TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Poll: Do you agree with the cut to Dáil numbers?

The Dáil will be eight seats smaller at the next election. Do you think the Constituency Commission got it right?

Image: Wikimedia Commons

THE DÁIL IS to be reduced from 166 to 158 TDs under measures announced today by the Constituency Commission.

There were a raft of changes to constituencies around the country that will leave a number of TDs scrabbling for their seats – but the net effect is to leave the Dáil eight deputies smaller.

The eight-seat reduction will increase the average population per TD from roughly 27,500 to just under 29,000.

So what do you think? Do you agree with the cut to Dáil numbers?

Poll Results:

Read: Dáil loses 8 TDs in radical boundary shake-up>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (87 Comments)

• More TD’s need to be cut. 100 would be more then enough.

• i can see major problems with cutting these numbers, i would have power spread into as many hands as possible and not focused on fewer megalomaniacs than we already have, the less we have the less accountability

• 100? Right now, we’re going from 166 to 158 incompetent untrustworthy people arguing in a room somewhere before the seven to 15 members of the cabinet decide that they’ve listened to enough noise and they use the whip system to guillotine the debate and do whatever they wanted to do in the first place.

Is it just me that thinks we could probably go from 166 to 15, save ourselves a few million in salaries, expenses, pensions and the like, and still not actually see any change in how things are run?

• Revolting Peasant how can we have less accountability when we have NO ACCOUNTABILITY at the moment????

• Paul 21/06/12 #

We need to cut these people down to size and at that moment they are to big for their boots we have to look at other parliaments that have more or less the same size of population to as Ireland
      New Zealand pop 4.671 milion 120 mp’s
      Scottish pop 5.222 million 129 msp’s
      Israel pop 7.624 million 120 mp’s

• Cross-national research finds a close relationship between the number of MPs in a country and the
      cube root of its population (Taagepera and Shugart 1989: 174–5). On this basis Ireland should
      have 162 TDs, very close to the actual number.

The fewer the TDs elected, the fewer from which the elected government may select a cabinet from . May I remind everyone that Michael Lowry topped the poll by a huge margin in Tipperary, while Stephen Donnelly barely got in. I may be biased in this fact, but I reckon Stephen is a better TD than Lowry — something that might not exactly be apparent during the election.

• Fagan's 21/06/12 #

100 would be too little. About 20 are needed as Ministers, another few dozen for working committee’s.

If the Govt. had 60/40 split. It doesn’t leave a great choice and it means a lot of the work goes undone.

If people think that cutting TD’s will fix Ireland or change anything, they are sadly mistaken. It saves a pittance, a few hours of spending.

Get quality people in there instead. Stop voting for tribal parties because your Grandaddy fought with Collins, and then supported a party that opposed everything that he stood for or fought with Liam Lynch or Sean Moylan and then opposed everything they stood or fought for. The main thing is do not ask your TD to fix potholes, medical cards etc etc. That should be directed to Public service depts responsible, or if you can’t resist the Cllr. Leave TD’s to National issues and that will make a big difference.

There are smaller countries with larger legislatures than ours, that are perfectly run.

No’s are a side show.

• Fagan's 21/06/12 #

Denmark with its 5.5 mn people has 179 TD’S. 13 more than Dáil Eireann.

• They should all be cut…preferably with a good quality carving knife and served with a nice glass of chianti

• Many countries with larger populations than ours have fewer public representatives. nnThis is a step in the right direction. Trimming the fat is good not just from a financial standpoint. It means we’ll have less egos in there too and (hopefully) a more decisive legislation process. Won’t hold my breath though.

• Reduce the number of TDs and go further and reduce the salaries of the ones that are left. They are overpaid by any standard.

• Yeh try make them do that. The only party doing something towards a wage cut is sinn fein. Each TD and senator takes the average industrial wage and the balance takes a person off the dole to help out with local cumann duties. Fair play to the sinners. Why cant every party do the same? Some independents have also done taken cuts…..ming flanagan being one.

• @Ollie good old SF taking salary cuts, but making hay on the expenses gravy train. Populist optics, looks good and is popular but does nothing.

• Karswell 21/06/12 #

SF representatives do not take a pay cut. They redirect their salaries to SF projects. The tax payer pays them the same amount as any other TDs and has no say in what they do with the excess.

• think they left out a zero after the eight

• Double the TD’s and half the wages! Provided by Hanratty’s Logical Solutions (HLS.co.de)

• Less representatives leads to a system of less democratic representation. More representatives leads to more costs to the tax payer. Rather than cutting the number of TDs further, surely it would make more sense to maintain the number of TDs and simply pay them less. Less burden on the tax payer and the necessary leverage to renegotiate the banking debt. It seems obvious, am I missing something?

• Niall 21/06/12 #

Cut MORE useless TDs!

• Fagan's 21/06/12 #

That is the electorates job.

If they cut to 100, then human crud like Willie o’Dea, Micheal Martin. Micheal Moynihan,, Browne, Enda Kenny, etc etc would be in an even stronger position.

Making a qtr of TD’s electable by a list system, would mean that their would be a large segment, that would never be tied in to const. clinics, never have to worry about potholes or petty B.S. that every TD is bombarded with.

• On the infamous night of the bank guarantee decision, the biggest and most far-reaching decision ever to be inflicted on the Irish people was made by two elected representatives, if my memory serves me correctly. Does this not mean that we have an excess of 164 TD’s?

• I don’t know why democracy has to be cut to save money?

Won’t cutting the number of TD’s mean a greater hegemony of the larger parties and make it more difficult for smaller parties and independents to get elected?

Why not cut the wages and pensions of TD’s and ministers by 50% instead of reducing their number?

It just so happens that Fine Gael is pushing this, because it suits them and they can gerrymander constituencies to make it more easier for their candidates to get elected. Don’t be fooled.

• Good point , we need to move away from fix my gate politics. The Dail should be for National issues and God knows there are enough of them. Let the local council’s deal with local issues. Also the holidays should be cut dramatically, Europe and Ireland are in a huge crisis and all the politicians are about to feck off on holiday till September.

• Reduce to a two tier county/national system.
    Restrict holding of office to two terms (in each)
    Reduce TDs to one per 100,000 population.
    Political office should be a privilege not a career or an opportunity for profit, so maintain current pay levels and require pensions to be carried out privately or through the individuals main career.

Blah, blah, blah, what does it matter, no politician will ever legislate anything like any suggestion made here …

• The number of TDs in the Dail is a non-issue having 166 66 or 266 would do little to change anything in the irish political structures. It is window dressing designed to blind people to the real issues. We will spend the next few years debating the numbers in the Dail and gender quotas and in the end change very little an leave us exactly where we are

• Begrudgy 21/06/12 #

Would love to see a ‘none of the above’ option on ballot papers. While i agree that people must vote, i would just like the chance to vote that all above candidates are sh.te without spoiling vote.

• cut the td numbers in half, stopping tds worrying about local issues ie lowry and healy rae. and increase local councils authority. the dail is a national parliament for national issues. we need to get away from local issues

• This is to stop leftwing TD’s and independents from getting elected. Just look at the constituencies targeted, Donegal South, Dublin Central, Dublin North and North East, Dun-Laoghaire, and Tipperary. These are all constituencies with leftwing TD’s or they are constituencies with potential future leftwing TD’s.

Also the population of these areas has increased so there is going to be less representatives per head of population.

This isn’t about reducing costs its about preventing democracy pure and simple.

• I doubt if your logic about stopping left wingers holds true. Everyone of the constituencies you mentioned (except Dun Laoghaire) has a well established “Left winger” representation which I doubt will change. They change their minds with such regularity in Dun Laoghaire so that it is impossible to become established. If you were to beleive some contributors here anyway there is such a wave of left wing representation rising that all the fidling around with constituencies would not stop it anyway so why be afraid? No, the one to watch next time is Cork South Central. Someone high profile is definitely going to get squeezed there the question is who?

• Yes my logic does hold true. This isn’t about reducing costs, its about class. Its about changing the demographics of an area. Splitting and dividing working class areas so they won’t have a strong concentrated vote.

Donegal South is about hampering Thomas Pringle and Pease Doherty. Dublin central is about hampering Mureen O’Sullivan and Mary Lou. Dublin North is about hampering Claire Daily. Dun-Laoghaire is about preventing Richard Boyd Barret getting elected, and Tipperary is about hamperingSeamus Healy. Dublin west remains the same size even though it now has more people in it.

Just look at the make up of the commission aswell! 5 unelected bureaucrats, one of them a high court judge!

• I never mentioned anything about costs which this move does not address anyway in my view and taking each of the constituencies mentioned. Donegal going from 6 to 5 with a small bit lopped off the south. None of the 3 “left wing” TD’s are down there as far as I know and I would think that that constituency is well capable of producing 2 SF and Thomas Pringle out of 5 in an election with FG getting squeezed out. Dublin Central has such changing demographics that I would not be suprised if someone came out of left field there eventually and I would not class Maureen O Sullivan as your classic left winger and she may not run again. the Dublin North changes will not effect Claire Daly one bit I feel and as I said for Dun Laoghaire no matter what you do with it almost depends what side of the bed the voters get out of on election morning there as to who gets elected. And in Tipp I doubt if Seamus Healy will be the one to lose his group is well established in Clonmel out and once Matty & Lowry slug it out its more likely to be a FG or Labour getting squeezed out. So in any of the constituencies mentioned I cannot see any downside for the Left. Again as I said there are many in this forum who beleive there is a wave of left wingers to be elected, I don n’t disagree fundamentally with that assertion but they will be elected on merit not by whinging about the injustices of the electoral system! I don’t have a view on how the electorl commission was put together!

• So its just a coincidence that they reduced the number of seats and messed with the demographics wherever the left won seats?

• Its not a coincidence at all Dave, If you exclude the Labour party who most on this forum consider to not be a real left wing party anyway then its no coincidence. Tipperary North and Cork South Central two constituencies where “the left” either had no one or that they came no where near winning a seat have been changed. Dramatically so I would say. As I said already for those who are advancing a “left” agenda then they will get elected on merit come the next election, they will not get elected because of some perceived injustice due to the drawing out of constituencies in a particular manner. And as I already said I see losses for the establishment parties particularly Fine Gael from these changes so I cannot see how the redraws are of disadvantage to the left?

• @ Mark – Yes, lost three yesterday and gave up, surprised it works today and wonder what happened.

• I’m experiencing it on a daily basis now, very frustrating, Hit Submit and page refreshes and comment not displayed. Then 20 minutes later it works fine but I could have tried both FB and twitter accounts before that and it made no difference.

• This is kind of reform is at the heart of ‘my’ party, so there will be something ‘proper’ to vote for next time round. Will include ‘none of the above’ as part of the new Citizens Charter as well. But the big issue is in making this party open for ordinary common-sense people to become TD’s there won’t really be any s****e on the ballot paper. Sli nios fearr will half the size of the Dail given a chance by the electorate.

• This is a totally cosmetic exercise.

If there was a real desire to change then they would be amending the constitution and cutting by at least 50 TDs and consolidating County Councils, Town Councils and City Councils into between 5 – 8 organisations.

However you won’t see Turkeys voting for Christmas!

• How long will this sit on a ministers lap before anything is done….!!!!

They could have reduced it by a hell of a lot more…..No more than 100 TD’s should be required considering the population we have….!!!

Abolish that 2nd layer retirement home for the Cronies, The Senate, while they are at it as well.

Not to mention limiting the amount of Advisors to Ministers….!!!!

And while they are at it, get rid of 80% of Quango’s, Reduce Salries Of CS Management over 120,000 by 50%, TDS’s, Advisors, Quango heads also by 50%….!!!

Now that would be real reform….!!

• in usa there are 2 for each state, that is 100 in total,, we are the size of new york state, one state out of 50 , and our thieves and liars are paid more than us president, war minister and we dont have th e army for a war just peace keeping,,, our government need to cut wages , no one working for the government should ever make over 100,000, i feel its a decent pay for any man or woman, and they are only educated to teach or be a lawyer,,, we really need to turn them out,

• Jackie, that would be 2 senators which is the same for each state regardless of size or population. On the other hand the House of REpresentatives number of representatives is based on population. Don’t know what New Yorks one is but California according to Wikipedia its 53 out but they also only have 2 senate members like all other states. However in addition to that there is a state legislture for each state as well as the local city councils so they have as big a governance set up as we do.

• its hard to think why they would introduce this now when more and more people would like representation..i dont think its about saving money but it might be spun that way it may be well like a move on federalizing our government but too early yet to say..cant trust them anymore have to wait and see i suppose there’s always a catch with them..

• Expected News Flash!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    8 TD’s become senators after scooping large sums of money from Dial redundancy package….

• I absolutely agree with cuts to representation fundamentally but am not satisfied with their approach to it.

The number of TDs needs to be slashed significantly further. The number of local/county councils need to be cut and close ones consolidated to serve bigger areas and the Seanad needs to be abolished.

However, what we have here is a pathetically weak approach being taken to show “radical” reforms causing the least disruption as possible. They’re attacking Dublin primarily, the place holding the largest population with te most diverse demographics, and leaving those outside relatively unscathed when in reality, if cuts are going to be made, they should be first aimed at the areas outside the capital with low population density and similar demographics.

Couldn’t do that though now could you? There’d be thousands of culchies marching on Dublin if they felt they were being targeted in any sense screaming about “jackeens” and their hero Jackie Healy Rae.

Much easier to target the areas they know have too much else going on than to be bothered by it.

• Rob 21/06/12 #

Do we really need 6 TD’s per county? What are the county councillors for? Surely 2 TD’s per county would be enough.

• oh and will be done before they are voted out,, now what about pay cuts,, ok ok,, i can joke, as they are the joke

• Anyone else still having random comment posting probs?

• I agree with the sentiment of alot of people incompetent morans most of them out to line their own pockets , the cuts should have gone alot further and included massive paycuts and cutting of the majority of their allowances

• only 8, they should have went further, we are top heavy with politicians in this country

• we have 164 for a small country, and local councillers and the same, we are a small population getting smaller each week, and have no call for that amount is all i am saying, its not like they do anything but banter and jeer and hire in the economists for anything that needs doing or set up another quango to do the work, they dont really do to much anymore as 4 men go into a room and decide what is to be done, that is the new way of politics in our country, and we can get news from germany on what they decide before its even said in the dail,, they are all figure heads with no clout so why are we paying big money for nothing, what they are cutting down on is compitition as they know no one wants ff, fg and def not labour ever again in, we do need independents and that is what is being cut, i believe cut their salaries and spread it about and then we may see real people that care about our country, not men standing in their daddys shoes and their jobs,, as its a good way to get rich scheme in ireland, sorry i am so disillusioned with the way the country is being run, watching a bunch of eejits jeering, slandering, and on about the past,, we only care for the future, and our politicians cant move forward as have no idea what to do, until its to late

• I say more, they cost us too much, and even when they retire or lose their seat they still cost us

• Slash their wages to the average industrial wage, €30k and then slightly increase the numbers to ensure the larger parties don’t gain. This cut is just an attempt at gerrymandering, nothing to do with saving money.

• The uncomfortable truth is that we the electorate get the politicans we vote for, “the fault dear Brutus is not in our stars but within ouselves”. This is a good first move, however the fundamental problem is the voting fodder nature of all non cabinet members in the goverment parties. The opposition are able to comment but not to affect any proposed legislation . We should aim for an effective parlimentary system.

• So 72 people believe no cut was needed, good to know that there are TDs using the Journal!

• paul 21/06/12 #

get rid of the lot of them and give more power to local councils after they have been reformed of course.

• I think 3 -4 elected members from each county depending on the counties population would be more than enough.

• Seems a shame the home constituency Waterford isn’t going to lose one. What are our four doing? Coffey and Conway are low profiling. Deasy doesnt serve and HALLIGAN has gone technical

• The newly-elected French parliament has 11 representatives elected by members of the French diaspora. Given the re-emergence of emigration from its shores, surely it’s time that the irish Government gave Irish citizens living abroad the right to exercise their democratic right.

• Personally I think there should only be 4 constituencies (Connacht-Ulster,Leinster,Dublin,Munster) with an open party list system and only around 100 TD’s

• Cut definitely was not needed… are we the only country that cuts our representative when the population goes up? By the next commission we’ll have to bring the number back up to stay constitutional anyway… such a silly move.

• Fagan's 21/06/12 #

The people must have justice, they are demanding little, not real reform, just asking for a cut in no’s, even to a hundred. To save less than a few million but to ensure that the same rotten corpse that is politics in this state is maintained.

If FF were in, they would have cut it to 100, confident in the knowledge that the people had their ounce of flesh, and that they were now free to go on robbing the country blind.

• It is about time they cut the numbers, and why don’t they go further and take alot of those people on the dole off the live register, which is the only way that they will gain the people’s trust.

• 8 politians unemployed after the next election! yeah enda nice work!
    another 8 people on the live register.
    how is that goin to solve the unemplyment problem

Add New Comment