TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

VIDEO: Here’s how the Air Corps rescued a climber from Croagh Patrick

The Air Corp filmed the rescue at the weekend from the moment the helicopter took off for the mountain. Here’s what happened.

MORE THAN TEN thousand people took to Croagh Patrick at the weekend to take part in the annual Reek Sunday pilgrammage.

The notoriously tough climb took its toll on some climbers throughout the day as four people had to be rescued from the Mayo mountain by medivac teams.

The Defence Forces took this video of one of the rescues, filming what happened from the moment the Air Corp helicopter took off for the mountain rescue. Here’s what happened:

(Video via DFMagazine/YouTube)

Photos: Climbing Croagh Patrick on Reek Sunday >

Poll: Have you climbed Croagh Patrick? >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (9 Comments)

• I was on the reek when they landed that video doesnt do those guys justice. He circled a couple of times through the mist, hovered at about 20 ft then gradually lowered with a strong wind coming from his left. The crew are a credit to the country with their resources constantly being cut. Thanks lads, though I hope Ill never need ye!

• Gooooddd joobbbb!

• Quality video.

• Was there also at the weekend the air corps and members of the order of Malta did a fantastic job assisting everybody on the mountain. Well done guys

• People need to be more careful climbing the reek, those rescue flights ain’t cheep.

• First of all, I would like to admit that this is extremely extreme…. yet, it is a simple statement (question),

Why didnt GOD help????

Secondly, as a climber of Croagh Patrick on multiple occasions (and a smoker of those daemon cigarettes) I fully accept that anyone may have trouble climbing Croagh Patrick. It is tough!!!
    I am a man, born and raised a Catholic, yet currently a devout Atheist.Still, I believe the process of climbing C.P. is admirable, especially if it is a for the (somewhat) noble cause of religion! As I have most obviously alluded to, I am now an Athiest, yet, it is this type of worship I believe in. For someone to go to mass rigidly every Sunday and mouth off the usual is pathetic stuff, particularly with some guy that has never lived a true life, is upsetting! But when someone tries to appease their God by climbing a mountain, fair play.

• So that’s what a lot of our public money is spent on….rescuing religious freaks from the top of dangerous mountains…

• In fairness, that’s good practice for the Air Corps, you need to give your pilots real world situations to keep their skills at their peak. Money well spent on two fronts, saving someone and keeping our pilots on top of their game

• hmmm. saving is a bit strong to use here. three people were airlifted off two deposited to first aid care units order of Malta or St Johns… and one was transfered to hospital by road transport… if they had to they are well able to rescue and save life’s the air corp and onboard paramedical staff know their job… these religious nutcases were climbing a hill trying to repent for their sins hoping God would save them and the life’s of the aircrew were put at risk. lucky you can trust the military to assist you when needed God has left Ireland.

Add New Comment