TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Perpetrators of ‘barbaric’ gangland killings lack ‘humanity or decency’ – Shatter

The Justice Minister has said the “evil perpetrators have absolute no respect for human life” following the death of two men in Laois and Dublin. Both were shot in front of their children.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

JUSTICE MINISTER ALAN Shatter has issued a strongly-worded statement in response to two gangland killings in Laois and Dublin in the last 24 hours.

Shatter said that Gardaí are “absolutely determined to do everything possible” to bring those responsible for “the barbaric murders” to justice.

It follows the death of a man in his 20s who was shot on his doorstep in Portarlington, Co Laois early yesterday morning and the death of a man in his 30s who was shot on the South Circular Road near Griffith College in Dublin last night.

Both men were shot dead in front of their children. Both deaths have been linked to gangland feuds although they are not believed to be related.

Shatter said that the government will continue to support the Gardaí in “counteracting this evil menace in our society” and hailed the efforts of authorities in carrying out a number of arrests and seizures against gangs in recent weeks.

In a statement, he said: “Yesterday’s two barbaric murders starkly illustrate that the evil perpetrators have absolutely no respect for human life. The callousness of their actions shows that the perpetrators lack even a shred of humanity or decency.

The Gardaí are absolutely determined to do everything possible to bring those responsible to justice.

At the same time, I know from my discussions with the Garda Commissioner that the Gardaí will continue to target and bear down heavily on the activities of those involved in gangland crime.

That is clear from the series of recent operations they have launched against gangs and the many drug seizures that have taken place in recent weeks.

“I, and the Government, will continue to resolutely support the Gardaí in every way we can in counteracting this evil menace in our society.”

Read: Fatal shooting on Dublin’s South Circular Road

Read: Appeal for information about murder of Gerard Eglington in Portarlington

Read next:

Comments (92 Comments)

• I’d suggest if he wants to support the Gardai lifting the recruitment embargo might help. Gardai numbers have gone down and serious crime has increased any hope someone in government might join the dots?

• Totally agree Kerry!! That ejit Shatter needs to fire up the Garda Training College & get Garda numbers up!! The shooting in Portarlington was obviously planned in the knowledge that there’d probably only be one clapped out patrol car & it’s crew on duty! And the one in Dublin just illustrates the lack of worry / fear of being apprehended that these animals have when it comes to
      Carrying out their murderous acts!

• Kim 25/09/12 #

I agree with both of you on that one.
      Also he needs to do something about the court system.
      When they are arrested and brought before the court their given a real sentence not a slap on the hand and sent home with a “don’t do that again” even with your 57 previous convictions…. What joke and not the funny kind
      If you take a life, you serve a life behind bars with no chance of seeing the streets again!!!!

• Do what you can Shatter? Like what? Close down more stations….

• Everyone can relax , the minister has released “a strongly worded statement” so everything is going to be just fine now ……

• iBob101 25/09/12 #

Shock headline! Murderers lack decency! And in other news thieves have no respect for property rights, liars don’t always tell the truth, and Ministers are handy when you need someone to state the obvious.

• Neither do the majority of the people getting murdered in these incidents.

• I’m sure the gun-toting gangsters are quaking in their boots at the prospect of Alan Shatter fully supporting the Gardai in their ongoing struggle against gangland crime. The politicians’ way of dealing with this (not just Alan Shatter) is always to hold a press conference / issue a statement condemning such acts as if that requires any kind of skill, intelligence or decency. With sick violent crime like this, anyone with a shred of humanity is sickened by it. I believe it says a lot about politicians when they feel the need to photocall juxtaposed to a murderer/rapist/kidnapper etc. in order to make themselves look better.

Every news report, instead of focusing on the crime and its background, will now be dominated by “Justice Minister Alan Shatter strongly condemned ….”. I’d much rather hear what Gardaí, retired Gardaí, crime experts, etc. have to say instead of the usual meaningless, hollow guff spouted by politicians. They contribute nothing,they just hog the limelight.

• The entire judicial system needs an overhaul. However, since the politically appointed, party specific judges and Garda management are doing their best to keep statistics down, that’s never going to happen. The courts are all full every day and with a huge population of reoffenders, the system only serves to make money for the solicitors, barristers and judges. Anyone who thinks that the law/judiciary has some noble cause is sadly naive.

• id say they will be shitting bricks after alan shatter “issues strongly worded statement”

• Mjhint 25/09/12 #

Alan do something. Nothing has changed since Veronica Guerin. Why is it that when she was killed there was a lot of good law enforcement to end the crime regimes in the country. We have slipped back into accepting people being killed on the streets of the country. It is only a matter of time that some innocent by stander, as when Hyland was killed, gets hurt or worse. Take the gardai off the motorways & increase the resources of the real crime fighters. Take on these guys with the same enthusiasm as the IRA were taken on.

• These killings are being carried out with impunity; whilst I have limited sympathy for those who live their lives by’lex talionis’ it is the fact that their children had to witness such acts. At the very least they’ll need counselling, at worst they’ll grow up like their fathers. Society’s apathy ie let the animals wipe each other out will allow these thugs to grow ever more bold with each successive murder. The minister needs to take his head out of the sand, forget privacy laws & properly empower the gardai & also the judiciary to throw down the gauntlet. Otherwise what’s the point?

• The death of anyone regardless of the life they lead is worth pausing. However, the comments that come out of the heads of our politicians do nothing for the families of the deceased. The words, sentences and comments are empty. Our elected officials are out of their depth. They have no solutions. They have no track records of solution successes.

I have lived in this country for almost ten years. I have yet to hear of our politicians speak of a long-term project to combat crime. I have yet to hear of a ZERO Tolerance stance on crime. I have yet to hear of forced accountability of our law breakers. If it is on the books as offence, then it is a crime. It shouldn’t matter of ones, gender, race, age, nationality, religion, economic status, political orientation or sexual orientation.
    The fact that that many in this country are tolerant and often chancers regarding crimes is a huge problem. It is a known fact, that if you don’t hold a child responsible for their behaviour or punish a teenager for their anti-social behaviour…. They will often graduate onto more serious law breaking offences.

• Totally agree, particularly about the zero tolerance bit. They seem to have a zero tolerance policy when it comes to tax dodgers for instance but not towards serious crime. What happened to the wave of action after Veronica Geurin’s death? Minister Shatters words are meaningless unless they are followed by action.

• David 25/09/12 #

Got to love Alan Shatter, the only Govt Minister actively reducing the Live Registar.

• So Minister Shatter , What are YOU as Minister for Justice going to do about this ?
    Maybe MORE Gardai (not less) Reopen the recently closed Garda Stations,
    Support the Gardai re Training , facilities , working radios…..
    Come on man Step up and DO SOMETHING !

• censored 25/09/12 #

We don’t need Garda stations in every village, nor can we afford it. We do need a more efficient and effective police force (as you say: radios, cars, training, equipment). Even then, there will still be crimes.

• Since there is no deterrent,the gangs will murder at will.Only a few years ago,one hoodlum was caught walking along /wicklow street with an AK47 assault rifle,he was out on bail three hours later.Rest my case Sir

• Cpm 25/09/12 #

I’ve zero issues with these vermin murdering each other.

• What about their innocent kids standing there , any issues with that??

• So you’re happy to live in a country where gun law reigns supreme?

• Cpm 25/09/12 #

@cathal – the kids have more hope of leading a normal life without a gangster parent, than they do with.

@ruairi – absolutely, so long as the guns are used on each other, and not on innocent parties

• You certainly have a warped logic, Cpm.

• Cpm 25/09/12 #

I bow to your overwhelmingly convincing argument, Ruairi.

And in fairness, more people seem to agree with my sentiment, than disagree.

You do realise that one of those animals executed yesterday was, in his teens, responsible for the death of two Gardai? And, thanks to our impotent legal system, served a four year sentence and was back on the street, there was also a warrant out for his arrest for what was described as a ‘stabbing frenzy’ he embarked on in some country pub.

Forgetting your bleeding-heart liberal sway for a minute – what society needs an animal like that walking the street? What benefit is he? Why should we protect him? We’ve seen the courts can’t protect us from his and his ilk – so why the hell not, let them kill each other – there are no losers, only winners, when they do. So long as they keep it between themselves, let the good times roll, I say.

• Veronica Guerin,Shane Geoghegan & Roy Collins spiring to mind Cmp and I know there are others like that unfortunate plumber (?) in Dublin. While in theory what you say sounds plausable those who are involved have no interest in minding the Innocent. The state has to take responsibility and remove these people from the streets otherwise it will descend into a blood bath.

• What an absolutely ridiculous comment. You think that I’m a bleeding heart liberal because I don’t want to see people shot to death every day in the city where I live? Get a grip, please. l think that would make most people ‘bleeding heart liberals’. Newsflash: Most people in this country don’t support gun crime. I think you have totally missed the point here and I’m sure the vast majority of people in this country don’t want to see gun violence on on our streets, no matter who the victims are. That is what the gardai are for. You think that by leaving the gangsters to sort it out themselves, the problem will go away or innocent people won’t be victims too? Go read a book, Cpm. You really need to.

• Cpm 25/09/12 #

In all of my postings above, Kerry, I clearly state that I’m happy so long as they keep it amongst themselves.

• Cpm 25/09/12 #

“I think you have totally missed the point here and I’m sure the vast majority of people in this country don’t want to see gun violence on on our streets, no matter who the victims are ”

Actually, as it currently stands, the majority of people, by a ratio of two to one, support my original statement, Ruairi.

• But the problem is Cpm is they don’t so it’s not a solution.

• Cpm 25/09/12 #

Kerry, thugs are going to kill innocent people regardless. It’s how they operate.

The great thing about when they die, is that one less thug means a lot less victims.

• Cpm, do you really think the children of these gang members are going to grow up normal?

• Cpm 25/09/12 #

I never said that, Declan. I said “the kids have more hope of leading a normal life without a gangster parent, than they do with.”

• You’re all arguing two sides of the same coin. No, gun law should not be the ultimate arbiter in this country. Equally, the law should not be so impotent in dealing with gangs that the only hope of justice is for a gangster to die by the sword of another.

• Maybe it’s time Ireland created a version on the (French National Gendarmerie) and military could provide some boots on the ground in Areas that need a security boost, could help, as Garda recruiting is at standstill !

• Not sure what you want to achieve using the military as a part time police force. Training them in any meaningful way would be a massive and costly endeavour. Interesting to see that all the crime stats show a decline in serious crime with the exception of burglary. If they closed the Gold for Cash shops even that would decline.

• If there are that many armed forces personnel sitting around idle that could be re-trained as a civic police force I’d be more likely to look at the issue of why so, especially when they’ve just announced vacancies for another 600 places to the ranks at a time when Garda numbers are dropping! The Garda College is sitting there idle, only being used for in-service training where it could be busy training up the 200-odd waiting recruits, as mentioned above by James Downey, come this time next week!! There’s your ‘boots on the ground’ right there!!

• Gerard 25/09/12 #

@paddy rogers

The stats don’t show a drop in crime levels, they show a drop in “reported” crime levels, alot of people just don’t bother reporting crimes anymore.

• a strongly worded statement, that’ll sort them!

• So what would you prefer? That the Minister for Justice stay silent on the matter?

Sometimes the most appropriate thing to say is also the most obvious…

• The last i heard Jonathan was 2014. You need the patience of a saint!

• Applied myself a while ago James. Are they talking bout lifting the ban?

• I do hope that the innocent children are being giving some form of counselling.

• These criminals are lacking in “humanity or decency”, much like FG/Labor/FF. Shafter is an expert on this topic.

• Also I find it curious the use of these words, “gangland killings”, as if the perpetrators are from a separate land from Ireland called “Gangland”. I’m afraid to break this to you, lads, but “Gangland” is Ireland.

• Gangs have been around for years,so what has changed nothing( Why) because we are too soft,I say we the Judges who send these people to prison,its a holiday camp for them they get 3 meals a day clean bed to sleep in t v , p c and lots more oh and drugs,who pays for this we do ,why do you think the prisons are full because they have a great life in there ,why dont I live there because I have pride and respect,these yobs dont have that

• A few months back three people were sentenced to six years imprisonment each. One raped and sexually abused his daughter over 14 years, the second ran down and killed a man with her car in a rage and the third declared garlic as apples on a customs clearance form. Need I say more?!

• Not particularly sad about who died but very unfortunate for the witnesses. Just another case for far more punitive measures to deal with gun crime.

Arguments regarding Garda numbers can not be be blamed on politicians alone (though I do agree for the most part). It should be remembered that the Gardai (and HSE) have failed over the past decade to update and integrate technology which would drastically cut administrative work hours and positions and thus free funds and personnel to deal with far more important issues i.e patrols.

• Do you really think that the perpetrators of these public executions are concerned with John Q policeman on his beat or driving around in his high visibility Mondeo? The Gardai need to put resources into intelligence driven units, these aren’t shop lifters they are armed assassins

• No man has the right to take the life of another man

• “The callousness of their actions shows that the perpetrators lack even a shred of humanity or decency.”

Lacking humanity and decency like prising the wedding and engagement rings off people who are down on their luck, eh Mr. Shatter??

• That’s a very misleading comment.

There is no plan to prise wedding and engagement rights from people. There is a plan to bring in a debt relief scheme, of which people can avail when they owe money and can’t afford to pay their debts. Those in possession of valuable assets (including jewellery) can afford to pay their debts and therefore the taxpayers should not be expected to pay for them.

• Are you married James?

• That’s irrelevant.

Obviously it’s a terrible situation where someone gets themselves into so much debt that they have to sell off items of sentimental value; but a person can’t expect the rest of us to pay off their debts while holding on to valuable assets.

Not to mention that this would just become a legal loophole whereby people could tie up any money they have in a piece of jewellery and claim it has sentimental value. Who could prove that they were lying?

My main point remains that although having to sell items of sentimental value to pay one’s debts is an undesirable situation, forcing the rest of us to pay for a person’s debts despite that person having the means to pay them is not for the common good.

• So you’re not married, but an authority on the decency/indecency of having your wedding and engagement rings prised from your fingers.

Get back to us when you’re in a position to know how deeply immora such an act is.

• johnny 25/09/12 #

he was talking about 60,70,80 thousand euro rings not your average modest ring. and yes im married and if i couldnt pay my bill the ring and hers would go no problem

• The insolvency law covers people with debts of no more than 20,000. Would the people who fall under this category have engagement rings valued at 60, 70, or 80 grand?

Oh, and shatters own words:

Mr Shatter said no one would be deprived of a modest engagement ring valued at “a couple of hundred euro”.

In other words, pretty much every engagement ring out there, is up for grabs.

• Anybody who spends more than a couple hundred euro on a ring is a moron.
      Damn right it should be taken from them if they can’t pay their debts.

• werejammin,

You don’t seem to understand the scheme that is being introduced.
      At the moment, all of your assets are “up for grabs” when a debt is being enforced.
      Under the new scheme, debts of up to €20,000 will be paid by the State if you are unable to pay. Assets not counted in calculating whether or not you are capable of paying your debts are: essential household appliances, work equipment, a car or van worth up to €1200 and other assets worth up to €400.
      Anything above this is counted as an asset in determining whether you are entitled to debt relief.

The government is not going to take people’s jewellery from them, but neither is it going to hand our money to people who can afford to pay their debts by themselves.

• Like I said james, get back to us when you’re married.

Oh, and this government is willing to count the roof over your head as an ‘asset’ for the purpose of the anglo property tax, despite the fact that it is not. Second home, yes, family home no.

• I never said whether I was married, because it’s irrelevant. I could just as easily say that if a person doesn’t have a criminal justice qualification, their opinion is not valid on these issues. But that would be a bigoted thing to say. I’m not going to get into a “my opinion is more important than yours” debate.

You don’t seem to even understand the meaning of the word “asset”. Of course your family home is an asset. That does not mean that it is right to impose a property tax, but it is an asset. Any property you own is an asset, from a pencil to a palace.

I have only commented on the justifiability of these measures. I have acknowledged the undesirability of the situations described above, but that it is not justifiable to hand public money to help people who already have valuable assets.

You have never offered a counter-argument; you have only changed the subject and focused on my personal life.

• Winston what you’re saying is that dim comments are appropriate for the dim.
    Shatter is not doing a good job as he is too distracted re-inventing the history of WWII. There is no way on earth that “bearing down heavily” or even deploying an extra 1000 Gardaí can stop this savagery. Shatter does not understand the root causes of this gangsterism and is therefore he in no position to offer an effective solution. If it makes one feel good or believe in error that effective action is about to be taken that would be fairytaleism.

• The Military already has a police force & intel Unit that is trained to same level as an Garda and have abundance of experience from overseas missions in dealing with thugs & Gangs, so it would be cost effective, to me it would make sense, government using assets it already has at its disposal. But then the Gov in their wisdom…. have their own ideas !!

• Shatter needs to get his priorities right.

• In answer to a previous comment where some ignorant person called Mahmood Ahmadinejad an Anti Semite and Evil.. Did you know Iran has one of the largest Jewish communities ? Did you know they refused Money from Israelis to move to Israel stating they are happy , safe and free in Iran. Did you know there are Jewish . elected representatives in Iran ? If you don’t believe that do a little research..
    Another slander against Ahmadinejad and the Iranian regime is the claim that they want to wipe Israel off the map. That claim is false and if you care to read the UN transcript you will soon realise that.
    Israelis have in the past and more recently threatened to wipe Iran off the Map and that is not made up it is a factual statement.
    Finally Ahmadinejad has been accused of denying the holocaust.. What part of suggesting there should be free and open discussion on the holocaust is holocaust denial ? Did he say the Gas chambers did not exist ? Did he say 6.000.000 never died ? NO He was called a holocaust denier because he allows people to discuss it freely in Iran and he wishes it was open for debate globally WHY is it the ONLY historical event that is off limits ? ALL history is open to revision except the holocaust WHY ? So before any of you start accusing the Iranians of being one thing or another just look at the West’s history for a while.. They accuse Iran of wanting the Bomb yet the US has them and has used them.. They say Iran is an imminent threat to Israel and the World yet Iran has NOT waged an offensive war for over 200 years yet the US is PERMANENTLY at War. Israel has declared War on Egypt Syria Lebanon and Palestine and they have the most brutal assassination team (MOSSAD) in the World and it is not only rumour but verifiable fact that they were involved in the Sept 11 2001 attacks..

• @Bob Groover 1916 Britain had lost WWI, Germany offered peace terms and the British were on the verge of excepting until Second Baron Rothschild went to the British War cabinet and promised to bring the USA into the War on their side and as payment they wanted Palestine in return. In 1917 after an effective propaganda campaign in the US Woodrow Wilson declared war on Germany. The Zionists went back to the British and demanded something in paper for getting the US into the War and the infamous Balfour Declaration was signed.. The document was submitted to the Paris Peace Conference and for the first time the Germans realised they had been stabbed in the back.. . For source information listen to the Benjamin H Freedman speech from 1961(He was there).

• anything to say about Israeli theft of Irish passports and barbaric murdering minister?

• Alan Shatter is not Israeli and does not represent Israel. He is Irish and Jewish. It sounds like your inferring that Irish Jews are not really Irish. Why does he need to answer for that? He is from Ireland.

• censored 25/09/12 #

That’s not how I read this question.

• Your point is? Do you think I care how you interpret the question? NO.This article is about a domestic issue not Israel, Jews, or a barbaric murdering minister. There is nothing to condemn Alan Shatter for. He is simply doing his job by condemning these murders. Fuzi Le Bon is a defender of Iran and Ahmadinejad.

• censored 25/09/12 #

Is he a defender of Iran and Ahmadinejad? I wouldn’t know, and still don’t see how you got onto the rant about Irish Jews. Are you really Clint Eastwood by any chance?

• Kevin I think the point is that he is the minister for ‘Justice’ for Ireland’s who’s citizens’ passports were stolen and used to commit an assassination. It’s not about his religion. He has a responsibility for justice in Ireland. Call a whitewash a whitewash. Not everyone who disagrees with Israeli policy is anti Semitic. I know I’m not.

• “more dirt designed to make us think Iran is the black.army of death” – This statement from Fuzi Le Bon on the article “Supporting homosexuality is ‘for capitalists’, says Iranian president”.
      @Jack – People who constantly bring up Jews, Israel, and defend evil people like Mahmoud Ahmadinejad in my mind are anti-Semitic. I never said criticizing Israel makes one anti-Semitic, of course not. Alan Shatter was not the Minister for Justice when passports were stolen, to blame him is absurd. What do passports have to do with anything related to this article? It just happens to be that Alan Shatter is a Jew? They were stolen from the UK, US, Australia, and Germany as well. I have a problem with people who constantly pick on Israel and never seem to have any issue with countries like Iran, China, Pakistan, Egypt, Lebanon, Syria, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, etc. I have come across some people on the Journal.ie who makes statements like the following “Zionist sc*m.” “The Zionists were behind 9/11 to turn the world against Muslims.” “The Zionists are the real Nazis.” “The Jews control the media, banks, and alter the weather.” “Typical Jew.” “We must stop the Israeli regime.” People who make such statements fiercely deny they are anti-Semitic; I don’t buy that. The KKK are also very anti-Israel and claim the Palestinians are victims of the evil Zionists. Israelis were not celebrating on the day of the 9/11 attacks and did not try to storm the American Embassy in Jerusalem. I don’t agree with all Israeli policies, but they don’t deserve all the hatred they get. Israel belongs to the Hebrews not Arabs; archaeology has proven this. The European Jews are the descendants of the Hebrews run out of Israel centuries ago by Islamic invaders. There were over 800,000 Jews in Arab countries there are only 8,000 remaining today.

• Kevin, I take your point. Good point well made.

• Thanks for understanding, Jack.

• Yes, let the Gardai bear down on Irish gangsters but why are the Gardai bearing down on consensual sex between adults in Limerick? It’s a waste of Gardai time and resources.

• James
    I don’t believe you should be allowed join the Gardai with those attitudes. You would clearly be a problem recruit.

• It is about attitudes and his belief that the jews are doing no wrong in Palastine. So condemning the murder of two people is more atrocious than a genocide in his opinion.

• Mjhint 25/09/12 #

Bob I maybe jumping to conclusions & you may correct me if I get it wrong. The jews are doing nothing to the Palestinians. Its the Israelis. There are lots of jewish communities around the world & here that have no part in the Palestinian issue. Your use of the word jews troubles me but I will accept your correction.

• So is it Christians or Muslims committing a holocaust??? Agreed there are jews all around the world, the smallest minority of which would accept the jews are living on illegal land under an agreement made in 1915 by the jews, Americans and British. Two of which are the 2 of only 3 to deny the biggest holocaust of the twentieth century even took place and one is not the British, the third being the perpetrators (Turkey) who just happen to be the jews and Americans most reliable ally in the middle east. Co-incidence???

• Mjhint 26/09/12 #

Wow Bob that was some answer & you manage to disprove your own point of view. You blame the US the Turks & you put in the brits as well ,although you seem to let them off. By the way Im not an expert as such on the middle east but I think the behaviour of the Israelis is terrible. However you mentioned the jews (your words not mine) America, predominantly christian. Turkey secular state but mainly muslim. So we agree the jews are not the problem. You use that term in a way that a neo nazi does. Its common amongst catholics in this country & beyond because they blame the Jewish community for deicide. You would be better to keep those views amongst simple folk like yourself. Enlighten yourself & let the racism & antisemitism go. This democracy can will do well without it.

• Does he think it is as barbaric as the genocide being committed by the jews in Palastine?????

• censored, if you were lacking in “humanity or decency” how would you know it? How would you know that you are an expert in the study of those lacking in “humanity or decency”?

Add New Comment