TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Two dead as HSE issues warning over batch of heroin in Cork

Seven other people have been hospitalised as a result of what the HSE believes is a strong batch of heroin in circulation in the Cork area.

St Patrick's Bridge in Cork city (File)

THE DEATH OF two people in Cork in the last 24 hours may be linked to a strong batch of heroin in circulation after the HSE issued a warning today.

Gardaí are investigating the matter and have asked any members of the public to contact them in relation to the death of a person last night and one this morning in Cork, both from suspected heroin overdoses.

Seven other people have also been hospitalised.

The HSE South said in a statement this evening: “While investigations are ongoing into these cases, it is believed that it possible that they are as a result of a strong batch of heroin which may be in circulation.

“The HSE South has alerted medical professionals in the region to be alert for patients presenting as a result of heroin misuse. Community and voluntary groups working with drug users have also been alerted and Gardaí are aware of the matter.

“Health professionals are reminded to be vigilant and the public are advised that taking drugs carries serious health risks.”

The HSE said that anyone who is displaying negative side effects following the use of drugs should seek medical help immediately.

Gardaí said that they are investigating all aspects of the matter.

Read next:

Comments (80 Comments)

• Our beautiful city is being taken over by the stuff. It’s horrifying!

• Warning this Heroin will kill you but the other stuff is what exactly?

• Natural selection in its purest form. Everyone knows these hard drugs are very dangerous therefore taking hard drugs is akin to russian roulette. I know its harsh but it is also true.

• I have no sympathy for drug users only their families.

• Dale has had a bad experience and is perhaps justified in his comments, maybe in time his views won’t be as extreme but his central point is valid. These people do not offer anything to anyone, who’s to blame is irrelevant, for me as a law abiding hard working taxpayer I just have to put up with the begging, hopefully nothing worse.

• Indeed we consume many harmful products. However, equating heroin to coffee or sugar is completely nonsensical and utterly disproportionate.

• since when was there a good batch of that drug??

• since Chicago in ’68. Cleanest shit I eva seen, brotha

• I understand the reasoning behind people looking for the legalization of drugs. Tax revenue, cut out the dealer and thus reduce crime.

But I give you these points to consider.

Look at the amount of money criminal gangs are making from black market products ie cigerattes, alcohol, diesel. Legalization will not stop criminality. If the state provider sells it do € 20 a deal and its sold for €10 on the black market which do you think the addict will go for.

And it would only really work of every country legalised it.

• Actually Cormac, Spain changed it’s attitude to drugs over 10 years ago and a lot could be learned from their experience.

What you have mentioned is legalisation but the other alternative (and the direction Spain has gone) is decriminalisation coupled with genuine effort to treat addiction as the illness that it is.

I know the idea of decriminalisation or legalisation is actually hard to take in for a lot of people but it’s very easy to find out information on Spain’s experience which has been a positive one (which includes the benefit of being able to more accurately monitor the problem).

• Isn’t it ironic that the fellas on here joking and showing no empathy are of the same mindset of a drug addict. Don’t care about anyone else but yourselves. At least drug addicts have an excuse for acting so adversely to societal contention.

• Hopefully this might be a wake up call to some people stay away from drugs

• There is NO EXCUSE for stealing,killing or intimidating other people other than to inject a slow death into your body.A person who does this should be forced to give up,or given all the heroin they want.I am not self centred,I just have my eyes open.i have enough to care about,and do not,can not,and will not care about those animals,yes the ones in the city,the junky fool who tries to take my phone out of my hand whilst I am taking a call.The knacker who didn’t even realise he had been trying to rob my phone when he picked himself up,looked around,including at me,with that stupid junky look as if to say”whasssstory me bin is melted and me ear is sore,wonder why”,then he shuffled away.ANIMALS.

• shocked!!! people are dying from injecting themselves with heroin… what a news story… the radio reporter discussed the possibility of a ‘bad’ batch of heroin in the city, all the ‘good’ stuff must be gone.

• Red Ed 06/10/12 #

if people on here care so much about heroine addicts let one move in with you and help support them. I think 99/100 you will find will let you down. THESE PEOPLE ARE DANGEROUS!!! dispite how they were brought up.

• Terribly sad for the families. May the two men rest in peace possibly after a lifetime battle with heroin.

While methadone maintenance is the cheapest solution to heroin use, it does not improve quality of life in many aspects such as social relationships and physical wellbeing, nor does it deal with the root of the problem; the addiction.

Unfortunately we don’t have the money to pay for rehabilitation. At a seminar recently I heard Ireland has under 30 rehab beds for 14,000 drug users. It’s disgraceful!

• it’s very rare that one day someone will wake up and say” oh I think I’ll be a heroin addict”. these people need help. any one with an ounce of compassion knows that. the debate should be centered around “how” we help not if we help or should we help. I really think methadone is not a solution. these people dont need pharmaceutical heroin.
    wish I had the answer. but unfortunately I don’t.

• I think it’s important to point out to people on this article making grossly ignorant and offensive comments about people they don’t know, that drug addicts can be:

Victims of abuse – Sexual etc
    Children
    Children of former addicts
    Homeless people from broken homes not of their doing

There is a perception from the bile spewed above that somehow it is an addicts fault they are addicted. To a heroin addict taking heroin to escape abuse they suffered, is it still their fault? To a child taking heroin who doesn’t know better but was merely pressured into it, is it their fault? To a human being born into a broken home and left homeless on the streets, is it their fault they were born into that circumstance? The inhumanity and vile remarks on this story make me sad to share the same species with some of the ignorant people that read this story!

• So what? I personally know two three people that an herion addict/s for parents and they grew up (the hard way) to be good honest people that contribute to society. There is no excuse for it unless they were held down and forced to take it. Everyone knows what will happen to them if they took this filth.

• So what? You know two or three ppl that grew up ok, fair enough, but is everyone that lucky. The suggestion that everyone takes it for the craic and of their own free will is spoken by people who have no idea what they are talking about. What about alcoholics, smokers, obese people, gamblers etc etc, will we throw them to the wolves too and spread them as fertiliser in Dales perfect little fairy land? Cause if we do throw everyone with a problem to the wolves I think you’ll find there won’t be many left. In my opinion, Dale and ppl with his opinion are a bigger threat to society than a heroin addict. A heroin addict injects the poison, he and his type broadcast it and influence opinions of those younger than he!

• When I was about 16 I used to be in dublin taking all sorts of shit and i still remember being offered heroin one day. I had the sence to turn it down havent taken anything for a few years now and couldnt be happier. i HATE drugs with a passion because I know first hand what it can do to people.

• I grew up in a very similar situation. I too had the same sense, but the world is not filled with you and me ffs! Do ppl honestly think an addict first injects so they can wander around the streets for the rest of their lives, not eating for days, strung out of their minds? There’s a disconnect and a lack of empathy and understanding that is beyond juvenile and is quite disturbing!

• Look its as simple as this. I think if you dont have the sense to stay away from that stuff the same as you would about stepping out onto the M50 then Darwin really did hit the nail on the head.
      My main problem with them is not that they destroy there own lifes (actually couldnt care less), it’s the misery they bring on the people around them and the general public.

• You are an incredible human being I must say, never to have made a mistake in your life. You should write a book and tell us all how to be the perfect human being – ie. flawless unemphatic robot! Once again I pray that none of your loved ones are ever addicts!

How ironic, a country with one of the most unhealthy relationships with the most harmful drugs on the planet – alcohol are getting all self righteous about a drug they don’t understand.

• Well I’m all for trying to break the cycle of addiction and for helping those that seek help but if some junkie threatens me or some other innocent person then my sympathy is out the window. If I have problems and deal with it by inflicting violence or crime on someone else it’s still my responsibility and my tough shit. You could spend all day making excuses for people but I find it hard to care when I see them out on the streets. The way they carry on is horrible. Maybe they had some bad luck but when they hang around across from heuston station openly selling their methadone for heroin while roaring and shouting, harassing passers by while their unfortunate kids look on I don’t feel sympathy (maybe I should?), I just feel disgusted. Lived three doors up from sunshine house for four years and they eroded any sympathy I might have had.

• But thats my point Gearoid, I am not claiming to be some sort of saint like. I too see the junkies in my local city, being abusive towards people etc. I am not saying you should feel sorry for them all the time, I am just noting how vile it is that not alone, that in death ppl are not showing any empathy towards them but some are actually celebrating?

• A sad day for families, it’s time we debated the legalised control of Drugtaking. So addicts can use a reliable healthy service, i am sure a clinic could fund itself from the controlled use of the substance and make sure addicts have the option of treatment for their addiction. The same goes for prostitution, It’ll put drug dealers out of business and create a safe environment for all. Also the pressure, it’ll take of the justice system. But sure, the Holy Joe’s and Mary’s wont have it and they have the solution to every problem?

• that’s the only real solution to the drugs problem.

• So stephan who will pay for the free drugs? You , me and every other person that doesnt put this shit into their bodies? I cant see Adam and Paul working 9 to 5 to fund their habits.
      Also if we legalised it and gave it out for nothing we would have every brass monkey in Europe here within a week.

• Abby 05/10/12 #

Felix, how misinformed you are. You’re already paying for free drugs, it’s called methadone! And it doesn’t even work!

• @felix and others like him, Lets keep things as they are and that’ll solve the problems. What are you all paying in taxes for crime, social welfare etc. and It’s not working. A system like the one I proposed can be done, the addict pays for the drug, needles etc. and is housed in a self contained unit under supervision. Only Irish citizens, can avail of the service, you’ll be offered treatment to come off it and clean up your act. The same should be done for prostitution, clinics and health officers supervising it and it taxed etc. All this would put drug dealers and pimps out of business and clean up the streets. Either that or let things go on as they are?

• Sean 05/10/12 #

Hahahahahah

• Does nobody here DRINK! More damage done by alcohol, FACT

• Sean 05/10/12 #

Thank god two less drug addicts on our streets good riddance…
    The government should build a paradise for drug users a walled city supply them with food drugs and all services ..but they can’t leave their “paradise”. The hard drugs epidemic that is griping our country would disappear . Druggies get there drugs no more strain on health services as they would slowly disappear and it would rid them from our great streets

• What a poor excuse for a human being you are.

• You obviously have no comprehension of the complexity of addiction.
      I think you’d be surprised at the number of “functioning” drug addicts there are yet many assume that such problems extend only to what may be perceived as “undesirables”.

Real nice attitude to have – Thanking God that people who have major problems have died and following on with a supremely exclusionary suggestion.

• Sean, you may think you’re being clever with a comment like that but you clearly have no idea about the types of lives that are lost to drugs. Just pray none of your loved ones are ever are so unfortunate as to end up addicts.

• @sean stupid talk, these guys hads families and people deeply hurt by their passing, a shame they had to go the way they did,

• Sean – you obviously have never heard of “for the grace of god”? I only hope none of your family now or in future generations never suffer from drug abuse or addiction?

• most addicts are a problem for the family’s, stealing anything they get their hands on. Nobody forced them to turn to brainless zombies

• A bit harsh there Sean,our young people are having their lives destroyed because the really is nothing for them to do in the cities.These are mostly from poor backgrounds,whose parents come from the same.They do not know better.I think they should be given a choice to give up( the hard way )and if they fail to go straight,then they should be sent to …….. ahem,paradise.But they should be made to work whilst there,to pay for the stuff.Why should we?It is these drug users who are to blame for a huge portion of petty crime,and we would be better off if they were locked up(in paradise).One day we will wake up and realise this as a people.I hate to sound like hitler,but they should be sterilised as it is,and definitely prior to going to paradise.They are non productive sponging wasters of oxygen,who only cause grief to EVERYONE,including themselves.Anyone who disregards their future so should have their future denied them,including their potential to multiply the problem.

• Seans attitude epitmoises a lot of people these days. Everyman or woman out for themselves without a thought of compassion for the less fortunate. Sure it was only last week that college students in Dublin City were caught pissing all over a homeless person. Its no surprise the world is the state it is and the worrying thing is that this problem is growing by the day.

• Aleo 05/10/12 #

That’s your Final Solution, is it, Dale? Shame on you.

• Aleo 05/10/12 #

Yes, Dale, you do sound like Hitler. I hope for your sake that you and those who think as you do never find out what you’re talking about.

• If it was a member of ur family, I am shure u would not talk like that!!! People have problems with drugs the same as other people have other sort of problems, seems u have one so why don’t you make us a favour and get out of the way too???

• Go to hell!

• Sean
      I feel sorry for you .

• Guys you are supposed to ignore trolls, that’s the etiquette that’s evolving. Especially those that sign anon.

• Human takes highly toxic and illegal substance and then dies! What a shock!

On a more distressing point, I have seen too many innocent children taken into care as a result of drugs. The supply should be laced with contraceptive. If you want to take drugs that’s fine, but you shouldn’t be allowed to have kids at the same time.

• Addiction is a symptom of the society we live in today and its attitudes like yours show how sick it is. When you see people get clean or stabilised it
      would amaze you the real people they are:)

• @Paddy Fagan: I work with recovered heroin addicts you smartarse. Thing is, most of their children are still in the care of the HSE and irreparably damaged. Shows how much you know you tool.

• @Kitty Remind me never to send any addict to your centre so. Knowing social workers and treatment pros I find your attitude disturbing and far from the norm.

• #Diarmaid: My experience of social workers is completely contrary to yours. Are suggesting that it is a good thing to expose children to drugs, drug abuse and the mental, emotional and physical neglect that goes hand in hand with that?

• Don’t twist my words now Kitty! Where did I ever say that is ok? I am merely pointing out how vile it is that people celebrate and mock the death of two young people! Everyone makes mistakes and bad choices, some more than others, you more than anyone should know what a hold heroin takes on people and understand that it’s not the person acting out, but the drug! A bit of empathy for very ill people wouldn’t go astray when working with them! What I find ironic about your argument is you claim to work with ex addicts and bemoan the fact that they drag their kids down with them. I am all for taking kids off addicts and in some instances sterilising them, but its people in your practice that refuse to take the children off them, yet bemoan the scenarios they grow up in, not recognising that the addict themselves is probably an addict because of being raised in a similar fashion.

• @Diarmaid: I neither celebrated nor mocked the death of these people. What do you know of what I do apart from the small snippet that I have provided you with? You are absolutely incorrect in your assertions. I recognise that many addicts are the children of addicts which is why I feel that prevention is better than cure and that addicts should not have children. The fact that you find my attitude disturbing very much demonstrates that you do not have a clear understanding of what my attitude is, and are clearly confusing it with the attitude of some other contributor. Many of the points that you have made in no way correlate to my output.

• I never said yousaid those things, I was merely pointing out my wider point. Read my comment again and you might come to grips with that. On your other point you don’t think the following line is a tad insensitive to families organising funerals this morning:

“Human takes highly toxic and illegal substance and then dies! What a shock!”

And you work with addicts yes? Maybe if thats your response to two deaths, a change of career is worth considering!

• Why reply to me harping on about your own “wider” points? I read your reply which went off at your own tangent. You have no idea what I do.

I’m not engaging with you any further as you have consistently failed to address the relevant issues that I raised and so there is no point in wasting any more of my time. Now, I’m off to feed the ducks.

• SRDTF 05/10/12 #

Sympathies to the families – Drug user, family member or friend, download a free Opiate Overdose app for your smartphone – http://srdtf.ie/component/content/article/1-latest-news/171-free-overdose-app.html

• Dale, please refrain from sharing your violent ignorant ideas. They add nothing and only show yourself to be a hate filled petty little man.

I don’t wish ill on you despite this, in fact I hope you never suffer any of the experiences of the vulnerable as I’m sure addiction is not the only area you could show your ignorance in.

• Ignore trolling folks.

• Abby 05/10/12 #

Not just heartless, really ignorant. If everyone knows drugs are bad why do so many people drink alcohol, smoke, eat sugary foods, drink caffeine, take paracetamol, etc. None of these are necessary to live and there is positively no evidence whatsoever to suggest that heroin is more harmful than any of these.

• What cos there’s a bad batch??? WTF??

• I really feel for these people but they should definitely not be allowed to have children until they have been clean of drugs for several years. people should only really have 1 child per 40k earned and that way the children would not suffer the cold hand of social wants and a cruel government who obviously doesn’t care. I still think drug rehab is the way forward. clinics are a good long term investment.

• Can we poison all the heroin ?

• peter 05/10/12 #

Here here

Add New Comment