is wrong, i know people that have that exact issue

• Report this comment

Well said…

• Chuck Farrelly 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Revolting Peasant, you’re right there are definitely people like that. Some for honestly held conscientious opinions (Hanly Sheelagh), and others for idealogical and frankly fanatical reasons. The problem is that the second group hides behind the first – but that has spawned another problem whereby anyone who doesn’t demand abortion on demand is assumed to be a religious zealot

Lots of atheists and agnostics think life is precious too. It behoves reasonable people to allow for nuance in the debate and not just write off anyone who doesn’t agree as an extremist. Look below and you’ll see people doing exactly that to Evelyn. It’s not something to be absolutist about. Much like abortion itself, in my opinion

• Joe Sixtwo 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Wonder how the so called “pro lifers” will receive this?

• Hanly Sheelagh 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Not very well because those of us who are against abortion on any or all grounds know that this issue re mothers life at risk is a red herring, being used to pull at the heart strings for support . How many mothers lost their lives in Ireland due to the non availability of abortion in the last five or ten years? I’d say none because mothers lives are not in danger because doctors don’t allow mothers to die if they are in danger they are treated for whatever they need to be treated for. Such a pity so many people fall for the lie and so many innocent babies have to die. Most abortions happen for social reasons / not a good enough reason to take a baby’s life.

• Laura Farrell 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Very surprised to see Wallace, who represents hyper conservative Wexford, pushing this.

• Adam Smith 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Actually Sheelagh, if you ever find the time inbetween spouting unsupported nonsense based on nothing but your own sense of righteous indignation, you should watch a documentary called “Lake of Fire” which goes into great detail about the number of women who tragically die from unsafe or self initiated abortions in countries where they are illegal.
      If those numbers are lower in Ireland than in other countries, it is only because it is relatively easy to access abortion in the UK.
      Also, if it all possible could you back up some of your nonsensical statements with some kind of supporting reference or statistic?

• Sharrow 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Hanly Sheelagh that numbers are wrong for women who were in danger traveled to have abortions.

• Conor Kirwan 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Lovely to see Sheelagh exhibiting so much care and compassion for women who find themselves in a situation where their life is in significant danger as a result of pregnancy. Apparently, suicide for example in her eyes is not a risk to someone’s life! I’m struggling to see the logic in that in any way shape or form.

• Sean Walsh 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

hyper conservative Wexford ???

• Joe Sixtwo 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Sheelagh I believe that the best advocate for the unborn is the mother that is why I’m pro choice.

• Annette Kelly 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Remember Anne Lovett……….rip

• Spud Murphy 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I expect they’ll lock arms and block cemeteries…

• Chuck Farrelly 23/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Have you been waiting to use that line since Bill Hicks wrote it?

• Sheila Murphy 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Just because a service or option is available does not make it obligatory. Abortion is not an option I’d chose but I don’t think others have to live their lives by what I think is right or wrong. Those are personal decisions.

Again the circumstances of the bill seem to be very limited. Sure we can continue to export this problem to the UK or condemn women to back street abortions here. I cannot see how either of those options makes a difficult situation any better.

• Lois Mcgrath 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

well said Sheila

• Hanly Sheelagh 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

This is a constitutional matter for this country and as such is a public matter and has been debated publicly for some time now. I know that I have never seen any figures for the number of women who died because they were denied abortion when their lives were in danger. There are no figures for women travelling to Britain because their lives are in danger. I know a few women who travelled for abortions who just didn’t plan a particular pregnancy and it was going to make their lives difficult. I also know one person who did this and she is still suffering from serious depression since. Some of those who say aborting a baby is a personal decision but is not as simple as that. Because I am prolife doesn’t automatically make me self righteous, in fact I think people who make laws or support such a law that will make it legal to take the life of an unborn baby for social reasons and try to pull it off as concern for the mother’s life is much more likely to be self righteous. “hard cases make bad law”.

• Joan Featherstone 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Sheila I totally agree with you, like the divorce debate which thankfully went through…nobody is forcing anybody to have an abortion if they don’t want one, or get divorced if they don’t want to… personal choice, choice being the important word here. I agree with abortion in certain circumstances!

• Sheila Murphy 22/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Thanks Lois & Joan; this is such an naturally emotive subject for everyone – after all there’re is nothing lovelier than a baby ;-)

Hi Hanly; Yes it is a constitutional matter and as you know, means that that we get to vote on changes; The problem is that emotions/passions run very high on this issue and the initial reasons as to why the change was required gets lost in the furore. But in the end, just because something is enshrined in law or not does not mean that it’s “a fit” for everyone in the country. (I’m not saying that we should pick & choose the laws we follow – there lies the road to unfairness and anarchy)

” There are no figures for women travelling to Britain because their lives are in danger” . There are no figures for women travelling to Britain – full stop – and that is part of the problem – how can these ladies be assisted when we’re not even aware that they are thinking of going, never mind actually going, or their reasons for doing so – i doubt anyone takes such a drastic step lightly.

I believe people of all ilk and opinions can be self-righteous; that doesn’t make them either right or wrong – and I don’t think I ever said that you were. ;-)

I too know quite a few women who had terminations (some from here in Ireland, some from when I lived in the UK) and I can honestly say not one of them regrets their decision. Now I’m not saying that given different circumstances that they might have gone ahead with their pregnancies but they believe to this day that their decision was the correct one for them.

I think we have to be careful with our use of “social reasons” – what’s important to one person (and I’m not talking about “what the neighbours think” here) might be of little concern to another.

If we had a society that absolutely cherished (not just claimed to) all people and all children, then I’d be hopeful that abortion wouldn’t be here – but we do not live (or ever will) in an ideal society where absolutely everyone is supported to the utmost. That is why I do include this decision as a personal choice.

I think we’d also be very surprised at the demographic of people who do have terminations – we’re kind of indoctrinated in this country into thinking about the young single girl; the ill mother; the rape victim – but I believe that if the demographics were recorded we’d find that the decisions are being taken by people who previously would not have considered it at all and now cannot unfortunately see any other way of coping. And whilst I hesitate to raise the current austerity program and the crash of the boom in this thread, I think that people now considering and/or going for a termination are more “silent” victims of those events.

Report this comment

people will always disagree on this issue however everyone is entitled to their opinion. I personally and many other people who are pro life would not disagree with abortion being permitted if the mothers life was in danger. Im not speaking for all people who are considered pro life.

• William Grogan 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

You are not entitled to your opinion when your opinion consists of jailing women and doctors who do something legal in the vast majority of democracies. What happens if we become the majority and decide to jail your priests?

• Andrew McCarthy 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

William, “pro-life” is not a synonym for “religious”.

Report this comment

There is a VERY high correlation between “pro-life” and religion so I was correct.

Report this comment

@William in my experience you are right, and don’t worry, it won’t be too long before you are in the majority if that isn’t already the case

• Matthew Mark 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@William- who do you think you are? EVERYONE is entitled to their opinion, whether or not you agree with it.

Report this comment

“You are not entitled to your opinion when your opinion consists of jailing women and doctors who do something legal in the vast majority of democracies. What happens if we become the majority and decide to jail your priests?”

She IS entitled to her opinion and she didn’t call for anyone to be jailed. We are under no obligation to follow other countries. She didn’t mention religion.

Can you not challenge her argument based on what she DID say?

Report this comment

Mathew, how about pedophiles, rapists, child abusers, con artists, people who manipulate vulnerable children, slave owners…….oh that’s a lot of the Catholic hierarchy.

• Report this comment

Evelyn, William Grogan is hitting on the truth, even if he is approaching this from the opposite end of the debate of this than me and you. This is a clear cut case of right and wrong, and there is no way to sit on the fence. Whether you view the mother’s life more important, or the child’s life, the opposite side is WRONG. The clue to why this is, is in the meaning of the words “LIFE”, and “CHOICE”. These words have ideological significance, as they are human rights. The problem is defining where they apply.

Personally speaking, I back this amendment. I’m pro life, and the mother has the right to life as much as the unborn child. She has the right to decide whether to sacrifice her life or not. Although strictly speaking, the unborn child cannot speak for itself, and should be made a ward of court, I’m disinclined to accept this. The child’s life depends on the mother, and this leaves it to the mother (de facto, if not de jure) as the legal guardian who make the moral choice on her own conscience.

Besides, the mother would feel guilty afterwards, and that is punishment enough.

Report this comment

“Mathew, how about pedophiles, rapists, child abusers, con artists, people who manipulate vulnerable children, slave owners…….oh that’s a lot of the Catholic hierarchy.”

I’ve heard it’s a lot of non-priests too.

Fiachra, I think you are reading too much into William Grogan’s comments. They seemed more reactionary than that. Also – you seem to be agressing with Evlyn?? Pro-life but allowing abortions where the mother’s life is under threat?

The assumption that the mother would feel guilty is just that – an assumption. Selfish people exist, and some of them are women

• Revolting Peasant 22/02/12 #
      Report this comment

im not saying matthew is right when he says anyone should not have an opinion, just that most pro lifers ive met are also religious and that they are becoming less numerous

• Revolting Peasant 22/02/12 #
      Report this comment

sorry, i meant william

• Luca Costa 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Another referendum please. Let’s see how those who have joined the electorate since the last one would vote.

• Garreth OMahony 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The only problem with a referendum is that it would bring all of the crazies out of the woodwork. This would put mothers seeking abortions and those that have under more pressure. I don’t think this law will pass but at least it puts it under the spot light

• Sheila Murphy 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

another problem with a referendum is that it would try to appease most if not all viewpoints; thereby the chances are that it would be so diluted that it would not appease or help anyone.

• Lois Mcgrath 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

why do i get the feeling that this bill is going to address feck all

Report this comment

William I am not on this to have an argument. As i said everyone is entitled to their opinion. I commented on this article. As was already pointed out to you being pro life does not automatically make me religious and i do not understand your above reference or its relation to this article

• Gavin McGuinness 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I would love to see a referendum on this issue… It would be interesting to see what the electorite think of this issue.

• Adam Smith 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Couldn’t agree more. Allow both sides of the argument to present their cases to the public and let them make up their own minds.

Report this comment

How would the text of the referendum read? Would it just pertain to the removal of the right to life of the unborn from the constitution? What would it be replaced with, respect for the life of the unborn or completely removed? Will the referendum ask when should abortion be legal and in what circumstances?

I too would love to see a referendum, but before we are ready for a referendum, at the very least a commission on the issue needs to consider the issue before it is put to the people. In past abortion referenda, such as the 1983 one where right-wing pressure groups pressured the government into inserting legal rights for the unborn into the Constitution, or the hurries 1992 referendum in the wake of the highly emotive X-case, time was not allowed to consider the issue in an enlightened and rational way.

Report this comment

We’ve already had referendums on this. Why is it that the same people calling for another are often the same that decry the two votes on Nice and Lisbon?

• Gavin McGuinness 22/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Chuck Farrelly Yes, 20 years ago. Public opinion changes and I welcome another referendum on this issue.

Report this comment

And if abortion on demand is ratified by the people, continual referendums every 20 years to see if they’ve changed their minds again? Or do we stop when you get your way? I think I know the answer

• Gavin McGuinness 23/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Chuck Do you realise how a democracy works? It is not about getting what I want! I think it is quite obvious where I lie on this issue, however that is besides the point. Opinions change over time and thus I think it is only right that a referendum is called on this issue.
      Let’s say the bill is passed tomorrow. I for one would have no problem revisiting it again in 20 years time if the public wish to do so. Nothing is set in stone Chuck. Peoples viewpoints change and the law of the land should reflect that.

• angryjoepublic 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

without being anti or pro abortion. the people of ireland voted no. twice. and then the govt used your money to spearhead a yes campaign. an you, the taxpaying voter were taken for a mug, not dissimaler to lisbon 2. This country is full of idealists and conformists. land of saints and scholars me arse. myself included, we irish need to get our collective heads out of our ‘hard done by ‘ arses and be more like the greeks and the french and hit the streets. alas , we are not seemingly able to consider this.

• Paul Harvey 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Unfortunately it’s never going to be straight forward. This can never be done without upsetting a huge proportion of the country. I don’t consider myself pro choice or pro life. I’m a man and will never have an abortion. Why should I get to decide what a woman does with her body? I consider myself lucky I’ll never have to make that choice. I would have to spoil my vote in a referendum

• Matthew Mark 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

In fairness it’s not just a female issue. I don’t see your point – a baby is a baby and whether it’s unborn or not, the right to decide whether it lives or dies is neither the choice of any man or any woman IMHO

• Nigel Irritable 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The term you are looking for is zygote, not “baby” or “unborn”.

• Ryan Allen 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“I’m a man and will never have an abortion. Why should I get to decide what a woman does with her body?”

And if the woman was carrying your child would you feel you should have some kind of say? I’m not being nasty, I’m just genuinely curious as the “it’s a woman’s body and she should do with it what she likes” argument frustrates me as a reason for abortion. By the same logic nobody should intervene if they see a woman in the street dousing herself in petrol or a woman threatening to throw herself of a building.

• David Watson 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

pro choice is i can say!!

• Carlin Ite 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It will be interesting to see the attitude of the general public in the coming weeks. I hope we have moved forward in our thinking and eventually allow people the freedom to make their own personal choices.

Report this comment

Oh good, an abortion article. That was a scary 24 hours

Report this comment

The article relates to a Bill which is being presented before the Dáil tomorrow. Would you rather news outlets did not report on current events? There’s been quite a few articles in ‘The Journal’ lately about a number of broad-ranging issues that are topical. The great irony here is that you are a frequent commenter on abortion-related articles in ‘The Journal’, so it obviously interests you enough to express your viewpoint on the issue.

Report this comment

Same Bill as the article two days ago, yeah?

• Sean Walsh 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

hahaha… its great to see the journal.ie tackle the same issues over and over again
    a place for self righteous people to call those who don’t agree with them idiots, bigots etc whilst telling them they can’t have an opinion

• Karl Power 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It would be nice to see Ireland move into the 21st century and let it’s citizens make up their own minds.There are so many reasons why a woman might not want to have a baby. Once again the UK is there for countless thousands of Irish people when their own country fails them.

Report this comment

“There are so many reasons why a woman might not want to have a baby.”

And for every single one, there’s a form of contraception. And if you don’t trust it, there’s the morning after pill. How much choice does a person need?

• Linda Leavy 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

What a thoughtless comment! A woman might choose to get pregnant, but medical complications may deem it necessary for her to have an abortion. Or she may not choose to get pregnant in the first place!

• Chuck Farrelly 22/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Karl Power’s comments clearly referred to abortion on demand as opposed to medical abortion which is totally different and really, not a much of a choice at all.

As for women who didn’t want to get pregnant, well my whole point was that there are more ways than ever to avoid that. If you think maybe the various method(s) used didn’t work – there’s the morning after pill.

• Dhakina's Sword 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

When the case of Roe versus Wade, brought this issue to the fore in 1970′s America, people were clearly divided. Strangely, as a result of women being allowed the right to choose, this led to a very unexpected outcome two decades later. It was expected and predicted by many, that America was due to have an explosion of crime in the 1990′s. That never materialised. Everybody wondered why the predicted crime wave never happened. The answer it seems, was as a result of poor disadvantaged women, often in violent and abusive relationships, with partners and themselves, very often having drug and or, alcohol problems, deciding on abortion as an option. This led to the non existence of a large amount of children, who had they been born, would have largely ended up in
    dysfunctional families and a higher than normal amount of them, would have typically ended up involved in crime. This is in no way, to suggest that abortion should be used as a means to control crime, rather than deal with societal problems that cause these problems in the first place. The results of abortion that I have just described, are neither moral, not immoral. They are just the results of it being allowed at a certain time and place. If ever there were an argument to allow abortion due to rape, or incest, I think that we should bear in mind, that the majority of people committing these crimes are not the same as the rest of the human population. Roughly, 2 to 3 per cent of any population are psychopathic in nature. In Ireland, that means that we have over a hundred thousand psychopaths in our midst. Let me be clear. I, am uncomfortable with the idea of abortion. I am less uncomfortable with the idea of allowing human beings to abort sub human predators. The intra species predators, that is a species within a species, designed to predate upon normal humans is not something that I have a difficulty with when considering the idea of abortion. If a child, or indeed a woman were raped by a sub human species, what would be the point in allowing the spreading of these psychopathic genes to further infect ” normal human beings “?.

• John McGovern 22/02/12 #
    Report this comment

How did Mick Wallace get himself hooked up with Clare and Joan? Very strange bedfellows for any human being!
    Clare has just been on Vincent Brown peddling and blustering her venom towards humanity.
    Questions for her:
    1. Would she like to have been aborted?
    2. Do she have sons and daughters, and she does, which of them would she like to have been aborted?
    3. Did her fetuses (as she calls them) grow into babies, and if they did, would she like to have them murdered now?
    Same old story – introduce abortion as a contraceptive. Claire is playing a blinder at showing how inhuman she is, and why for me, she loses every argument on every subject during her surprisingly frequent appearances on Vincent’s show. She is only short of wielding the Knife to dig out a few babies (sorry – fetuses, as the show ends..
    JoeH

• Adam Long 22/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I love the way ‘pro life’ types think we should simply ignore both Irish and European court judgements in addition to the will of the voters to uphold the X case ruling as expressed in two referendums. At a minimum we need to legislate in line with X.

Amazing also how those against a woman’s right to choose also tend to be anti-gay and opposed to other progressive measures. This is more about trying to impose religious doctrine than anything else – It is no coincidence that the only 3 countries in Europe to retain prohibitions on abortion are those with traditionally high levels of catholic church influence.

• Mark Rodgers 22/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What interesting bedfellows . Clare the left left wing socialist and Mick the Developer .both of them claiming to be Independent of the other! This will make for an interesting debate and I forecast serious posturing.

• Andrew Telford 22/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Disagree with abortions… DON’T HAVE ONE

Simple as!

• Report this comment

I am also anti abortion but I think its unfair of me to dictate that to someone who(1) might be pro choice (2) a woman. My own personal experiences of this subject determin my views but they are only my views.

Report this comment

Why are they your views? Is it because you think a foetus has a right to life? Well then, what’s the difference between ‘dictating’ that that right be upheld and dictating that murder, theft or fraud also be prohibited?

Stopping someone from needlessly interfering from someone else’s rights is NOT the same as just interfering with someone’s personal choice that affects no one else

Add New Comment