TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

EU flag raised above Dublin Castle

In his address, Taoiseach Enda Kenny said Ireland’s EU Presidency will be about three words: stability, jobs and growth.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

IN AN EMPHATIC speech at Dublin Castle today, Taoiseach Enda Kenny said that Ireland’s EU Presidency will bring new hope, new possibility and new confidence to Europe’s citizens.

He said the first six months of 2013, when Ireland holds the Presidency, will be about three “simple but crucial words” – stability, jobs and growth.

“Today, Europe is working hard to move beyond the recent economic crisis which has affected so many citizens’ and families’ lives.

“We know all too well here in Ireland the huge sacrifices the crisis has meant. The people of Europe and Ireland need to know there is progress. That there is a next step to recovery.”

Kenny spoke during an official ceremony which saw the EU flag hoisted above Dublin Castle to mark the start of the EU Presidency, the 40-year-anniversary of Ireland’s membership of the Union and the beginning of the European Year of Citizens. The Irish tricolour was also raised.

Comparing today to 1973, when Ireland’s accession was completed, the Taoiseach noted that the number of people in third-level education is six-times greater and the number of women working outside the home has increased almost three-fold.

“Since 1973 our Union has strengthened, deepened and our proud European family has grown,” he added.

EU flag raised above Dublin Castle
1 / 7
  • Ireland's EU presidency celebrated

Taoiseach Enda Kenny reviews a guard of honour. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Soldiers from the 7th Infantary Battalion at Dublin Castle. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

A soldier raises the EU flag during the ceremony to mark the start of Ireland's EU Presidency, 40 years since it entered the EU. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Social Protection Minister Joan Burton, Government Chief Whip Paul Keogh, Finance Minister Michael Noonan and Childrens Minister Francis Fitzgerald during the flag-raising ceremony to mark the start of Ireland's EU Presidency. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

School children launch 40 balloons at Dublin Castle. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Taoiseach Enda Kenny greets school children after the ceremony. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

A soldier raises the EU flag. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Joining the Taoiseach was Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore and Minister of State for European Affairs Lucinda Creighton. Also in attendance at Dublin Castle was the Lord Mayor of Dublin, as well as other government ministers, members of the diplomatic corps and school-children engaged in the EU-focused Blue Star programme.

Both the Irish and EU anthems were played by the Defence Forces Band.

From tomorrow, Ireland is to host the EU Presidency for the first time since 2004. Believed to cost in the region of €60 million, the six month stint is set to cost less than the last time Ireland held the presidency.

Ceremony at Dublin Castle to mark Irish EU milestones

Read next:

Comments (157 Comments)

• “stability, jobs and growth”
    Sick of that mantra.

• Three words enda, jobs, stability, and growth, truth and accountability would be nice too!!!

• Lets start a riot over a flag

• “stability, jobs and growth.”

Weren’t there a bunch of treaties about stability, jobs and growth?

• ‘proud European family’

What a load of tosh… more people are opposed now to the direction the EU is headed than ever before.

• The direction of bailing out countries like ourselves? Terrible Joe, absolutely terrible stuff altogether. Sure who needs their money anyway…..

• That’s right David, they give us money to pay back their bad banks debts?!?! Funny how it works eh

• David,

Ireland didn’t have a fiscal problem until it bailed out its banks – the country was sacrificed to save private investors. The present Fine Gael government will give €30 billion to Anglo Irish Bank.

• David has been told this over and over and over as if the debt was one the Irish people created.
      It was created by his masters and them only, they went from bicycles to helicopters in less than 5 years, rode the country and when the shyte hit the fan and at the stroke if a pen those masters made that debt yours and mine.
      FG youth like David are tunnel visioned, there are always the few who never see the picture and he is undoubtedly one of them…..

• Well said

• O'Reilly 31/12/12 #

Regonald, if we didn’t have a problem then why have we had to borrow 19bn to date to pay the day to day bills?

• You are too immersed in your own partisan rhetoric to see Ireland has a wealth inequality problem. The top 10% are not paying their fair share of taxes which are at a 25 yr low.

• Another reason we need to borrow so much to keep the country running..
      We have a public service where the hardest workers (the frontline staff) get paid modestly, while there’s too many unnecessary layers of management and pencil pushers who get paid exorbitantly. The CPA protects all the suits, and screws the members of the public service who actually matter and are NEEDED.
      Considering there’s so many of these levels of management you would have thought that someone, somewhere could have thought to try and coordinate public services / departments / etc.. Even to coordinate the CWOs with the DSP? Make hospitals able to communicate more effectively in order to deliver best care.. It’s hardly rocket science..

If any of those ineffective layers of management were to be removed and some intelligent processes put in place we could cut down a massive chunk of that bill.
      After that we need to start on getting people back to work – for that, people need money in their pockets – something neither FF nor FG seem to be able to comprehend.. As long as people are fearful about being able to pay their bills they aren’t going to spend locally – they’ll go for cheap (Lidl / Aldi / Tesco anyone?) and that’s not helping our economy.. Local businesses go to the wall, more people end up on the dole.. Again, it’s hardly rocket science now is it?

• toubini 31/12/12 #

EU Presidency is just a show. There is no actual power coming with it, only a bill to pay.

If you still think EU presidency has any importance: what was the previous country holding it? What will be next? Hardly anyone knows because it’s irrelevant. All it is, is €60m down the drain.

• A white flag of surrender might be nearer the truth !!!

• Since we are EU president now can we just lob all the money towards Ireland and do a Mick O’Reilly on it?

• The Year of the Citizen….its such condescending rubbish. I might be inclined to believe their benign words if any of this shower gave even half as much a damn about their own citizens as they did for banks.

• It’s not the first divisive flag to fly over Dublin and I doubt it will be the last. I do feel European, but that is a regional name, which does not carry the same weight, or importance, as being Irish, French or German, particularly in the minds of the people. We, as Irish people, share a language, culture and history that binds us, regardless of whether we like it or not. Our national identity defines us, albeit it different ways. Pretending that being European is the same is just misleading and wrong. How could it be? Besides sharing a continent with these people, we have a wholly different culture and identity to our neighbours on the mainland. Isn’t that supposed to be one our strongest selling points?
    The project, which this flag represents, has failed Ireland, and the Irish people, in the most profound way possible. The sense of being excluded and ridiculed that has dogged the Irish population casts revealing light on the supposed ‘inclusiveness’ of this European endeavour. The truth is that we are passengers in a Franco-German economic project, but we are too cowardly and placid to stand up and say ‘enough, we want a fresh approach.’ The men needed to do such things are long dead and, unfortunately, we all know it. The helplessness and burgeoning rage in Ireland is palpable, but lacking cohesion or purpose. They have successfully divided and conquered all viable avenues of peaceful resistance, which is the saddest truth of all.

• Well said

• Spot on Kenneth….. This is not the “Eirope” I signed up to either……

• I agree Kenneth Sheehy, except on a few small points

‘….the men needed to do such things are long since dead….’

WE are the men AND WOMEN who need to bring about change now .

I also don’t agree that, ‘ all viable avenues of peaceful resistance ‘ are gone. I have been reading about the land league in Co Mayo, and the workers who refused to work for Captain Boycott. Their actions were peaceful and reverberated in London and to the US, which at the time was a huge achievement.

Anything is possible .

Happy New Year

• Hi Joan,
      It was a veiled reference to the men of 1916, whose reluctance to waiver has resonated deep in our national psyche. They were courageous and mobilised in a way, which we are unable, and unwilling, to imitate. I believe we SHOULD be the people to resist, Joan, but our society has been pitted against each other and lacks the cohesive characteristic omnipresent in the Land campaign and in the Fenians. I hope we can get it together though, Joan. As someone who believes strongly in our need to rise up and be heard, I hope people mobilise and peacefully resist! It’s just looking bleakly unlikely

• And Happy New Year to you too! :)

• When all else fails to organise the people..circumstances will.

Boycott is the way. We must feed those working for an inclusive sustainable holistic society; and isolate the parasitic exclusive elites.
      So far they have done it to us.
      But it must happen globally. Cogadh fada.

• OU812 31/12/12 #

Our presidency doesn’t start until tomorrow.

If our flag is not the main one, then technically the Irish flag has fallen & we have been taken over/invaded.

Ladies & gentlemen, we are now fully under control of the EU.

• Just a quick question: Has anyone actually seen Noonan button his overcoat? Is it possible?

• My cat just vomited!

• The sky people have arrived..

• The usual drivel spouting out of Kennys mouth………

• Martin
      Does that mean you are in disagreement with the Taoiseach in terms of what he said today. Could you expound ( see dictionary ) a little further on your general political views and how would you behave in the unlikely event your were Taoiseach.
      Apart from all that Martin I found your contribution to be lucid and well thought out. There I was talking to somebody just as your Posting popped up and a thought ………riveting!

• Throw the German one up and you have the real picture of how this country is being run…..Endapendance at it’s finest.

• Paul 31/12/12 #

The real puppet masters don’t have a flag, they are the ones who own Wall Street, ‘The City’ in London and the rest. They don’t advertise their power with a flag, each of their companies has a brand to give the illusion it’s separate but the ownership and power are concentrated. Germany is not running the show for the benefit of its own people or economy, it’s a puppet in the same play, they just have a bigger part.

• Spot on Paul, to think that one family dynasty have made interest on pretty much every fiat currency that has ever been printed in the western world and have used this to buy up all the land, corporations,resources and so forth over the last couple hundred years shows us what we are dealing with.

• Conor 31/12/12 #

How exactly does this one family own all the land and the corporations in the world? Do tell factually please.

• @Conor – Have you heard of the Rothschild Family? Google it, put on the kettle and have a good read. All factual. You’ll be surprised.
      They are also our senior bond holders aswell as the guys who we paid 10 million to look into how sound the banks were before Lenihan decided to bail them out. Their representitives are the ones that met on that fateful night when the bank bailout was agreed and the ‘no meeting minutes-gate’ came from.

• And the award for populist soundbite goes to.. Tony Skillington. Congratulations, Tony.

*rapturous applause, orgasmic earth-splitting roars of acclamation, the rolling thunder of stomping feet and clapping hands*

• Conor 31/12/12 #

Yes their chateau Lafite is to die. You do realise that the owners of the funds and bonds in the world aren’t some elitist dynasty, they’re all of us, they’re our pension funds and insurance companies. Conspiracy theories are a way of blaming life’s failures on anyone but yourself!

• Conor
      Sometimes it’s not even worth trying. You have to remember that one particular grouping park out on this sit and they don’t want to hear anything but their own bilious emissions while they project deceit and untruths and nastiness about others.
      Oh and by the way they think they have the necessary integrity to Govern us……..hehehehehehe.

• Yes Tony. It was Enda Kenny who surrendered our independence. Nothing whatsoever to do with Fianna Fáil or Brian Cowen. Enda just came in and made a mess of it all. Everything was going fine until Fine Gael and Labour assumed the reigns. Oh wait….

• Michael J

You chastise others for derogatory statements regarding politicians but you obviously feel this principle doesn’t apply to you. An attitude similarly shared by many of our politicians. Tell me, do you get paid per word? Do you get a bonus for added smugness? Do you sleep well at night? Does the money keep your conscience clear?

• Hya Mark
      I sleep the sleep of the just. I would love to be paid for my righteousness. Any ideas as to where I could get such an employment contract?

• Mark
      If you read my postings you will notice I chastise those who post dishonestly or who scurrilously libel our democratically elected representatives and those with the tongues of the gutter.

• The Irish Times have an article today: “Whisper it, but Fine Gael is the new Fianna Fáil”:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2012/1229/1224328252310.html

• @Mark- In my lifetime the primary difference between FG and FF were primarily perspectives on the North and the corruption that was endemic in FF. Policy wise, they’re both centrist in a centrist country. An FG Government was never going to adopt radically differently policies- they couldn’t; especially considering the unprecedented limits on domestic economic decision making inherited from the last catastrophic Government. Anyone who expected dramatic change in basic direction was delusional.

• I’m accutely aware of the bastids that sold out this country. Equally I remember the lies Kenny & Co spun to get their snouts in the trough…whatever your political persuation, FG have allowed Europe and Germany to walk all over this country as if we didn’t exist. But of course to the blind faithful, Kenny is the white knight…not!

• @Tony- he’s neither a white knight, nor a miracle worker. The mess they inherited will last a generation. I’d really love to know what leverage Ireland have to dictate anything to the Troika. We’re broke and they’re bailing us out. It’s inherently a place of weakness. The only metric that matters is whether at the end of their term in 2016 FG and Labour leave the country in better shape than they found it. So far, it looks like they will.

• Vincent, accepted…but the fact is that they were elected on foot of promises they made counter to what you say. Regardless of their doctrine, they could represent us instead of EU dictates. We need some balls in Govt and they simply don’t have any. At some stage they have to say ‘this is not good enough’ and opt out or at least play the hand well and get the best deal for us instead of just kow-towing to the German master. Tough and radical decisions need to be made. They won’t make them. So they’re the wrong representatives for our country.

• Vincent, we’re only broke because we bailed them out. It has become apparent that Trichet forced our hand in the bailout and promises subsequent to that have been reneged on. Remember, this is not our debt! It really isn’t! We need to play the hand that was dealt to us as best we can. The current Govt are doing an atrocious job of this.

• Not true. You chastise those who don’t toe the party line. And you do so in a patronising and superior tone which is redolent of that of our ministers. All of which leads me to believe that you’re one of their paid lackeys. For shame.

• Vincent Dolan – Typical “blame Cowen”.

• Our subservience acknowledged.

• jobs, stability and growth?
    heard that before

• Don’t forget “labours way ” or “not a red cent” or “taxing a persons home is imoral” to name but a few.

• Mike
      Show me a Labour or Fine Gael Manifesto where “not another cent” is published .
      This will be difficult for you because it has never been published even though these documents are available publicly.
      Interesting to see if you use it again.

• **** TROLL ALERT*****

• Mr Park1
      Dear Mr Park1
      Apologies for being so formal but we have not been introduced as we are unlikely to share the same social, educational or business fora. Thank you for attempting to answer the difficult question put to Mr Clinton and his eloquent response as you understand doesn’t quite make the grade. However my dear chap , neither does yours.
      The Fine Gael Manifesto was published before the last General Election and at no place in that document which is available on the web does the expression ” not another cent ” make it’s way into same. You see these were the personal views of Mr Leo Veradkar in a television interview and subsequently observed by Fine Gael and confirmed by Leo himself.
      You might see a similarity old chap if I were to state that Sinn Fein was opposed to legislating for abortion under the terms of the A, B and C cases on the basis of an RTE interview with one of their TD’s recently. But we both know it would be dishonest of me to make such a claim. May I go further and state quite unequivocally that to suggest Sinn Fein is against abortion would be totally incorrect. I think you would agree with me!
      So let’s stop this nonsense Mr Croke Park 1.

• Yet again the Troll known as michael j collins likes to get his/her long winded tripe in.
      He/her/whatever has to hide behind a false identity .

• Dear Mr Clinton
      Facts Mr Clinton and your inability to deal with them is becoming an issue. Even worse than this is the unfounded claims you use when same is exposed as untrue. Would you like to have another crack at my question Mr Clinton before you retire fro the evening.

• Why on earth would I lower myself as to engage with a troll that hides behind a false identity…
      Go away and stalk someone else there’s a good chap/lady.

• So MJC, if what enda says is not in his party’s manifesto, it should not be taken seriously, it should be treated with skepticism, it could even be lies oh wait …

• Ian
      Hello! I have only just returned to this thread and I find your somewhat imperialistic challenge about Mr Kenny. If you had been paying attention you would know that the comment about another red cent was made by Mr Varadkar.
      Now that your up to speed could you indicate what specifically is it that you want?

• Leo the so called sports and tourism minister stated not another red cent. video of FG press conference about the banks and the bailout on YouTube to check it out.

http://youtu.be/5LTCT7QIeP8

• Mr MacThomais
      I think you will find that he is not the so called but rather the actual Minister.

• Seriously collins,is your life that sad and your devotion to the shower of liars you spend your waking hours brown nosing that bad that you go trolling the journal and God only knows what other sites !!!!.
      You must have been awarded troll of the year or else kenny must have given you an extra star in your copybook.

• But mr kenny as leader of that party, stood over mr varadkers statement of not another cent, if he felt it was wrong why did he not get the minister to retract his statement, you ask what do I want I think what what most people want is transparency, truth and accountability from our elected representatives,
      And when they make a mess of things have the decency to admit it, but then that’s not how things work In the corridors of power is it !!!

• Talk about rubbing peoples noses in it !!!.

• The gravy-train arrives in Dublin. All TD’s, sycophants and useful idiots to the trough quick.

• EU flag to be is an proof ever needed the Irish political elite are sell outs and traitors.EU flag to me has all the same connotations of the Union Jack flying in an occupied part of our country.
    Irish political elite have wish to have the financial perks and EU gravy train to continue but want either the German or UK to run the country so to avoid making any decisions and pass the blame to somebody else when the political temperature in the kitchen gets too hot.

• Stability, Jobs & Growth these 3 words don’t figure to Our Economy in fact these would be the last 3 words in relation to Our Economy. Kenny keep saying them & you might convince yourself but nobody else especially the 80,000+ who left Our shores in 2012 & the near 1/2m who are unemployed.

• Enda Kenny said the presidency will be about three “simple but crucial words” – stability, jobs and growth.

What he should have said was it will be about three “simple but crucial words” – BLAH BLAH BLAH.

• Enda really needs one of his advisers to do him some new prompter cards with some new catch phrases on. :/

• As far as im concerned they can stick there eu flag up there ars##

• You have to hand it to the Germans , they did not have to fire one shot in anger this time yet they have taken over Europe. Might as well be the German flag flying now.

• Nydon 31/12/12 #

Ireland being president of the EU at this time is like Oliver Twist being allowed to serve up the gruel in lieu of the second bowl he asked for.
    ….
    Enda, because you’ve been such a good boy all year, the nice EU men have said you can go up front to drive ;) the EU train for a while instead of Bertie. You get to wear the hat and everything!
    Whoohooo.

• Its sickening. That is all.

• Minister Creighton emphasised our freedom of movement… How can this be so if one is harassed by Schengen guards and by Garda at Dublin airport?

• where did I hear those words before oh yes I remember now” stability” Jobs, But this is not the case here” after the Fiscal treaty Referendum and children’s Referendum was all Rigged on both accounts to a yes” by some media” Government” and EU and IMF” Including Brits” All interfered threatening” leafleting from Britain” UKPIG Farage” all cheated the Irish People” all Referendums were a No” not a YES” and nobody went out to protest against the rigged yes votes only one man in Children’s referendum mark Chrystal and Katy Synott and Credit where it was DUE” John Walters did warn the people” I listened and Said NO” so the People who Said yes are totally to Blame” you have another Referendum Coming Your Way Soon” To Elect European president and change more of the Constitution to Allow new courts and new Laws and the courts will be Running clockwise like a kangaroo courts Law” trust me I Read the shit on EU pages! and British Gove UK page and Alan Shatter has already Drafted in The Bill along with monarchy Oireachtas team in The Dial” they are the ones you need Rid of not Seanad” Oireachtas will Drown out Irish Democracy as they are patricianly British MPS Senators in Oireachtas

• Long live the Protectorate!

• The take over is complete..

• Dave 31/12/12 #

Enda, please stop calling it “the union”. You’ll understand that has very negative connotations in a country that last fought to get out of one.

• Endapendence…

• Yawn…..now where did I put my yo yo ?

• I feel sick to the stomach….burn it !!!

• Hope , possibility and confidence , stability , growth and jobs , it’s going to be a great year ?

• Enda 3 words of his presidency if honest in his opening speech should include the following Sellout,slavery and submission to Fuhrer Merkel and the EU master plan. Bow Irish minions to my Fuhrer Merkel awards me Eunuch Kenny the euro gold star lapdog award and free photo-shoot .

• All the same people moaning about the flag were the same moaning about the people moaning about a flag a week ago in the north …..stop moaning and happy new year

• Walking along the Liffey this morning I looked over and saw the butcher’s apron fluttering in the breeze outside the Dublin City Council offices on Wood Quay. Are we back under British rule? Kenny must be a proud man. There are EU flags all along the Liffey, I have a problem only with only one and it has no place flying over Dublin while the british occupy six of our counties.

• They are not occupied, as the majority of the people in that jurisdiction want to remain part of the UK. Unfortunately a portion of the population of Northern Ireland continue to refuse to accept the legitimacy of the state’s existence. Whether it should have been allowed be established is a moot point, as almost nobody alive today was alive when either state on this island came into being. Wanting to unify the island under one government is a legitimate aspiration. Refusing to respect the majority of the people in Northern Ireland’s antipathy to that proposal is not legitimate. It is undemocratic and refuses to acknowledge reality. So climb out of your historic bunker and join the 21st century.

• Ireland is united under eu, and is not independent in financial or political and legal terms.when an IRa murder squad was killed in gibraltar even the IRa acknowledged the superiority of eu court.

• As are as im concerned they stick there eu flag up there ars##

• Yawn, here come all the anti government, European rants from everyone. So boring at this stage….

• As are simple whining comments such as yours, get over it or don’t read the comments.

• People are entitled to express their opinions. If the majority are expressing anti eu sentiments then isn’t that the reflection of the people. Is it a case that if the comments were pro Europe they wouldn’t be boring? Bit of bias perhaps in that.

• yea terrible boring mark
      with levels of emigration not seen since the famine and the disparity of wealth never greater
      all these anti government rants are just so trite

• @Frank- now don’t be ending 2012 with exaggeration, Frank. Emigration was worse in the 80′s. In fact everything was worse in the 80′s. that would be the 1980’s I’m talking about- not the 1880’s.

• ah Vincent great to have you back and i mean that sincerely

i would love to be exaggerating this time but im not, check this out:
      Irish Central (8th May, 2012) reports that there are more Irish people leaving the country now than at any time since the Famine.
      The latest figures from the Central Statistics office show that more than 3,000 Irish people are leaving the country each month, the highest number since the Famine.

Happy New Year by the way

• @Frank- Happy New Year to you, Sir. Your figures don’t take the underlying increase in population into account, though.

• Vincent the figures are bad no matter what way you dress them up.
      Things are bleak and unless fine gael/labour have a complete change of heart they will get worse.
      enda said and it seems such a long time ago now that you cannot tax your way out of recession and he was correct. the banks have told him they have the bad debt provision in place for mortgage default and they are lying through their teeth and i fear we will need a second bailout.

• @Frank- house prices are beginning to rebound, we have some employment and economic growth, there’s a Bank deal on the way, our borrowing rates are down, Irish people had the confidence to start spending again this Christmas and we’ll be sending the Troika on their way on schedule. This is what I’m choosing to focus on this New Years Eve.

• I just hope your right Vincent,
      enjoy your new years eve

• A great opportunity for the country. Good exposure too just as we are set to emerge from the bailout program while the world is watching. We need to make the most of it…

• How can Ireland be really European if not in Schengen?

• Unsure if that’s a good thing or not, hmmm…..

• You share many aspects of your culture with Europe as well,heavily inspired by US sources,The Dubliners are very popular in Europe as well .Many Europeans can speak English,and many of the sports we play are also very popular in Europe.(Football,Rugby etc)This culture barrier argument is Bullshit.

• Brings a tear to my eye. Proud and emotional stuff.

• Are you proud to be Irish?

• Lets see. Am I proud that my parents chose to stay in Ireland rather than emigrating before I was born? Am I proud that by virtue of their decisions my birth cert lists my nationality as Irish?
      What precisely about a geographical circumstance is supposed to impart this pride?
      They had me baptised too, but I’m not catholic.. Why should I feel proud about something that I had no decision in? It’s not like I have had to hide it all my life and am finally able to reveal it.. It’s just where I was born. It’s a visually beautiful country, with some great artists to its credit – but the level to which it is part of me is purely circumstantial.

• Shanti, by that logic no one should be proud to be Irish, Katie Taylor,the Irish rugby team, our football fans who travel the globe are loved and respected WHY? Because they are irish and proud, our peace keeping forces are amongst the finest in the world proud Irish men and women.

• @Shanti- Nationalism is no more than a sense of community. So yes, there’s every reason to be proud of what we as a nation have built. We’re a tiny nation that bats way above its weight in terms of accomplishments in Sport, Literature and Global political and economic influence and unlike most European nations we as a country haven’t started any wars or persecuted any people’s. So yes. A bit of pride is appropriate.

• While I can appreciate that other Irish people have done these great things, why would that make ME proud?

I’m proud of the people I know who have achieved worldwide success (of which there are quite a few), and I am happy for them – because I was on that journey with them and saw them put in all that work – did this country have any part in their success? Well no actually, this country worked against many of them.. I have a few mutual friends with Katie Taylor and they were all very proud of her – but they had reason to be – they knew her, and ACTUALLY supported her rather than just saying they did, the rest of us were just happy for an Irish woman winning the gold and introducing a new category to the Olympics – happy for her, does it make me proud? No. Why should it? (perhaps I should point out, I don’t follow sport, I don’t see why people are so obsessed with WATCHING other people get physical)
      Have never understood this pride for your country thing. I’m human, I don’t get this being proud of a landmass malarkey, it seems kinda ignorant and tribal.. I feel pride when I have accomplished something, I feel proud OF my friends when THEY achieve something, do I have pride in people I’ve never met? No. I may respect them, but to me pride is something different.

• I’m ashamed of our country and its people…I’m ashamed to be Irish “Why” Because the rest of the world looks on at the Irish people as a whole and call us a joke…our politicians are Use-less, over payed, worthless, selfish and NEVER to be trusted in any way shape or form…This will be an interesting year for them…

• That photo of the EU flag going up carries some pretty major symbolism, doesn’t she, boys? Before they hoisted that one, they had to strike another one, didn’t they? I mean, it all really is just symbolism, isn’t it? Like the bank notes–they’re just symbols of the debt capacity of the pool of nations, right?
    What I need now is a symbol of a job, with a symbolic pension, and a symbolic home in a symbolic town where they produce some symbolic goods that are traded for some symbolic money. And we could use some more comprehensive and effective symbolic healthcare while we’re at it.
    Have a presidential New Year, me brothers and sisters.

Add New Comment