TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

April Jones: Leading forensic psychologist now aiding search

The search for five-year-old April Jones has will continue today, despite adverse weather conditions.

Image: Dyfed-Powys Police

A LEADING FORENSIC psychologist has been brought in to assist the Welsh authorities in their search for missing five-year-old April Jones, as the investigation enters its fifth day.

Dr Joe Sullivan is an expert in the character and behaviour of child sex offenders and previously advised British and Portuguese police in the search for Madeleine McCann.

Police have until 5pm today to question a 46-year-old man about April’s disappearance, after which he must be charged or released – although they can apply for a further 24 hours warrant of detention, reports the BBC.

Mark Bridger was arrested at 3.30pm on Tuesday following the five-year-old’s disappearance from the mid Wales town of Machynlleth.

April Jones missing

Detective Superintendent Reg Bevan holding up a photo of the land Rover belonging to 46-year-old Mark Bridger who has been arrested following the abduction of April Jones. (Rui Vieira/PA Wire)

April was last seen willingly getting into a vehicle, believed to be a Land Rover Discovery, at around 7.30pm on Monday after playing with friends at the Bryn-y-Gog estate.

It is understood that police have been searching a small farmhouse in the village of Ceinws, where Bridger had been living most recently, with search teams also lifting up pavement slabs outside the property.

Bridger’s dark blue Land Rover Discovery has been seized for inspection by police.

Detectives have appealed to anyone with information of Bridger’s movements between 5pm on Monday and 3.30pm on Tuesday to contact them.

They have stressed that members of the public should not assume that someone else had already contacted them with their information. Detective Superintendent Reg Bevan said: “Even if you feel yours is trivial, please contact us.”

Readers in the UK can call 0300 2000 333 with any information.

Read next:

Comments (26 Comments)

• Resel 05/10/12 #

What a job to be doing. Specialist with inside the minds of pedophiles. Fair play to him but no thanks.
    I hope he finds her.

• All anybody can do now is hope and pray that this little girl is found it’s so sad poor little thing

• Maria 05/10/12 #

Partysauras: he was not a stranger to her. He was a family friend and she was friends with his children. The danger usually comes from those close to the victim and how do you teach your kids that without confusing the hell out of them? Also there is a big difference between leaving your children alone in an apartment and letting your child play on the street with her friends. The latter is very common. We can’t wrap our kids in cotton wool

• Forensics have his jeep a few days now, surely if April was in his jeep they would have mentioned if they had found any of her DNA at this stage? I can’t understand how there is no info comin to light in this case yet?

• Poppy 05/10/12 #

I read somewhere that it’s possible her DNA could be there legitimately as she used to play with his kids and may have been playing in his jeep previously.

• Elmo 05/10/12 #

Yes, and if she was only in the jeep while he drove her somewhere else the most they’d probably find would be hairs or something equally explainable from her playing in it with his kids. Unless he hit her or did something worse to her in the jeep there’d be nothing to find.

• G 05/10/12 #

Would have thought they could have moved a bit faster on this, why are they only doing it now, it seemed like an obvious thing to do in the first place.

• They should tell him that they are not extending the custody. Release this to the press.
    Let him walk out the door at 5pm to the baying crowd and he might turn tail back in again to tell what he knows.

• this fella should be tortured, he’d talk quick enough then

• And what if he turned out to be innocent? As was pointed out above the police don’t seem to have found any DNA evidence in his jeep.

• How do you know what the police have found out yet you clown? It amazes me the blinkered opinions on this tragic story. I mean why don’t we stop the investigation all together and just do what the forensic experts on this page suggest. Even better set the paedophile free and relocate him next door to some of the forensic experts and bleeding liberals on this page!

• @ Robbyn: Maybe you should grow up rather than engaging in name calling. Maybe cop on to yourself a little bit. I don’t believe in torturing suspects in criminal investigations, because too often the police can arrest the wrong suspect. Likewise I don’t believe in the death penalty because the State is no better than the killer/rapist etc. I’m sorry if that makes me a “bleeding liberal” – not something I’m too often accused of being.

It seems you favour the use of torture in criminal investigations. Do you?

• Dr joe Sullivan helped police in the Madeline McCann case ? Last I heard she’s still missing so what’s the big deal about getting this guy on board ?

• A rabid Alsatian, a prison cell and five minutes to talk before fido is let off the leash and the door of the cell is locked.

• Went from a white van to a dark blue land rover can the information be at least accurate for people to help

• The initial description of the vehicle was based on eyewitness reports from young children, and more information has been gathered since then. Police have released pictures of the Land Rover, above.

• Idiots the lot of ye,with nothing better to be doing

• Jennifer 3 year olds can tell the difference between white and blue. If they have the suspect since Tuesday surely they knew what kind of vehicle he drives and what colour it is

• In a hole, loose the shovel.

• As I’ve said, the police have released a picture of the vehicle they are seeking information about – it’s in the article above. I’m not sure if your question is about media reports or the police investigation itself, but all press reports are based on official statements which are released as developments are made. As with any case, information may change during the course of an investigation as a clearer picture is gained.

• Elmo 05/10/12 #

What is your problem “ThePeopleOfIreland”?

You’ve posted the same thing on a few of the articles about this case. Does it matter? They had him arrested before they found his jeep so does it matter what description was given. They obviously knew who they were looking for even with a poor description. Maybe they deliberately gave out the wrong information because they knew exactly who they were looking for and didn’t want him panicking and running. Which would also explain why he was so casually walking along the road when they did pick him up.

Either way they’ve had him and his jeep since Tuesday, so it’s of very little concern which description the young kids gave.

• Im nearly sure,He had two vehicles, the blue land-rover the children described and the white van he was arrested walking near, the blue land rover was only found in a repair shop after he had been arrested, I think this is why people ate getting confused.

• I’m sure a 3 year old could figure out how a Reply button works too.

• My problem is Elmo there is a big difference between white and blue. If people are being asked to assist with a white van in the area when in fact it’s a dark blue jeep there lyes a big problem. can you not see the conflict of information.

• Elmo 05/10/12 #

As I said they arrested this guy without having found a van or a jeep. So they clearly knew who they were looking for in the first place regardless of what the kids may have said. There was obviously a reason they were looking for a white van and as someone said already I’m pretty sure he was arrested walking near a white van. He may have had two vehicles. Maybe April got into the blue jeep and the police were told this but thought it unlikely he’d have been driving around in it if there were witnesses so made the conclusion he’d be out in his white van? Maybe they didn’t want to give the description of the only blue left wheel drive jeep in the town before they arrested him because it would have been obvious to the locals who it was and could have led to vigilante justice.
      As you said there is a clear difference between a white van and a blue jeep, so the most reasonable explanation for this mix up is that they weren’t releasing all the information at once to try and keep control over a very difficult situation. But like I said, they had him arrested on Tuesday afternoon before they found his blue jeep in a garage so they obviously knew who they were looking for even if the general public didn’t.

Add New Comment