TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Enda Kenny: Croke Park Agreement has a lot done, but more to do

The Taoiseach also refused to discuss a possible reshuffle among Fine Gael front benchers.

Enda Kenny at the Fine Gael think-in in Knockranny House Hotel in Westport last night
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said that the Croke Park Agreement has delivered “substantially” but that it “has got to do more”.

In an interview this morning the Fine Gael leader also refused to rule out the possibility that there would be a cabinet reshuffle in the near future.

Enda Kenny said that the social partnership agreement, which was worked out by the previous government, was “not my deal” but said he believed it had delivered a lot.

He told RTE Radio One’s Morning Ireland:

The Croke Park deal to date has delivered substantially in terms of cooperation, in terms of lack of industrial unrest, reduction of public servant numbers, and pay, and so on. But it has got to do more.

And in order for Croke Park to deliver, I want to see it implemented in full. And that means that we accelerate the pace of implementation.

He reiterated that the Croke Park Agreement would be honoured in full.

The Taoiseach also refused to rule out a possible reshuffle of the front bench in the near future.

“That’s a matter for consideration by the Taoiseach in due course,” he said.

He had joked yesterday as parliamentarians went to climb Croagh Patrick that any Cabinet member who took longer than one hour and three quarters to climb the mountain would face losing their role in a reshuffle.

He also refused to discuss coalition tensions with the Labour party or the government’s u-turn on cuts to the health service by Minister James Reilly, saying he would not discuss the performance of an individual minister.

Criticism

His comments have been criticised by Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin who said that the Taoiseach was misleading people in a bid to score political points.

Martin challenged the Taoiseach to explain his comments that Ireland’s corporation tax policy was unclear and under threat when the coalition government came into office.

“In his interview, while struggling to think of examples of what his Government has achieved, he claimed that before he became Taoiseach there was uncertainty and confusion in the international investment community about Ireland’s corporation tax,” Martin said.

“For the Taoiseach to completely ignore the facts and make a false claim that there was any question mark over the country’s position before Feburary 2011, raises yet more questions”.

He added:

Absolute certainty in relation to the country’s corporation tax policy has been a rock solid cornerstone of Ireland’s industrial development strategy for the last two decades. For the vast bulk of that time, it also enjoyed rock solid support from all the main political parties in the country. It is unfortunate that the Taoiseach would choose to put that to one side this morning in an effort to score a political point.

Read: Property tax will only apply for half of 2013 – Hayes >

Read: IMF: We want property tax of 0.5 per cent. Noonan: Nope, not happening >

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• What could you say about Mr. Kenny and his government? A lot undone, more people to screw!

• Kenny refusing to answer questions? There’s a surprise……

• A reshuffle or just giving more of ur td’s a minister pension

• Ryan'O 11/09/12 #

It will be honoured in full but it has a lot more to do….WTF? Kenny is deffo on a round about, reshuffle jobs for the lads all hidden by this statement.

• Enda Kenny & Michael Martin one wont shut up and the other wont open his mouth .

• Enda talks a lot of doing things and delivering things. But if he won’t enter into debates and discussions what hope has this country. He should pack his bags and go back to telling kids what he wants them to do in the class room as the adults of this country have had enough of being preached to by a school teacher.

• Look it’s agreed, 30th September at 3.30pm,

• I don’t why so many comments are so cynical , in fairness they are having a “think in ” in Knockranny Hotel , it’s beautiful there , I’ve been , really nice views and not far from Croagh Patrick if they want a healthy climb , the spa facilities are also first class if you need to unwind after so much stressful thinking. I’m pretty sure the quality of the think in will be equally first class and either a new five plan to replace the last one will be dreamed up or else some real quality tough decisions will be taken which will be implemented to fix the problems of the country because that’s what said they would do when asking for my vote at election time , so theres no need for cynicism.

• Enda my own opinion on your reshuffle. Bring in a bill that will allow 25% of the electorate to sign an official petition that will result in the calling of a new general election. That will determine once and for all if you even have a mandate to perform a reshuffle. It will also show that you believe in true democracy for the people, by the people.

• Culm
      True democracy is accepting the wishes of the people in the last General Election. That means Culm , having to wait five more years. The Taoiseach doesn’t have to pass your infantile test of democracy. Do you accept this position?

• Dave 11/09/12 #

No, Mick. I Dont. I will not accept as “democracy”, a government who were elected on a mandate which they then so comprehensively abandon. You do remember “not another red cent” and other such gems, dont you?

I voted FG – i’m disgusted by the result, it was the opposite of what they promised. Telling bare faced lies to get elected MUST STOP. A REAL democrat would accept that basic principle.

If the people are happy to re-elect that government, they can do so.

• Ryan'O 11/09/12 #

Good points very well made there Dave and I couldn’t agree more as an EX FG voter!!! *bangs head off wall* what a wasted vote.

• One a teacher, always a teacher, must do better yourself you absolute muppet.

• Where did we hear that before. What a muppet.

• Dave
      I must confess that you are as entitled as Culm to answer any question posed on this site but just for the record note that after all his bluff and bluster he didn’t…
      Your position is quite clear ….you expected Fine Gael to implement the policies it campaigned on in the General Election and in that regard you are entirely correct. However Fine Gael weren’t elected in the General Election as they didn’t get enough votes and therefor the people were saying in their sovereign way that they wanted two Parties with their Policies adjusted or amended to allow for agreement and that is what they got.
      What part of this is there difficulty in understanding ?

• I’m sure Dave is glad to have your permission to answer questions on this site, your highness!

• Reshuffle , the lot out that will do nicely,,,,

• CSEC BIO 11/09/12 #

The problem is there is no one to replace them. Fianna F?il are still the same old, same old. Sinn F?in economic policies would destroy the country. Labour are the same as the Green Party willing to sell their principles for the scraps from the big table.

• Done a lot ( of damage) and more ( Damage ) to do.

• Ryan O’
      I thought you were a Sinn Fein voter?

• Censored
      If your understanding of English was at the basic level I would be spared this tedious response. Please note though that it is a one time concession only.
      I was not granting anyone the right to respond but merely indicating the question was for someone else and simply noted so! It additionally recognised everyone’s right to contribute.
      Oh dear. I’m tired already!
      By the way your name indicates a need to hide your identity or a lack of imagination on your parents part. If it is the former there isn’t any real value to your contributions as you could be James Reilly for all we know!

• sorry Mick who is Ryan O. Just wondering maybe the comments got mixed up.

• Who the F~~K is Mick Collins.???

• censored 11/09/12 #

Try finding the reply button Mick. And yes, of course my parents choose this name. My real name was hijacked by a moron who spends all day posting tripe. Is that ok your highness, or do I need further concessions?

• A reshuffle would be welcome. Shatter is just one who could with a more suitable portfolio.

• Sure has done a lot for the fatcat TD’s and civil servants

• Spot on there Damien, in fact the inclusion of the upper echelons in the CPD was a real stroke of the Irish plitical kind, FF ish in its cleverness.
      In what organisation in the private sector is management part of the union, or indeed part of the same union as the employees.
      The whole thing was a set up and our government are happy to go along, it can only be that they are themselves protected by it.
      What a sick lot we have running our broken country and pocketing as much as they can with their snouts buried in the trough.

• @The Grinder
      Great point about management being part of the union that had escaped me…twas certainly a masterstroke….What worries me is that the people who gain the most from CP are the the ones who are going to be doing the negociating..somehow I dont think they will be trying too hard

• @Damien,

Thats a great point, as I am sure the Ministers wont lower themselves to get involved in the detail, we can look forward to more of the same, with everybody over 70k availing of the protection afforded to the person on 20k, because thats ” the right thing to do “.

Our politicians are fools when it suits their pockets.

• Correct me if I’m wrong – didn’t I hear those words before? Creepy that is

• Why the hell are we paying out our backsides for the greedy politicians of this country and the bankers, it’s their mess…they make a lot more than we do so why the hell aren’t they taking the payouts. Nothing but corruption in the dail and the banks and making the average joe soap pay for their overspending and the banks idiotic lending. There is approximately 4 Million people in Ireland. On September 1st 2012 1BILLION EURO went to one unsecured bondholder (paid by us), that works out at €250 from every person in this country. Now there,s €64.1 BILLION that is the BANKS AND GOVERNMENTS fault which means that €16,000 from each person in this country will be put back into the RECAPITALISATION of the banks, nevermind paying off the IMF! , ESMS etc with their interest rates.

In 2011 Ireland’s GDP (gross domestic product) was 41%.
    In 2012 Taoiseach announces he wants to reduce to 3% by 2016.
    This means taking €13 BILLION to give to BANKS, BONDHOLDERS and GOVERNMENTS. (which will be taken from every average citizen of Ireland, EXCEPT for the high rollers who earn €211,000 a year :maybe more, maybe less: .

Now the people of Ireland were never given a choice in the “blanket guarantee” and now we,re not being given a choice in gettin our money cut down to the bare minimum while the jokers of the government, banks, bondholders swan around on their nice big wallets yet they can’t take a paycut???

How is this fair??????

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• If the CP agreement is doing so well, why is the cost of government not dropping faster, if it is dropping at all. Less people working for gov means higher pension costs and social welfare payments. Our ministers are easily pleased if they think CP is a success.
    Let’s face it the public service cannot reform itself, too many sacred cows to be protected. The ministers are part of the problem not part of the solution. Bring in experts from IMF to force needed reforms.

• Dave 11/09/12 #

There’s only one thing the Croke Park Deal needs to do – F.R.O

• Croagh Patrick

• Could anybody recipient of public services point out anything that croke park has done to improve the delivery of services , anything at all? its the question nobody asks , we are told a lot is being done but what is the net effect ?

• 17 red thumbs and counting im sure . Could just one of you red thumbers, if you have work in the public sector and adjusted your work practices under Croke park how it has helped the end user or customer . i.e. the public ?Really , i just want to see an example , anything? It would go along way to shuting detractor like me up . For example can an parent point out how education has improved for their kids , anything , please we have paid for it twice already with bench marking?

• censored 11/09/12 #

It’s improved, yeah!

• Tensig,
      How can you expect education to improve when the government are cutting teachers, sna’s etc. My husband is a teacher in a dheis school, 9 teachers have lost their jobs this year and there are half the sna’s that were there 2 years ago. The school is in an underprivilaged area, a lot of the kids can’t read when they come into first year. A massive number of the kids are non nationals or from the travelling community. The teachers are doing extra hours and there are now teachers teaching subjects they are not even qualified to teach. This is happening everywhere (except private schools). The playing field has never been less level for our children. This is the harsh reality of our schools now…

• Thanks Andrea, I agree no improvement in the service because the government will get rid of people rather than address wages , the choice is to take a little from alot or lot from a little, they choose the latter . Young teacher are being exploited by their own unions and the government and its clear that they will cut everything to the bone , get rid of SNAs rather than for example postponse a quater of billion in increments that will be paid to 61 % of public servanst regardless of performance . BTW i have lot of admiration for what your husband does and am truly not interested in seeing the wages of nurses , guards and teachers cut unless of course we are closing hospital bed etc in favour of wage cust . But please do talk about cutback when that is the direct consequence of not being able touch the biggest cost item which is wages

• “The misapprehension springs from the fact that the learned jurists, deceiving themselves as well as others, depict in their books an ideal of government — not as it really is, an assembly of men who oppress their fellow-citizens, but in accordance with the scientific postulate, as a body of men who act as the representatives of the rest of the nation. They have gone on repeating this to others so long that they have ended by believing it themselves, and they really seem to think that justice is one of the duties of governments. History, however, shows us that governments, as seen from the reign of Caesar to those of the two Napoleons and Prince Bismarck, are in their very essence a violation of justice; a man or a body of men having at command an army of trained soldiers, deluded creatures who are ready for any violence, and through whose agency they govern the State, will have no keen sense of the obligation of justice. Therefore governments will never consent to diminish the number of those well-trained and submissive servants, who constitute their power and influence.”

Leo Nikolaevich Tolstoi

• I like what you did with that headline there Christine!

• headlines should be reading endas body found in croker,,, sick of his attitude to the irish people, his talking down, and if his speech writer is off, non answering of anything that one could understand,, his a muffler, only there for perks and yes i did vote fg,, sorry everyone,,, and labour now going along with them , so guessing they aint what their party are supposed to be,,,, why can we just dump them , get some real economic politicians in from switzerland , sweden, denmark, other small countries that have something between there ears, instead of some eejit trying to fill his daddys shoes, thats all we have here

• See Kenny gone to Croke Park early the mayo bollox …… Won’t be happy on either visit I hope

• Hold on here they took over this country when it was stone broke and after being sold down the river by fianna fail. We are living on borrowed money when are people going to realise this is a whole new ball game and the Irish including their government don’t make the rules anymore.

• We do decide not to cut wages for the top 25% earners of the civil service, we do decide to take money from the most vulnerable of society, we do decide to have unvouched expenses, €41k leader expenses for Independents, there’s plenty that we decide that is just plain wrong.

• They can’t hide behind that forever , They had a golden opportunity to put this right and they have failed miserably , introducing extras that will be absorbe d by an inefficient public service. Soon enough they will be in the same bracket as FF ad will suffer the same result.

• censored 11/09/12 #

The Irish Govt and public sector is well paid to implement “the rules”. They are being bribed to continue the bank debt payments.

Add New Comment