TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Alcohol consumption down by 17 per cent over last decade

Is Ireland’s love affair with drink fading? A study from DCU shows that alcohol intake has fallen by a sixth in just over 10 years.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

A NEW STUDY has shown a major decline in the average alcohol intake of an Irish person over the last decade.

The study from DCU’s Business School showed that alcohol consumption has fallen significantly since 2008, and had also fallen significantly in the earlier part of the decade.

While some of this drop-off is attributed to cross-border shopping, which would offset some of the reported drop in intake, the current figure – of 12 litres per adult – is still significantly lower than it had been in 2001, when it stood at 14.4 litres.

Those figures reflect the quantity of ethanol, rather than merely alcohol drink – meaning the average 12-litre intake equates to an average of 422 pints of cider.

Anthony Foley, the economist who undertook the study, said the 2011 figure was likely to be revised even further downward given the new census which showed a higher-than-expected spike in the population.

With similar revisions then due for the years 2007 to 2011, the average input figure was likely to be lowered to 11.8 litres.

“In international terms, average consumption increased in several OECD countries but declined in Ireland,” he said.

“In 2001, the Irish consumption level was the highest of the sample of countries in the OECD. In 2005 it was also the highest. However, by 2011 Ireland’s decline combined with increases elsewhere means that we are now approaching the levels of mid-ranked countries.”

The average intake reached its lowest in 2009, when it stood at 11.4 litres – the equivalent of just over 400 pints of an average cider with an alcohol volume of 5 per cent.

The Alcohol Beverage Federation of Ireland, which commissioned the report, said the figures should be taken into account by policymakers when formulating their national alcohol policy.

The report can be read in full at the ABFI website.

Social media can be harder to resist than cigarettes – study

Customers pay ‘more for water than beer’ in Dublin pubs, says Senator

Read next:

Comments (41 Comments)

• In other news, Alcohol consumption in Melbourne and Sydney is up. Way up.

• Eric 03/02/12 #

Kind of blows a hole in the theory that supermarket booze is causing an increase in binge drinking then

• Hold on now…I thought we were drinking more and more and therefore we NEEDED to be charged more for one of the few enjoyments left to protect us from ourselves?!?! This development is after rocking my entire belief system…

• So Shorthall is on a crusade against a problem that doesn’t actually exist!

We don’t need anymore nanny state legislation in this country. I’m sick of the 10pm buying rule, I’m sick of 2pm closures when elsewhere places will open until morning.

Let people be people, let responsible adults be accountable for their own actions, let the market set a price and let people buy what they want to buy.

• The Irish as responsible adults?
      You’re having a laugh.

• How much does it cost the tax payer for irresponsible alcohol consumption, how much does one traffic accident cost? Guards called out, ambulance Crews, hospital costs, and the human misery, deaths, invalids,
      What about domestic violence, wife beatings, child abuse,
      Mental illness family breakdown, the list goes on and on.
      The price of alcohol should reflect, the cost to society of the damage caused by alcohol

• @ Michael Fagan. Most adults in Ireland drink alcohol. We ARE the taxpayer. We also pay additional tax when we buy alcohol.

I have never presented to a hospital with an alcohol related condition. I have not used the emergency services, due to alcohol and no Garda has ever had to have words with me over my behaviour. I have not assaulted anyone due to alcohol or been responsible for any of the things you list and yet I do like a drink. Why should I pay even more than the already high price charged?

It is not alcohol that causes the problems you list, it is alcohol ABUSE.

A lot of people in Ireland have a very bad attitude to alcohol and that needs to change. Inflating the price with tax does not work, otherwise it would have done so by now.

You can’t tax people better.

• Well Mrs. Shortall, What do you have to say about that?

• Looks like i must up my game.

• this is very interesting (and for the sake of transparency I work in the wine trade) and not wanting to shoot myself in the foot here there are just a few things – the report is based on data from the Revenue Commissioners – so in fact is not reflective of alcohol comsumed, but alcohol legally bought in the Republic. To say consumption is down therfore is like saying smoking is down, when isn’t it more true to say that the number of legally bought cigarettes has decreased while the sales of roll-your-own and black market cigarettes has increased implying that smoking itself has not necessarlily decreased.
    I agree with David Higgins about the nanny state business (but then I would, wouldn’t I?) and all the evidence points to the fact that price does not affect the so called problem drinkers, just the moderates. We have one of the highest rates of excise in Europe and yet also lay claim to a huge binge-drinking problem too. It’s cultural and takes more than a symbolic, all-hitting price hike to deal with an issue like that. If however alcohol consumption really is falling, then the government hiking prices at this stage to claim a victory of sorts would stick in my craw.
    On another note, if high prices are the solution to this type of social problem won’t it be so very easy to deal in a similar way with problems such as drugs and obesity?

• I was out foreign last few year, back now so no worries.

• Hey Jay funk; know what an ad hominem augment is? I suggest you look it up.

It doesn’t matter who commissioned the report. The data in question comes from revenue. The same place that the anti alcohol crowd get their data, but they like to ignore the details and just compare current consumption to 1960 consumption.

Alcohol consumption in Ireland rose steadily between 1960 and it’s peak in 2002. It has been falling since. http://irishcraftbeer.blogspot.com/2012/01/alcohol-taxation-and-republic-of.html

Minimum pricing is about the government’s VAT take on alcohol.

• Alcohol Beverage Federation of Ireland, which commissioned the report – id say it was a balanced report then, with no bias at all.

85% of people know 75% of statistics are untrue

• The proposed minimum pricing structure legislation is due to affect beer and spirits while leaving wine relatively untouched.

• Middle class voters drink wine, not the 20-30 somethings who spend their money in the bars of all those publicans who are friends and family of TDs.. or actually are TDs.

The min price structure is a result of blatant lobbying by greedy publicans.

• Ah well, I think we all knew this minimum pricing is all for the Vintners. Here’s the proof. FG/Labour no different than FF. Worse, consuderong they should be learning from past mistakes.

• well no body can afford to sit on the high stool and have a nice pint anymore with drink driving, not the to have the one on the way home from work nor have a session the night before plus the price of a pint is ridiculous its 5.10 for a pint of Guinness where I’m working

• Sales most certainly do not equal consumption but that is as true for 1960 as it is for today. We used to drink a lot of duty free alcohol here, that is missing from the figures too.

What these figures do include is all alcohol sold by Irish supermarkets, including that sold below cost, so it clearly demonstrates that alcohol sold on the cheap in Ireland does not cause an increase in sales.

Binge drinking is a problem in every country where high taxes are used to inflate the cost of alcohol.

• @ Sean billings, high taxes, on alcohol, = high prices and
      Is recognized as a major deterrent to purchase of alcohol especially among young people

• “Is recognised” is not evidence.

During the steady rise in alcohol sales during the 1980s and 1990s there were three separate across the board increases in alcohol duty (1986, 1989 & 1994). Sales continued to rise despite the associated price increases.

After the peak in 2002 sales began to drop.

In 2006 the groceries order was rescinded, resulting in prices going down. Sales continued to fall.

Price goes up but people still by more. A few years later, people start to buy less, price goes down, people continue to buy less.

The data is from revenue. These are hard facts, not conjecture. Where is your recognised deterrent to purchase? Why is it not working?

• Excellent points Sean backed up with facts and figures. Now if only Shortall would open her mind to the same kind of sense…

• DaveC 03/02/12 #

Great news, that calls for a pint !

• The football and the Olympics this summer should bring us back up the table fairly lively..

• Judging by the above comments, you would think that this study would lead people to believe that alcohol is no longer a problem. Might I add that alcohol consumption in 1987 stood at 9.8 litres, which is a helluva lot less than now, even taking into consideration the 17% drop.

2000 hospital beds a night are taken up by alcohol-related injuries and 1300 people a year die directly from alcohol, this figure does not take into account the countless others who die as a result of drink driving. It also does not take into account the amount of people who are the victim of assault as a result of alcohol consumption.

So get a fecking grip. The problem very much exists. Just because we’re drinking less now than 2001 does not mean we’re not drinking a lot.

• The point is that a drop in price has not caused a rise in consumption. The approach of taxing alcohol to reduce the harm associated with over consumption has failed us for generations, but our government wants to continue with this approach regardless.

• I was replying to the comments that proceeded the article and how they are indicative of the dangerous attitudes Irish people have to alcohol, rather than the article itself. I thought that was clear by the first line in my comment..

• I don’t think anyone was claiming that Ireland’s alcohol problems are a thing of the past. Just that cheap supermarket alcohol is not the boogieman Roisin Shortall would have is think it is.

• In fairness, I think the point being made is that increasing prices does not really affect consumption. There are people here who would clearly like alcohol banned. Whilst alcohol clearly has inherent dangers associated with it, targeting the majority does little to fix the problem. It’s similar to smoking, the government increases prices for the benefit of the people but does nothing to reduce the price of nicotine replacement therapies etc. Fine, increase prices but then show us that money is being used to directly treat the problem rather than using the money to top up their pensions.

• B7584 03/02/12 #

Someone should mention weed.

• Angela Merkel will decide all future policies.

• The reason is simple the last generation were stitched up and now have huge overheads and no disposable income. Don’t need research to figure this one out!

• @Sean Billings,
    I do not have access to all the to all the statistics and numbers from investigations into alcohol price contra consumption which you seem to have.
    I do know that the use of excise duty and tax is used with great success in the Scandinavian countries to control alcohol consumption where binge drinking is unknown.

that you point out that you never have had a problem with alcohol is commendable, there large numbers of people who are in the same position, But you must remember that you live in a society with 4 million people, and the good of the society as a whole is of far greater importance than one individual or group of individuals right to have access to cheap alcohol

• With the culture of ‘booze cruises’ in Sweden and Norway I would be sceptical of the claim “binge drinking is unknown”.

Ireland already has a VAT (23 vs 25) and excise & duty regime similar to Sweden, Norway and Denmark.

If you expand into the Nordic countries Finland also has high duty and excise on alcohol and the same VAT rate as Ireland. Unlike Ireland, alcohol of strength past a regular beer is sold through special shops like in Norway and Sweden. Yet despite this cost and control of access, the leading cause of death for men and second for women was alcohol related deaths.

Ireland doesn’t have cheap alcohol compared to continental Europe. Yet Ireland has a much higher consumption of alcohol.

• Coincides around the time I stopped drinking…..Its time for a come back

• I am off for a few pints to celebrate this great news…..

• We need to increase tax on alcohol by 17% ASAP so.

Add New Comment