TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Fianna Fáil criticises Tánaiste for ‘snubbing’ men-only dinner in Georgia

Eamon Gilmore will not be stopping in the US city of Savannah to celebrate St Patrick’s Day, avoiding a men-only dinner that is being planned by the Hibernian Society which the Taoiseach sent a personal message to last year.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

TÁNAISTE EAMON GILMORE has been criticised for dropping a visit to the US state of Georgia where he would have attended a men-only dinner in the city of Savannah.

Gilmore would have attended an anniversary dinner for the Hibernian Society of Savannah tonight had he visited the city which holds one of the biggest St Patrick’s Day celebrations in the States.

Previous Fianna Fáil ministers have attended the celebrations in Savannah but the Tánaiste told the Irish Times that he would not be going, saying he did not believe in “segregation either on a gender basis or any other basis”.

The Fianna Fáil TD and spokesperson on transport and tourism, Timmy Dooley, said he was disappointed that the Tánaiste had ‘snubbed’ a visit to Savannah in order to avoid the Hibernian dinner.

“I find it very disappointing that in the year of The Gathering, the Tánaiste has snubbed the second largest St Patrick’s Day Parade in the USA because he appears to have personal issues with the Hibernian Society,” Dooley said in a statement today.

He said that the Hibernian Society of Savannah had been in existence for over 200 years and had tended “to the needs of thousands of Irish immigrants”.

Last year the Taoiseach sent a message to the society, saying he regretted that he could not attend its 200th anniversary celebrations:

YouTube: John Hohenstein

“The Society is a part of Ireland’s Diaspora and has been an integral part of the history of the Irish in the southern part of the US,” Dooley said.

The Fianna Fáil deputy said that he respected that the Tánaiste may have issues with the fact it would be an all-male grouping but added that it was a “mistake to snub their St Patrick’s Day dinner”.

“It is Ireland’s interests that must come first – not the interests of Minister Gilmore or the Labour Party,” he said, adding that it was an “error of judgement”.

The Hibernian Society of Savannah was founded in 1812 for the purpose of offering aid and assistance to needy and Irish immigrants and is one of Savannah’s oldest Irish societies.

All of its officers, committee members and former presidents are men according to its website.

Pics: From Niagara Falls to the pyramids, landmarks go green for Patrick’s Day

Read: Enda Kenny meets Mayor Bloomberg in New York, gives him a teapot

Read next:

Comments (113 Comments)

• After reading the words ‘Fianna Fail criticise..’ I just lose interest..

Absolutely no higher ground or position of moral authority!

• Now there is a complete change of direction for you…a FF politician advocating that someone should put the good of the country first above their own…like they did when they were in power….selflessly thinking of the country and not how they could assist all their buddy’s in lining their pockets

• If a FF elected rep. was to go and put the good of the country above their own parties needs or the needs of their own pockets or donors he would be a pariah in the party.

You go along to get along in FF and you condemn the previous man for being caught acting corruptly and you willfully turn a blind eye to all the corruption that is such a part of the party and that always will be because you are waiting your turn.

• may be he tought it might be a bit liet the GALWAY TENT. WHAT A CHANGE country b4 themselves a we bit late i think.

• Not mad about him but fair play to him. He’s 100% correct. Segregation on the basis of either gender is wrong.

• No fan of Gilmore but he was right. Men only. How very Islamic.

• 100% correct????

It seems its only segregation when it comes to male only networking groups, Women only networking groups are promoted thoughout this island with impunity…

Our foreign Minister snubbed an organisation in an attempt to score points with the champaign socialist liberal middle class who are so thwarted by political correctiveness what is right or wrong is no longer the issue…ignorant double standards apply liberally.

“Throw them some fishes and watch clap their hands like seals” Mayor Quimby, The Simpsons

• Islamic?? The chatholic church is one big men only club!

• Larry is absolutely correct as much as we don’t want to admit it.

• Would somebody tell Larry David’s mummy that he is here and she can come and collect him.he is having a baby rant.

• But he has no problem with social segregation, does he? Hammering the disadvantaged in our society while protecting those easily capable of contributing more. And from a so-called socialist. Just more posturing as far as I’m concerned.

• agree Larry,
      I am a woman myself, – but this is just more, ‘politically correct’ posturing from Gilmore.
      Bet the feminist harpies, will be screeching with outrage though…

• Not alone the Islamic tradition. You only need to go as far as your nearest primary school unfortunately. I say Fair play to him. You don’t often see anyone in the government showing backbone these days. Not that ill be subscribing to his fan club any time soon, but still, I admire his conviction on this issue.

• @ Matthew Donoghue What about Nuns and Convents? Oh dear, you didn’t think it through…

• I can’t stand Eamon Gilmore, but for the first time, he’s done something I can actually respect.

• He is 1000% WRONG!!. His job is to represent the country NOT his personal views. I find it strange agreeing with Kenny, but he is right this time ““It is Ireland’s interests that must come first – not the interests of Minister Gilmore or the Labour Party,” – but since when did Gilmore put the countries interest first? He’s a thundering disgrace and embarrassment to this country, and the sooner he’s banished from government the better.

• CABK 16/03/13 #

Zoe And Larry – There is an entire body of economics literature on the importance of women’s groups in enhancing female independence, empowerment and subsequently improving child and household welfare in developing countries. This is as females are typically discriminated against in securing finance and assistance through normal financial channels. Hence these women’s groups and in western society women’s networking groups are there to enhance a need that is not fulfilled through normal market interaction given traditional gender roles and the patriarchal society we live in.

This research and the benefits of it have been widely published in top academic journals. It is completely different to a males only group that excludes women only because they are women and for no other reason.

You are just showing your ignorance by proclaiming ‘feminist harpies’ will be against them.

Additionally Zoe while you may be female I’ve often seen you proclaiming your anti-choice for women stance on abortion on the journal so I’d be inclined to think you’re anti- women yourself and hence agree so readily with Larry even though you are uneducated on the topic.

• Use whatever Label you want, ‘anti women’ ‘uneducated’ etc.
      I couldn’t care less.
      My grandmother has an Irish American friend, whose parents left Ireland about a century ago.
      They left with only the price of their boat fare, – & never saw Ireland again.
      Groups like the Hibernians, helped them survive, and make a home in the States.
      In Ireland we have forgotten our past, – the only thing that now matters, with the Labour Party, is the creation of their ‘Champagne Socialist’ Utopia.

• CABK 16/03/13 #

Actually you said you agree with Larry who gave out about ‘women’s only groups acting with impunity’ and you then went on to rant about ‘ feminists harpies’ (without any understanding about these groups and why they exist). I take issue with you saying solely because you are a woman that you can say he is right when he isn’t.

If you support this group who are apparently anti- gay and anti- women because someone you don’t even know got assistance from a group like then that’s your choice but that reasoning has nothing to do with you being a woman.

• If it had been a Woman institute dinner would he have boycotted it.

• What about every sports organisation in this country that separates the sexes from an early age. People need to cop on. Men only clubs are not about segregation. They are just about doing stuff together that they wouldn’t do in front of women. You never hear of men complaining about women only societies. As usual, Gilmore has got it wrong and it’s only the fanatical liberal lunatics that think he got it right. They are just as bad as the Nazis.

• js1711 16/03/13 #

All members are men. Is that just how it is or because women are not allowed join? Big difference between the 2 in my opinion.

• Ah yes. ‘They are just as bad as the Nazis’. What a theoretically sound, and not even marginally ridiculous statement. Ahem.

• If ‘Labour’s Way’ Gilmore showed a little backbone when it mattered rather than cheap stunts like this, his party would be better than 9% in the opinion polls. Empty gesture by an empty politician.

• 100% correct decision. The Ancient Order of Hibernians present a backward view of Ireland particularly in the New York parade which is the only annual parade in NYC that bans gays from marching. They’ll help Irish immigrants alright as long as you pass their intolerance checklist.

• In the second envelope was Fianna Fail’s criticism of the government attending the dinner on the basis that it was men only.
    Media were advised to only open the first envelope by Fianna Fáil’s press office once they heard government wasn’t going to attend.

• Hibernian Society are also deeply homophobic… I’m kinda proud our Foreign Minister has “personal issues” with them.

• “That fella called your brother a faggot and your mother a second class citizen not worthy of having a voice”

“Yeah but he invited me over for dinner and once did a few favours for me mates”

“Oh. Well that’s ok so. ”

This is, in essence, are what gilmores critics on here are saying he should have done.

• Kudos to him. That kind of segregation is anachronistic. It sickens me that the Ancient Order of Hibernobigots get to dictate so much of what is “acceptable” in recognising Irishness in the States.

• Gilmore did the right thing. Fianna Fail are just looking to score political points. Opposition is the most handy job in politics.

• Would his point not have been stronger by not ignoring the St. Patrick’s parade in Savannah, by attending the rest of the festivities and sending apologies to the one event he would not have been snubbing an area where there is obviously a huge connection and support for Ireland.

• Fair play to him, can’t argue with his decision.

• Fair play to him.

• This is savannah Georgia, like Augusta Georgia. No women, no blacks. He was right to avoid it.

• Tommy C 16/03/13 #

Im not a supporter of Gilmore but fair play to him for snubbing this nonsense.
    This Hibernian crowd are not Irish. If he attended this dinner, he’d be snubbing half the population of Ireland, Irish women.

• most irish women not stupid, – they can see through Gilmore’s smug self righteous posturing & recognise it for what it is.
      The order of the Hibernians, have done more for Irish people in their times of need,- than he has ever done – or will ever do.

• Tommy C 17/03/13 #

Guess what Zoe, the people being ‘helped’by this organisation these days are American and not Irish at all!

• I’m not a fan of Gilmore nor his policies in government but I applaud him for not going. A simple refusal to attend sends a strong message that gender segregation belongs in a time long past

• Probably the best decision he’s made……

• How Fianna Fail can criticize the man for snubbing a dinner that essentially promotes the discrimination of a gender is absolutely baffling. What a pathetic political party they are.

• Anyone in Clare anything to say about Timmy Dooley? Is he in some way challenged or do you elect any oul eejit down there?

• I take it that no members of the Labour Party will no accept any invitations from the ICA in future?

• The AOH are cretins; homophobes, misogynists and racists. No government minister should be supporting or legitimising such an organisation. That said Gilmore could have made a stronger point by going to Savannah and attending the other events, and pintedly refusing to attend that one.
    More to the point however is the total irony of a minister in a Government that is hammering women with austerity, and that has still failed to legislate for the X Case, posturing as some kind of feminist. Gilmore is part of a regime that is targeting women with every cut they make and that puts the interest of backbenchers, clerics and right-wing loons ahead of the physical and mental safety and wellbeing of pregnant women.

• Men only ?????? In this day and age. Gilmore was right

• The importance of the society is not being brought into question by Gilmore he’s simply disagreeing with the fact that it’s men-only – Why is it an men only dinner? The point Gilmore is making is that it needn’t be, and he won’t support anything that needlessly segregates people.

• labour at it best

• If it was a women only dinner he would have been there.

• Fair play to Eamon Gilmore!!!

• Bruce 16/03/13 #

Imagine if Gilmore had more principles… like not screwing OAPs and taking away their allowances resulting in real and painful cuts.

But I guess being righteous about an event in the US is much easier than facing up to the direct abuse of the elderly at home. So Gilmoresque.

• And yet, people still vote Fianna Fail?! This country stuns me at times, it really does!

• Gilmore was right he is wrong on most things but here he is right. As for FF there are a lot more important things ye could be criticising, they are not very vocal on important issues they take a back seat a lot of the time.
    Cautious I think and just hungry for their power back don’t be fooled. What’s going on in the world at the moment we need a strong government that are 100% about protecting its citizens. FF/G are not the parties we need right now.

• Gilmore was right .

• Any “men only clubs” just sounds like sad individuals who could never connect with the world so need they need to make up their own society/cult to make themselves relevant..and defend it at all costs..ahem…The Vatican

• I am no fan of Gilmore either but a at least he is being consisten on this issue .
    He aslo avoided the NewYork parade as it bans Irish members of the LBGT part of society – as did President Mray Mc Aleese in 2010 – when she refused to be ” Grand Master ” of that dreadul bigoted parade . People who are LBGT are aslo banned frpm boston parade —- Incredible .

It is Ireland’s interests that must come first ”— FF politician —— like where has he been these last years ??

• Not a huge Gilmore fan but he was absolutely right, segregation should not be tolerated. FF critical, country comes first.!! .. give me a break !!!

• Despite their very old fashioned beliefs with regard to women members which I definitely don’t agree with, they do have a long history of providing vital assistance to thousands of Irish emigrants who landed in America with absolutely nothing and helped them to find their feet in an often hostile environment – I think they do deserve some acknowledgement of their positive assistance to the Irish diaspora.

• true Peter.
      They provided help & assistance many Irish people, – especially those who in previous generations left Ireland with NOTHING.
      We have short memories in Ireland, – & just more posturing from Gilmore.

• dee 16/03/13 #

Maybe so, but we shouldn’t let that blind us on the fact that they currently ‘represent’ the Irish abroad and openly practice discrimination. Just because it was okay in the past, doesn’t mean we should support their continuation of it.

• He should have attended. The rules and membership of that society are a matter for that society only, it’s nobody else’s business. The fact is that this organisation has provided support and financial assistance to many thousands of Irish immigrants since its foundation and that should have been recognised by our Government, particularly at this time of year when the Irish diaspora celebrate their cultural heritage.

Gilmore and his party seem to get all moralistic and superior when it suits them to. We didn’t see this type of principled stance the night he and his coalition colleagues consigned many future generations of Irish people to a commitment to pay the failed gambling debts of private bankers.

Looks like many more thousands of young Irish may need the help and assistance of the Hibernian Society going forward, thanks to the continuing policies of Mr. Gilmore and FG/LAB.

• If the rules and membership of that society are a matter for that society only, then who the Tánaiste sits down to dinner with, it a matter for him only too. You can’t be consistent by saying on the one hand that the society are entitled to their own opinion, but on the other hand, that Tánaiste isn’t.

As for your point regarding him not taking a principled stance “the night he and his coalition colleagues consigned many future generations of Irish people to a commitment to pay the failed gambling debts of private bankers”, Labour were on the opposition benches the night of the banking guarantee AND they voted against it; the only party to do so.

• ‘The rules and membership of that society are a matter for that society only, it’s nobody else’s business’

What a stupid comment. So if the organisation supported stoning woman for sex before marriage, anti black or jew sentiment, corruption etc ….should these issues be ignored as they’ve done some things which benefit Irish abroad?????? Simple fact is, the Hibernian society do some good and important work for Irish in USA and should be applauded. BUT Mr Gilmore is correct to decline an offer to an event which he morally, politically and personally objects with and which the Irish government is fully against in its own policy (May have been more appropriate to decline offer of dinner but request alternative event be arranged by Mr Gilmore’s office)

• Mr. Gilmore should have gone as a representative of the people of Ireland. Sometimes you must overcome your personal views to represent the country’s best interests. President Higgins made this very point during his election campaign. That he may have to undertake duties that are personally unpalatable to him, but are necessary for the country’s best interest.

This is an organisation, despite their gender make-up, that has assisted many thousands of Irish immigrants and their families for generations. Let their internal rules/structures remain as such, provided that they are not committing any breaches of national or international law, which they are not.

Did he refuse to meet the Chinese VP last year because of his previous stance on human rights. No, because it was in the country’s best interests. Did he refuse to meet with the US Sec. of State last week because if his previous anti-war stance. No.

Was the Taoiseach wrong to send a personal video message to the same organisation last year? Did Mr. Gilmore object to that?

It’s an over reaction on his part in order to pander to a section of his party.

• @Peter O’Neill…. but the Hibernian Society, to my knowledge, does not support the stoning of woman for sex before marriage, nor have the expressed anti black or jew sentiment, or corruption. Have they Peter?

Who’s making stupid comments now. See my reply below also.

• Reply above actually….

• @John Clarke Yes and Mr Gilmore went to an event organised by Hib Society in a different area just not the men only event.

• How would it be women only if he attended????

• Yes mother superior gilmore keeps up the tradition of making us look stupid in the eyes of the world ….. i guess he will have the healy raes and muppet ming over for tea when he gets home …. just go and do the dinner gig … your principles went by the side when you started breaking your word after the election …

• Cynical refusal from Gilmore trying to claw back some credibility… on the other side, the fact that the order of Hibernians have been a men only club for generations doesn’t make it any more acceptable! You think they would have evolved with the majority of humanity! They are not only a sexist organisation, but sectarian and homophobic… they should be told to stay in America and are not welcome in Ireland until they are ready to enter the 21st century!

• Any chance he might stay in The U.S for a few years and give us all a break from his liberalism… Before we know he’ll have some nobody senator putting forward a bill in the Senad to have Santa Claus banned … His policies are ridiculous and if he has a problem with the A.O.H. and sitting down to dinner with them he should also have a problem sitting down with members of the Saudi Royal family for a bite to eat.

• It would hardly be women only if he attended!

• What’s this the Eamon Gilmore appreciation society !

• Latest opinion poll on labour , below 10% now I wonder why !

• PC loopers.

Who cares if its a tradition that its a men only club?

Gilmore is a bigger dope for being so PC

• Maybe he’s a lesbian… Just sayin

• Well done to him – delighted to see a politician stand by his principles.

• The Antiquated Order of Hibernians is the kind of homophobic misogynistic nest of vipers ridiculed in “Borat” by Sasha Baron Cohen.
    Well done, Gilmore!

• The Kansas City parade banned the local atheist group from attending and Savannah bans women from attending an event to celebrate Irish men and women. NYC bans gays. What are they like! Join the 21st century Irish Americans and good on ya Eamonn!

• I want first dibs on his complementary tickets to the All-Ireland Finals and next years’ Six Nations which he will obviously be declining for the same reasons.

• This article reads like a Fianna Fail press release. They were unable to get Kenny so to cover the embarrassment Enda recorded a video in Ireland to apologize to those gathered for his absence. He essentially was elsewhere as elsewhere was of more importance. This year the Hib crowd missed out on the second in command. Next year they may aim for Leo V, me thinks he is a better bet!

• PC gone mad.

& he’s all for ‘men only’ & women only’ marriage !!!

wonder does the ol geezer enter a ‘men only’ jacks when he wants to piss ??

• Where has he said men and women shouldn’t marry each other? Supporting same sex marriage does not mean he opposes mixed sex marriage.

• @ John Carberry:

ah but – supporting ‘mixed’ dinners does mean apparently that he opposes ‘men only’ dinners.

& he has no problem either with handing over little babies to ‘men only’ …. ahem … families !!

• dee 16/03/13 #

….and the award for ‘Comment most lacking in logic and point, whilst managing only to make the commenter look stupid’ goes to…

• @ dee

spot on Dee
      & the award goes to ……… Gilmore
      all for –
      ‘men only’ marriage
      handing little babies over to ‘men only’ …… ahem ……. ‘families’
      BUT – against ‘men only’ dinners.
      true for you, Dee – not very logical, at all, at all.

you wouldn’t know, Dee, how the ol geezer feels about ‘women only’ dinners ??

• Hardly surprising that a party with so many reprobates and scrotes in it, that has not female TD’s and precious few Female elected reps has a problem with equality and women.

• Maybe I’m missing the point. Are they not a Gay organisation? :)

• So roight on!

• fergus 16/03/13 #

Ankela was nt going

• So according to FF it is important to support sexist organisations !!

• i’m more concerned what he’s doing here in Ireland, you know, where we are suffering while he gets cozy with a government and their bosses that are killing people across the world in the name of “democracy” and the “war on terror” as you read this

• Jaysus, what self-respecting woman would want anything to do with those “old boys” fraternities which attract the likes of white middle class TDs, property developers, bankers, lawyers and other such woebegone misogenistic saddos. When women are “included” in the gatherings of such company by the paternalistic, condescending benificence of such generous “men” it is torture for them.
    C’mon ladies, be honest. How many of you wanna play with those sort of boys??

• We don’t which is why so few of them exist these days. This crowd of eejits expecting our Tanaiste to support their event celebrating Irish men and women while banning the latter are as bad as the KKK. If the KKK organised the event and invited our Tanaiste to a dinner which banned Irish American Blacks and Jews would Fianna Fail be fine with that? Probably. Sure what’s a few brown envelopes between misogynist or racists.

• Eh… Maybe he just got a better offer!

Add New Comment