TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Archbishop Martin calls on Taoiseach to explain Vatican comments

The Archbishop of Dublin was speaking following the publication of the Vatican’s controversial response to the Cloyne report.

Enda Kenny and Diarmuid Martin in 2009
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

THE ARCHBISHOP OF Dublin has called on the Taoiseach to explain what he was referring to when he said the Vatican was trying to undermine investigations into clerical child sexual abuse in the diocese of Cloyne.

On RTÉ Radio One’s This Week programme Archbishop Martin was speaking following the publication of the Vatican’s response to the Cloyne report in which the Holy See rejected criticism of it by Enda Kenny in a speech he delivered to the Dáil last July.

Kenny accused the Vatican of downplaying the rape and torture of children to protect its power and reputation and was scathing in his speech, widely considered a landmark moment in the State’s relationship with the Catholic Church.

Martin said that he wanted to know what the Taoiseach meant by “a very, very specific allegation” relating to investigations three years ago:

I would like to know what he is referring to about the Holy See trying to undermine three years ago.

It’s a very, very specific allegation.

But it is important also to be able to say calmly and ask the Taoiseach or whoever was speaking on his behalf, what exactly was meant by this so that we can move forward, not having suspicions that there were some how or other, other agendas there that we don’t know about.

The Archbishop pointed out that when Judge Yvonne Murphy, who led the inquiry into allegations of abuse at Cloyne between 1996 and 2009, attempted to contact the Vatican she was told there would be co-operation as long as her pursuit of information was done along normal diplomatic channels.

Meanwhile, the government has indicated that it will study the document before deciding whether or not to make any response.

This is also the position of the Taoiseach, who spoke only briefly about the Vatican response yesterday, insisting he did not regret his speech to the Dáil on 20 July.

Read more on the Cloyne report >

Read next:

Comments (79 Comments)

• The sad thing about all this chid abuse is that all men are seen as potential child rapists. It’s now a fact of life that a man cannot be left alone in the company if a minor without Garda vetting or a minder. I grew up, went fishing , camping etc with friends fathers ..scouts etc, even educated by the Christian brothers and like the majority of children avoided abuse. A minority of men, and to make it worse a minority held on the highest esteem by Irish Catholics I.e. priests, have contributed to extinguishing a vital trust that has wider sociological implications. In an age when society is highlighting the social problems caused by the absence of the male role model in many children’s lives, the shadow of child abuse has done irreparable social damage.

• Dear Diarmuid

The Murphy Commission wrote to the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith (CDF) in Rome in September 2006 asking for information on the promulgation of the document Crimen Sollicitationis … as well as information on reports of clerical child sexual abuse which had been conveyed to the Congregation by the Archdiocese of Dublin in the period covered by the Commission. The CDF did not reply. However, it did contact the Department of Foreign Affairs stating that the Commission had not gone through appropriate diplomatic channels.

The Commission is a body independent of government and does not consider it appropriate for it to use diplomatic channels. This you know Diarmuid.

The Commission wrote to the Papal Nuncio in February 2007 requesting that he forward to the Commission all documents in his possession relevant to the Commission’s terms of reference, ‘which documents have not already been produced or will not be produced by Archbishop Martin’. The letter further requested the Papal Nuncio, if he had no such documentation, to confirm this. No reply was received.

The Commission does not have the power to compel the production of documents by the Papal Nuncio or the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith. The Commission again wrote to the Papal Nuncio in 2009 enclosing extracts from the draft report which referred to him and his office as it was required to do. Again, no reply was received.”

So in summary the Catholic Church was asked, quite politely, to assist the Commission in it’s work – related to child abuse, particularly abuses committed by clergy and covered-up by Irish bishops.

The Church declined to engage in the process.

er, that’s it, Diarmuid.

• @ Andrew. Thank you for the above. A very clearcut response, assuming accuracy of your information. May I ask, what is the reason for the high importance attributed to "normal diplomatic channels" and why was it so important to operate within these channels to receive info from the Vatican? Was it a fudge? Thank you again.

• Game – Set and match !!!!

• @ RP McMurphy: A copy & paste from the Murphy Commission Report -2.23. and 2.24.

I think the ‘normal diplomatic channels’ line is a deflection. On the Crimen Solicitationis document the Commission did not ask the Vatican or the Holy See for co-operation, it asked the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith (CDF) – but the CDF ignored the Commission and the Vatican used it’s diplomatic muscle to avoid answering. That document only came to light because it was referenced in a footnote to a May 18, 2002, letter from Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger, head of the Vatican’s doctrinal congregation, to the bishops of the world regarding new procedures for sex abuse cases. Needless to say that if CDF had co-operated with the Commission, Ratzinger might have been compromised.

The Papal Nuncio knew the Commission didn’t have the power to make the nuncio or the CDF to produce relevant and important documents so they acted accordingly.

• In addition to the Nuncio stonewalling the original Murphy report, I believe that Kenny’s “three year” reference was to the Papal Nuncio’s refusal to cooperate with the Cloyne investigation, thus frustrating its efforts.
      This time, the nuncio declined on the basis that he “does not determine the handling of cases of sexual abuse in Ireland and therefore is unable to assist you in this matter”.

However, this is quite disingenuous, since the report also found that “on 11 January 2009, Archbishop Clifford went to see the Papal Nuncio, Archbishop Leanza. Archbishop Clifford told the Commission that he gave the Papal Nuncio a copy of the young man’s complaint as recorded by Fr Bermingham. The Nuncio advised him that he would forward the details of the complaint to the prefect of the Congregation for Bishops in Rome, Cardinal Re.”

Thus the Papal Nuncio, the Vatican’s highest representative in Ireland, was involved with reports of abuse, would (or should) have had records of that which would be of interest to the investigation, and refused under a false pretext to cooperate with it.
      It’s not Kenny who has questions to answer here….

• How much longer do they get away with this?
    If it was the Russian government or the French or the Chinese who were raping children and then protecting and enabling the rapists, their ambassador would be expelled within the week and we’d prosecute the rapists.
    But because it’s the Vatican (who are adamant that they’re just another sovereign state), we don’t?
    How much longer?

• Totally agree, Mark. Enda Kenny should stand by his condemnation of the conduct of the clergy and their leaders. If they insist on "playing the innocent" he should threaten to have the church eliminated from our schools, even if it meant legislating for such a move. That’d put the wind up them. Time we stood up for the innocent lives ruined by so-called "men of God"

• keyese 05/09/11 #

communist countries u referring too there , just want to know ur agenda . mr stalin

• mart_n 04/09/11 #

Some neck on him to even contemplate asking for answers considering everything. I would like to see what Kenny has to say, mind. I felt at the time that his speech was mainly bluster, and the lack of affirmative action since then hasn’t made me think otherwise.

• Unbelievble. More concerned with Enda’s spanking than those they failed. Get them out of our schools & our republic. #Vatican

• I am stunned that he would even contemplate asking such a question.
    The Taoiseach does not have to answer to the likes of him. His best bet is to shut up and keep his head down for the next decade

• Unfortunately he does. He made an allegation which cannot be proven – it’s slander. Worse, there was no NEED for him to resort to slander to blacken the Church’s name. He’s completely bungled this one.

• Statements made in the Dail couldn’t be grounds for slander cases and likewise for defamation cases. So it’s not legally slander. As to whether it’s ethically slander, don’t be daft. They raped kids and then the rest of them covered it up. Slander requires that the ordinary person would feel your reputation was impuned by the statement and frankly, if you’re raping kids or protecting their rapists, there’s not much anyone can do to impune your reputation!

• mike 04/09/11 #

There is a cult which was called “The children of God” which abused children sexually. The law had to protesct the children and rightly so. So what different about the catholic church?

• Let me get this right, Martin is asking the elected leader of the Irish Republic to…”explain what he was referring to when he said the Vatican was trying to undermine investigations into clerical child sexual abuse in the diocese of Cloyne” Is this eejit for real? is he having a laugh? The Vatican mafia have obviously decided to start a pitched battle using technicalities which their army of lawyers have identified as possible areas they can exploit and use to deflect the REAL issues. (no wonder they took their time). I read their 25 page response and I still don’t see them answering the questions as to what they were actually doing writing a letter to bishops which was so vague as to give encouragement to idiots like O’Callaghan and Magee to ignore or take a ‘pastoral path’ in dealing with the serious failures in their charge. It is not Kenny who should be answering questions, it’s the likes of Martin, Brady, Magee and O’Callaghan along with the nuncio. They are the ones who have questions to answer, Kenny and his govt, must surely now see that they have to get these Machiavellian cretins out of any positions of influence in Ireland, out of the schools and hospitals and out of the constitution. The Vatican has had over a millennia to hone it’s skills and play it’s games and if history teaches us anything about this self serving sect it’s that it will do whatever it takes to survive and taking on a minnow like Ireland won’t trouble it too much, they’v e taken on bigger fish and are still around. Kenny should carpet Martin and remind him whose in charge and demand answers from him as to when they are going to stop playing games and admit the wrongdoing and then compensate the victims, the Vatican are NOT the victims, the catholic church in Ireland are NOT the victims, they are the ones who committed the heinous crimes and then covered up for the evil perpetrators, it’s they who should answering the questions and in a court of law at that!

• keyese 05/09/11 #

“Vatican mafia” looked em up on google ed, sorry couldn’t find what u were talking about. oh thats right u blogging about the usual , anti church comments. whos in charge of the country is Europe ed not enda kenny , just needed to point that out also , if u need an up date on the economy i be more than happy to oblige .
      1-0 keyes

• Ah keyese, wondered where you had taken yourself off too, been busy reading the Vatican reply to Enda have we? You don’t need to search google to see the similarities between the Vatican and the Mafia, just look at their structure but at least the Mafia have a code of honour!. As for Europe in charge, pure nonsense, Enda is very much in charge that’s what he was elected for to take charge after the shambles of the last bunch of cretinous incompetents. You’ll have to forgive me for not taking ‘up ur offr of an upd8 on da ecoonmy’, given you can barely write in English I don’t hold out much hope that you would be very enlightened when it comes to economics, come to think of it your not very enlightened in anything else either judging by your posts!

• Jon Mack 06/09/11 #

Archbishop Martin sides with Enda Kenny. He wants Enda to educate the public about the Vatican’s guilt. The archbishop has said that there is a cabal in the Vatican determined to confuse the issue and continue the cover-ups.

• Ed you got it wrong it was the little devils orphans that seduced the poor innocent priests. The worthless orphans of unmarried mothers etc etc.
    As you know I’m being sarcastic.

• Of course silly me! The pedophiles well used trick of blaming the victim for what happened and then silencing them with threats before offering them remorse to make it sound like their sorry. Those pesky orphans and loose women, what’s a priest to do eh! Hope you’ve been on your knees today in front of your local priest Joe? Then again hope you haven’t!

• @Joe Actually Joe your are closer to the ‘truth’ than you know. The Rosminians ‘managed’ two Industrial Schools – Upton & Ferryhouse and they wrote regular reports to Rome about their activities in Ireland. These report were sent three or four times a year. Some of the reports mentioned that their members were in danger of breaking the Sixth Commandment with the children … that the children were a danger to them! These parts of the reports were written in Latin.

From the Child Abuse Commission:
      Clergy members were “indiscreet with boys” and had “sinned against the sixth commandment (thou shalt not commit adultery)”. A letter to Rome from Ireland in 1956 said one member had been “indiscreet cum pueres (with boys) and is in periculum (danger)”. Senior Counsel for the committee, Mr Noel McMahon, referred to a letter from 1948 where a member was described as “in admiratio” (enamoured) of boys.

And the kicker in this is that the Holy See itself had overall authority of this Religious Order AND the Irish Christian Brothers – who also sent regular reports to Rome and many of those reports also mentioned child abuse by their members. So there’s a few corridors in Rome with masses (no pun intended) of documents mentioning child abuse by Irish Religious Orders

• The catholic church can’t even manage to get many catholics into the chapel for an hour on Sunday, yet they still demand to get their claws into the vast majority of Irish children for five days a week at school.
    Faith schools should not be allowed in any area that does not have an adequate number of non-faith schools already in place.

• Actually, quite a lot of parents are very happy to send their children to a Catholic school. It’s their choice as it should be a choice for those who want other options. The ball is in the government’s court. They’ve failed to provide schools for the differing requirements of modern Ireland.

• Barry 05/09/11 #

Maria your blaming then goverment for not having religious schools and your suggestings parents are happy with the current setup.

The facts remain that you can try blame the goverment but the church has had alot of power in this country and that has put a stop to any plans to seperate school and religion.

Even now mr quinns very progressive work regarding seperating the two isn’t exactly speeding along due to the church.

As for parents being happy…..this is a lie and you know it well, parents have no choice affectively. While there may be some non religious schools it could mean 90 plus min journey time.

Given the numorous faiths now in Ireland and the fact that more and more people have no religion it is only right that religion be removed from schools

This leaves religion which is very much a personal thing down to the parents who’ve you’ve previously said are happy so I’m sure they will have no problem teaching whatever faith they follow.

Also there’s always mass and Sunday schools could also be setup too

• I don’t think all parents are happy- quite a lot want another model and that choice should be available. I’m all in favour of choice in education.

• take them out of education, have holy communion and confirmation preparation outside school hours, remove the angelus from all TV and radio stations, religion in schools should be scrapped and replaced with world cultures where all religions, belifs are thought for integration purposes, only then will this country be truely secular, and brainwashing kids from there 4 will end

• This is the logical outcome of this battle: That any organisation or individual who doesn’t sign up or agree with the Children First Guidelines will not be allowed access to children. Hopefully when Children First becomes the law of the land they will be extended to all vulnerable communities in Ireland.

• Eh…and will the parents of the kids have a say? There should be choice in education not a one-size-fits-all approach steered by those who don’t want any mention of religion at all. I’m totally into the study of world religions, but I hope children wouldn’t be taught that belief in God is just a fairy tale for deluded, blind fools. This is not the belief of most Irish people. To me, brainwashing would be an attempt to pretend that everyone is the exact same and has the exact same beliefs. I think it’s better to teach children to value diversity. Someone believing something different should not be perceived as a threat. Vive la difference!

• @Maria Fair play to you for being into studying world religions – in which school in Ireland are you doing this studying?

• Maria all state schools should be secular. We live in a Republic that means that the Church and state should be separated. This country is no longer a Vatican statelet. The option of religious education should remain an option within the Education system but if people chose to educate their children in a religious ethos then they should find a private school that will provide that sort of “education”.

• Maria if you people want to believe in religion, be it christian or any other religion then do it on your own time, don’t expect the schools to do it for you, schools are for educating children in real subjects, the parents of children who want religious studies of a particular brand should do so in their churches, mosques or temples. Wasting school hours on preparing children for religious sacraments or other rituals is just sheer madness especially when they could be using that time to do maths and literacy two areas where Irish school children are falling behind in. I have no problem with children being thought about world religions and then allowed to make up their own minds on the subject, how they interpret the various beliefs of those religions is up to them. Let them make their own minds up. But remember when it comes to science, evolution is the reality and whatever creation myth you wish to follow is just that, a myth so “vive le difference” indeed. What you teach your kids in sunday school or in your own time is up to you but in school kids must be thought the facts and the truth about life that’s what education is about, that’s what real life is about!

• I believe in evolution, Ed- I don’t think there’s any problem embracing science and religion. As I see it, all parents pay tax. There are varying opinions on what type of education they want for their children. Some would be happy with your model, some want denominational education and others would abhor any mention of religion at all. I believe that there shouldn’t be just one approach. What’s wrong with diversity? Choice is the key, imo.
      By the way, I don’t believe that education is just about teaching facts and truth. I see the key role of education as facilitating children in a journey of exploration and discovery, and encouraging a love of learning.

• Maria, the group being objected to have a track record of raping and abusing those entrusted to their care.

I don’t care what religion you are or want to be; allowing this specific group the right to operate schools and thereby be in a position where they supervise children, that is the real issue here. What effect their ideology has on the standard of the child’s education is not the point here.

• keyese 05/09/11 #

block ur ears at 6 ok if u have a problem m8, thats ur problem solved

• Child protection procedures should be in place and strictly observed in all places, including schools,where adults interact with children. Have you statistics that point to priests being more of a risk to children, Mark?. I haven’t seen any such statistics.

• Just a handful of reports Maria, like the Murphy report and the Ryan report, which point out that priests who rape kids have been moved to other parishes instead of being handed over to the Gardai and DPP for prosecution, and that those who moved them covered up the abuses they carried out.
      It’s not that being a priest made them paedophiles, it’s that the other priests (and their higher-ups) acted in concert to protect the rapists and move them around, thus enabling them to rape and abuse again. It’s the systematic institutional nature of this that means that the RCC itself should be taken out of the school system permanently.

• ”explain what he was referring to when he said the Vatican was trying to undermine investigations into clerical child sexual abuse in the diocese of Cloyne” – what alternative planet do you live on diarmaid martin or are you a total gobshite.

• @Kay Rivers Child abuse by anybody is evil. The reason people hone in on child abuse by clergy is because clergy superiors facilitated the abuser; clergy superiors moved abusers from parish to parish, from diocese to diocese, and from country to country where more and more children were abused. ALL the archbishops of Dublin from McQuaid to Connell facilitated and covered up crimes of sexual violence. Religious Orders ‘managing’ the Industrial Schools covered up and facilitated crimes of sexual violence by their members – it is notable that these same Religious Orders brought the Gardai in immediately it was discovered that a civilian employee was abusing children. It was if the Religious Orders were sending out a message that the children were the exclusive sexual property of the Religious Orders sexually deviant clergy.

From the SAVI report

Perpetrators of Child Sexual Abuse
    • Girls: A quarter (24 per cent) of perpetrators against girls were family members, half (52 per cent) were non-family but known to the abused girl and a quarter (24 per cent) were strangers.
    • Boys: Fewer family members were involved in child sexual abuse of boys. One in seven perpetrators (14 per cent) was a family member with two-thirds (66 per cent) non-family but known to the abused boy. One in five (20 per cent) were strangers.
    • In sum, in four-fifths of cases of child sexual abuse, the perpetrator was known to the abused person.
    • The perpetrator was another child or adolescent (17 years old or younger) in one out of every four cases

Authority Figures as Perpetrators
    Participants were also asked if the person who perpetrated the abuse held any authority over them at the time.
    Combining religious ministers and religious teachers, they constituted the largest single category of authority figures as abusers of boys; 5.8 per cent of all boys sexually abused were abused by clergy or religious. A smaller proportion (1.4 per cent) of girls abused were abused by clergy or religious.

• Archbishop vs Taoiseach, eh? It’s like a grotesque form of Top Trumps. What sort of iota of moral authority does the catholic church hope to hold onto in this country? If Diarmuid Martin wants to ask the elected leader of the country a question why can’t he go through the proper diplomatic channels his bossmen so enamoured with instead of RTE feckin Radio 1? Crass and pathetically undignified. Lawyers in skirts running a man-made organisation revering a man-made superstition protecting men who protect men who rape children. WE NEED NOT HAVE ANYTHING TO DO WITH THESE PEOPLE ANYMORE, unless it is to put them on trial or ignore them.

• Canon Law applies within the precepts of a religion that is largely based on weird ideas surrounding virgin birth and strange attitudes and ideas towards sex and women generally. Law, with the exception of international law, agreed between democratic nations, is restricted in it’s application to the state within which it’s promulgated. Canon Law therefore has no relevance outside Vatican City, a pseudo democracy, with no females registered as citizens. What more need I say? I might believe in Shariah Law but just because I believe in it it doesn’t make it ok for me to impose or obey it outside the confines of a state that ratifies it as national law. When in Rome do as the Romans do…..when in Ireland do as the Irish do. There is a moral responsibility of all who live in this country, be they citizens or not, to obey the moral as well as the legal code and norms, including the responsibility to report suspicions or allegations of child abuse to the relevant authorities of the country. Anyone who does not is immoral themselves, as is anyone who encourages non compliance or in any way indicates towards people under their authority that the norms or laws of the country in which they reside do not apply to them and that they should in any way feel exempted from compliance with the law of the country in which they reside.

• paul d 04/09/11 #

The big boys in rome They have some neck .wait and see what comes out of the other country’s they sent there so called disciples too and the carnage they left behind. We have not seen The top Of the ice berg .we have only see a a ice cube

• The so called Christian Brothers belted us in their schools.
    The Nuns gave the girls in Industrial schools/ Magdalene Laundries a terrible time.
    Priests abusing children.
    Archbishop, why that title anyway ? ? ? why can you believe Enda Kenny is wrong ?
    The people are staying away in droves from Mass. Your collections are way down.
    Forget all the titles. Bishops Palace..A long way from a stable. Your Grace. Very Reverand is all part of the way the church expected us to bow to then.
    My blood boils.

Smell the roses.

• The catholic church can kiss my ring . Liars . Hypocrites . Let priests marry from now on , it wasn’t that long ago that women had to be churched after giving birth to cleanse them of " sin " . These people should be disregarded for once and for all . That’s just my opinion

• Mr G 04/09/11 #

Totally agree religion should be taken out if the schools ASAP ! I don’t want my child learning this rubbish, but will have no choice because there is no other school around, principles need to first stop the prayers and the government needs to act and remove the link between church and school

• in our constitution we are promised religous freedom, so where is the freedom in schools where first thing in the morning prayers said, again at little break and lunch time and again at 12 miday, oh and at hometime, if parents want their kids to be praying and learn about the bible and how to be a good catholic do it at home

• Glad the Archbishop spoke out. Living proof that the RC church needs to be reminded that this is 2010 and not 1960. It would be best for taxpayers if state funded schools were secular with religious education kept for out of school hours. Everyone benefits and if gives parents a chance to become genuinely engaged in religious formation. Presumably, the RC objection to this is that given the choice, most parents wouldn’t bother, the children wouldn’t go through the various initiations and future congregations would shrink. But isn’t that a choice for parents to make? Most people give up believing in Santa Klaus at some stage.

• I think that what has changed is peoples attitude that has changed. we can all read whats going on all over. these popes and such are stuck somewhere. Why does he think that special channels changes the questions he has been asked. perhaps he needs his ring kisses while hes at it . bowing down to a coward who does he think he is

• You must watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VABSoHYQr6k

Priceless!

• Child rapists have usually an abundance of confidence and arrogance. Just saying.

• someone asked above if anyone could name an institution where abuse was more rife than in the church…. sadly the answer is the family. just open a paper any day of the week and you will see what I mean

• Is that all Catholics or just priests and bishops? There wouldn’t be many people left if every Catholic moved to Rome.

• Is it strange that pedophiles target areas where children gather. I know of a circus clown who behaved in this manner yet when I see the pope and cardinals they dress up in a similar fashion.
    Also I notice that most trouble in the world right now and for centuries has been caused by the religious beliefs of people.

• So, you’re a paedophile if you wear certain decorative clothes? I don’t think I’ve ever come across such an unusual suggestion. In fact, most paedophiles probably look just like you or me and can’t be picked out from a crowd.

• and covering it up means also during confession,

• I’m confused. Do most of the people who comment here care about children or do they just want to take a swipe at the Catholic Church. The truth is that all abuse of children is heinous no matter who the perpetrator is. Most of us probably find it particularly so when it is a priest. But the fact remains that clerical child abuse accounts for only a tiny proportion of child abuse here. Don’t take my word for it – check out the SAVI report an abuse in Ireland. Check out also the conference on child protection in Cork which has just ended. Maybe we hone in on clerical abuse because we are not clerics whereas we are all relatives and neighbours so the fact that relatives and neighbours account for the large proportion of abuse is less comfortable to acknowledge.
    Some of my work is in the area of child protection so I read the Vatican response with real interest. Many of the comments here would suggest that people have not read what they are criticising.

• Can you name any other Irish institution where the rape of children and it’s cover up was more widespread than that of the catholic church?

• I believe the real point of contention/animosity was the covering up that followed the abuse. The institutionalised lying, avoidance and dishonesty. The lack of morality from an organisation that purports to be the guardian of morality. There is law and there is morality and when you try to use the law to avoid moral responsibility then you are by definition acting immorally.

• Don’t be confused Kay – it’s an awful generational institution of men built in power and treasure on the back of an extraordinary man named Jesus Christ.
      It has been a power craving, secular, self involved power hoard since the Nicene council. It exists to further itself. It may draw good men, but it appears to quite regularly draw the worst of men.

The Roman Catholic church is a political, despicable, self aggrandising work of men. In the second world war, in the inquisitions, in the treatment of the vulnerable in our island, it has never been anything else.

It is a pernicious institution – feeding off, and demanding mastery of, our own truest, inherent better impulses.
      It disavows contraception, seeks to lash broader enlightenment society when it can, it devoutly protects its pedophiles, hoards its wealth, and demands fealty from its christian conscripts.

If I have a child I will be damned if that child will be baptised in the light of these grimy, aged, gimlet eyed old men.

Enough no? Our elected Taoiseach has now spoken on our behalf to the issue – and we are to the better for it. An Irish Taoiseach long pre-dates a roman pope and by God I know which one I trust.

• Kay,Your points are the best I’ve seen here. I’m often quite surprised by the level of vitriol in some of the responses. I’m not surprised at the anger towards those who abused children, but the general level of anti- Catholicism is quite alarming at times. It’s strange, but when cases come to light which aren’t linked to a Catholic priest or bishop, the response is much more muted and the story fades from public interest very rapidly.

• Kay, what other groups operating in Ireland today systematically, with a large organisation of men sworn to obey orders from their higher-ups in that organisation, covered up child abuse, protected the rapists and moved them from place to place, thus enabling them to abuse and rape with impunity for decades?

Nobody’s saying forget the other abusers; but the RCC is complicit in a monumentally evil series of acts spanning decades, and so far, nobody has dealt with them.

• Jon Mack 06/09/11 #

Some people believe the Vatican. A lot of us do not.

• Billy 09/09/11 #

The Taoiseach should not negotiate with terrorists.

The documentary Deliver Us from Evil should be shown on RTE 1 and repeated so that every single Irish person can see it. I am confident that this will never ever happen though.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deliver_Us_from_Evil_(2006_film)

Then maybe we might get progress. This bargaining and appeasing is getting us nowhere.

• Yeah come on Enda explain yourself…or was it just populist crap you were talking that would feed the antiCatholic bigots in the gallery!!?? Yes it was. Now get on with the real job of tackling the hidden perverts, clerical and secular (the vast majority), and get porn off the shelves(women abuse) and end prostitution and rent boys in the Phoenix park, and unemployment . Get real.

• I seem to recall a member of a political party being questioned for loitering in an area of the phoenix park frequented by rent boys. although no charges were brought against him, he is a member of a government party and a sitting TD. Perhaps hounding the rent boys out would invoke unplesent memories for FG’s newest member who, on record, referred to “a few bastards” in the Gardaí for either breaking the story, or questioning him. I cannot recall which.

• James, you really should educate yourself. Churching is an islamic and jewish tradition… a form of “churching” is available upon request within the catholic faith. it is a service of thanksgiving. However, it was popular in parts of ireland and in protestant england, because of widespread belief that the fairies would take you. Honestly, some peoples ignorance and inability to seek truth camly and clearly is simply disgusting

• ‘But God does not protect a Temple that has been turned into a “Den of Robbers”‘
    Pope Benedict XVI

Temple, or Church there is a den of robbers amongst us. Some may say that when Jesus saw what was going on in the temple he lashed out at the corrupt, but surely not every Jew, back then, was corrupt or doing dealings in the Temple that were not right. The same is the way with the Catholic Chuch now, and many other churches. They are filled with good people, but robbers, thieves, and child molesters have corrupted the church and the infestation has crept high up in its ranks.

The Pope wears gold is a controversial painting…

http://www.postmodernrevelation.com

• What is your point?

• keyese 05/09/11 #

hold on a second , if enda kenny and his government are against the church laws and fighting against them , why do they attend a catholic church ceremony the they before they are sworn in to the dail ,?? why does he allow his family members have a catholic burial .?? eamon gilmore is an atheist and he attended the ceremony , they all just people pleasers , so ppl wake up , the state has no agenda against any one . banks , church, etc , they do nothing about anything ,so let it be the way it is. ppl moning is what makes this country sick .

• keyese 05/09/11 #

god is real people , save your souls and repent for ur negative comments

Add New Comment